DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/01/2025,10/15/2024,07/11/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant' s amendment filed 01/16/2024.
Drawings amended
Claims amended; claims 1-20 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 16are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by XU ET AL (,CN 112106204A,08-2020 ,machine translation) (Xu, hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses (Figures 4A-10 and corresponding text) display substrate (Figures 4A-4C)(100), comprising: a substrate (101); a pixel defining layer (103) located on one side of the substrate (101) and provided with a plurality of pixel openings (113, 123, and 133) for emitting different colors, the pixel openings (113, 123, and 133) each having an pixel opening orthographic projection on the substrate (101); and a black matrix (109) located on the side of the pixel defining layer (103) away from the substrate (101) and comprising black matrix openings (114, 124, and 134 )corresponding to the pixel openings (113, 123, and 133), the black matrix openings (114, 124, and 134 )each having a black matrix opening orthographic projection on the substrate (101), the black matrix opening orthographic projections covering the corresponding pixel opening orthographic projections (figures 4B and 4C), and the black matrix openings (114, 124, and 134 )each having an opening expansion compared with the pixel openings (113, 123, and 133), wherein in the same direction parallel to the substrate (101), at positions of at least two pixel openings (113, 123)with different light-emitting colors, in a same direction parallel to the base substrate (101), the opening expansion is inversely proportional to a length of the pixel opening orthographic projection.
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses (Figures 4A-4C)wherein the pixel opening orthographic projection is a polygon, and the pixel openings (113, 123, and 133), comprise a first pixel opening emitting light of a first color, the first pixel opening (113) has a first side extending in a first direction, and a length of the first side of the first pixel opening is greater than or equal to lengths of remaining sides of the first pixel opening, and is greater than or equal to a longest side length of the pixel openings (123,133)with other light-emitting colors; at the positions of the at least two pixel openings (113,123) with different light-emitting colors, in a direction parallel to the base substrate and perpendicular to the first direction, the opening expansion is inversely proportional to the length of the pixel opening orthographic projection.
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses (4A-4C) wherein at the positions of the at least two pixel openings with different light-emitting colors, in the first direction parallel to the base substrate, the opening expansion is inversely proportional to the length of the pixel opening orthographic projection.
Regarding claim 8. (Figures 4a-4c and see rejection claim 1)., wherein, in the same direction parallel to the base substrate, a ratio of opening expansions of at least two pixel openings with different light-emitting colors is approximately inversely proportional to a ratio of lengths of orthographic projections of the corresponding pixel openings with different light-emitting colors on the base substrate
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses (Figure 8) a display device (π147), comprising the display substrate according to claim 1(see rejection claim 1 above)
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses (Figures 4A-4C)wherein the pixel opening orthographic projection is a polygon, and the pixel openings (113, 123, and 133), comprise a first pixel opening emitting light of a first color, the first pixel opening (113) has a first side extending in a first direction, and a length of the first side of the first pixel opening is greater than or equal to lengths of remaining sides of the first pixel opening, and is greater than or equal to a longest side length of the pixel openings (123,133)with other light-emitting colors; at the positions of the at least two pixel openings (113,123) with different light-emitting colors, in a direction parallel to the base substrate and perpendicular to the first direction, the opening expansion is inversely proportional to the length of the pixel opening orthographic projection
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses (Figures 4a-4c and rejection claim 16 ) wherein at the positions of the at least two pixel openings with different light-emitting colors, in the first direction parallel to the base substrate, the opening expansion is inversely proportional to the length of the pixel opening orthographic projection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 9, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over .XU ET AL (,CN 112106204A,08-2020 ,machine translation) (Xu, hereafter).
