DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/03/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 15-33 are pending.
Claims 1 and 15-33 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15-24, and 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US Patent 12,250,573) in view of Agiwal et al. (US Publication 2022/0046441).
With respect to claims 1, 15, and 29, Kang teaches A user equipment (UE), (First device, Figure 11) comprising:
at least one memory; (memory, Figure 11) and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (processor coupled with memory, Figure 11) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a serving cell, configuration information related to at least two transmission reception point (TRP) of the serving cell; (when one UE is configured to perform transmission and reception with a plurality of TRPs (or cells), it may mean that a plurality of CORESET groups (or CORESET pools) are configured for one UE, Column 31 lines 25-30. The UE may receive configuration information through/using TRP1 and/or TRP2 from the network side S105. The configuration information may include system information (SI), scheduling information, CSI-related configuration (e.g., CSI report configuration, CSI-RS resource configuration), and the like. The configuration information may include information related to a network-side configuration (i.e., TRP configuration), resource allocation information related to MTRP-based transmission and reception, and the like, Column 31 lines 40-45)
detect a beam failure of a first TRP of the at least wo TRPs; (the UE may measure/estimate a hypothetical BLER based on the reception quality of RS 1 and/or RS 2, and may determine BF (beam failure) accordingly, Column 32 lines 30-35) and
trigger a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure, (when more than a certain number of BFIs are generated, the UE may determine that a beam failure has occurred, and may perform a beam failure recovery operation, Column 18 lines 20-25) that includes transmitting a first BFR request to the serving cell, (The UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station. Specifically, the UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station through the PUSCH scheduled by the received uplink grant DCI. In this case, the BFR MAC-CE may include the ID of the component carrier (CC) in which the BF has occurred, information on whether a new candidate beam has been found for in the CC, the ID of the found new candidate beam, and information on the TRP ID (e.g., CORESET group ID or BFD RS set ID, etc.) in which the BF has occurred, Column 21 lines 47-56)
Kang doesn’t teach the first BFR request is included in a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that includes information for each TRP of the at least two TRPs, and wherein the first MAC CE includes a field indicating whether a subsequent TRP in the first MAC CE is associated with a same cell as a previous TRP in the first MAC CE.
Agiwal teaches the first BFR request is included in a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (BFR MAC CE, Paragraph 187) that includes information for each TRP of the at least two TRPs,( Add beam failure recovery information (e.g., candidate beam is available or not, candidate beam if available, TRP identification info, etc.) for each failed TRP of SCell , paragraph 189) and wherein the first MAC CE includes a field indicating whether a subsequent TRP in the first MAC CE is associated with a same cell as a previous TRP in the first MAC CE. (Set E to 1 or 0 to indicate whether beam failure recovery information of another TRP of same serving cell follows or not respectively. Note that if beam failure recovery information of only one TRP is included in BFR MAC CE, E field may not be needed/included in BFR MAC CE, Paragraph 191)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Kang with the BFR request including information for each TRP of the at least two TRPS as taught by Agiwal. The motivation for combining Kang and Agiwal is to be able to improve communication efficiency, and enable the UE to recover more efficiently from a beam failure.
With respect to claim 16, Kang teaches wherein the first BFR request includes information related to the first TRP. (The UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station. Specifically, the UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station through the PUSCH scheduled by the received uplink grant DCI. In this case, the BFR MAC-CE may include the ID of the component carrier (CC) in which the BF has occurred, information on whether a new candidate beam has been found for in the CC, the ID of the found new candidate beam, and information on the TRP ID (e.g., CORESET group ID or BFD RS set ID, etc.) in which the BF has occurred, Column 21 lines 47-56)
With respect to claim 17, Kang teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: detect a second beam failure of a second TRP before the first BFR request is transmitted to the serving cell; and trigger a second BFR procedure that includes a second BFR request being transmitted to the serving cell. (the UE may perform a BFR operation for each TRP (i.e., a TRP-specific BFR operation). The present disclosure includes embodiments of BFR schemes that can be applied to both when BF occurs for a specific TRP (e.g., a specific CORESET group or a specific BFD RS group) (hereinafter, ‘event 1 occurrence’) and BF occurs for all TRPs (hereinafter, ‘event 2 occurrence’) in a specific frequency band (e.g., CC/BWP). Here, event 2 may be considered as a BF event defined in the existing UE operation (e.g., Rel-15/16) in that BF occurred in the corresponding CC/BWP (that is, BF occurred in all TRPs of the CC/BWP), Column 22 lines 30-41. The event 1 may be divided into detailed events according to the TRP (e.g., CORESET group or BFD RS group) index in which the BF occurred. For example, event 1 may be divided into event 1-1, which is a case where BF for TRP 1 occurs, and event 1-2, which is a case where BF for TRP 2 occurs. That is, information on whether event 1 has occurred may be divided into detailed events according to the occurrence of BF for each TRP and reported, Column 22 lines 60-65)
