DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Sidelink Communications in the Unlicensed Band.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-24, 27, 30-32, 35, and 38, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kusashima et al. (US 2020/0383110 A1).
Regarding claims 23 and 31, Kusashima discloses:
a User Equipment (UE) (fig.1 depicts a plurality of user equipment, and fig.5) comprising:
a memory (fig.5 element 230); and
a processor (fig.5 depicts a control unit element 240) coupled with the memory (fig.5 element 230 communicatively coupled with element 240), wherein the processor is configured to:
perform a method of a User Equipment (UE) (fig.1 depicts a wireless communications network and a plurality of user equipment, element 200), the method comprising:
transmitting a Sidelink (SL) transmission (par.[0055] which recites, in part, “The terminal device 200 can also perform device-to-device (D2D) communication. That is, the terminal device 200 can transmit a sidelink signal of another terminal device 200 and receive a sidelink signal from the another terminal device 200.”) including a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (par.[0197] which describes the transmission of sidelink data over the PSSCH, which is the sidelink shared channel. The office notes that SCI is transmitted over the control channel PSCCH, as discussed in par.[0200] and sidelink data is sent over the shared channel PSSCH as discussed above); and
supporting a contention window adjustment procedure (par.[0104] which describes the contention window adjustment) for the SL transmission (par.[0064] which describes the D2D Communication using an unlicensed band. The use of unlicensed require the D2D devices to contend for the communications medium, thus the contention window), wherein the contention window adjust procedure is configured to adjust a value of a Contention Window for a priority class (CWp) (par.[0087] and table-1 show that each of the priority classes comprises a minimum and maximum contention window size, thus, depending on the priority class the contention window may be adjust between the minimum and maximum, par.[0103 - 0104]), and the value of CWp is used for a channel access procedure for the SL transmission (par.[0087] which describes the channel access related priority class, in combination with the above utilization for D2D/Sidelink utilizing unlicensed bands. The use of unlicensed frequency requires a channel access procedure such as Listen Before Talk (LBT) which is a Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) used for determining channel access).
Regarding claims 24 and 32, Kusashima discloses:
the method according to wherein the contention window adjustment procedure is based on a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback in a case where the SL transmission is enabled with the sidelink HARQ feedback (par.[0104] which recites, in part, “The adjustment of the value of the contention window CW is performed….. In a case where the proportion of NACK in the HARQ response corresponding to the shared channel of at least the reference sub frame or reference HARQ process in the contention window adaptation procedure is higher than a threshold, the value of the contention window CW is increased, and otherwise, the value of the contention window CW is set to the minimum contention window.”. The transmission of the NACK means that at least one of the HARQ feedback modes are enabled).
Regarding claims 27 and 35, Kusashima discloses:
the method according to wherein the contention window adjustment procedure is configured to determine whether a second condition is fulfilled in a case where the SL transmission is enabled with the sidelink HARQ feedback and the SL transmission is a unicast SL transmission (par.[0104] wherein the UE detects a ratio of HARQ feedback, ACK/NACK, and depending on the if ratio is above, below, or at threshold the contention window is increased, decreased, or sustained. The disclosure of Kusashima contemplates unicast transmission in this scenario).
Regarding claims 30 and 38, Kusashima discloses:
method according to wherein the UE is configured to perform the channel access procedure (par.[0008] describes sidelink channel sensing for channel access by the User Equipment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-26, 28, 33-34, and 36, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusashima as applied to claims 23 and 31, in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0232625 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 25 and 33, the disclosure of Kusashima teaches the method and User Equipment of claims 23 and 31, but may not explicitly disclose:
wherein the contention window adjustment procedure is configured to determine whether a first condition is fulfilled in a case where the SL transmission is enabled with the sidelink HARQ feedback and the SL transmission is a groupcast SL transmission.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Liu teaches:
wherein the contention window adjustment procedure is configured to determine whether a first condition is fulfilled in a case where the SL transmission is enabled with the sidelink HARQ feedback (par.[0003] which recites, in part, “The rules are specific to particular transmission type(s) and the transmitting device adjusts the contention window size based on the presence/absence, and/or content of acknowledgement/negative-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK, or more simply A/N) feedback messages.”, par.[0126]) and the SL transmission is a groupcast SL transmission (fig.2 depicts groupcast transmission, and par.[0084], which recites, in part, “The connection based groupcast transmission type may include the transmitting device transmitting to a known group of receiving devices where the transmitting device can request A/N feedback from each receiving device.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings Kusashima for sidelink over unlicensed with the disclosure of Liu which also discloses sidelink over unlicensed. The motivation/suggestion would have been that modifying the contention window size allows optimizing channel access with balancing the risk of collision while also considering latency of transmission opportunity to improve the overall system.
