DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/017, 083.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
App# 18/579, 502 App#18/017,083
Claim 1. A wireless power transfer system to supply electric power without contact to a car moving in a hoistway of an elevator,
the wireless power transfer system comprising: a plurality of power transmitters disposed in the hoistway so as to be aligned over multiple floors in a moving direction of the car; a power transmitting device to supply electric power to the plurality of power transmitters;
a power receiver to receive electric power from the plurality of power transmitters without contact, the power receiver being installed on the car; a power receiving device to receive electric power from the power receiver; a load device to which the electric power received by the power receiving device is supplied; and a controller to control the power transmitting device and the power receiving device, wherein a dimension of the power receiver in the moving direction of the car is larger than a dimension of each of the plurality of power transmitters in the moving direction of the car, wherein intervals of the plurality of power transmitters in the moving direction of the car are smaller than the dimension of the power receiver in the moving direction of the car and lamer than the dimension of each of the plurality of power transmitters in the moving direction of the car.
1. A wireless power supply system that supplies power on a power supply floor, in a contactless manner, to a car moving in a hoistway of an elevator,
the wireless power supply system comprising:
a power transmission unit that is provided on a side of the hoistway to supply the power in the contactless manner;
a power reception unit that is provided on a side of the car to receive the power, in the contactless manner, supplied from the power transmission unit; a controller to control the power transmission unit and the power reception unit; and a power storage to store the power received by the power reception unit and supply the power to a load transmission unit includes a plurality of power transmission coils provided along the hoistway and at least one power transmitter that supplies the power to each of the plurality of power transmission coils, the power reception unit includes a plurality of power reception coils provided on a surface of the car opposite to the power transmission coil and at least one power receiver that receives the power from each of the power reception coils, the plurality of power transmission coils include at least a first power transmission coil and a second power transmission coil, and a length of the second power transmission coil in a traveling direction of the car is longer than a length of the first power transmission coil.
Further Regarding claim 1, 083’ dies not disclose explicitly, wherein a dimension of the power receiver in the moving direction of the car is larger than a dimension of each of the plurality of power transmitters in the moving direction of the car, wherein intervals of the plurality of power transmitters in the moving direction of the car are smaller than the dimension of the power receiver in the moving direction of the car and lamer than the dimension of each of the plurality of power transmitters in the moving direction of the car.
. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to choose appropriate dimensions of transmission coils and also to choose a distance between the transmitter/receiver coils in 083’ apparatus in order to enhance power transmission for efficient charging of the battery or operating of a load, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As to claim 3, 083’ discloses in claim 1, wherein the plurality of power transmitters are arranged to be equally spaced in line with the moving direction of the car [see claim 1].
Claims 11 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/017, 083 in view of Kanno (US 2019/0036370).
As to claim 11, 083’ discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein the power receiver comprises a flat portion provided to face the power transmitters and a protruding portion protruding from the flat portion toward the power transmitters.
Kanno discloses in figure 4, wherein the power receiver [power receiver 220] comprises a flat portion provided to face the power transmitters and a protruding portion protruding from the flat portion toward the power transmitters [noted that the power receiver (220) is protruded from the flat surface (200)].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to design the power receiver element of 083’ on the surface of the load as taught by Kanno to face the primary power transmitter to increase power transfer between the transmitter and receiver.
As to claim 12, Kanno discloses in figures 1-4, wherein the controller controls operation of the load device such that [see ¶0125, ¶0127, when one of the plurality of power transmitters faces the power receiver, electric power consumption of the load device is different in accordance with a relative position of the one power transmitter with respect to the power receiver [noted that the controller control the load to maintain high power transmission efficiency. It is also implicit that a power consumption of any load during wireless power transmission is dependent upon a relative position of a transmitter and receiver].
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, all the elements are mentioned explicitly or implicitly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1.3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno (US 2019/0036370).
As to claim 1, Kanno discloses in figure 4, a wireless power transfer system to supply electric power without contact to a car moving in a hoistway of an elevator [see figure 4] , the wireless power transfer system comprising:
a plurality of power transmitters [figures 1c and figure 4, element (120)] disposed in the hoistway [hoistway machine (12); see also ¶0052] so as to be aligned over multiple floors [ Np- th floors; see figure 4 and see ¶0050, ¶0072] in a moving direction of the car [the carridge (11) serves as a car];
a power transmitting device [ element (110); ¶0068] to supply electric power to the plurality of power transmitters [power transmitters (120a); and a power receiver [receiver circuit (220)] receive electric power from the plurality of power transmitters without contact, the power receiver being installed on the car [see ¶0068];
a power receiving device [element 210] to receive electric power from the power receiver;
a load device [battery load (24)] to which the electric power received by the power receiving device is supplied [¶0070]; and
a controller [controller 150; see figure 1c] to control the power transmitting device and the power receiving device [see ¶0068, 025-0127],
Kanno discloses and shows a distance between the receivers and transmitters and the distance between receivers are about 10mm [see ¶0137].
However, Kanno does not disclose explicitly, not disclose explicitly, wherein a dimension of the power receiver in the moving direction of the car is larger than a dimension of each of the plurality of power transmitters in the moving direction of the car, wherein intervals of the plurality of power transmitters in the moving direction of the car are smaller than the dimension of the power receiver in the moving direction of the car and lamer than the dimension of each of the plurality of power transmitters in the moving direction of the car.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to choose appropriate dimensions of transmission coils and also to choose a distance between the transmitter/receiver coils in 083’ apparatus in order to enhance power transmission for efficient charging of the battery or operating of a load, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It is also noted that all the claimed elements of applicant’s inventions were known in the prior art (e.g. elevator car, plurality of power transmitters space apart, plurality of power receivers, and etc] , voltage gradient calculator, battery life judging means etc.,) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, proper motivation/rationale to combine is as given in the office action. See KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
As to claim 3, Kanno discloses in figure 1, wherein the plurality of power transmitters are arranged to be equally spaced in line with the moving direction of the car [see figure 4].
As to claim 11, Kanno discloses in figure 4, wherein the power receiver [power receiver 220] comprises a flat portion provided to face the power transmitters and a protruding portion protruding from the flat portion toward the power transmitters [noted that the power receiver (220) is protruded from the flat surface (200)]..
As to claim 12, Kanno discloses in figures 1-4, wherein the controller controls operation of the load device such that [see ¶0125, ¶0127, when one of the plurality of power transmitters faces the power receiver, electric power consumption of the load device is different in accordance with a relative position of the one power transmitter with respect to the power receiver [noted that the controller control the load to maintain high power transmission efficiency. It is also implicit that a power consumption of any load during wireless power transmission is dependent upon a relative position of a transmitter and receiver].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For Claim 4: primarily, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest in the claimed combination: wherein the controller controls the operation of the load device such that the transmittable electric power from at least one of the power transmitters facing the power receiver to the power receiver does not fall below required electric power of the load device the required electric power being electric power required for stable operation of the load device.
.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859