With respect to claim 18, Kang teaches wherein the serving cell is one of a secondary cell (SCell), a primary cell (PCell), or a primary cell of a second cell group (PSCell). (indicating whether the BFR operation is a BFR operation for an SpCell (i.e., a PCell or a PSCell) (e.g., a BFR operation based on a contention-based RACH for the SpCell) or a BFR operation for the SCell, Column 22 lines 10-16)
With respect to claim 19, Kang teaches wherein the serving cell is the PCell or the PSCell, and the configuration information related to the at least two TRPs includes: a first association relationship between a first beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) set configured for the first TRP, and a reference signal (RS) set for a random access (RA) for a BFR procedure; and a second association relationship between a second BFD-RS set configured for the second TRP, and the RS set for the RA for the BFR procedure. (The base station may configure a candidate beam RS list (‘candidateBeamRSList’) including replaceable candidate beam RSs to the terminal through RRC signaling. And, the base station may configure a dedicated PRACH resource for the candidate beam RSs, Column 18 lines 28-33. The UE may perform a BFR operation for each TRP (i.e., a TRP-specific BFR operation). The present disclosure includes embodiments of BFR schemes that can be applied to both when BF occurs for a specific TRP (e.g., a specific CORESET group or a specific BFD RS group) (hereinafter, ‘event 1 occurrence’) and BF occurs for all TRPs (hereinafter, ‘event 2 occurrence’) in a specific frequency band (e.g., CC/BWP). Here, event 2 may be considered as a BF event defined in the existing UE operation (e.g., Rel-15/16) in that BF occurred in the corresponding CC/BWP (that is, BF occurred in all TRPs of the CC/BWP), Column 22 lines 30-41.)
With respect to claim 20, Kang teaches wherein the serving cell is the PCell or the PSCell, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit at least one of the first BFR request or the second BFR request via an available serving cell. (the base station may configure a BFRQ resource (e.g., a scheduling request (SR) PUCCH resource) to the UE. That is, when BF occurs in a specific TRP, the UE may transmit the configured BFRQ (e.g., SR PUCCH) to the base station. At this time, the UE may transmit the BFRQ to the TRP in which the BF has not occurred. And, when transmitting the BFRQ, the UE may explicitly or implicitly report the BFRQ associated with which BFD RS set (or CORESET group) to the base station, Column 21 lines 28-35)
With respect to claim 21, Kang teaches wherein the serving cell is the PCell or the PSCell, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) within a period. (one or a plurality of search spaces for monitoring the PDCCH may be configured in the UE, Column 17 lines 18-24)
With respect to claim 22, Kang teaches wherein: the BFR procedure for the serving cell is successful in response to receiving the PDCCH within the period and based on the PDCCH including a same hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier (ID) as a physical uplink share channel (PUSCH) carrying a BFR MAC-CE; or the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment procedure for the serving cell in response to not receiving the PDCCH within the period. (The UE may receive a response to the BFR MAC-CE from the base station. Specifically, the response to the BFR MAC-CE may be a DCI indicating that the BFR MAC-CE has been normally received. At this time, the DCI is a DCI transmitted when the base station successfully decodes the PUSCH, and may include at least one of HARQ process ID, new data indicator (NDI), redundancy version (RV), and CGG transmission information (CBGTI), Column 21 lines 55-64)
With respect to claim 23, Kang teaches wherein the second BFR request is included in a second MAC CE, and wherein the second BFR request includes information related to a failed TRP among the first TRP and the second TRP. (the plurality of MAC-CEs may include a first MAC-CE and a second MAC-CE. And, based on beam failure being detected in a specific resource group, information related to beam failure may be included in the first MAC-CE and transmitted to the base station. And, based on beam failure being detected in a plurality of resource groups, information related to beam failure may be included in the second MAC-CE and transmitted to the base station, Column 30 lines 7-14)
With respect to claim 24, Kang teaches wherein both a first MAC CE and the second MAC CE can be included in one packet data unit (PDU). (one or more processors 102, 202 may generate a signal (e.g., a baseband signal) including a PDU, a SDU, a message, control information, data or information according to functions, procedures, proposals and/or methods disclosed in the present disclosure to provide it to one or more transceivers 106, 206, Column 35 lines 5-25)
With respect to claims 28 and 32, Kang teaches wherein the first BFR request includes at least one of: a second field as a TRP identifier (ID); a third field as a total number of one or more TRPs associated with a beam failure; a fourth field indicating whether a TRP is failed or not; (The UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station. Specifically, the UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station through the PUSCH scheduled by the received uplink grant DCI. In this case, the BFR MAC-CE may include the ID of the component carrier (CC) in which the BF has occurred, information on whether a new candidate beam has been found for in the CC, the ID of the found new candidate beam, and information on the TRP ID (e.g., CORESET group ID or BFD RS set ID, etc.) in which the BF has occurred, Column 21 lines 47-56)
