=DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/EP2021/070162 filed on 7/19/2021. Claims 1 and 3-19 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "…determine that the one or more conditions have been met…" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "…information identifying the selected one of the user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and…" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 12-13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bin Redhwan et al. (US 2022/0201561, hereinafter Redhwan) in view of YOU (US 2021/0410034).
Regarding claim 1, Redhwan discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to [Redhwan Figure 9 discloses examples of a wireless device comprising a processor, a memory, program code for performing various functions etc. (Redhwan Figure 9, paragraphs 0267-0276)]:
Receive, at a user equipment from a first access point supporting a serving cell, one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble, the timing information indicating when the user equipment is to use the associated random access preamble [Redhwan Figure 3 discloses a method where a second network node (112) may transmit a second indication indicating a timer, and a third indication indicating one or more RACH configurations during action 302 (Redhwan Figure 3, paragraph 0078). The transmitting may be to the first network node (111), and the second and the third indications are intended for wireless device 130. Thus, the first network node (i.e. an access point supporting a serving cell) forwards the indications to the device (Redhwan paragraph 0079). RACH configurations correspond to UE specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information related to the random access preamble. Redhwan discloses that RACH configurations comprise RACH resources being used over time, which comprise all necessary information for the UE to perform random access after handover to the second node. It may include timers associated to handover command and random access resources used (Redhwan paragraph 0080). The timing information indicate the dedicated RACH configuration to be used (see Redhwan table 1, paragraphs 0082-0083); which indicates that the timing information indicates when the UE is to use the associated RA preamble];
Responsive to the receiving, start a timer; and send, to a second access point supporting a target cell, a random access request including one of the one or more random access preambles, the included random access preamble being selected based on a value of the timer and the timing information [Redhwan discloses that in an example of using time varying RACH configurations, the wireless device may be configured with the first timer with a certain value (e.g. 500 ms) and provided with three different CFRA resource lists. Each resource list may be associated with a particular timer value or range; and the wireless device may use the appropriate CFRA/CBRA resources to access the target cell (Redhwan paragraph 0084). Thus, the UE selects a particular RACH configuration with appropriate RA resources based on a timer value and corresponding timing information to access target cell (i.e. sends a random access request using a particular RACH configuration)].
Although Redhwan discloses that the timer value for the wireless device corresponds to a particular RACH configuration/resource set, used by the device to access the target cell (see above); which would imply a timer being started at the wireless device; Redhwan does not expressly disclose the feature of responsive to the receiving, starting a timer.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, YOU discloses a method (YOU Figure 5) where a terminal device receives a handover command and a condition set by a first network device for the terminal to initiate handover (YOU Figure 5, paragraph 0091). The handover command may include information such as a RACH resource including a dedicated preamble (YOU paragraphs 0093 and 0094). The terminal device starts a timer when receiving the command (YOU paragraph 0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Redhwan and YOU to have the feature of responsive to the receiving, starting a timer. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable the target base station to reasonably maintain resources allocated to the terminal for conditional handover and allow the terminal to access the target cell with effective resources (YOU paragraph 0102).
Regarding claim 3, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Redhwan and YOU further disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to send, to the first access point supporting the serving cell, a measurement report or receive, from the first access point, at least one of: a handover command to cause the user equipment to initiate handover from the serving cell to the target cell; and information identifying one or more conditions, wherein the user equipment is configured to perform handover from the serving cell to the target cell when the one or more conditions are met [Redhwan Figure 6 (action 605) discloses that a conditional HO command may be sent from the serving cell to the UE (Redhwan Figure 6, paragraph 0084). YOU discloses that a terminal device receives a handover command and a condition set by a first network device for the terminal to initiate handover (YOU Figure 5, paragraph 0091). When the first timer has not expired and the condition for the terminal device to initiate handover to a second network device is met, the terminal device initiates a procedure of accessing a cell of the second network device (YOU paragraph 0096)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Redhwan and YOU further disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine that the one or more conditions have been met, and wherein sending the random access request is performed responsive to the determining; and selecting which of the one or more random access preambles to use based on the value of the timer and the timing information [YOU discloses that when the first timer has not expired and the condition for initiating handover to the target base station is met, the terminal device initiates random access to the target cell (YOU paragraphs 0096 and 0110). Redhwan discloses that the wireless device may be configured with the first timer with a certain value (e.g. 500 ms) and provided with three different CFRA resource lists. Each resource list may be associated with a particular timer value or range; and the wireless device may use the appropriate CFRA/CBRA resources to access the target cell (Redhwan paragraph 0084). Thus, the UE selects a particular RACH configuration with appropriate RA resources based on a timer value and corresponding timing information]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Redhwan discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to [Redhwan Figures 7-8 disclose examples of network nodes comprising a processor, a memory, program code for performing various functions etc. (Redhwan Figures 7-8, paragraphs 225-226, 249-250)]:
