DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant' s amendment filed 01/16/2024. Claims 1-18 and newly added claim 19 and 20 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,6-8,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a2 as being anticipated by Tang (US 20240049576 A1, IDS)Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches(Figures 1-8 and corresponding text) a display panel (100) comprising: a base substrate (200); and a plurality of sub-pixels on the base substrate; wherein the base substrate comprises a first display region (display region A )and a second display region (Display Region B); the plurality of sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first sub-pixels (a) and a plurality of second sub-pixel (b)s; the plurality of first sub-pixels are in the first display region (A); the plurality of second sub-pixels are in the second display region (B)(π57); among sub-pixels of an identical color (π75), a first pixel aperture of the first sub-pixels is greater than a second pixel aperture of the second sub-pixels (π80); wherein the display panel further comprises: a lens layer (microlens structures; second refractive index layer 600) at a side of the plurality of sub-pixels facing away from the base substrate (200); wherein the second refractive index layer comprises lenses formed in a plurality of first openings (510 )and a plurality of second openings (520 ) (respectively equivalent to second lenses and first lenses); the orthographic projection of each lens corresponding to a second opening on the substrate at least partially overlaps the orthographic projection of a corresponding second pixel opening on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of each lens corresponding to a first opening on the substrate at least partially overlaps the orthographic projection of corresponding first pixel opening on the substrate; and the arrangement of the lenses corresponding to the first openings and the second openings enables light rays of a larger number of first sub-pixels per unit area to be converged (the light converging capacity of each first lens being less than the light converging capacity of each second lens).(π44-70, Figures 1-7).
Regarding claim 6, Tang discloses (Figure 3-5) wherein the orthographic projection of the first lens onto the base substrate is surrounded by the orthographic projection of the corresponding first pixel aperture onto the base substrate (see citations for claim1).
Regarding claim 7, Tang discloses (Figure 3-5)wherein the orthographic projection of the second lens onto the base substrate surrounds at least part of a boundary of the orthographic projection of the corresponding second pixel aperture onto the base substrate(See citations claim 1))11
Regarding claim 8, Tang (Figure 3-5), wherein the orthographic projection of the second lens onto the base substrate surrounds the orthographic projection of the corresponding second pixel aperture onto the base substrate.(See citations in claim 1)
Regarding claim , 18. Tang discloses a display device(Figure 8), comprising a display panel (100): wherein the display panel comprises: : a base substrate (200); and a plurality of sub-pixels on the base substrate; wherein the base substrate comprises a first display region (display region A )and a second display region (Display Region B); the plurality of sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first sub-pixels (a) and a plurality of second sub-pixel (b)s; the plurality of first sub-pixels are in the first display region (A); the plurality of second sub-pixels are in the second display region (B)(π57); among sub-pixels of an identical color (π75), a first pixel aperture of the first sub-pixels is greater than a second pixel aperture of the second sub-pixels (π80); wherein the display panel further comprises: a lens layer (microlens structures; second refractive index layer 600) at a side of the plurality of sub-pixels facing away from the base substrate (200); wherein the second refractive index layer comprises lenses formed in a plurality of first openings (510 )and a plurality of second openings (520 ) (respectively equivalent to second lenses and first lenses); the orthographic projection of each lens corresponding to a second opening on the substrate at least partially overlaps the orthographic projection of a corresponding second pixel opening on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of each lens corresponding to a first opening on the substrate at least partially overlaps the orthographic projection of corresponding first pixel opening on the substrate; and the arrangement of the lenses corresponding to the first openings and the second openings enables light rays of a larger number of first sub-pixels per unit area to be converged (the light converging capacity of each first lens being less than the light converging capacity of each second lens).(π44-70, Figures 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20240049576 A1, IDS) in view of Peng et al. (US 20230152927 A1) (Peng, hereafter).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Tang discloses the display panel /device set forth above(see rejections claim 1 and 18). Tang fails to explicitly disclose wherein an arch height of the first lens is less than an arch height of the second lens.
