DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the pending claims, 1-8, received 16 January 2024. Accordingly, the detailed action of claims 1-8 is as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 January 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a storage unit configured to store….a transmission processing unit configured to transmit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hideaki (JP2016197873 A, hereafter referred to as Hideaki).
Regarding claim 1, Hideaki teaches an on-vehicle device (Hideaki [0064-0065] teaches an in-vehicle communication device which executes a process of correcting a timestamp such that a transmitting side and receiving side each share and correct the delay time that occurs resulting time synchronization [0016]) comprising:
a storage unit configured to store delay time information (Hideaki [0071] teaches a predetermined (stored) delay time to be corrected on the transmitting side) indicating at least either a first transmission delay time of data from a measurement reference position of a transmission time of the data in an own device, which is the on-vehicle device, to an external position (Hideaki [0075, 0083]), or a second transmission delay time of data from an external position to a measurement reference position of a reception time of the data in the own device (Hideaki [0078, 0084]); and
a transmission processing unit configured to transmit the delay time information stored in the storage unit to a first other device that performs time synchronization with the own device (Hideaki [0083] teaches sharing the transmission and reception delay times between the transmitter and receiver).
Regarding claim 2, Hideaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Hideaki teaches the on-vehicle device wherein the delay time information indicates both the first transmission delay time and the second transmission delay time (Hideaki [0083 and 0065] teaches the transmitting side and receiving side each share the delay time that occurs in the transmission and reception).
Regarding claim 3, Hideaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Hideaki teaches the on-vehicle device wherein each of the measurement reference positions is located between a MAC processing unit that performs MAC (Medium Access Control) layer processing and a PHY processing unit that performs PHY (Physical) layer processing (Hideaki [0075, 0078]).
Regarding claim 4, Hideaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Hideaki teaches the on-vehicle device wherein the transmission processing unit transmits the delay time information to the first other device in response to a communication connection being established between the own device and the first other device (Hideaki [0038-0039] teaches receiving the downlink signal when the device is within range of the downlink area of the transmitting device such that synchronization occurs between devices within the radio wave reachable range [0088]).
Regarding claim 5, Hideaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Hideaki teaches the on-vehicle device wherein the transmission processing unit transmits information for time synchronization including the delay time information (Hideaki [0083 and 0065] teaches sharing delay times between the transmitting and receiving side in order to correct the time value and perform time synchronization [0016]).
Regarding claim 6, Hideaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Hideaki teaches the on-vehicle device wherein the on-vehicle device further comprises: a time synchronization unit configured to measure a propagation delay time between the on-vehicle device and the second other device by transmitting and receiving information for time synchronization to and from a second other device (Hideaki [0076 and 0085] teaches a determining a transmission delay time between a transmitting and receiving device based on information included in a SDU or PDU), and perform time synchronization with the second other device based on the measured propagation delay time (Hideaki [0084] teaches correcting a local time based on the transmission delay), and the time synchronization unit includes a correction unit configured to correct the propagation delay time based on delay time information indicating at least either a third transmission delay time of data from a measurement reference position of a transmission time of the data in the second other device to an external position, transmitted from the second other device, or a fourth transmission delay time of data from an external position to a measurement reference position of a reception time of the data in the second other device (Hideaki [0084] teaches correcting a local time based on a reception delay time (fourth transmission delay time) of data from the PHY to the MAC unit [0084, 0078]).
Regarding claim 7, the claim is directed to a method executed by the device of claim 1. The claim limitations of claim 7 do no teach or further limit over the limitations presented in claim 1.
Therefore, claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Hideaki teaches a time synchronization method in an on-vehicle communication system that includes a first on-vehicle device and a second on-vehicle device (Hideaki [0003] teaches vehicle to vehicle communications between in-vehicle communication devices), comprising:
a step in which the first on-vehicle device transmits delay time information (Hideaki [0083 and 0065] teaches the transmitting side and receiving side each share the delay time that occurs in the transmission and reception) indicating at least either a first transmission delay time of data from a measurement reference position of a transmission time of the data in the first on-vehicle device to an external position (Hideaki [0075, 0083]), or a second transmission delay time of data from an external position to a measurement reference position of a reception time of the data in the first on-vehicle device (Hideaki [0078, 0084]);
a step in which the second on-vehicle device receives the delay time information transmitted from the first on-vehicle device (Hideaki [0083 and 0065] teaches the transmitting side and receiving side each share the delay time that occurs in the transmission and reception);
a step in which the second on-vehicle device measures the propagation delay time between the second on-vehicle device and the first on-vehicle device by transmitting and receiving information for time synchronization to and from the first on-vehicle device (Hideaki [0076 and 0085] teaches a determining a transmission delay time between a transmitting and receiving device based on information included in a SDU or PDU);
a step in which the second on-vehicle device corrects the measured propagation delay time based on the delay time information received from the first on-vehicle device (Hideaki [0083-0084] teaches correcting delay times based on information shared between the transmitting and receiving side such that the receiver corrects local time based on the shared delay times); and
a step in which the second on-vehicle device performs time synchronization with the first on-vehicle device based on the corrected propagation delay time (Hideaki [0016] teaches the receiver performs time synchronization using the corrected time value).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hideaki (JP 2015164302 A);
Hideaki (JP 2014023090 A);
Hideaki (JP 2013017211 A);
SHEAN TOKUTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2446
/SHEAN TOKUTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446