Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on July 15, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Bao et al. (US 2024/0226869)
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Bao et a. (US 2024/0226869) discloses a process for regenerating a platinum based dehydrogenation catalyst and clearly anticipates claims 1-18. Refer to Abstract, Examples, and claims 1-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2015/0202601) in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0055028).
Regarding claims 1-4, Luo et al. (US 202/0055028) discloses a process for regenerating an alkane dehydrogenation catalyst comprising a group 13 metal, a group 8-10 noble metal, an optional promoter metal, on a porous support ([0011]), wherein the process comprises heating the partially deactivated catalyst to a temperature of at least 660 degrees C, using heat generated by combusting the coke and from a fuel source other than the coke (corresponding to step I) and maintaining the deactivated catalyst at a temperature of at least 660 degrees C while exposing it to a flow of oxygen containing gas to obtain a regenerated catalyst (corresponding to steps II-IV) ([0024]-[0026]). In an example, the initial heating step contains 16 mol% H2O ([0041]), the oxygen containing gas is air ([0042]), which would necessarily meet the limitation in step II, and the contact time is greater than 30 seconds (Table 1).
Luo et al. teaches the use of noble metals, including Pt, but does not teach the amount required by claim 1, i.e. 0.06-6 wt %.
Choi et al. (US 2020/0055028) discloses a catalyst composition suitable for use in dehydrogenation reactions ([0004]) wherein the catalyst comprises platinum in the amount of 0.05-0.5 % by weight ([0046]). Choi et al. further teaches that the amount of platinum used is a result effective variable, impacting the dehydrogenation function of the catalyst ([0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the catalyst taught by Luo et al. to include platinum in the amount taught by Choi et al. Choi et al. establishes that platinum in amounts required by claim1 are suitable for use in dehydrogenation catalysts and further that the amount used impacts the dehydrogenation performance of the catalyst, thereby giving one of ordinary skill motivation to optimize the amount of platinum contained to provide an catalytically effective composition.
Regarding claims 5-7, Luo et al. teaches that the catalyst comprises a porous support such as alumina ([0011]), but fails to teach that the support additionally comprises at least 0.5 % by weight of a group 4 element.
However, Choi et al. discloses that the addition of zirconium, a group 4 metal, can improve the durability of the alumina support in a dehydrogenation catalyst comprising platinum ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have further modified the catalyst taught by Luo et al. to include zirconium as suggested by Choi et al. to form a catalyst support having increased durability.
Regarding claims 8-11, Luo et al. teaches that the dehydrogenation catalyst can contain a rare earth modified alumina ([0011]), a group 13 metal such as gallium or indium ([0019]), and an alkali metal ([0019]).
Regarding claim 12, Luo et al. as modified by Choi et al. teaches the use of the same catalyst required by claim 12/1. Therefore, it is the position of the examiner that the catalyst is capable of effecting the hydrocarbon conversion processes required by claim 12.
With respect to claims 13 and 14, Luo et al. further does not specifically teach that the oxidative gas is pre-heated. However, Luo et al. teaches specifically that the initial temperature in the reactor is ramped to a temperature of 720 degrees C and is then maintained at that temperature ([0040], [0041]), which suggests that the gas stream is heated throughout the process in order to maintain a desired reaction temperature. In addition, the reference further teaches that that temperature employed is a result effective variable (see [0033]), which would provide one of ordinary skill with the motivation to optimize the heating and temperature conditions in order to obtain the best results from the regeneration process. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose the instantly claimed ranges and conventional heating methods through process optimization, since it has been held that there the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215.
With respect to claim 15, Luo et al. teaches that the regeneration process further includes contacting the oxidized catalyst to a flow if stripping gas that is substantially free of oxygen to form the regenerated catalyst ([0027], [0028]).
Regarding claims 16-18, Luo et al. does not specifically teach a reduction of the catalyst with hydrogen. However, Choi et al. teaches an iterative regeneration process for a dehydrogenation catalyst comprising platinum which includes a hydrogen activation step to effect reduction of the catalytic metal following regeneration ([0048], [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have modify the process taught by Luo et al. to further include a reduction step using hydrogen as taught by Choi et al., because Choi et al. teaches that such is a conventional step during regeneration to provide an activated metal capable of dehydrogenation activity.
With respect to the cooling step of claim 18, Luo et al. suggests that the reactor is cooled to reaction temperature to provide a stable catalyst bed, but does not specifically teach a time of 10 minutes or less. However, Luo et al. teaches that the times required for each of the step has an impact on the efficiency of the process, thereby establishing the time required as a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that there the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 8-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/562,477 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The ‘477 application claims a process for regenerating a catalyst comprising the instantly required steps I-IV. The claims differ from the instant claims by requiring a group 10 metal which overlaps the amount instantly claimed. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742