DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-3 and 15) in the reply filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-11 and 14-26 are withdrawn. Claims 1-3 and 15 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites carbon equivalent Ceq in line 12. However, Ceq is not defined in the claim 1. It’s unclear how Ceq is determined. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “SMA1 is a total area ratio of island regions among island regions constituting the hard secondary phase that have a value of 1.0 µm or more for area divided by the maximum Feret diameter” in line 30-32. The meaning of a value of 1.0 µm or more for area divided by the maximum Feret diameter is unclear. The meaning of Feret diameter is not defined. Appropriate correction is defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (WO2020/162556, US 2022/0090248 is used as translation; IDS dated 03/12/2025).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Yokoyama teaches a galvanized steel sheet comprising a base steel sheet and a galvanized layer on a surface of the base steel sheet, wherein the base steel sheet has a chemical composition comprising, in mass%, C: 0.050-0.350%, Si: 0.10-2.50%, Mn: 1.00-3.50%, P: 0.050% or less, S: 0.0100% or less, Al: 0.001-1.500%, N: 0.100% or less, Ti: 0-0.200%, Nb: 0-0.100%, V: 0-1.00%, B: 0-0.0100%, Cu: 0-1.00%, Cr: 0-2.00%, Ni: 0-1.005, Mo: 0-1.00%, Sb: 0-1.00%, Sn: 0-1.00%, W: 0-1.00%, Mg: 0-0.0100%, Co: 0-1.00%, Zr: 0-0.0100%, Ca: 0-0.0100%, Ce: 0-0.0100%, Hf: 0-0.0100%, Bi: 0-0.0100%, REM: 0-0.0100%, and a balance of Fe and impurities ([0028] to [0057]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed chemical composition ranges and Ceq. Yokoyama further teaches wherein the base steel sheet has a microstructure containing, by area%, ferrite: 0-50%, tempered martensite: 5% or more, retained austenite: 0-30%, fresh martensite: 0-10%, and a reminder being bainite (i.e. bainitic ferrite) ([0058] to [0062]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed phase area ratios. Yokoyama teaches wherein the base steel sheet has a tensile strength of 980 MPa or more ([0200]), which is close to the recited tensile strength in claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2144.05.
Yokoyama does not explicitly teach that the base steel sheet has a microstructure wherein SBF + STM + 2 x SMA is 10% or more and less than 65.0%, SBF+STM is 3% or more and 60% or less, SMA1/SMA is 0.40 or less, and IDR is 0.16% or more as recited in claim 1. However, Yokoyama teaches a steel sheet having an overlapping chemical composition ([0028]-[0057]), and further teaches a method of production of its steel sheet comprising a hot rolling process, a cold rolling process, heating the steel sheet to a temperature of Ac1 + 30⁰C or more and 950⁰C or less and holding at this temperature for 1-1000 seconds, a first cooling to a first cooling stop temperature of 300-600⁰C and holding for 80-500 seconds, a coating process in which the cold-rolled steel sheet is subjected to hot dip galvanizing, wherein the first cooling stop temperature is within +/- 20⁰C of the coating bath temperature, for example, the coating math temperature may be 440-460⁰C, a second cooling to a second cooling stop temperature of Ms-50⁰C or less, reheating to 200-420⁰C and holding for 5-500 seconds ([0069]-[0080], [0186], Table 2). Note that this process is substantially similar to the process described in paragraph [0023] of the instant specification. In view of the fact that Yokoyama teaches a steel sheet with an overlapping composition and substantially similar process of making, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the steel sheet of Yokoyama to have SBF + STM + 2 x SMA is 10% or more and less than 65.0%, SBF+STM is 3% or more and 60% or less, SMA1/SMA is 0.40 or less, and IDR is 0.16% or more as recited in claim 1. In the case where “the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP §2112.01.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Yokoyama discloses that the galvanized layer is a hot-dip galvanized layer ([0186]), which meets the limitation recited in claims 3 and 15.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 12 of copending Application No. 18/727,874 (US 2025/0084501). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 claims 1, 3, and 12 of copending Application No. 18/727,874 teach a steel sheet having composition that meets the recited composition in instant claims 1-3 and 15 and a method of making the steel sheet that is substantially identical to the method of making the steel sheet disclosed in instant Specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by claims 1, 3, and 12 of copending Application No. 18/727,874 to meet the recited structure and property limitation in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/546,428 (US 2024/0124964). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-4 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/546,428 teach a steel sheet having composition that meets the recited composition in instant claims 1-3 and 15 and a method of making the steel sheet that is substantially identical to the method of making the steel sheet disclosed in instant Specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by claims 1, 3-4 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/546,428 to meet the recited structure limitation in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
The Ceq and the tensile strength disclosed in claims 1, 3-4 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/546,428 are close to the recited Ceq and tensile strength in claim 1. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733