DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the Italian parent Application No. IT102021000018890 (filed on 07/16/2021) was received with the present application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action (for example, the gripping means in claim 1, the hooking means in claims 1-2 and 12-13, and the cutting means in claim 2). Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3 and 9-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the corresponding claims 1-2 and 8-12 of copending Application No. 18/579,539 (reference application) in view of Takeda (U.S. Patent 6,208,830 B1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In regards to claim 1 of the instant application, claim 1 of the reference application disclose, a guide system for handling paper material webs (“Guide system for handling of paper material webs”) comprising: gripping means configured to engage a web of paper material to control its movement according to a predetermined web advancement direction (“gripping means configured to engage a web of paper material to control its movement according to a predetermined advancement direction”); a structure for supporting the gripping means (“a structure for supporting said gripping means”); and hooking means adapted to temporarily hook a lateral edge of the web, arranged downstream of the gripping means with respect to the web advancement direction, and configured for temporary hooking the lateral edge of the web by temporary overlapping a path followed by the same lateral edge of the web (“hooking means adapted to temporarily hook a lateral edge of the web, said hooking means being arranged downstream of the gripping means with respect to the aforementioned advancement direction”; “said hooking means comprise a flexible member…the flexible member being mounted on a support that can be moved between a hooking position in which the first section overlaps a path followed by the lateral edge of the web and an inoperative position in which said first section is spaced from the path followed by the lateral edge of the web”). Yet, the claims in the reference application fails to explicitly disclose, the lateral edge of the web being oriented longitudinally in relation to the web, or the hooking means being adapted to only hook a predetermined length of the lateral edge of the web while the web moves along the path.
However, Takeda teach (Figures 1-6C) a guide system (printer ‘A’) for handling paper material webs (2) comprising: a gripping means (41A and 42) configured to engage a web of paper material (2) to control its movement according to a predetermined web advancement direction (feeding direction of 2); a structure (62) for supporting the gripping means (41A and 42); and a hooking means (41B) being arranged downstream of the gripping means (41A and 42) with respect to the web advancement direction (feeding direction of 2), and configured to temporarily hook (via the protrusions on the belt 41a, which are inserted into the feed holes 20 on the paper 2) a lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2) by temporary overlapping a path followed by the same lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2); wherein the lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2) being oriented longitudinally (as clearly illustrated in figures 2 and 6A, 22a/22b extends along 2 in the direction indicated by the arrow ‘N1’) in relation to the web (2), and the hooking means (41B) only hooks only a predetermined length (section of 22a/22b that is engaged by 41a of 41B) of the lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2) while the web (2) moves along the path (based on the disclosure of Takeda, it is clear that the only a portion of the feed holes 20 at the longitudinal edge 22a/22b of the continuous paper 2 are engaged and moved by the endless belt 41a of the second tractor 41B, as said continuous paper 2 moves along in the feeding direction) (Col. 4, line 1 - Col. 9, line 54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the guide system taught by the reference application, with a hooking means that only hooks a predetermine length of the lateral edge of the web during the movement/feeding of said web, as suggested by Takeda. Configuring the hooking means to engage/hook only a predetermine length of the lateral edge of the web, would ensure that only a small section of the lateral edge/web is in contact with the hooking means at an any given time, as the web is being hooked and moved/transported by the hooking means; which would drastically minimize any damage that might be induced onto the web (or the printing/embossing on the web) by the hooking means, while also reducing the undesirable over-tensioning of the web due its prolong engagement with the hooking means; thereby improving the overall operative functionality, the overall web feeding characteristics, and the overall performance of the guide system.
In regards to claim 2 of the instant application, claim 2 of the reference application disclose: cutting means adapted to transversely cut the web, arranged upstream of the hooking means with respect to the web advancement direction, being constrained to a respective movable support which moves the cutting means transversely to the web advancement direction, and being activated when the hooking means engage the lateral edge of the web (“cutting means adapted to transversely cut the web, arranged upstream of said hooking means with respect to the aforementioned direction of advancement, said cutting means being constrained to a respective movable support which moves them transversely to the direction of advancement of the web and being activated when the hooking means engage the lateral edge of the web”).
In regards to claim 3 of the instant application, claim 1 of the reference application disclose: the hooking means comprising a flexible member provided with tips that are adapted for engaging the lateral edge of the web, while the same flexible member is moved along a path which has a first section and a second section (“said hooking means comprise a flexible member provided with tips adapted for engaging the lateral edge of the web while the same flexible member is moved along a path which has a first section and a second section”); the flexible member being mounted on a support that can be moved between a hooking position in which the first section overlaps the path followed by the lateral edge of the web, and an inoperative position in which said first section is spaced from the path followed by the lateral edge of the web (“the flexible member being mounted on a support that can be moved between a hooking position in which the first section overlaps a path followed by the lateral edge of the web and an inoperative position in which said first section is spaced from the path followed by the lateral edge of the web”); wherein the second section of the path of the flexible member is a section along which the web moves away from a point where it is hooked (“the second section of the path is a section along which the web moves away from the point where it is hooked”).
