DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2024/0314857) in view of Choi et al. (US 2023/0156584).
Regarding claim 1, Lu teaches a wireless terminal served by a public land mobile network (PLMN) in which one or more network slices are provided, the one or more of the network slices providing a designated service(s) within the PLMN (i.e., NSSAI that is provided by a public land mobile network (PLMN) to the UE in a process such as registration and indicates a set of S-NSSAI values that the UE can use in a current registration area [0028]), the wireless terminal (UE) comprising: receiver circuitry configured to receive: a first message comprising a Rejected Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI), the Rejected NSSAI further comprising identities of one or more rejected network slices (i.e., the validity information can be carried in a first message, and the network device transmits the first message to the terminal device. The terminal device obtains the validity information after receiving the first message from the network device, where the first message is a registration response message for a registration request message transmitted by the terminal device or a terminal configuration update message… the first message carries an NSSAI… the NSSAI includes the rejected NSSAI [0092]-[0098]); and based on the first message, a second message comprising information, the information comprising one or more carrier frequency lists, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists specifying at least one carrier frequency, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists being associated with the one or more of the identities of the rejected network slices included in the Rejected NSSAI (i.e., the validity information may also be carried in a second message, and the network device transmits the second message to the terminal device. The terminal device obtains the validity information after receiving the second message from the network device ([0167]-[0168]).. The slice information of the network slice may contain at least one of a network slice identifier, a network slice group identifier, a frequency point corresponding to the network slice, a priority of the frequency point corresponding to the network slice, location information corresponding to the network slice [0170]); and processor circuitry configured to: store the information; initiate, upon requesting a service with at least one of the network slices in the Rejected NSSAI (i.e., During a process of initiating a registration request by the terminal device to the AMF network element, the user identifier and/or the requested NSSAI can be carried in the registration request message. The requested NSSAI is an NSSAI that the terminal device expects to use, the requested NSSAI contains an S-NSSAI that the terminal device expects to access, and the requested NSSAI is provided by the terminal device to the AMF network element [0103]-[0104]).
Lu does not specifically teach second message comprising redirection information, the redirection information comprising one or more carrier frequency lists, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists specifying at least one carrier frequency, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists being associated with the one or more of the identities of the rejected network slices included in the Rejected NSSAI; and processor circuitry configured to: store the redirection information; initiate, upon requesting a service with at least one of the network slices in the Rejected NSSAI, a cell selection procedure based on the stored redirection information.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Choi teaches a processor configured to: determine a frequency specific network slice of the plurality of network slices based on the second message; and perform cell reselection with a cell of the frequency specific network slice; a method for target network slice information for target network slices includes transmitting a first message to a core network entity, wherein the first message comprises information indicating a request to register a plurality of network slices. In some embodiments, the method includes receiving, in response to transmitting the first message, a second message comprising target slice information. In certain embodiments, the method includes determining a frequency specific network slice of the plurality of network slices based on the second message. In various embodiments, the method includes performing cell reselection with a cell of the frequency specific network slice ([0010]-[0011]). The UE may derive frequency information for the preferred slice configuration based on the target frequency information received from rejected S-NSSAIs. With the new “Slice preference assistance” information, the UE may indicate to a RAN node its preference to be redirected or handed over to a preferred slice configuration ([0077]-[0079], [0086]-[0088]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Choi within the system of LU in order to receive redirection information in the RRC release message and reselect a suitable cell on the indicated target carrier frequency of RAN area 2 that is serviced by the target RAN node.
Regarding claim 2, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches wherein during the cell selection procedure candidate cells on the at least one carrier frequency specified in the carrier frequency list associated with the at least one of the network slices in the Rejected NSSAI are evaluated (i.e., after PLMN and initial cell selection, the UE is camped on a suitable cell of frequency band 1 that is serviced by a source RAN node; and 4) the UE attempts to initially register with the network for S-NSSAI 1, S-NSSAI 2, S-NSSAI 3, and S-NSSAI 4 [0076]-[0077], [0091]-[0092], [0111], [0118]-[0119]).
Regarding claim 3, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches a strongest suitable cell among the candidate cells is selected (i.e., after PLMN and initial cell selection, the UE is camped on a suitable cell of a RAN area that is serviced by a source RAN node; and the UE attempts to initially register to the network and sends the S-NSSAI 2 in the IE “Requested NSSAI” within the registration request message [0081], [0100]).
Regarding claim 5, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches at least one carrier frequency in each of the one or more carrier frequency lists is associated with a priority (i.e., When the slice information contains the frequency point corresponding to the network slice and the priority of the frequency point, a corresponding network slice may be selected as a network slice corresponding to a requested NSSAI according to the priority of the frequency point [0170]).