Receive, at a first access point supporting a serving cell from a second access point supporting a target cell, one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble, the timing information indicating when the associated random access preamble is to be used [Redhwan Figure 3 discloses a method where a second network node (112) may transmit a second indication indicating a timer, and a third indication indicating one or more RACH configurations during action 302 (Redhwan Figure 3, paragraph 0078). The transmitting may be to the first network node (111) (i.e. receive at a first access point of a serving cell) (Redhwan paragraph 0079). The RACH configurations correspond to UE specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information related to the random access preamble. Redhwan discloses that RACH configurations comprise RACH resources being used over time, which comprise all necessary information for the UE to perform random access after handover to the second node. It may include timers associated to handover command and random access resources used (Redhwan paragraph 0080). The timing information indicate the dedicated RACH configuration to be used (see Redhwan table 1, paragraphs 0082-0083); which indicates that the timing information indicates when the associated RA preamble are to be used]; and
Send, from the first access point to the user equipment, the one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble [Redhwan discloses that a second network node (112) may transmit a second indication indicating a timer, and a third indication indicating one or more RACH configurations during action 302 (Redhwan Figure 3, paragraph 0078). The transmitting may be to the first network node (111), and the second and the third indications are intended for wireless device 130. Thus, the first network node (i.e. an access point supporting a serving cell) forwards the indications to the device (Redhwan paragraph 0079)].
Although Redhwan discloses regarding RACH configurations being received by the access point and UE, which correspond to allocations of a random access preamble; Redhwan does not expressly disclose regarding receiving random access preamble.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, YOU discloses a method (YOU Figure 5) where a terminal device receives a handover command and a condition set by a first network device for the terminal to initiate handover (YOU Figure 5, paragraph 0091). The handover command is generated by target base station (see examples in YOU Figures 6-7, paragraphs 0106-0108 and 0114-0116). The handover command may include information such as a RACH resource including a dedicated preamble (YOU paragraphs 0093 and 0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Redhwan and YOU to have the feature of receiving random access preamble. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable the target base station to reasonably maintain resources allocated to the terminal for conditional handover and allow the terminal to access the target cell with effective resources (YOU paragraph 0102).
Regarding claim 8, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 7, Redhwan and YOU further disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the user equipment, a measurement report; determine that a handover of the user equipment is necessary based on the measurement report; and send, to the second access point, a handover preparation request for the user equipment to the target cell, wherein the target cell is selected based on the measurement report [Redhwan discloses that the wireless device may trigger a measurement report on a lower threshold value than traditional handover, or a non-conditional handover. The first network node 111, managing the source cell 121, may receive the report, and, in an effort to secure continued service to the wireless device 130, may send an early handover request to the target cell(s), which may comprise the target cell 122, for example, via the second network node 112 managing the target cell 122 (Redhwan paragraph 0069)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 8, Redhwan and YOU further disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the second access point, a handover acknowledgement, wherein the handover acknowledgement includes the one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble [Redhwan Figure 3 discloses a method where a second network node (112) may transmit a second indication indicating a timer, and a third indication indicating one or more RACH configurations during action 302 (Redhwan Figure 3, paragraph 0078). The RACH configurations correspond to UE specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information related to the random access preamble. Redhwan discloses that RACH configurations comprise RACH resources being used over time, which comprise all necessary information for the UE to perform random access after handover to the second node. It may include timers associated to handover command and random access resources used (Redhwan paragraph 0080). The second and third indication may be comprised in a HO request acknowledgement message (Redhwan paragraph 0081)],
Wherein sending to the user equipment one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble comprises sending a radio resource control reconfiguration message including the one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble [Redhwan discloses that the indications may be comprised in an information element; and in on example, the information may be sent to the wireless device via RRC Reconfiguration (Redhwan paragraphs 0083-0084)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 9, Redhwan and YOU further disclose wherein the sending comprises at least one of: sending a handover command to cause the user equipment to initiate handover from the serving cell to the target cell, wherein the handover command includes the one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble; and sending the one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble, and information identifying one or more conditions, wherein the user equipment is configured to perform handover from the serving cell to the target cell when the one or more conditions are met [Redhwan discloses that the indications may be comprised in an information element; and in on example, the information may be sent to the wireless device via RRC Reconfiguration, which may be sent in the handover command by the first network node (Redhwan paragraphs 0083-0084). Also see action 605 in Redhwan Figure 6]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, Redhwan discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to [Redhwan Figures 7-8 disclose examples of network nodes comprising a processor, a memory, program code for performing various functions etc. (Redhwan Figures 7-8, paragraphs 225-226, 249-250)]:
Obtain, at a second access point supporting a target cell from a radio access node data collection entity, one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble, the timing information indicating when the associated random access preamble is to be used [Redhwan discloses that the wireless device may trigger a measurement report on a lower threshold value than traditional handover, or a non-conditional handover. The first network node 111, managing the source cell 121, may receive the report, and, in an effort to secure continued service to the wireless device 130, may send an early handover request to the target cell(s), which may comprise the target cell 122, for example, via the second network node 112 managing the target cell 122 (Redhwan paragraph 0069). Thus, the first network node also acts as a radio access node data collection entity because it receives data such as measurement report. ];