In regards to claim 9 of the instant application, claim 8 of the reference application disclose: the cutting means comprising a blade mounted on the movable support that is mounted on a rectilinear guide arranged on the structure and that is controlled by a respective actuator (“said cutting means comprise a blade mounted on a mobile support which, in turn, is mounted on a rectilinear guide arranged on said structure and is controlled by a respective actuator”).
In regards to claim 10 of the instant application, claim 10 of the reference application disclose: the blade being mounted on a lever that is controlled by a respective pneumatic actuator mounted on the movable support; wherein the pneumatic actuator moves the blade to and from the gripping means (“the blade is mounted on a lever controlled by a respective pneumatic actuator mounted on the mobile support, and the actuator allows to move the blade to and from the gripping means”).
In regards to claim 11 of the instant application, claim 11 of the reference application disclose: an end of the lever being hinged on the pneumatic actuator, and the blade being mounted on the other end of the lever (“an end of the lever is hinged on the actuator and the blade is mounted on the other end of the lever”).
In regards to claim 12 of the instant application, claims 2, 8, and 10-12 of the reference application disclose: cutting means adapted to transversely cut the web, arranged upstream of the hooking means with respect to the web advancement direction, being constrained to a respective movable support which moves the cutting means transversely to the web advancement direction, and being activated when the hooking means engage the lateral edge of the web (“cutting means adapted to transversely cut the web, arranged upstream of said hooking means with respect to the aforementioned direction of advancement, said cutting means being constrained to a respective movable support which moves them transversely to the direction of advancement of the web and being activated when the hooking means engage the lateral edge of the web” in claim 2); the cutting means including a blade mounted on the movable support that is mounted on a rectilinear guide arranged on the structure and that is controlled by a respective actuator (“said cutting means comprise a blade mounted on a mobile support which, in turn, is mounted on a rectilinear guide arranged on said structure and is controlled by a respective actuator” in claim 8); an end of a lever being hinged on a pneumatic actuator, and the blade being mounted on the other end of the lever (“the blade is mounted on a lever controlled by a respective pneumatic actuator mounted on the mobile support, and the actuator allows to move the blade to and from the gripping means” in claim 10 and “an end of the lever is hinged on the actuator and the blade is mounted on the other end of the lever” in claim 11; or “an end of the lever is hinged on the actuator and the blade is mounted on the other end of the lever” in claim 12); wherein an assembly formed by the blade, the pneumatic actuator, and the lever is integral with an arm rotatably constrained to the movable support (“the assembly formed by the blade, the actuator, and the lever is integral with an arm rotatably constrained to the mobile support” in claim 12).
In regards to claim 13 of the instant application, claims 2, 8, and 9 of the reference application disclose: cutting means adapted to transversely cut the web being arranged upstream of said hooking means with respect to the aforementioned advancement direction (“cutting means adapted to transversely cut the web, arranged upstream of said hooking means with respect to the aforementioned direction of advancement” in claim 2); the cutting means being constrained to a respective movable support which moves them transversely to the advancement direction of the web, and being activated when the hooking means engage the lateral edge of the web (“said cutting means being constrained to a respective movable support which moves them transversely to the direction of advancement of the web and being activated when the hooking means engage the lateral edge of the web” in claim 2); the cutting means including a blade mounted on a mobile support that is mounted on a rectilinear guide arranged on the structure, being controlled by a respective actuator (“said cutting means comprise a blade mounted on a mobile support which, in turn, is mounted on a rectilinear guide arranged on said structure and is controlled by a respective actuator” in claim 8); the structure including two uprights joined at the top by a crosspiece; and said rectilinear guide being arranged on the crosspiece (“said structure comprises two uprights joined at the top by a crosspiece and said rectilinear guide is arranged on the crosspiece” in claim 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda (U.S. Patent 6,208,830 B1).
