DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
A. Applicant’s election of Group I, drawn to the species of PD1, in the reply filed on 7/31/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Therefore, this restriction is deemed proper and is made FINAL.
B. Claims 25-38 are pending. Claims 33-38 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected inventions. Claims 25-32 are the subject of this Office Action.
2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The preamble of the claim is drawn to a method of “identifying” a common TCR. However, step (b) recites simply “selecting” a TCR. It is unclear if “identifying” and “selecting” are the same (in other words, is the method complete. While it appears that the terms are interchangeable in this instance, it is unclear if the instant method is complete, or requires other steps. Claims
3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 25-28, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin-Huan et al. (reference 1 on the IDS filed 1/16/24).
Claim 25 is drawn to a method for identifying a common tumor-specific TCR by obtaining their sequences from at least 2 patients. Claim 26 adds various steps drawn to general TCR nucleic acid isolation from tumor cells collected from a sample, grouping those that are essentially identical into a clonotype group and determining the frequency of tumor TCR nucleic acid samples, including determining CDR3 sequences. The method is additional performed in non-tumor tissue samples and the results compared.
Jin-Huan teaches a method of using a high-throughput screening method to identify TCR sequences in order to characterize the T cell repertoires from cancer patients. Jin-Huan concluded that the several clonotypes uniquely detected in CC patients tended to share similar CDR3 motifs. Jin-Huan concluded that these findings suggest that “TCR repertoire may be a potential indicator of immune monitoring and may be a biomarker for predicting the prognosis of CC patients” (Abstract). The comparison to a non-tumor tissue sample from the patients would have been obvious since it is essentially collecting the desired sample and comparing to a control to obtain baseline measurements.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, it would have been obvious to have used the same tissue type from all the patients in order to most accurately/meaningfully compare the results.
Regarding claims 26 and 31, it would have been obvious to have chosen a frequency the researcher believed would have been indicative of a desirable TCR clonotype depending on the question(s) to be answered. The researcher would have chosen a cutoff limit/value in order to draw conclusions from the data with regard to the purpose of the experiment(s). In addition, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 454, 105 USPQ 223,235, (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and, therefore, obvious) and E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. v. Synvina C.V., 904 F.3d 996, 1006 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (“it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”).
Regarding claim 32, since T cell activation begins upon the cell’s TCR binding to a foreign peptide bound to an MHC on an antigen-presenting cell.it would have been obvious at the time of the instant invention to have used as assay to measure activation to pharmacologically characterize and ensure a functional TCR.
B. Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin-Huan et al. in view of Tiercy. The teachings of Jin-Huan are seen in paragraph A of this section. Jin-Huan does not teach HLA. However, Tiercy does teach the importance of HLA in donor compatibility for the treatment of certain conditions and to limit host immune response (e.g. GVHD). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the instant invention to have determined HLA type in order to further characterize the TCRs for potential therapeutic use.
C. Claims 25-28, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasetto et al. (reference 2 on the IDS filed 1/19/26) in view of Jin et al.
Pasetto teaches a method of obtaining tumor-reactive T cells by using a bulk population of T cell clonotypes is samples from cancer patients (paragraph [0004]). Pasetto also teaches sequencing of the CDRs, including CDR3 ([0004], [0044]). Figure 4B teach the frequency of the TCR clonotypes in T cell populations.
Pasetto does not teach selecting non-tumor cells. However, Jin does teach methods of sequencing for TCR repertoire profiling on matched tumor/adjacent normal tissue (i.e. non-tumor) from 15 patients (Abstract). Neither reference specifically teaches identifying a common tumor-specific epitope. However, given the teachings of both Pasetto and Jin, which demonstrate TCR repertoire profiling, it would have been obvious to have compared the data in order to drawn conclusions with regard to TCR expression. The artisan would have immediately identified commonalities among patients.
Neither reference teaches a specific frequency for each tumor TCR. However, regarding claims 26 and 31, it would have been obvious to have chosen a frequency the researcher believed would have been indicative of a desirable TCR clonotype depending on the question(s) to be answered. The researcher would have chosen a cutoff limit/value in order to draw conclusions from the data with regard to the purpose of the experiment(s). In addition, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller. See also In re Boesch.
Regarding claim 32, since T cell activation begins upon the cell’s TCR binding to a foreign peptide bound to an MHC on an antigen-presenting cell.it would have been obvious at the time of the instant invention to have used as assay to measure activation to pharmacologically characterize and ensure a functional TCR.
D. Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasetto et al.in view of Jin et al. further in view of Tiercy et al.
The teachings of Pasetto and Jin are seen in paragraph C of this section. Neither teaches HLA. However, Tiercy does teach the importance of HLA in donor compatibility for the treatment of certain conditions and to limit host immune response (e.g. GVHD). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the instant invention to have determined HLA type in order to further characterize the TCRs for potential therapeutic use.
4. Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 25-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/757,588 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are essentially drawn to the same subject matter (e.g. obtaining, aligning and grouping TCRs based on their nucleic acid sequences). The main difference being that the instant claims compare the isolated TCRs (clonotypes) between 2 or more subjects in order to find those TCRs common among the subjects.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
5. Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647