Peng discloses he sensing electrode includes an array of first micro-lenses distributed in an array, and the driving electrode includes an array of second micro-lenses distributed in an array; the array of the first micro-lenses is aligned with the array of the second micro-lenses; and each of the first micro-lenses and the second micro-lenses has a semi-elliptical shape or a semi-spherical shape, and an included angle to horizontal of the semi-spherical shape near its centerline position is less than an included angle to horizontal of the semi-spherical shape away from the centerline position; he first micro-lenses and the second micro-lenses corresponding to each other are located in a light-exiting direction of a same one of the sub-pixels, the first micro-lenses cover the sub-pixels, and the second micro-lenses cover the first micro-lenses; the second micro-lenses and the first micro-lenses in the light-exiting direction of the same one of the sub-pixels have a same shape, and a contour area of the second micro-lenses is larger than a contour area of the first micro-lenses, or a contour of the second micro-lenses coincides with a contour of the first micro-lenses(π10,π14-π15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the display panel/device of Tang as disclosed by Peng wherein an arch height of the first lens is less than an arch height of the second lens the motivation is to ensure that the light output effect of the under-screen display area is not different from the normal display area, thus enhancing the user experience(Peng, π007).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Tang as modified by Peng fail to explicitly disclose wherein the arch height h1 of the first lens satisfies: 1.2 μm≤h1≤2.3 μm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill one before the effective filing dater to modify the display panel of Tang as disclosed by Peng to derive wherein the arch height h1 of the first lens satisfies: 1.2 μm≤h1≤2.3 μm., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20240049576 A1, IDS) in view of Yu JUN et al, (CN 110767708 A, machine translation 02-2020) (YU, hereafter).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Tang discloses the display panel set forth above 9see rejection claim 1). Tang fails to explicitly disclose wherein a distance d1 between orthographic projections of adjacent ones of the plurality of first lenses onto the base substrate and a distance d2 between orthographic projections of adjacent ones of the plurality of second lenses onto the base substrate satisfy: d1>d2n(claim4);, wherein d1 satisfies: 0.3 μm≤d1≤1 μm (claim 5).
YU discloses in Figure 3, taking the second pixel repeating unit 21A, the second
pixel repeating unit 21B, the third pixel repeating unit 31A, and the third pixel repeating unit 31B as examples, the distance between the second pixel repeating unit 21A and the second pixel repeating unit 21B is D1, and the distance between the third pixel repeating unit 31A and the third pixel repeating unit 31B is D2, and D2 is greater than D1. This can reduce the distance between each second pixel repeating unit, ensuring that complete pixel units can be arranged between the first light-emitting area 1 and the third light-emitting area 3, so as to solve the problem of dark lines in the display (π92-π93)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the display panel of Tank based on the teachings of Yu the wherein a distance d1 between orthographic projections of adjacent ones of the plurality of first lenses onto the base substrate and a distance d2 between orthographic projections of adjacent ones of the plurality of second lenses onto the base substrate satisfy: d1>d2n(cl;, wherein d1 satisfies: 0.3 μm≤d1≤1 μm motivation bring to suppress the occurrence of black line in displays.
Claims 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20240049576 A1, IDS)
Regarding claims 9-12 and 17, the limitation wherein a material of the first lens is different from a material of the second lens, and a refractive index of the material of the first lens is less than a refractive index of the material of the second lens (claim 9);, wherein the second display region comprises a sub-display region and the sub-display region is adjacent to the first display region; in the sub-display region, the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second sub-pixel is gradually reduced in a direction close to the first display region(claim 10);wherein in the sub-display region, an arch height of the second lens corresponding to the second sub-pixel is gradually reduced in the direction close to the first display region(claim 11), wherein a distance between orthographic projections of adjacent ones of the plurality of second lenses onto the base substrate is d2; in the sub-display region, d2 gradually increases in the direction close to the first display region (claim 12) ; wherein each of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel comprises: a sub-pixel driving circuit and a light-emitting element; the light-emitting element comprises an anode pattern, a light-emitting functional layer, a cathode layer and a color film layer which are sequentially stacked in a direction away from the base substrate; and the anode pattern is coupled to the sub-pixel driving circuit; the display panel further comprises a pixel defining layer; at least part of the pixel defining layer is between the anode pattern and the light-emitting functional layer; the pixel defining layer comprises a plurality of openings and the plurality of openings define the first pixel aperture and the second pixel aperture (claim 17)etc do not appear to contain any additional features which define more than slight constructional changes which come within the scope of the customary (design) practice followed by persons skilled in the art, especially as the advantages thus achieved can be readily contemplated in advance. Alternatively, these limitations are not deemed patentable since the applicant’s disclosure fails to show such limitations to solve any problems or to yield any unobvious advantage that is not within the scope of the teachings applied. Therefore, such limitations would be a matter of design alternative.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the display panel Tang based on the disclosure of Tang limitation wherein a material of the first lens is different from a material of the second lens, and a refractive index of the material of the first lens is less than a refractive index of the material of the second lens;, wherein the second display region comprises a sub-display region and the sub-display region is adjacent to the first display region; in the sub-display region, the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second sub-pixel is gradually reduced in a direction close to the first display region; wherein in the sub-display region, an arch height of the second lens corresponding to the second sub-pixel is gradually reduced in the direction close to the first display region, wherein a distance between orthographic projections of adjacent ones of the plurality of second lenses onto the base substrate is d2; in the sub-display region, d2 gradually increases in the direction close to the first display region ; wherein each of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel comprises: a sub-pixel driving circuit and a light-emitting element; the light-emitting element comprises an anode pattern, a light-emitting functional layer, a cathode layer and a color film layer which are sequentially stacked in a direction away from the base substrate; and the anode pattern is coupled to the sub-pixel driving circuit; the display panel further comprises a pixel defining layer; at least part of the pixel defining layer is between the anode pattern and the light-emitting functional layer; the pixel defining layer comprises a plurality of openings and the plurality of openings define the first pixel aperture and the second pixel aperture the motivation being to have righter visual brightness in the under-screen camera areas at large viewing angles and since design alternative requires only routine skill.
