DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a temperature sensor; a shielding layer; a plating layer; a bottom layer; a surface layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “5”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cherian (US 4487465).
As per claim 1: Cherian discloses a terminal 24 having memory function (wherein the terminal is a heat recovery connection device), comprising: a memory contact section that comprises a plurality of contact claws 28/30 (as shown in fig. 2); wherein all or part of the contact claw 28/30 is made of a memory alloy (wherein the contact jaws all being made of memory alloy), the plurality of contact claws 28/30 are arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the memory contact section (as shown in fig. 2), and the plurality of contact claws 28/30 are capable of radially contracting (see figs. 5A-B, wherein the terminal 70 comprises a memory contacting section provided with a plurality of contact jaws, the arms 46/48 of which are made of memory alloy, the two contact jaws being spaced apart along the circumference of the memory contacting section, the contact jaws being able to radially contract).
As per claim 2: Cherian a terminal 24, wherein all or part of the contact claw 28/30 is made of the memory alloy (wherein the contact jaws all being made of memory alloy), the memory contact section is a barrel structure (as shown in fig. 2), an outer profile of a cross section of the memory contact section is circular (see fig. 2), and an inner profile of the cross section of the memory contact section is circular (as shown in fig. 2)
Claim(s) 1-2, 31 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guenin et al. (US 4720270).
As per claim 1: Guenin et al. discloses a terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material), comprising a memory contact section (wherein the operating portion 91) that comprises a plurality of contact claws 102/103 (see figs. 2-3); wherein all or part of the contact claw 102/103 is made of a memory alloy (wherein the materials are used in the form of intermetallic compositions or in alloyed form), the plurality of contact claws 102/103 are arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the memory contact section (as shown in figs. 2-3), and the plurality of contact claws 102/103 are capable of radially contracting (see fig. 3).
As per claims 2, 31: Guenin et al. discloses the terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material), wherein all or part of the contact claw 102/103 is made of the memory alloy (wherein Each male 20 or female 10 part can further be provided with a conductive protective covering consisting of a deposit of gold or silver or an alloy of palladium or even tin lead. This latter cover can in effect be utilized for enlarging the field of normal use since there exists practically no problem of fretting nor of use at each male or female part), the memory contact section 91 is a barrel structure (see fig. 1A-B), an outer profile of a cross section of the memory contact section 91 is circular, and an inner profile of the cross section of the memory contact section is circular (see figs. 1A-B); and wherein the memory alloy is a nickel-titanium alloy (see Col. 4. Lines 55-68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenin et al. (US 4720270).
As per claim 4: Guenin et al. discloses the terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material), and the memory contact section 91. However, Guenin et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the memory contact section has a transformation temperature of 40°C to 70°C; when a temperature of the memory contact section is lower than the transformation temperature, the plurality of contact claws are in an expanded state; and when the temperature of the memory contact section is higher than the transformation temperature, the plurality of contact claws are in a contracted state.
On the other hand, Guenin et al. mentioned passage from the first shape-memory state to the second shape-memory state can be effected by modification of the temperature of the connector; and the first shape-memory state in which the electric contact is ensured is stable at ambient temperature. This first shape-memory state is also stable at low temperature, that is to say at temperatures corresponding to the lowest use temperatures of specifications normally in force for this type of connector. The lowest limit of temperature for which the first shape-memory state remains stable is for example -65.degree C; and it is possible to obtain a transition temperature Ms of the order of -80.degree. C. This transition temperature which is the temperature of passage from the martensitic state for the constituent material of the male or female parts, permits ensuring holding of the first stable shape-memory state for the advertised field of use. The second shape-memory state is stable for temperatures lower than this transition temperature. The passage from the first shape-memory state to the second shape-memory state can be brought about in a reversible manner for a significant number of cycles solely by lowering the temperature of the connector, that is to say the male, female parts, below the transition temperature Ms, and then returning to a use temperature above the temperature Ms or vice versa. Although, Guenin et al. does not exactly the transformation temperature as recited above. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the transformation temperature of 40-70⁰C can only deal with optimum range because such modification still would not change the function of the terminal after all but to further to obtain a good degree of reproduce-ability of the transitions between the first shape-memory state and the second state subsequently solely by lowering of the temperature of the male or female element to a temperature lower than the transition temperature Ms (defined as the temperature at which the martensitic phase itself starts to be formed) then by a successive raising of the temperature of the male or female part to a temperature greater than the temperature As, for the return to the initial shape-memory position or state and to an austenitic type crystallographic state (see col. 5. Lines 37-68). Further, setting the memory alloy as recited above can also deal with manufacture desire. Since, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having memory function of Guenin et al. by having the memory contact section has a transformation temperature of 40°C to 70°C; when a temperature of the memory contact section is lower than the transformation temperature, the plurality of contact claws are in an expanded state; and when the temperature of the memory contact section is higher than the transformation temperature, the plurality of contact claws are in a contracted state as taught by the instant invention to further to obtain a good degree of reproduce-ability of the transitions between the first shape-memory state and the second state subsequently solely by lowering of the temperature of the male or female element to a temperature lower than the transition temperature Ms (defined as the temperature at which the martensitic phase itself starts to be formed) then by a successive raising of the temperature of the male or female part to a temperature greater than the temperature As, for the return to the initial shape-memory position or state and to an austenitic type crystallographic state (see col. 5. Lines 37-68).