Regarding claim 6, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches one of the one or more of the carrier frequency lists associated with the at least one of the network slices in the Rejected NSSAI is used during the cell selection procedure (i.e., enable a UE to perform: i) cell selection if there is a radio frequency band specific slice configuration; ii) service-initiated cell selection to cells operating in frequency bands for specific network slices, the following three network-controlled methods may be used [0075]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 7, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches the second message is a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message (i.e., the source RAN node 404 releases the RRC connection by sending an RRC release message to the UE 402 including target carrier frequency information (e.g., related to the rejected S-NSSAI 2). The UE 402 accepts redirection information in the RRC release message [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 8, Lu teaches an access node of a public land mobile network (PLMN) in which one or more network slices are provided, the one or more of the network slices providing a designated service(s) within the PLMN (i.e., NSSAI that is provided by a public land mobile network (PLMN) to the UE in a process such as registration and indicates a set of S-NSSAI values that the UE can use in a current registration area [0028]), the wireless terminal (UE) comprising: a processor circuitry configured to generate: a first message comprising a Rejected Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI), the Rejected NSSAI further comprising identities of one or more rejected network slices (i.e., the validity information can be carried in a first message, and the network device transmits the first message to the terminal device. The terminal device obtains the validity information after receiving the first message from the network device, where the first message is a registration response message for a registration request message transmitted by the terminal device or a terminal configuration update message… the first message carries an NSSAI… the NSSAI includes the rejected NSSAI [0092]-[0098]); and based on the first message, a second message comprising information, the information comprising one or more carrier frequency lists, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists specifying at least one carrier frequency, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists being associated with the one or more of the identities of the rejected network slices included in the Rejected NSSAI (i.e., the validity information may also be carried in a second message, and the network device transmits the second message to the terminal device. The terminal device obtains the validity information after receiving the second message from the network device ([0167]-[0168]).. The slice information of the network slice may contain at least one of a network slice identifier, a network slice group identifier, a frequency point corresponding to the network slice, a priority of the frequency point corresponding to the network slice, location information corresponding to the network slice [0170]); and transmitter circuitry configured to transmit, to a wireless terminal, the first message and the second message (i.e., receiving a first message and second message from a core network [0006]-[0007]).
Lu does not specifically teach second message comprising redirection information, the redirection information comprising one or more carrier frequency lists, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists specifying at least one carrier frequency, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists being associated with the one or more of the identities of the rejected network slices included in the Rejected NSSAI.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Choi teaches a processor configured to: determine a frequency specific network slice of the plurality of network slices based on the second message; and perform cell reselection with a cell of the frequency specific network slice; a method for target network slice information for target network slices includes transmitting a first message to a core network entity, wherein the first message comprises information indicating a request to register a plurality of network slices. In some embodiments, the method includes receiving, in response to transmitting the first message, a second message comprising target slice information. In certain embodiments, the method includes determining a frequency specific network slice of the plurality of network slices based on the second message. In various embodiments, the method includes performing cell reselection with a cell of the frequency specific network slice ([0010]-[0011]). The UE may derive frequency information for the preferred slice configuration based on the target frequency information received from rejected S-NSSAIs. With the new “Slice preference assistance” information, the UE may indicate to a RAN node its preference to be redirected or handed over to a preferred slice configuration ([0077]-[0079], [0086]-[0088]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Choi within the system of LU in order to receive redirection information in the RRC release message and reselect a suitable cell on the indicated target carrier frequency of RAN area 2 that is serviced by the target RAN node.
Regarding claim 9, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches wherein during the cell selection procedure candidate cells on the at least one carrier frequency specified in the carrier frequency list associated with the at least one of the network slices in the Rejected NSSAI are evaluated (i.e., after PLMN and initial cell selection, the UE is camped on a suitable cell of frequency band 1 that is serviced by a source RAN node; and 4) the UE attempts to initially register with the network for S-NSSAI 1, S-NSSAI 2, S-NSSAI 3, and S-NSSAI 4 [0076]-[0077], [0091]-[0092], [0111], [0118]-[0119]).
Regarding claim 10, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches a strongest suitable cell among the candidate cells is selected (i.e., after PLMN and initial cell selection, the UE is camped on a suitable cell of a RAN area that is serviced by a source RAN node; and the UE attempts to initially register to the network and sends the S-NSSAI 2 in the IE “Requested NSSAI” within the registration request message [0081], [0100]).
Regarding claim 12, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches at least one carrier frequency in each of the one or more carrier frequency lists is associated with a priority (i.e., When the slice information contains the frequency point corresponding to the network slice and the priority of the frequency point, a corresponding network slice may be selected as a network slice corresponding to a requested NSSAI according to the priority of the frequency point [0170]).