Regarding claim 13 -16, Tang discloses display panel set forth above (See rejection claim 1); Tang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of first sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first blue sub-pixels, a plurality of first green sub-pixels and a plurality of first red sub-pixels; the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first blue sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first green sub-pixel; and/or, the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first blue sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first red sub-pixel (claim 13); wherein the plurality of second sub-pixels comprise a plurality of second blue sub-pixels, a plurality of second green sub-pixels and a plurality of second red sub-pixels; the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second blue sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second green sub-pixel; and/or, the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second blue sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second red sub-pixel(Claim 14); wherein the plurality of first sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first blue sub-pixels, a plurality of first green sub-pixels and a plurality of first red sub-pixels; the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first red sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first green sub-pixel; and/or, the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first red sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first blue sub-pixel (claim 15);wherein the plurality of second sub-pixels comprise a plurality of second blue sub-pixels, a plurality of second green sub-pixels and a plurality of second red sub-pixels; the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second red sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second green sub-pixel; and/or, the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second red sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second blue sub-pixel (claim 16).
However Tang discloses wherein the light-emitting color of the first color pixels is blue, the light-emitting color of the second color pixels is red, and the light-emitting color of the third color pixels is green. Tang further discloses the first sub-pixels are one of first color pixels, second color pixels, or third color pixels, a light-emitting area of the first color pixels is greater than a light-emitting area of the second color pixels, and the light-emitting area of the second color pixels is greater than a light-emitting area of the third color pixels; the second sub-pixels are one of fourth color pixels, fifth color pixels, or sixth color pixels, a light-emitting area of the fourth color pixels is greater than a light-emitting area of the fifth color pixels, and the light-emitting area of the fifth color pixels is greater than a light-emitting area of the sixth color pixels; light-emitting colors of the first color pixels, the second color pixels, and the third color pixels are different, the light-emitting color of the first color pixels is same as a light-emitting color of the fourth color pixels, the light-emitting color of the second color pixels is same as a light-emitting color of the fifth color pixels, and the light-emitting color of the third color pixels is same as a light-emitting color of the sixth color pixels; a ratio of a number of the first openings corresponding to the first color pixels to a number of the first color pixels is a third ratio, a ratio of a number of the second openings corresponding to the fourth color pixels to a number of the fourth color pixels is a fourth ratio, a ratio of a number of the first openings corresponding to the second color pixels to a number of the second color pixels is a fifth ratio, a ratio of a number of the second openings corresponding to the fifth color pixels to a number of the fifth color pixels is a sixth ratio, a ratio of a number of the first openings corresponding to the third color pixels to a number of the third color pixels is a seventh ratio, and a ratio of a number of the second openings corresponding to the sixth color pixels to a number of the sixth color pixels is an eighth ratio; and the third ratio is greater than the fourth ratio, and the fifth ratio, the sixth ratio, the seventh ratio, and the eighth ratio are all equal to each other; or the third ratio is greater than the fourth ratio, the fifth ratio is greater than the sixth ratio, and the seventh ratio is equal to the eighth ratio. (π34)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the display panel Tang as disclosed by Tang using the opening (lens) to derive wherein the plurality of first sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first blue sub-pixels, a plurality of first green sub-pixels and a plurality of first red sub-pixels; the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first blue sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first green sub-pixel; and/or, the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first blue sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first red sub-pixel; wherein the plurality of second sub-pixels comprise a plurality of second blue sub-pixels, a plurality of second green sub-pixels and a plurality of second red sub-pixels; the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second blue sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second green sub-pixel; and/or, the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second blue sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second red sub-pixel; wherein the plurality of first sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first blue sub-pixels, a plurality of first green sub-pixels and a plurality of first red sub-pixels; the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first red sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first green sub-pixel; and/or, the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first red sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the first lens corresponding to the first blue sub-pixel; wherein the plurality of second sub-pixels comprise a plurality of second blue sub-pixels, a plurality of second green sub-pixels and a plurality of second red sub-pixels; the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second red sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second green sub-pixel; and/or, the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second red sub-pixel is greater than the light gathering ability of the second lens corresponding to the second blue sub-pixel then motivation being to concentrate more light of large viewing angles in the functional display area; Therefore, a technical problem of brighter visual brightness at the large viewing angles in the functional display area can be relieved (π35).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the 892 and below:
US 20220299728 A1-Genersl state of the art- an under-screen camera assembly, a corresponding camera module, an optical lens and a manufacturing method therefor.
US 20220077244 A11 general state of the art-
TRACIE Y. GREEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875