Regarding claims 4-7 and 19, Xu discloses the display substrate the display device set forth above(see rejections claims 1 and 16). Xu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first pixel opening is a red pixel opening emitting red light, and the pixel openings further comprise a blue pixel opening emitting blue light and a green pixel opening emitting green light; one blue pixel opening, one red pixel opening and one green pixel opening are sequentially arranged along a direction perpendicular to the first direction to constitute one repeating unit, and a plurality of repeating units are sequentially arranged along the direction perpendicular to the first direction to form a pixel opening row (claim 4); wherein the first pixel opening is a blue pixel opening emitting blue light, and the pixel openings further comprise a red pixel opening emitting red light and a green pixel opening emitting green light; one red pixel opening, one green pixel opening and one blue pixel opening constitute one repeating unit, and in the repeating unit, the red pixel opening and the green pixel opening are arranged along the first direction, and a straight line passing through a center of the blue pixel opening and perpendicular to the first direction is located at a gap between the red pixel opening and the green pixel opening; a plurality of repeating units are sequentially arranged along the direction perpendicular to the first direction to form a pixel opening row(claim 5);wherein the first pixel opening is a blue pixel opening emitting blue light, and the pixel openings further comprise a red pixel opening emitting red light, and a first green pixel opening and a second green pixel opening emitting green light; one red pixel opening, one first green pixel opening, one second green pixel opening and one blue pixel opening constitute one repeating unit, and in the repeating unit, a center of the red pixel opening, a center of the blue pixel opening, a center of the first green pixel opening and a center of the second green pixel opening form a quadrilateral, two sides of the quadrilateral are parallel to the first direction, and the other two sides are perpendicular to the first direction; a connecting line between the center of the red pixel opening and the center of the blue pixel opening forms a first diagonal line of the quadrilateral, and the repeating units are arranged in sequence along a direction parallel to the first diagonal line to form a pixel opening row (claim 6);wherein the pixel opening orthographic projection on the base substrate is circular, and the pixel openings comprise a blue pixel opening emitting blue light, a red pixel opening emitting red light, and a first green pixel opening and a second green pixel opening emitting green light; one red pixel opening, one first green pixel opening, one second green pixel opening and one blue pixel opening constitute one repeating unit, and in the repeating unit, a center of the red pixel opening, a center of the blue pixel opening, a center of the first green pixel opening and a center of the second green pixel opening form a quadrilateral, and a connecting line between the center of the red pixel opening and the center of the blue pixel opening forms a first diagonal line of the quadrilateral, and the repeating units are arranged in sequence along a direction parallel to the first diagonal line to form a pixel opening row (claims 7 and 19).
Xu discloses as shown in Figure 4, the area of the effective light emitting region 151 of the first light emitting layer is greater than the area of the effective light emitting region 152 of the second light emitting layer, and the area of the effective light emitting region 152 of the second light emitting layer is greater than that of the effective light emitting region 153 of the third light emitting layer; the light reflecting area of the first electrode exposed in the first pixel unit; the light reflecting area of the second electrode exposed in the second pixel unit and the light reflecting area of the third electrode exposed in the third pixel unit are equal to each other. the area of the effective light emitting region 151 of the first light emitting layer is greater than the area of the effective light emitting region 152 of the second light emitting layer, and the area of the effective light emitting region 152 of the second light emitting layer is greater than that of the effective light emitting region 153 of the third light emitting layer; the light reflecting area of the first electrode exposed in the first pixel unit; the light reflecting area of the second electrode exposed in the second pixel unit and the light reflecting area of the third electrode exposed in the third pixel unit are equal to each other. The area of the area of the first light emitting layer 112 directly contacting the first electrode 111, the area of the area of the second light emitting layer 122 directly contacting the second electrode 121 and the area of the area of the third light emitting layer 132 directly contacting the third electrode 131 are different from each other; Therefore, the area of the effective light emitting region 151 of the first light emitting layer, the area of the effective light emitting region of the second light emitting layer 152 and the effective light emitting region 153 of the third light emitting layer 153 are different from each other. Thus allowing the luminous efficiency to be driven by physical makeup of area of pixels or by drive current, with the desired color scheme left for what is needed for them design’s final product.