With respect to claim 30, Kang teaches network equipment (NE) (second device, Figure 11) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; (memory, Figure 11) and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (processor coupled with memory, Figure 11) and configured to cause the NE to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information related to at least two transmission reception points (TRPs) of a serving cell of the UE; (The UE may receive configuration information through/using TRP1 and/or TRP2 from the network side S105. The configuration information may include system information (SI), scheduling information, CSI-related configuration (e.g., CSI report configuration, CSI-RS resource configuration), and the like. The configuration information may include information related to a network-side configuration (i.e., TRP configuration), resource allocation information related to MTRP-based transmission and reception, and the like, Column 31 lines 40-45)
receive a beam failure recovery (BFR) request from the UE. (The UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station. Specifically, the UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station through the PUSCH scheduled by the received uplink grant DCI. In this case, the BFR MAC-CE may include the ID of the component carrier (CC) in which the BF has occurred, information on whether a new candidate beam has been found for in the CC, the ID of the found new candidate beam, and information on the TRP ID (e.g., CORESET group ID or BFD RS set ID, etc.) in which the BF has occurred, Column 21 lines 47-56)
Kang doesn’t teach the first BFR request is included in a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that includes information for each TRP of the at least two TRPs, and wherein the first MAC CE includes a field indicating whether a subsequent TRP in the first MAC CE is associated with a same cell as a previous TRP in the first MAC CE.
Agiwal teaches the first BFR request is included in a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (BFR MAC CE, Paragraph 187) that includes information for each TRP of the at least two TRPs,( Add beam failure recovery information (e.g., candidate beam is available or not, candidate beam if available, TRP identification info, etc.) for each failed TRP of SCell , paragraph 189) and wherein the first MAC CE includes a field indicating whether a subsequent TRP in the first MAC CE is associated with a same cell as a previous TRP in the first MAC CE. (Set E to 1 or 0 to indicate whether beam failure recovery information of another TRP of same serving cell follows or not respectively. Note that if beam failure recovery information of only one TRP is included in BFR MAC CE, E field may not be needed/included in BFR MAC CE, Paragraph 191)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Kang with the BFR request including information for each TRP of the at least two TRPS as taught by Agiwal. The motivation for combining Kang and Agiwal is to be able to improve communication efficiency, and enable the UE to recover more efficiently from a beam failure.
With respect to claim 31, Kang teaches the BFR request includes information related to a failed TRP among the at least two TRPs. (The UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station. Specifically, the UE may transmit the BFR MAC-CE to the base station through the PUSCH scheduled by the received uplink grant DCI. In this case, the BFR MAC-CE may include the ID of the component carrier (CC) in which the BF has occurred, information on whether a new candidate beam has been found for in the CC, the ID of the found new candidate beam, and information on the TRP ID (e.g., CORESET group ID or BFD RS set ID, etc.) in which the BF has occurred, Column 21 lines 47-56)
With respect to claim 33, Kang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to: transmit, to the UE, the configuration information related to two secondary cell groups (SCGs) that are configured for one distributed unit (DU); (The UE may receive configuration information through/using TRP1 and/or TRP2 from the network side S105. The configuration information may include system information (SI), scheduling information, CSI-related configuration (e.g., CSI report configuration, CSI-RS resource configuration), and the like. The configuration information may include information related to a network-side configuration (i.e., TRP configuration), resource allocation information related to MTRP-based transmission and reception, and the like, Column 31 lines 40-45)and wherein, in response to one SCG within the two SCGs being configured as a TRP, the MAC CE is associated with one or more serving cells of the one SCG; or whrein, in response to each SCG of the two SCGs being configured as the TRP, the MAC CE is associated with the one or more serving cells of the each SCG of the two SCGs. (a TRP may itself be a BS, or each TRP may be a radio head (RH) for a base station, where a BS may have multiple RHs. In some examples, the TRP response to a TRP (e.g., beam group) specific BFRQ may depend on whether the BFRQ is sent in TRP specific BFR MAC-CE (Case 1), as the preamble in CFRA MsgA/1 (Case 2), or in UCI carried in PUCCH/PUSCH (Case 3), Column 24 lines 15-20)
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US Patent 12,250,573) in view of Agiwal et al. (US Publication 2022/0046441) further in view of Go et al. (US Publication 2025/0038823).