In regards to claim 1, Takeda teach (Figures 1-6C) a guide system (printer ‘A’) for handling paper material webs (2) comprising: a gripping means (41A and 42) configured to engage a web of paper material (2) to control its movement according to a predetermined web advancement direction (feeding direction of 2); a structure (62) for supporting the gripping means (41A and 42); and a hooking means (41B) being arranged downstream of the gripping means (41A and 42) with respect to the web advancement direction (feeding direction of 2), and configured to temporarily hook (via the protrusions on the belt 41a, which are inserted into the feed holes 20 on the paper 2) a lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2) by temporary overlapping a path followed by the same lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2); wherein the lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2) being oriented longitudinally (as clearly illustrated in figures 2 and 6A, 22a/22b extends along 2 in the direction indicated by the arrow ‘N1’) in relation to the web (2), and the hooking means (41B) only hooks only a predetermined length (section of 22a/22b that is engaged by 41a of 41B) of the lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2) while the web (2) moves along the path (based on the disclosure of Takeda, it is clear that the only a portion of the feed holes 20 at the longitudinal edge 22a/22b of the continuous paper 2 are engaged and moved by the endless belt 41a of the second tractor 41B, as said continuous paper 2 moves along in the feeding direction) (Col. 4, line 1 - Col. 9, line 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Nakatsu (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0304486 A1).
In regards to claims 2 and 9, Takeda teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Takeda further teach (Figures 1-6), the guide system (printer ‘A’) comprising cutting means (5) adapted to transversely cut the web (2); the cutting means (5) arranged upstream of said hooking means (41A) with respect to the web advancement direction, and being constrained to a respective movable support (50a/50b) that is activated when the hooking means (41A) engage the lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2). Yet, Takeda fails to teach, the respective movable support being configured to move transversely to the web advancement direction, the cutting means including a blade that is mounted on the movable support, the movable support being mounted on a rectilinear guide arranged on the structure, the movable support being controlled by a respective actuator.
Nevertheless, Nakatsu teach (Figures 1-6) a guide system (100) comprising: a gripping means (41) adapted to engage a web of paper material (1), a structure (5) for supporting the gripping means (41), and a cutting means (50) adapted to transversely cut the web (1); the cutting means (50) arranged downstream of the gripping means (41) with respect to an web advancement direction; the cutting means (50) including a blade (52) mounted (via 53) on a movable support (54); wherein, the movable support (54) being mounted on a rectilinear guide (55) arranged on the structure (5), and being controlled by a respective actuator (round blade carriage motor described in paragraph 0052 and 0060-0061) (see also paragraph 0043, 0050-0068, and 0070-0100).
Accordingly, it would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the pressing-type cutting means in Takeda’s guide system, with the transverse-type cutting means suggested by Nakatsu; where the cutting means in the modified guide system includes a blade mounted on a movable support, a rectilinear guide for movably supporting said movable support, and an actuator for controlling the transverse-linear movement of said movable support. Configuring the guide system taught Takeda with such a transverse-type cutting means (which is capable of displacing linearly in a direction transvers to the web advancement direction) would effectively facilities the cutting of the web, without creasing, bending, or wrinkling of the web.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Staneck et al. (U.S. Patent 3,938,721 A hereinafter redder to as “Staneck”).
In regards to claims 4-6, Takeda teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Takeda further teach (Figures 1-6), the hooking means (41B) including a flexible belt-shaped member (41a) having tips (protrusions of 41a); that the tips (protrusions of 41a) being distributed over the entire length of the flexible belt-shaped member (as clearly illustrated in figures 1 and 3-5B) so as to provide a segmented hooking surface; and the flexible belt-shaped member (41a) being a belt with a rectangular cross section (as clearly illustrated in figures 1 and 3-5B). Yet, Takeda fails to explicitly disclose, the tips (protrusions of 41a) consisting of nails that are inserted into the flexible belt-shaped member (41a).
On the contrary, Staneck teach (Figures 1-9) a guide system (strip feed mechanism illustrated in figure 1) for handling a paper material web (210) comprising: a hooking means (31, 36, 42, and 50) adapted to temporarily hook (via 50 being inserted into 220) a lateral edge of the paper material web (side edges of 210); the hooking means (31, 36, 42, and 50) including a flexible belt-shaped member (42) having tips (50); that the tips (50) being distributed over the entire length of the flexible belt-shaped member (as clearly illustrated in figures 2 and 4) so as to provide a segmented hooking surface; the flexible belt-shaped member (42) being a belt with a rectangular cross section (as clearly illustrated in figures 2 and 4); wherein, the tips (50) consist of nails that are inserted (via 46) into the flexible belt-shaped member (42) (see also Col. 2, line 42 - Col. 3, line 12 and Col. 4, line 36 - Col. 5, line 4) .
