DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group A (Claims 2 and 8-12) in the reply filed on 5-10-2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5-10-2026.
Claims 1-2 and 8-12 are examined in this action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: gripping means in Claim 1; hooking means in Claim 1; cutting means in Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant’s use of the term “it” throughout the claims is indefinite. it is unclear what “it” is referring to. The examiner suggests using the previously introduced limitation when further limiting the claims. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 8, “a blade (50) mounted on a mobile support (51)” is indefinite. Claim 8 depends from Claim 2 which previously introduced “a respective movable support (51).” As best understood, these structures are the same. The examiner requests using the same term for the same structure and using “the” or “said” after introduction of the limitation. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 9, “said rectilinear guide (2G) is arranged on the crosspiece (21)” is lacks antecedent basis. Claim 9 depends from Claim 1 and not Claim 8. A rectilinear guide was not introduced in Claim 1. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,255,602 to Mamberer in view of US 3,944,150 to Jennerjahn.
In re Claim 1, Mamberer teaches a guide system for handling of paper material webs (see Fig. 1) comprising:
- gripping means (1) configured to engage a web (W) of paper material to control its movement according to a predetermined advancement direction (see Fig. 6 40/41 – gripping means were interpreted as rollers)
- hooking means adapted to temporarily hook a lateral edge of the web (threading belt #13 includes Velcro hooks – see Col. 2, ll. 54 – Col. 3, ll. 6), said hooking means being arranged downstream of the gripping means with respect to the aforementioned advancement direction (see Fig 1 and Fig. 6);
characterized by the fact that
- said hooking means comprise a flexible member (the belt #13 flexes as it moves around the rollers) provided with tips ( the Velcro hooks are considered “tips”) adapted for engaging the lateral edge of the web while the same flexible member is moved along a path which has a first section (see Fig. 1, span between rollers #14; see also Col. 2, ll. 54 – Col. 3, ll. 6) and a second section (see Fig. 1 around bars #21/22/ and roller 26; see also Col. 3, ll. 6-23), the flexible member being mounted on a support that can be moved between a hooking position in which the first section overlaps a path followed by the lateral edge of the web and an inoperative position in which said first section is spaced from the path followed by the lateral edge of the web (see Fig. 4, #13 is being displaced by cylinder #20; see also Col. 3, ll. 7-36), and the second section of the path is a section along which the web moves away from the point where it is hooked (see Fig. 1, beyond roller #26)
Mamberer does not teach a structure (2) for supporting said gripping means (1).
However, Jennerjahn teaches that it is known in the art of web moving/cutting to provide supports for rollers (see Jennerjahn, Fig. 1-3, #26/28). In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to add the support structures of Jennerjahn to support the rollers of Mamberer. Doing so places the rollers at the correct position for use.
In re Claim 2, modified Mamberer, in re Claim 1, teaches characterized by the fact that it comprises cutting means (see Fig. 1, cutter #9) adapted to transversely cut the web, arranged upstream of said hooking means with respect to the aforementioned direction of advancement (see Fig. 1, the position of cutter #9 is upstream) and being activated when the hooking means (4) engage the lateral edge (SW) of the web (W). Modified Mamberer, in re Claim 1 is silent as to said cutting means being constrained to a respective movable support which moves them transversely to the direction of advancement of the web (W).
Jennerjahn teaches that it is known in the web art to provide said cutting means being constrained to a respective movable support which moves them transversely to the direction of advancement of the web (see Jennerjahn , Fig. 2, #112/114; see also Col. 5, ll. 26-56).
In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to provide the structure supporting the slitting knife of Jennerjahn. Doing so allows the user to adjust the width of the cut and the depth of the cut, thereby providing an adjustability to the work product being produced.
In re Claim 8, modified Mamberer, in re Claim 1, teaches that said cutting means 5) comprise a blade (see Mamberer, Fig. 1, #9); however, modified Mamberer is silent as to the blade being mounted on a mobile support (51) which, in turn, is mounted on a rectilinear guide (2G) arranged on said structure (2) and is controlled by a respective actuator (52).