Regarding claim 13, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches one of the one or more of the carrier frequency lists associated with the at least one of the network slices in the Rejected NSSAI is used during the cell selection procedure (i.e., enable a UE to perform: i) cell selection if there is a radio frequency band specific slice configuration; ii) service-initiated cell selection to cells operating in frequency bands for specific network slices, the following three network-controlled methods may be used [0075]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 14, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above. Choi further teaches the second message is a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message (i.e., the source RAN node 404 releases the RRC connection by sending an RRC release message to the UE 402 including target carrier frequency information (e.g., related to the rejected S-NSSAI 2). The UE 402 accepts redirection information in the RRC release message [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 15, Lu teaches a method for a wireless terminal served by a public land mobile network (PLMN) in which one or more network slices are provided, the one or more of the network slices providing a designated service(s) within the PLMN (i.e., NSSAI that is provided by a public land mobile network (PLMN) to the UE in a process such as registration and indicates a set of S-NSSAI values that the UE can use in a current registration area [0028]), the wireless terminal (UE) comprising: receiving a first message comprising a Rejected Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI), the Rejected NSSAI further comprising identities of one or more rejected network slices (i.e., the validity information can be carried in a first message, and the network device transmits the first message to the terminal device. The terminal device obtains the validity information after receiving the first message from the network device, where the first message is a registration response message for a registration request message transmitted by the terminal device or a terminal configuration update message… the first message carries an NSSAI… the NSSAI includes the rejected NSSAI [0092]-[0098]); and based on the first message, a second message comprising information, the information comprising one or more carrier frequency lists, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists specifying at least one carrier frequency, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists being associated with the one or more of the identities of the rejected network slices included in the Rejected NSSAI (i.e., the validity information may also be carried in a second message, and the network device transmits the second message to the terminal device. The terminal device obtains the validity information after receiving the second message from the network device ([0167]-[0168]).. The slice information of the network slice may contain at least one of a network slice identifier, a network slice group identifier, a frequency point corresponding to the network slice, a priority of the frequency point corresponding to the network slice, location information corresponding to the network slice [0170]); storing the information and initiating, upon requesting a service with at least one of the network slices in the Rejected NSSAI (i.e., During a process of initiating a registration request by the terminal device to the AMF network element, the user identifier and/or the requested NSSAI can be carried in the registration request message. The requested NSSAI is an NSSAI that the terminal device expects to use, the requested NSSAI contains an S-NSSAI that the terminal device expects to access, and the requested NSSAI is provided by the terminal device to the AMF network element [0103]-[0104]).
Lu does not specifically teach second message comprising redirection information, the redirection information comprising one or more carrier frequency lists, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists specifying at least one carrier frequency, the one or more of the carrier frequency lists being associated with the one or more of the identities of the rejected network slices included in the Rejected NSSAI; storing the redirection information and initiating, upon requesting a service with at least one of the network slices in the Rejected NSSAI, a cell selection procedure based on the stored redirection information.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Choi teaches a processor configured to: determine a frequency specific network slice of the plurality of network slices based on the second message; and perform cell reselection with a cell of the frequency specific network slice; a method for target network slice information for target network slices includes transmitting a first message to a core network entity, wherein the first message comprises information indicating a request to register a plurality of network slices. In some embodiments, the method includes receiving, in response to transmitting the first message, a second message comprising target slice information. In certain embodiments, the method includes determining a frequency specific network slice of the plurality of network slices based on the second message. In various embodiments, the method includes performing cell reselection with a cell of the frequency specific network slice ([0010]-[0011]). The UE may derive frequency information for the preferred slice configuration based on the target frequency information received from rejected S-NSSAIs. With the new “Slice preference assistance” information, the UE may indicate to a RAN node its preference to be redirected or handed over to a preferred slice configuration ([0077]-[0079], [0086]-[0088]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Choi within the system of LU in order to receive redirection information in the RRC release message and reselect a suitable cell on the indicated target carrier frequency of RAN area 2 that is serviced by the target RAN node.
Claims 4, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2024/0314857) in view of Choi et al. (US 2023/0156584) further in view of Yang (US 2023/0413150).
Regarding claim 4, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above except the candidate cells are evaluated irrespective of signal level/quality of a currently serving cell.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Yang teaches the UE may perform an evaluation of the handover conditions for the candidate cells. If the UE receives handover assistance information, the UE would initiate to evaluate the handover conditions for the candidate cells in the list to determine whether to perform conditional handover to one of the candidate cells ([0132]). The wireless device may identify the candidate cell—a signal quality for the candidate cell is better than that for the source cell by more than or equal to an offset—among the at least one candidate cell ([0167]-[0168]). The handover condition may be used to determine which candidate cell is suitable to move to from the source cell. When the handover condition for a candidate cell is satisfied, the wireless device may determine that the candidate cell is suitable for target cell for handover ([0172]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Yang within the combination system of Lu and Choi in order to determine whether the signal quality for each candidate cell satisfies the handover reporting condition using this offset while the handover validity timer is running.
Regarding claim 11, Lu in view of Choi teaches all the limitations above except the candidate cells are evaluated irrespective of signal level/quality of a currently serving cell.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Yang teaches the UE may perform an evaluation of the handover conditions for the candidate cells. If the UE receives handover assistance information, the UE would initiate to evaluate the handover conditions for the candidate cells in the list to determine whether to perform conditional handover to one of the candidate cells ([0132]). The wireless device may identify the candidate cell—a signal quality for the candidate cell is better than that for the source cell by more than or equal to an offset—among the at least one candidate cell ([0167]-[0168]). The handover condition may be used to determine which candidate cell is suitable to move to from the source cell. When the handover condition for a candidate cell is satisfied, the wireless device may determine that the candidate cell is suitable for target cell for handover ([0172]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Yang within the combination system of Lu and Choi in order to determine whether the signal quality for each candidate cell satisfies the handover reporting condition using this offset while the handover validity timer is running.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643