DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in France on 07/16/2021. A certified copy of the FR2107714 application was received 01/16/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 01/16/2024 have all been considered and made of record.
Drawings
Ten (10) sheets of drawings were filed on 01/26/2024 and 02/21/2024 and have been objected by the examiner.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “metal pins”, “input-output pin”, “ground pin”, “power supply pin”, and “masking ring” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the claim recites that the optronic modules of the plurality comprise “…a controller, a memory and signal amplifiers…” (Page 6/Line 7). It is unclear whether the optronic modules comprise: an individual controller and a single instance of amplifiers for both memory and signal, or: an individual controller, an individual unit of memory, and a plurality of amplifiers for one or more signals, or: some other structure relating to control, memory, and signal. The claim is indefinite because there is a great deal of confusion regarding the meaning of the above limitation.
Examiner’s note: For the purposes of further examination, examiner has generally interpreted the above limitation as requiring that the module include components for control of at least certain aspects of the cluster of optronic modules, storage of memory, and amplification of one or more signals.
Claims 2-14 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 from which they depend.
With regards to claims 12-13, the claims recite “An optronic module for the production of a cluster of networked modules…”. At least lines 13-15 of claim 1 (from which claims 12 and 13 depend) establish limitations for “the optronic modules”. Furthermore, the phrase “for the production of” implies that the optronic module(s) of claims 12-13 is/are producing the cluster of networked modules. The claims are indefinite because it is unclear if and/or how the optronic module(s) of claims 12-13 are related to the optronic modules of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi (US 20040081402 A1) in view of Chun (US 5864642 A) and Or-Bach (US 20210151450 A1).
With regards to claims 1 and 12, Ouchi discloses a cluster of optronic modules, comprising:
An optronic circuit (Ouchi/Fig5/Optronic circuit [Entire device as shown]);
a plurality of optronic modules (Fig6/Optronic module [Elements 62-64]; Paragraph 35/Lines 8-14); and
optical link couplers (Fig6/Optical link couplers 65),
wherein the optronic circuit is formed by a multilayer assembly comprising:
a printed circuit board formed by an insulating plate having electrically conductive tracks (Fig5/Printed circuit board 42; Electrically conductive tracks 49); and
at least one three-dimensional transparent layer forming a three-dimensional transparent information field allowing propagation of multi-spectral light in its volume by optical coupling perpendicular to a median plane of the three-dimensional transparent layer (Fig5/Three-dimensional transparent layer 41; Fig6/Perpendicular coupling [Coupling as illustrated]); and
wherein the optronic modules of the plurality comprise:
at least one optical coupler for input-output of a bidirectional light signal via one of the optical link couplers (Fig6/Optical coupler 64);
at least one light emitter and/or at least one multi-spectral optical sensor optically connected to the one of the optical link couplers (Figs5&6/Multi-spectral light emitter 64); and
the plurality of optronic modules being programmable by electrical signals (Paragraph 4).
Ouchi does not explicitly disclose the optronic modules of the plurality as comprising metal pins, the use of multispectral light, the optronic modules of the plurality as comprising at least one multi-spectral light modulation means and at least one spectral filter associated with processing of a digital signal, or the optronic circuit as comprising a controller, memory, and signal amplifiers. However, the practices of incorporating the above elements into an optronic system in the above fashion exist in the art as exemplified by Chun and Or-Bach. Ouchi and Chun are considered to be analogous in the field of optronic circuits.
Ouchi discloses a system comprising an optronic circuit in communication with an optronic module. Chun discloses an optronic circuit comprising an optronic module comprising metal pins (Chun/Fig1/Metal pins 28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optronic circuit of Ouchi such that the optronic modules of Ouchi incorporated metal pins since as suggested by Chun, since doing so would allow for reliable electrical communication between the modules and circuit board of Ouchi. Ouchi and Chun together do not explicitly recite that the pins are made of metal, or that they comprise at least one input-output pin of a digital signal, a ground pin and a power supply pin. However, Chun does disclose electrical pins, and although the explicit purpose of individual pins is not expressly recited, it would have been an obvious matter of common skill and design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to configure pins for digital signal input/output, grounding, and power supply, because applicant has not disclosed such particular features provide an advantage, are used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem beyond those known in the art (I.E, supplying power). One of ordinary skill in the art would furthermore have expected the pins of Ouchi and Chun to perform equally as well with such features. Further, the base structure is found to be recited (or obvious) over Ouchi in view of Chun as discussed. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of common skill and design choice to configure the pins of Ouchi and Chun such that they are made of metal, and such that they comprised at least one input-output pin of a digital signal, a ground pin and a power supply pin KSR v Teleflex 2007.
Ouchi discloses a system comprising an optronic circuit in communication with an optronic module. Chun discloses the use of multispectral light (Chun/Columns 3-4/Lines 65-67 and 1-8 respectively), at least one multi-spectral light modulation means (Chun/Column 4/Lines 11-13) and at least one spectral filter (Chun/Column 4/Lines 2-5) associated with processing of a digital signal (Chun/Column 3/Lines 47-49) within a system comprising an optronic circuit in communication with an optronic module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make use of multispectral light within the optronic circuit of Ouchi as suggested by Chun, to include at least one multi-spectral light modulation means within the optronic circuit of Ouchi as suggested by Chun, and to include at least one spectral filter associated with processing of a digital signal of Ouchi as suggested by Chun, since doing so would increase the breadth of information that could be processed by the device.