Consequently, it would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the tips on the flexible belt-shaped member forming the hooking means in Takeda’s guide system, using nails that are inserted into said flexible belt-shaped member, as proposed by Staneck. Such a modification would provide a simple and effective means for sufficiently hoking and conveying of the web, when it is being transported through the guide system in the web advancement direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Examiner emphasize that as explained above, claims 3 and 10-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting. However, the limitations of claims 3 and 10-13 appears to include subject matter that are neither disclosed nor render obvious (i.e. either individually or in combination) by Takeda, Nakatsu, Staneck, and all other currently cited prior art references (especially when said limitations are considered in light of superseding limitations in the corresponding parent claims and in light of applicant’s specification).
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, for the following reasons.
In regards to claims 7-8, Takeda teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Takeda does not teach, the hooking means (41B) in the guide system (printer ‘A’) including a presser configured to act on the lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2), or such a presser consisting of a brush. Instead, the hooking means (41B) in Takeda’s guide system (printer ‘A’) is a tractor that includes a pair of rollers (41b and 41c) and a flexible belt-shaped member (41a). Additionally, all other prior art of record, either individually or in combination, also fails to disclose or render obvious, a gripping means, a structure, and a hooking means of a guide system having the specific collective structural arrangement recited by parent claim 1, and said hooking means specifically being a presser consisting of a brush, as further required by claims 7-8. Resultingly, claims 7-8 limitations appears to contain allowable subject matter over the cited prior art references; specially when said limitations area viewed in light of applicant’s specification, and when they are considered along with the superseding limitations in parent claim 1.
Response to Arguments
With respect to applicant’s arguments in pages 10-12 (i.e. sections II-IV) of the remarks filed on 01/28/2026, regarding the previously set forth objections to the abstract, the drawings, the specification, and the claims, all have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, said objections has been withdrawn.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in page 13 (i.e. section-VI) of the remarks filed on 01/28/2026, regarding the previously set forth 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for claims 4-6, 8, and 12, all have been fully considered and are persuasive. Subsequently, said rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in pages 13-14 (i.e. section-VII) of the remarks filed on 01/28/2026, regarding the previously set forth nonstatutory double patenting rejections for claims 1-13 in view of copending Application No. 18/579,539, all have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made for claims 1-3 and 9-13 in view of copending Application No. 18/579,539 and Takeda, as detailed above. Furthermore, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections for claims 4-8 has been withdrawn due to the recent amendments made to the claims in the copending Application No. 18/579,539.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in pages 14-16 (i.e. section-VIII) of the remarks filed on 01/28/2026, regarding the previously set forth 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) rejection for claim 1, based on the teachings of Melin (U.S. Patent 3,863, 549 A), all have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, said prior art rejection has been withdrawn.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in page 16 (i.e. section-VIII) of the remarks filed on 01/28/2026, regarding the previously set forth 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) rejection for claim 1, based on the teachings of Takeda, all have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, for the following reasons:
It is the applicant’s position that the hooking means in the guide system taught by Takeda is not configured to temporarily hook only a predetermined length of the lateral edge of the web, as required by claim 1 limitations. Instead, the applicant appears to argue that the hooking means in Takeda’s guide system is always in engagement with the lateral edge of the web.
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees with these assertion. As illustrate in figures 1 and 3-5B, the hooking means (41B) in the guide system (printer ‘A’) proposed by Takeda, is designed to temporally hook onto/engage the feed holes (20) at each lateral edge (22a/22b) of the web (2) and facilitate the movement/feeing of said web (2) along in the web conveying direction; where the overall longitudinal length of the hooking means (41B) in the web conveying direction is much smaller than the overall longitudinal length of the web (2) in the web conveying direction. Therefore, it is clearly evident that the hooking means (41B) simply engage/hook onto only a short lateral edge portion (i.e. a predetermined longitudinal length) of the web at an any given moment, and that the hooking means disengages from said lateral edge portion of the web so that it is able to engage/hook onto to the next subsequent lateral edge portion (i.e. a predetermined longitudinal length) of the web; thereby making the hooking engagement between each predetermined lateral edge portion of the web and the hooking means impermanent or temporary. Furthermore, examiner additionally notes that the claim 1 limitations does not explicitly recites, the hooking means in the claimed invention being configured for hooking only a single lateral edge of the web; since the hooking means in Takeda’s guide system is adapted to hook onto/engage at least one lateral edge of the web, Takeda can sufficiently meet all limitations in claim 1 pertaining to the structure and/or operative functionality of the hooking means in the claimed guide system). Accordingly, it’s the examiner’s conclusion that Takeda still anticipates the guide system described within amended claim 1.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in pages 16-17 (i.e. section-IX) of the remarks filed on 01/28/2026, regarding the previously set forth 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections for corresponding claims 2, 4-6, and 9, all have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654