Send, from the second access point to a first access point supporting a serving cell, the one or more user equipment specific allocations of the random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble [Redhwan Figure 3 discloses a method where a second network node (112) may transmit a second indication indicating a timer, and a third indication indicating one or more RACH configurations during action 302 (Redhwan Figure 3, paragraph 0078). The transmitting may be to the first network node (111) (i.e. receive at a first access point of a serving cell) (Redhwan paragraph 0079). The RACH configurations correspond to UE specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information related to the random access preamble. Redhwan discloses that RACH configurations comprise RACH resources being used over time, which comprise all necessary information for the UE to perform random access after handover to the second node. It may include timers associated to handover command and random access resources used (Redhwan paragraph 0080). The timing information indicate the dedicated RACH configuration to be used (see Redhwan table 1, paragraphs 0082-0083); which indicates that the timing information indicates when the associated RA preamble are to be used]; and
Receive, at the second access point from the user equipment, a random access request including a random access preamble corresponding to one of the user equipment specific allocations of the random access preamble [Redhwan discloses that in an example of using time varying RACH configurations, the wireless device may be configured with the first timer with a certain value (e.g. 500 ms) and provided with three different CFRA resource lists. Each resource list may be associated with a particular timer value or range; and the wireless device may use the appropriate CFRA/CBRA resources to access the target cell (Redhwan paragraph 0084). Thus, the UE selects a particular RACH configuration with appropriate RA resources based on a timer value and corresponding timing information to access target cell (i.e. sends a random access request using a particular RACH configuration)].
Although Redhwan discloses regarding RACH configurations being received by the access point and UE, which correspond to allocations of a random access preamble; Redhwan does not expressly disclose regarding obtaining random access preamble.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, YOU discloses a method (YOU Figure 5) where a terminal device receives a handover command and a condition set by a first network device for the terminal to initiate handover (YOU Figure 5, paragraph 0091). The handover command is generated by target base station in response to the handover request from the source base station (see examples in YOU Figures 6-7, paragraphs 0106-0108 and 0114-0116). The handover command may include information such as a RACH resource including a dedicated preamble (YOU paragraphs 0093 and 0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Redhwan and YOU to have the feature of obtaining random access preamble. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable the target base station to reasonably maintain resources allocated to the terminal for conditional handover and allow the terminal to access the target cell with effective resources (YOU paragraph 0102).
Regarding claim 13, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 12. Redhwan and YOU further disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to receive, at the second access point from the first access point, a handover preparation request for the user equipment, wherein the obtaining is performed response to receiving the handover preparation request [Redhwan discloses that the wireless device may trigger a measurement report on a lower threshold value than traditional handover, or a non-conditional handover. The first network node 111, managing the source cell 121, may receive the report, and, in an effort to secure continued service to the wireless device 130, may send an early handover request (i.e. a handover preparation request) to the target cell(s), which may comprise the target cell 122, for example, via the second network node 112 managing the target cell 122 (Redhwan paragraph 0069)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 12. Redhwan and YOU further disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: send, to the radio access node data collection entity, information identifying the selected one of the user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble [Redhwan Figure 3 discloses a method where a second network node (112) may transmit a second indication indicating a timer, and a third indication indicating one or more RACH configurations during action 302 (Redhwan Figure 3, paragraph 0078). The transmitting may be to the first network node (111) (i.e. to a data collection entity) (Redhwan paragraph 0079). The RACH configurations correspond to UE specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information related to the random access preamble. Redhwan discloses that RACH configurations comprise RACH resources being used over time, which comprise all necessary information for the UE to perform random access after handover to the second node. It may include timers associated to handover command and random access resources used (Redhwan paragraph 0080). The timing information indicate the dedicated RACH configuration to be used (see Redhwan table 1, paragraphs 0082-0083)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 19, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 12. Redhwan and YOU further disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: responsive to receiving the random access request, send, to the first access point, a handover acknowledgement, wherein the handover acknowledgement includes the random access preamble included in the random access request [Redhwan Figure 3 discloses a method where a second network node (112) may transmit a second indication indicating a timer, and a third indication indicating one or more RACH configurations during action 302 (Redhwan Figure 3, paragraph 0078). The RACH configurations correspond to UE specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information related to the random access preamble. Redhwan discloses that RACH configurations comprise RACH resources being used over time, which comprise all necessary information for the UE to perform random access after handover to the second node. It may include timers associated to handover command and random access resources used (Redhwan paragraph 0080). The second and third indication may be comprised in a HO request acknowledgement message (Redhwan paragraph 0081)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 12.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redhwan in view of YOU, and further in view of Zhuo et al. (WO 2019/101186 A1, hereinafter Zhuo. English translation is provided).
