DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the transmitting apparatus" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-14, 16, 23, 26, 36, 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (WO 2022/015965).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al discloses a position measurement method, performed by a signal adjustment apparatus (paragraph 31 and fig. 3 [APD, 180] discloses determines position of UE using APDs), comprising: receiving a target reference signal (paragraph 41 discloses APD 181 receives signal ray from base station 120) and sending the target reference signal to a receiving apparatus using a target codebook (paragraph 41 discloses APD 181 transforms the signal ray and directs signal ray to UE 110), wherein the target codebook is used to adjust a beam of a signal received by the signal adjustment apparatus to a beam corresponding to the target codebook (paragraph 41 and fig. 4A discloses APD 181 transforms the signal), and a signal characteristic of the target reference signal is used to determine a position of the receiving apparatus relative to the signal adjustment apparatus (paragraph 45 discloses base station to determine the position of UE).
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al the signal adjustment apparatus comprises a plurality of first codebooks, and the target codebook is one of the plurality of first codebooks (paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al receiving codebook indication information, wherein the codebook indication information comprises at least one of the following information: a codebook index; beam spacing between adjacent target beams, wherein the target beams are a plurality of beams corresponding to the plurality of first codebooks; a number of the target beams; or measurement orientation indication information (paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al the receiving apparatus is a base station; and the receiving a target reference signal and sending the target reference signal to a receiving apparatus using a target codebook comprises: receiving the target reference signal from a transmitting apparatus and sending the target reference signal to the receiving apparatus using the target codebook, such that the receiving apparatus determines a position of the transmitting apparatus relative to the signal adjustment apparatus based on the signal characteristic of the detected target reference signal (paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al the receiving apparatus is a terminal device; and the receiving a target reference signal and sending the target reference signal to a receiving apparatus using a target codebook comprises: receiving the target reference signal and sending the target reference signal to the receiving apparatus using the target codebook, such that the receiving apparatus sends a target measurement signal to the transmitting apparatus to determine the position of the receiving apparatus relative to the signal adjustment apparatus, wherein the target measurement signal is obtained by the receiving apparatus according to the signal characteristic of the target reference signal (paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al the receiving a target reference signal and sending the target reference signal to a receiving apparatus using a target codebook comprises: receiving the target reference signal in a target slot, and sending the target reference signal to the receiving apparatus using one of the plurality of first codebooks as the target codebook; and wherein the position measurement method further comprises: receiving signal indication information configured to instruct a transmitting apparatus to send the target reference signal in the target slot (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al weights of the plurality of first codebooks in an elevation dimension are identical; or weights of the plurality of first codebooks in the azimuth dimension are identical; or the plurality of first codebooks comprise two parts of first codebooks, weights of a first part of first codebooks in the azimuth dimension are identical, and weights of a second part of first codebooks in an elevation dimension are identical (paragraphs 84-85).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al the plurality of first codebooks comprise a pair of identical first codebooks for Doppler compensation (paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al the signal adjustment apparatus is a reconfigurable intelligent surface with at least one array element, and the sending the target reference signal to a receiving apparatus using a target codebook comprises: adjusting the at least one array element according to the target codebook, such that the reconfigurable intelligent surface sends the target reference signal to the receiving apparatus using a target beam corresponding to the target codebook (paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al the signal characteristic of the target reference signal comprises a phase of a main lobe of the target reference signal detected by the receiving apparatus (paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al a position measurement method, performed by a receiving apparatus (paragraph 28 and fig. 3 [UE, 110]), comprising: receiving a target reference signal, wherein the target reference signal is received by a signal adjustment apparatus (paragraph 31 and fig. 3 [APD, 180] fig. 4 [APDs 181]) from a transmitting apparatus (paragraph 41 discloses APD 181 receives by APD a signal ray from base station 120) and sent to the receiving apparatus using a target codebook (paragraph 41 discloses APD 181 transforms the signal ray and directs signal ray to UE 110), and the target codebook is used by the signal adjustment apparatus to adjust a beam of a received signal to a beam corresponding to the target codebook (paragraph 41 and fig. 4A discloses APD 181 transforms the signal); and determining a position of the transmitting apparatus relative to the signal adjustment apparatus based on a signal characteristic of the detected target reference signal (paragraph 45 discloses base station to determine the position of UE).
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al sending codebook indication information to the signal adjustment apparatus, wherein the codebook indication information comprises at least one of the following information: a codebook index; beam spacing between adjacent target beams, wherein the target beams are a plurality of beams corresponding to a plurality of first codebooks, and the plurality of first codebooks are configured by the signal adjustment apparatus; a number of the target beams; or measurement orientation indication information (paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al sending signal indication information to the signal adjustment apparatus, wherein the signal indication information is configured to instruct the transmitting apparatus to send the target reference signal in a target slot (paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 23, Wang et al a position measurement method, performed by a transmitting apparatus (paragraph 28 and fig. 3 [base station, 120]), the comprising: sending a target reference signal to a signal adjustment apparatus (paragraph 31 and fig. 3 [APD, 180] fig. 4 [APDs 181]) such that the signal adjustment apparatus sends the target reference signal to a receiving apparatus using a target codebook (paragraph 41 discloses APD 181 transforms the signal ray and directs signal ray to UE 110), wherein the target codebook is used by the signal adjustment apparatus to adjust a beam of a received signal to a beam corresponding to the target codebook (paragraph 41 and fig. 4A discloses APD 181 transforms the signal); receiving a target measurement signal sent by the receiving apparatus, wherein the target measurement signal is obtained by the receiving apparatus according to a signal characteristic of the target reference signal (paragraphs 44-45 base station receives identifier of wireless signal from UE); and determining a position of the receiving apparatus relative to the signal adjustment apparatus according to the target measurement signal (paragraph 45 discloses base station to determine the position of UE).
Regarding claim 26, Wang et al sending signal indication information to the signal adjustment apparatus such that the signal adjustment apparatus sends, according to the signal indication information, the target reference signal to the receiving apparatus using the target codebook in a target slot (paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 36, Wang et al a signal adjustment apparatus, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the position measurement method of claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 37, Wang et al a base station, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the position measurement method of claim 13 (see above rejection of claim 13).
Regarding claim 39, Wang et al a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer-executable instructions configured to cause a computer to perform the position measurement method of claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 30 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Berggren et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0191815) directed toward determining the position measurement of UE based on uplink and downlink signals.
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642