With respect to claims 25, Kang in view of Agiwal doesn’t teach wherein based on the second TRP being the failed TRP and the second BFR request including information related to the second TRP, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to one of: transmit the first BFR request without canceling the second BFR request; transmit the second BFR request without canceling the first BFR request; transmit the first BFR request and cancel the second BFR request based on the first BFR request having a higher priority level than the second BFR request; or transmit the second BFR request and cancel the first BFR request based on the second BFR request having a higher priority level than the first BFR request.
Go teaches wherein based on the second TRP being the failed TRP and the second BFR request including information related to the second TRP, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to one of: transmit the first BFR request without canceling the second BFR request; transmit the second BFR request without canceling the first BFR request; transmit the first BFR request and cancel the second BFR request based on the first BFR request having a higher priority level than the second BFR request; or transmit the second BFR request and cancel the first BFR request based on the second BFR request having a higher priority level than the first BFR request. (when a TRP-specific BF occurs in an SpCell (SpCell TRP #2 BF) before a BF for TRP #1 (BFD-RS set #1) occurs in SCell #1 and a PUCCH-SR resource is transmitted in an SpCell to TRP #1, a UE can cancel the PUCCH that was to be transmitted in the SpCell to TRP #1 and transmit a PUCCH-SR resource destined for TRP #2, Paragraph 391. when a BF for different TRPs (i.e., first BFD-RS set index/CORESETpoolIndex/CORESET group index) occurs (detected) in one or more SCells and SpCells belonging to the same cell group, a TRP-based BF occurred (detected) in an SpCell is given priority, paragraph 395)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Kang and Agiwal with transmit the first BFR request without canceling the second BFR request as taught by Go. The motivation for combining Kang, Agiwal and Go is to be able to prevent PUCCH-SR resources for BFRQ transmission from increasing.
With respect to claims 26, Kang in view of Agiwal doesn’t teach wherein based on both the first TRP and the second TRP being the failed TRP, and the second BFR request including information related to the first TRP and information related to the second TRP, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to one of: transmit the second BFR request without canceling the first BFR request in response to triggering the second BFR procedure; transmit the second BFR request and cancel the first BFR request in response to triggering the second BFR procedure; or transmit the first BFR request without canceling the second BFR request.
Go teaches wherein based on both the first TRP and the second TRP being the failed TRP, and the second BFR request including information related to the first TRP and information related to the second TRP, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to one of: transmit the second BFR request without canceling the first BFR request in response to triggering the second BFR procedure; transmit the second BFR request and cancel the first BFR request in response to triggering the second BFR procedure; or transmit the first BFR request without canceling the second BFR request. (Due to a BF for TRP #1 (BFD-RS set #1) occurred in SCell #1 transmission of a PUCCH-SR resource in an SpCell to TRP #1 (or TRP #2) is completed, and when a TRP-specific BF occurs in an SpCell before transmitting a BFR MAC-CE to TRP #1 or/and TRP #2 (SpCell TRP #2 BF), a UE may additionally transmit a PUCCH-SR resource in an SpCell to TRP #2 (or TRP #1). Afterwards, the UE transmits a BFR MAC-CE to TRP #1 or/and TRP #2, paragraph 396)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Kang and Agiwal with transmit the first BFR request without canceling the second BFR request as taught by Go. The motivation for combining Kang, Agiwal and Go is to be able to prevent PUCCH-SR resources for BFRQ transmission from increasing.
With respect to claims 27, Kang in view of Agiwal doesn’t teach wherein the second BFR request is transmitted without canceling the first BFR request based on the second BFR request having a higher priority level than the first BFR request.
Go teaches wherein the second BFR request is transmitted without canceling the first BFR request based on the second BFR request having a higher priority level than the first BFR request. (when a TRP-specific BF occurs in an SpCell (SpCell TRP #2 BF) before a BF for TRP #1 (BFD-RS set #1) occurs in SCell #1 and a PUCCH-SR resource is transmitted in an SpCell to TRP #1, a UE can cancel the PUCCH that was to be transmitted in the SpCell to TRP #1 and transmit a PUCCH-SR resource destined for TRP #2, Paragraph 391. when a BF for different TRPs (i.e., first BFD-RS set index/CORESETpoolIndex/CORESET group index) occurs (detected) in one or more SCells and SpCells belonging to the same cell group, a TRP-based BF occurred (detected) in an SpCell is given priority, paragraph 395)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Kang and Agiwal with transmit the first BFR request without canceling the second BFR request as taught by Go. The motivation for combining Kang, Agiwal and Go is to be able to prevent PUCCH-SR resources for BFRQ transmission from increasing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15-33 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475