Regarding claim(s) 26 and 34, Liu discloses:
wherein the first condition is related to:
a ratio between a number of ACK in the sidelink HARQ feedback and a number of one or more UEs in a groupcast, or the number of ACK in the sidelink HARQ feedback (par.[0107] which recites, in part, “Transmitting device 205 may determine the ratio of ACK and/or NACK feedback messages with respect to an expected feedback message count (e.g., based on the number of feedback messages that transmitting device 205 is expecting to receive on PSFCH resource(s)). Transmitting device 205 may increase the contention window size if the ratio fails to satisfy a threshold and maintain or reset the contention window size if the ratio satisfies a threshold.”, wherein the transmit UE is in groupcast communications as discussed above relates to the groupcast communication).
Regarding claim 28, the disclosure of Kusashima contemplates modifying a contention window size based on NACK feedback from a RX-UE, that is in a unicast communications, but may not disclose:
determining that a ratio of ACK feedback messages, NACK messages, or both, to an expected feedback message count satisfies a threshold, and resetting, based on the ratio satisfying the threshold, the contention window size for performing the one or more subsequent transmissions.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Liu teaches:
determining that a ratio of ACK feedback messages, NACK messages, or both, to an expected feedback message count satisfies a threshold, and resetting, based on the ratio satisfying the threshold, the contention window size for performing the one or more subsequent transmission (par.[0018] which recites, in part, “determining that a ratio of ACK feedback messages, NACK messages, or both, to an expected feedback message count satisfies a threshold, and resetting, based on the ratio satisfying the threshold, the contention window size for performing the one or more subsequent transmissions.”, also, par.[0084] “The unicast transmission type may include the transmitting device transmitting to a single receiving device where the transmitting device can specifically request A/N feedback from the receiving device for the transmission.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings Kusashima for sidelink over unlicensed with the disclosure of Liu which also discloses sidelink over unlicensed. The motivation/suggestion would have been that modifying the contention window size allows optimizing channel access with balancing the risk of collision while also considering latency of transmission opportunity to improve the overall system.
Regarding claim 36, Liu discloses:
the UE according to wherein the second condition is related to a number of ACK in the sidelink HARQ feedback and a number of NACK in the sidelink HARQ feedback (par.[0018] which recites, in part, “determining that a ratio of ACK feedback messages, NACK messages, or both, to an expected feedback message count satisfies a threshold, and resetting, based on the ratio satisfying the threshold, the contention window size for performing the one or more subsequent transmissions”).
Claim(s) 29 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusashima as applied to claims 23, in view of Moon et al. (US 2023/0354275 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 29 and 37, the disclosure of Kusashima teaches the adjustment of the contention window, but may not explicitly disclose:
wherein the contention window adjustment procedure is configured to adjust the value of CWp based on the priority class in a case where the SL transmission is not associated with a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Moon teaches:
wherein the contention window adjustment procedure is configured to adjust the value of CWp based on the priority class in a case where the SL transmission is not associated with a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback (par.[0098] which recites, in part, “the size of the contention window may be changed by a type of the signal to be transmitted, channel access priority class (CAPC), frequency regulation, whether a previous transmission is successful or not (e.g., HARQ-ACK reception), or the like.” That is, the contention window adjustment can be made based on the channel access priority class alone, or HARQ feedback, or a combination as discussed each prior art reference.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kusashima for modifying a contention window in sidelink unlicensed communications with the disclosure of Moon which is directed to the same field of endeavor. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide a QoS of service ensuring that high priority traffic faster channel access absent other contention window modification constraints.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Xue et al. (US 2022/0070935 A1) “Effective Contention Windows for New Radio Sidelink Over Unlicensed Bands”
Wang (US 2022/0264646 A1) “Data Sending Method, Data Receiving Method, and Apparatus”
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411