Applicant’s filing of claims 1-20 on 1/16/24 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/24 was acknowledged. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV et al. (“LV,” US Pub. No. 2020/0171491) in view of Cui et al. (“Cui,” US Pub. No. 2021/0322973).
As to claim 1, LV discloses microfluidic substrate, comprising: a base substrate (e.g., 102); and a conductive layer arranged on the base substrate, wherein patterns of the conductive layer comprise one or more electrode patterns and one or more trace patterns (e.g., [0070] et seq.); wherein an orthogonal projection (e.g., [0015] et seq.) of at least a portion of each trace pattern onto the base substrate is on one side of an orthogonal projection of a corresponding electrode pattern onto the base substrate. See e.g., [0032] et seq.
Regarding claim 1, LV does not specifically disclose a minimum spacing of greater than or equal to 4 micrometers from an outer contour of the corresponding electrode pattern. Cui discloses the spacing between the first electrode and the second electrode being about 10 μm to about 50 μm in [0042]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the specific spacing because it would allow for the shape and size of the electrode pattern to be designed according to a particular need (e.g., [0040] of Cui).
As to claim 2, the combination of LV and Cui disclose an outer contour of each of at least a portion of the electrode patterns comprises an arc portion, and a minimum spacing between an orthogonal projection of at least a portion of a corresponding trace pattern onto the base substrate and an orthogonal projection of the arc portion onto the base substrate is greater than or equal to 4 micrometers. See [0040] of Cui.
As to claim 3, the combination of LV and Cui disclose the electrode patterns comprise a plurality of first electrodes spaced apart from each other and a plurality of second electrodes spaced apart from each other, wherein the trace patterns comprise a plurality of first traces, at least one of the first electrodes is coupled to at least one of the second electrodes via a corresponding one of the first traces. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0040] of Cui.
As to claim 4, the combination of LV and Cui disclose a dielectric layer covering one side of the conductive layer away from the base substrate; a hydrophobic layer covering one side of the dielectric layer away from the base substrate; wherein an orthogonal projection of the hydrophobic layer onto the base substrate coincides with orthogonal projections of the second electrodes onto the base substrate, and an orthogonal projection of at least a portion of the first electrodes onto the base substrate is located outside orthogonal projections of the dielectric layer and the hydrophobic layer onto the base substrate, to enable the at least a portion of the first electrodes to be exposed to a surface of the microfluidic substrate. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0046] of Cui.
As to claim 5, the combination of LV and Cui disclose the trace patterns further comprise one or more second traces, one end of each second trace is coupled to one of the second electrodes, and the other end thereof is a floating end. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0046] of Cui.
As to claim 6, the combination of LV and Cui disclose the electrode patterns further comprise one or more third electrodes each located on one side of and spaced apart from the floating end. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0046] of Cui.
As to claim 7, the combination of LV and Cui disclose the floating end is spaced apart from the third electrode by less than or equal to 20 micrometers. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claim 8, the combination of LV and Cui disclose a middle region and a peripheral region located at a periphery of the middle region, and the one or more electrode patterns and the one or more trace patterns are located in the middle region; the patterns of the conductive layer further comprise an outer-charge shielding region located at the peripheral region to surround the middle region. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0046] of Cui.
As to claim 9, the combination of LV and Cui disclose a distance between the outer-charge shielding region and a peripheral edge of the base substrate is greater than or equal to 5 mm. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claim 10, the combination of LV and Cui disclose the patterns of the conductive layer further comprise a charge neutralization region, an orthogonal projection of the charge neutralization region onto the base substrate is located in the middle region with a spacing from an orthogonal projection of the outer-charge shielding region onto the base substrate, the charge neutralization region comprises a covering portion and an opening portion, a pattern of at least a part of the opening portion has a same shape as at least one electrode pattern and at least one trace pattern, and the covering portion covers at least an area in the middle region except the one or more electrode patterns and the one or more trace patterns, and the covering portion is insulated from at least a portion of the electrode patterns and the trace patterns. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claim 11, the combination of LV and Cui disclose the covering portion is spaced apart from the electrode patterns and the trace patterns that are insulated from the covering portion by a distance of greater than or equal to 25 micrometers. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claim 12, the combination of LV and Cui disclose the orthogonal projection of the charge neutralization region onto the base substrate is spaced apart from the orthogonal projection of the outer-charge shielding region onto the base substrate by a distance of greater than or equal to 20 micrometers. See [0015] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claim 13, the combination of LV and Cui disclose the electrode patterns further comprise a plurality of fourth electrodes disposed in a floating manner, the charge neutralization region is electrically connected to at least one of the fourth electrodes, and at least a part of the fourth electrodes is exposed to a surface of the microfluidic substrate. See [0015] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claim 14, the combination of LV and Cui disclose at least one first electrode is a driving electrode for driving a droplet to move; at least one second electrode is a signal terminal electrode for applying an electric signal to the driving electrode. See [0004] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claims 15 and 16, the combination of LV and Cui disclose a microfluidic chip, comprising a first substrate and a second substrate arranged opposite to each other to form a cell, wherein a sample flow channel is formed between the first substrate and the second substrate; wherein the microfluidic substrate according to claim 1 is used as the first substrate. See [0015] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claim 17, the combination of LV and Cui disclose an outer contour of each of at least a portion of the electrode patterns comprises a sharp portion, and a minimum spacing between an orthogonal projection of at least a portion of a corresponding trace pattern onto the base substrate and an orthogonal projection of the sharp portion onto the base substrate is greater than or equal to 25 micrometers. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claim 18, the combination of LV and Cui disclose an outer contour of each of at least a portion of the electrode patterns comprises a linear portion, and a minimum spacing between an orthogonal projection of at least a portion of a corresponding trace pattern onto the base substrate and an orthogonal projection of the linear portion onto the base substrate is greater than or equal to 20 micrometers. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0040] of Cui.
As to claim 19, the combination of LV and Cui disclose an outer contour of each of at least a portion of the electrode patterns comprises an arc portion, and a minimum spacing between an orthogonal projection of at least a portion of a corresponding trace pattern onto the base substrate and an orthogonal projection of the arc portion onto the base substrate is greater than or equal to 4 micrometers. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0042] of Cui.
As to claim 20, the combination of LV and Cui disclose an outer contour of each of at least a portion of the electrode patterns comprises a sharp portion, and a minimum spacing between an orthogonal projection of at least a portion of a corresponding trace pattern onto the base substrate and an orthogonal projection of the sharp portion onto the base substrate is greater than or equal to 25 micrometers. See [0070] et seq. of LV and [0040] of Cui.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
5/30/26