As per claims 5-6: Guenin et al. discloses the terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material), wherein the memory contact section 91 is a barrel structure (see figs. 2-3); and when a temperature of the memory contact section is lower than a transformation temperature, distances between inner surfaces of outer ends of the plurality of contact claws and an axis of the memory contact section are alternately increased and decreased in the circumferential direction of the memory contact section (see Col. 5, lines. 5-20; wherein it is possible to obtain a transition temperature Ms of the order of -80.degree. C. This transition temperature which is the temperature of passage from the martensitic state for the constituent material of the male or female parts, permits ensuring holding of the first stable shape-memory state for the advertised field of use. The second shape-memory state is stable for temperatures lower than this transition temperature. The passage from the first shape-memory state to the second shape-memory state can be brought about in a reversible manner for a significant number of cycles solely by lowering the temperature of the connector, that is to say the male, female parts, below the transition temperature Ms, and then returning to a use temperature above the temperature Ms or vice versa). However, Guenin et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the number of the contact claws is greater than or equal to three.
On the other hand, Guenin et al. showed the number of the contact claws 102/103. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the number of the contact claws is greater than or equal to three can only deal with duplication of parts, because such modification still would not change the function of the terminal having memory function but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure in contact between components. Further, Guenin et al. mentioned a so-called intermediary shape state close to the initial shape state of the male or female part is subsequently defined and imposed on it. The imposition of the intermediary shape of state on the male or female part is carried out by the imposition of limits of subsequent change of shape of it to corresponding limits of the intermediary shape state. By intermediary shape state close to the initial shape state is intended a shape state in which the return to the initial state is obtained or a shape close to this. The definition and imposition of limits of change of shape of the male or female part can be carried out by means of a matrix enclosing the male part or of a mandrel inserted in the female part, the matrix or mandrel having respectively internal and external dimensions corresponding to the dimensions of the intermediary shape state. Since, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co.,193 USPQ 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having memory function of Guenin et al. by the number of the contact claws is greater than or equal to three as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure in contact between components.
Claim(s) 7-8, 18-19, 23, 25, 28 are as best understood and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenin et al. (US 4720270) in view of Kraemer et al. (US 10256565).
As per claim 7: Guenin et al. discloses the terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material). However, Guenin et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein an outer end of the contact claw is internally provided with a first inner protrusion.
Kraemer et al. discloses a contact 10 is having an outer end of the contact claw 113 is internally provided with a first inner protrusion (not label, see fig. 2) to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection, grip when a terminal is inserted within the contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having memory function of Guenin et al. by having wherein an outer end of the contact claw is internally provided with a first inner protrusion as taught by Kraemer et al. to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection, grip when a terminal is inserted within the contact.
As per claim 8: Guenin et al. discloses the terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material). However, Guenin et al. does not further disclose a cable connection section and a transition section; and the cable connection section, the transition section and the memory contact section are disposed in sequence.
Kraemer et al. discloses a connector 1, wherein a cable connection section (not label, see fig. 1, wherein connection region 123 of the contact 10 is crimped to a cable, such as a copper or aluminum cable) and a transition section 120; and the cable connection section, the transition section 120 and the memory contact section 110 are disposed in sequence (as shown in fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having memory function of Guenin et al. by having a cable connection section and a transition section; and the cable connection section, the transition section and the memory contact section are disposed in sequence as taught by Kraemer et al. to provide a complete connection of the device.
As per claim 18: Guenin et al. discloses the terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material). However, Guenin et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein an included angle between a plugging direction of the memory contact section and a wiring direction of the cable connection section is greater than 0⁰ and less than or equal to 180⁰.
On the other hand, Guenin et al. showed an electrical connection as at least a male conductive part 20 and/or a female part 10. These male and female parts are intended to be inserted the one in the other for ensuring or breaking electric conduction at them. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having an angle between a plugging direction as mention above can only deal with manufacture desire in which area, place or situation that the terminal is connecting to or located; and such modification still would not change the function of the terminal after all but to further enhance the terminal connection in difference areas or places it’s located.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having memory function of Guenin et al. by having an included angle between a plugging direction of the memory contact section and a wiring direction of the cable connection section is greater than 0⁰ and less than or equal to 180⁰ as taught by the instant invention to further enhance the terminal connection in difference areas or places it’s located.