Jennerjahn teaches that it is known in the web art to provide a cutting blade mounted on a mobile support (see Figs. 1-2, #126 mounted on the assembly from #128 to #78; see also Fig. 7 showing cylinder #94) which, in turn, is mounted on a rectilinear guide (see Jennerjahn , Fig. 2, #112/114; see also Col. 5, ll. 26-56) arranged on said structure and is controlled by a respective actuator (see Fig. 7, #94).
In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to provide the structure supporting the slitting knife of Jennerjahn. Doing so allows the user to adjust the width of the cut and the depth of the cut, thereby providing an adjustability to the work product being produced.
In re Claim 9, modified Mamberer, in re Claim 1 teaches characterized in that said structure comprises two uprights (see Jennerjahn, Fig, 3, #28/26) joined at the top by a crosspiece (see Jennerjahn, Fig. 3, #78) and said rectilinear guide is arranged on the crosspiece (see Fig. 2, #78/112/114/116; see also Col. 5, ll. 26-56).
In re Claim 10, modified Mamberer, in re Claim 8, teaches the blade (see Jennerjahn, Fig. 2, #126) is mounted on a lever (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 7) controlled by a respective pneumatic actuator (see Fig. 2 and Fig. , #94) mounted on the mobile support (actuator #94 is connected to #78), and the actuator allows to move the blade to and from the gripping means (actuator #94 pivots the blade).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,255,602 to Mamberer in view of US 3,944,150 to Jannerjahn, and further in view of US 20120031251 to Momonaka.
In re Claim 11, modified Mamberer, in re Claim 8 is silent as to an end of the lever (5L) is hinged on the actuator (55) and the blade (50) is mounted on the other end of the lever (5L).
However, Momonaka teaches that it is known in the slitting art to provide a pivoting knife wherein the end of the lever is hinged on the actuator (see Momonaka, Fig. 1, showing lever #16 hinged on actuator #20) and the blade is mounted on the other end of the lever (see Momonaka, Fig. 1, blade #8 mounted on the other end of the lever #16).
In the same field of invention, slitters for web work pieces, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to provide individual cutters with individual cylinders as taught by Momonaka. Doing so provides for individual control of the slitters which allows for more functionality of the device. The slitters can be used or not used individually and cand cut different depths individually.
In re Claim 12, modified Mamberer, in re Claim 8, teaches characterized in that said structure comprises two uprights (see Jennerjahn, Fig. 3, #26/28) joined at the top by a crosspiece (see Jennerjahn, Fig. 3, #78) and said rectilinear guide is arranged on the crosspiece (see Jennerjahn, #112/114/116; see also Col. 5, ll. 36-55), the blade is mounted on a lever controlled by a respective pneumatic actuator (see Jennerjahn, Fig. 2, #120 and Fig. 7, #94) and the actuator allows to move the blade to and from the gripping means (cylinder #941),
Modified Mamberer, in re Claim 8 does not teach the cylinder mounted on the mobile support (51) an end of the lever is hinged on the actuator (55) and the blade (50) is mounted on the other end of the lever (5L) and the assembly formed by the blade (50), the actuator (55) and the lever (5L) is integral with an arm (54) rotatably constrained to the mobile support (51).
However, Momonaka teaches that it is known in the slitting art to provide a pivoting knife wherein the cylinder mounted on the mobile support an end of the lever is hinged on the actuator (see Momonaka, Fig. 1, showing lever #16 hinged on actuator #20) and the blade is mounted on the other end of the lever (see Momonaka, Fig. 1, blade #8 mounted on the other end of the lever #16) and the assembly formed by the blade, the actuator and the lever is integral with an arm rotatably constrained to the mobile support (see Momonaka, Fig 1).
In the same field of invention, slitters for web work pieces, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to provide individual cutters with individual cylinders as taught by Momonaka. Doing so provides for individual control of the slitters which allows for more functionality of the device. The slitters can be used or not used individually and cand cut different depths individually.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724