Regarding claim 5, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Redhwan and YOU do not expressly disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: log a value of the timer when sending the random access request including the one of the one or more random access preambles.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhuo discloses that the first time information of the terminal may include a timer 1401, where the recorder is configured to record the first time information of the terminal. The random access preamble is sent carrying the first time information of the terminal; which indicates logging a value of the timer when sending the random access request (Zhuo page 42, paragraph 4. Also see Zhuo page 49 last paragraph-page 50 first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Redhwan, YOU and Zhuo to have the feature of logging a value of the timer when sending the random access request including the one of the one or more random access preambles. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for correctly decoding an uplink signal, decrease the number of timing advance adjustments and reduce signaling overhead (Zhuo abstract).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redhwan in view of YOU, and further in view of Kim (US 2023/0284264).
Regarding claim 6, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Redhwan and YOU do not expressly disclose the features of wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine that a value of the timer reaches a certain value; determine that no random access response has been received from the target cell before the value of the timer has reached the certain value; and perform a contention based random access procedure to access the target cell responsive to determining that no random access response has been received from the target cell before the value of the timer has reached the certain value.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Kim discloses that when a terminal has transmitted the message 1 (e.g., RA MSG-A (e.g., RA preamble, RA payload), RA MSG1) more than a preconfigured number of times in the CFRA procedure or when the terminal does not receive an RAR for the message 1 within a time corresponding to a preconfigured timer, the terminal may switch from the CFRA procedure to the CBRA (contention-based random access) procedure (Kim paragraph 0329).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Redhwan, YOU and Kim to have the features of wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine that a value of the timer reaches a certain value; determine that no random access response has been received from the target cell before the value of the timer has reached the certain value; and perform a contention based random access procedure to access the target cell responsive to determining that no random access response has been received from the target cell before the value of the timer has reached the certain value. The suggestion/motivation would have been to support both 2-step and 4-step RA procedures based on RA preamble indexes or transmission resources; and efficiently perform the RA procedure (Kim paragraphs 0040 and 0041).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redhwan in view of YOU, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0264636, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 11, Redhwan and YOU disclose the apparatus of claim 7. Redhwan and YOU do not expressly disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: send the one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble to a plurality of user equipments, wherein the timing information provided to each of the plurality of user equipments is one of: non-overlapping or overlapping.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang discloses that a network device determines a first random access parameter of the first terminal device and a second random access parameter of the second terminal device based on the first random access preamble length and the second random access preamble length, where there is an overlapping part, in time domain, between a random access preamble indicated by the first random access parameter and a random access preamble indicated by the second random access parameter (Wang paragraph 0008). This indicates sending one or more UEs allocations of RA preamble and wherein the timing information may be overlapping.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Redhwan, YOU and Wang to have the features of sending the one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble to a plurality of user equipments, wherein the timing information provided to each of the plurality of user equipments is one of: non-overlapping or overlapping. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce time-frequency resource waste (Wang paragraph 0046).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the obtaining comprises: sending, to the radio access node data collection entity, a request for the one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble; and receiving, from the radio access node data collection entity, the one or more user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of receiving, from the radio access node data collection entity, a list comprising a plurality of user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble; and selecting, by the second access point, one of the plurality of user equipment specific allocations of a random access preamble and timing information associated with the random access preamble; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the apparatus is further caused to: responsive to receiving the random access request, sending, to the radio access node data collection entity, information identifying the random access preamble included in the random access request and timing information identifying when the random access request was received by the second access point; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414