Ouchi and Chun together disclose a system comprising an optronic circuit for the processing of optical and electrical signals. Or-Bach discloses an optronic circuit comprising a controller, a memory and signal amplifiers (Or-Bach/Paragraph 88/Lines 20-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a controller, memory, and signal amplifier into the optronic circuit disclosed by Ouchi and Chun as suggested by Or-Bach since doing so improve the information processing capabilities of the device.
With regards to claim 2, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose the cluster of optronic modules according to claim 1. Chun further discloses optical link couplers comprising vias (Chun/Fig13/Optical link coupler 226; Column 4/Lines 20-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the optical link couplers in the device of Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach with the optical link couplers of Chun since doing so would grant the device a further degree of modularity.
With regards to claims 3 and 11, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose the cluster of optronic modules, wherein the optical link couplers comprise viasIn re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a value of 45 degrees for the slope of the cone of Chun since doing so would most allow for redirection of light in a direction perpendicular to the central vertical axis of the via.
With regards to claim 4, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose the cluster of optronic modules according to claim 1, wherein the optical couplers comprise an optical fiber section comprising a connector for optical coupling with the plurality of optronic modules, and a second connector for optical coupling with the three-dimensional transparent information field, a three-dimensional volume of which comprises a block of transparent material (Chun/Fig13/Optical fiber section 226; Connector [Flat surface of element 230 opposite element 228]; Second connecter [Round surface of element 228]).
With regards to claim 5, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose the cluster of optronic modules according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of optronic modules connected by the optical couplers in an information field can be interconnected by dynamic programming (Ouchi/Paragraph 49/Lines 4-7).
With regards to claim 6, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose the cluster of optronic modules according to claim 5, the optronic modules comprising means for modulating and filtering at least four wavelengths in at least two distinct bands of the spectrum (Chun/Column 4/Lines 2-5 [Only one wavelength is not being filtered out]).
With regards to claim 7, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose an optronic module according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board comprises conductive tracks (Ouchi/Conductive tracks 49) comprising conductive power tracks for supply of power to the plurality of optronic modules and conductive link tracks for the for transmission of digital data with the plurality of optronic modules.
With regards to claim 8, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose an optronic module according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board comprises at least one optical coupler for connecting an optical fiber to the three-dimensional transparent information field (Ouchi/Optical coupler [Lower surface of elements 64]).
With regards to claim 9, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose an optronic module according to claim 2, wherein the printed circuit boardcoupler (Ouchi/Optical coupler [Lower surface of elements 64]) for connecting to
With regards to claim 10, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose an optronic module according to claim 2, wherein the optronic circuit.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi (US 20040081402 A1) in view of Chun (US 5864642 A) and Or-Bach (US 20210151450 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Kotake (US 7310457 B2).
With regards to claim 13, Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose an optronic module for production of a cluster of networked modules according to claim 1, wherein the optronic module comprises: iv. metal pins comprising at least one input-output pin of a digital signal, a ground pin and a power supply pin; v. at least one optical coupler; and vi. Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach are silent regarding an external light source. However, the practice of configuring a module to comprise an at least one optical coupler with an external light source exists in the art as exemplified by Kotake.
Ouchi, Chun, Or-Bach, and Kotake are considered to be analogous in the field of optical modules. Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach together disclose a cluster of networked modules. Kotake discloses a module comprising an optical coupler with an external light source (Kotake/External light source 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optronic module of Ouchi, Chun, and Or-Bach such that it comprised at least one optical coupler with an external light source as suggested by Kotake since doing so would allow the parameters of the light source to be coupled to the optronic module rather than the printed circuit board (or other components).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi (US 20040081402 A1) in view of Chun (US 5864642 A), Or-Bach (US 20210151450 A1), and Kotake (US 7310457 B2) as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Handelman (US 20060159387 A1).
With regards to claim 14, Ouchi, Chun, Or-Bach, and Kotake together disclose the optronic module according to claim 13, further comprising modulators (Chun/Column 4/Lines 11-13) interposed between the external light source and the at least one optical coupler with the optronic circuit and spectral selective filters (Chun/Column 4/Lines 2-5) interposed between the at least one multi-spectral optical sensor and the at least one optical coupler with the optronic circuit. Ouchi, Chun, Or-Bach, and Kotake together do not explicitly recite that the modulators and filters are made of rings. However, the practice of configuring optical components within a module to be made of rings exists in the art as exemplified by Handelman.
Ouchi, Chun, Or-Bach, Kotake, and Handelman are considered to be analogous in the field of optronic modules. Handelman discloses ring architecture for an optronic module (Paragraph 38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the modulators and filters of Ouchi, Chun, Or-Bach, and Kotake such that they are made of rings since doing so would allow for a more compact device architecture.
Conclusion
This prior art, made of record, but not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar structure and/or similar optical elements to what is disclosed and/or claimed in the instant application:
Uchida (US 20040042705 A1) [Fig1]
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874