As per claim 19: Guenin et al. discloses the terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material), and a memory contact section 91 is a barrel structure. However, Guenin et al. silenced wherein an outer end of the contact claw is externally provided with a conductive contact section made of a material different from that of the contact claw; and a distance between the conductive contact section and an axis of the memory contact section is less than a distance between the contact claw and the axis of the memory contact section.
On the other hand, Guenin et al. mentioned shape-memory material, able to be used for providing the connector of the invention will now be given. These materials are, in a non-limitative manner, chosen from the compositions nickel-titanium, nickel-aluminum, nickel-titanium-iron, copper-zinc-aluminum, copper-aluminum-nickel. These compositions can be used either in the form of intermetallic compositions or in alloyed form. By way of non-limitative example, male or female parts such as shown in FIG. 3 have been made from a copper-zinc-aluminum alloy having 4%.+-.0.5% of aluminum, 27 to 29% zinc and balance by percentage of copper, the percentages being atomic percentages. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having different materials and the distance as recited above can only deal with preferred material and optimum range and the manufacture desire, because such modification still would not change the function of the terminal but to further enhance a stable, reliable contact connection in between. since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having memory function of Guenin et al. by having an outer end of the contact claw is externally provided with a conductive contact section made of a material different from that of the contact claw; and a distance between the conductive contact section and an axis of the memory contact section is less than a distance between the contact claw and the axis of the memory contact section as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable connection of the terminal to other components.
As per claim 23: Guenin et al. discloses the terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material). However, Guenin et al. does not explicitly disclose the contact claw provided with a plating layer.
On the other hand, Guenin et al. mentioned the shape memory material are in a non-limitative manner, chosen from the compositions nickel-titanium, nickel-aluminum, nickel-titanium-iron, copper-zinc-aluminum, copper-aluminum-nickel. These compositions can be used either in the form of intermetallic compositions or in alloyed form. Although, Guenin et al. silenced regarding the layer. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having a plating layer on the contact/terminal is well known, common knowledge and commonly used in the art of connector to further enhance properties like corrosion resistance, aesthetics, and functionality of the connector/terminal, and to provide a quality connection of the terminal/connector to and from.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having memory function of Guenin et al. by having the contact claw provided with a plating layer as taught by the instant invention to further enhance properties like corrosion resistance, aesthetics, and functionality of the connector/terminal, and to provide a quality connection of the terminal/connector to and from.
As per claims 25, 28: Guenin et al. discloses the terminal having memory function (see figs. 1A-B; wherein at least of the male 20 or female 10 parts is of a conductive shape-memory material). However, Guenin et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the plating layer comprises a bottom layer and a surface layer; the bottom layer is made of one or more selected from the group consisting of gold, silver, nickel, tin, tin-lead alloy and zinc; and the surface layer is made of one or more selected from the group consisting of gold, silver, nickel, tin, tin-lead alloy, silver-antimony alloy, palladium, palladium-nickel alloy, graphite silver, graphene silver and silver-gold-zirconium alloy; and wherein the bottom layer has a thickness of 0.1 pm to 9 pm, and the surface layer has a thickness of 1 um to 30 um.
On the other hand, Guenin et al. mentioned the shape memory material are in a non-limitative manner, chosen from the compositions nickel-titanium, nickel-aluminum, nickel-titanium-iron, copper-zinc-aluminum, copper-aluminum-nickel. These compositions can be used either in the form of intermetallic compositions or in alloyed form; and male or female parts such as shown in FIG. 3 have been made from a copper-zinc-aluminum alloy having 4%.+-.0.5% of aluminum, 27 to 29% zinc and balance by percentage of copper, the percentages being atomic percentages. Each male 20 or female 10 part can further be provided with a conductive protective covering consisting of a deposit of gold or silver or an alloy of palladium or even tin lead. Although, Guenin et al. silenced regarding the layer. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the selective materials as recited above can only deal with preferred materials because such modification still would not change the function of the terminal but to further enhance a stable, and reliable connection and to further enhance the appearance, corrosion resistance, and electrical conductivity of the base metal of the terminal. Since, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having memory function of Guenin et al. by having the plating layer comprises a bottom layer and a surface layer; the bottom layer is made of one or more selected from the group consisting of gold, silver, nickel, tin, tin-lead alloy and zinc; and the surface layer is made of one or more selected from the group consisting of gold, silver, nickel, tin, tin-lead alloy, silver-antimony alloy, palladium, palladium-nickel alloy, graphite silver, graphene silver and silver-gold-zirconium alloy; and wherein the bottom layer has a thickness of 0.1 pm to 9 pm, and the surface layer has a thickness of 1 um to 30 um as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, and reliable connection and to further enhance the appearance, corrosion resistance, and electrical conductivity of the base metal of the terminal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10,12,16,20-22, and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831