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the display substrate/display device of Xu as disclosed by Xu to derive wherein the first pixel opening is a red pixel opening emitting red light, and the pixel openings further comprise a blue pixel opening emitting blue light and a green pixel opening emitting green light; one blue pixel opening, one red pixel opening and one green pixel opening are sequentially arranged along a direction perpendicular to the first direction to constitute one repeating unit, and a plurality of repeating units are sequentially arranged along the direction perpendicular to the first direction to form a pixel opening row ; wherein the first pixel opening is a blue pixel opening emitting blue light, and the pixel openings further comprise a red pixel opening emitting red light and a green pixel opening emitting green light; one red pixel opening, one green pixel opening and one blue pixel opening constitute one repeating unit, and in the repeating unit, the red pixel opening and the green pixel opening are arranged along the first direction, and a straight line passing through a center of the blue pixel opening and perpendicular to the first direction is located at a gap between the red pixel opening and the green pixel opening; a plurality of repeating units are sequentially arranged along the direction perpendicular to the first direction to form a pixel opening row; wherein the first pixel opening is a blue pixel opening emitting blue light, and the pixel openings further comprise a red pixel opening emitting red light, and a first green pixel opening and a second green pixel opening emitting green light; one red pixel opening, one first green pixel opening, one second green pixel opening and one blue pixel opening constitute one repeating unit, and in the repeating unit, a center of the red pixel opening, a center of the blue pixel opening, a center of the first green pixel opening and a center of the second green pixel opening form a quadrilateral, two sides of the quadrilateral are parallel to the first direction, and the other two sides are perpendicular to the first direction; a connecting line between the center of the red pixel opening and the center of the blue pixel opening forms a first diagonal line of the quadrilateral, and the repeating units are arranged in sequence along a direction parallel to the first diagonal line to form a pixel opening row ; wherein the pixel opening orthographic projection on the base substrate is circular, and the p0ixel openings comprise a blue pixel opening emitting blue light, a red pixel opening emitting red light, and a first green pixel opening and a second green pixel opening emitting green light; one red pixel opening, one first green pixel opening, one second green pixel opening and one blue pixel opening constitute one repeating unit, and in the repeating unit, a center of the red pixel opening, a center of the blue pixel opening, a center of the first green pixel opening and a center of the second green pixel opening form a quadrilateral, and a connecting line between the center of the red pixel opening and the center of the blue pixel opening forms a first diagonal line of the quadrilateral, and the repeating units are arranged in sequence along a direction parallel to the first diagonal line to form a pixel opening row the motivation being to achieve maximum luminous efficiency without overdriving the display and since design choice requires only routine skill.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Xu discloses the display substrate the display device set forth above(see rejections claims 1 and 16). Xu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the opening expansion is in the range from 2 nm to 10 nm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date made to (wherein the opening expansion is in the range from 2 nm to 10 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art ,discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re A11er, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et (,CN 112106204A,08-2020 ,machine translation) (Xu, hereafter). In view of Jeon et al.( US 20190245017 A1) (Jeon, hereafter).
Xu discloses the display substrate eet forth above(see rejections claims 1. Xu fails to explicitly disclose to explicitly discover wherein the display substrate further comprises an encapsulation layer (106) between the pixel defining layer(103,π82) and the black matrix(109,π88), Xu fails explicitly to teach a touch layer .
Jeon discloses (Figure 2) a touch sense layer (170) is provided on the encapsulation layer (160) (π77) and underneath the black matrix (180,π79) (see figure 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the display device of Xu as disclosed by Jeon wherein a touch layer is disposed in between the encapsulation layer and the black matrix, the motivation being to block ambient light from penetrating the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the 892 provided with this office action and below:
US 20210159286 A1- The display panel includes a display region including a first display region and a photo-sensitive element disposing region, -Black matrix
US 20210066404 A1-light filters and black matrix-General state of the art
US 20200227486 A1- General state of the art-1 Black matrix
US 20200219967 A1- General state of the art- display panel, a display screen, and a
display terminal
US 20170271420 A1- General state of the art=Dispay Device
TRACIE Y. GREEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875