DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5, 9-11, 17-18, and 19-24, in the reply filed on 20 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “filtering device” in independent claims 1 and 17 (and dependent claims reciting said limitations), “recovery device” in independent claim 17 (and dependent claims reciting such limitations), and “switching device” of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/043290 to Iwasaki (cited by Applicant; machine translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki (in Figs. 1, 10-11, and associated text) discloses a washing machine (1), including:
a water container (12);
a filtering device (26,204), communicating with the water container and configured to filter water in the water container, wherein the filtering device is provided with a discharge outlet (31a-c) for discharging filtered impurities outward; and
a recovery device (31d, see Fig. 10), separately arranged with the filtering device and communicating with the discharge outlet of the filtering device for collecting the discharged filtered impurities.
Regarding claim 2, Iwasaki further discloses wherein, a discharge pipeline (25) is included, and one end of the discharge pipeline (see pipeline portion between 31a and 25) is connected with the discharge outlet (31a) of the filtering device, and an other end of the discharge pipeline (bottom of discharge 25) communicates with the recovery device (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 7, Iwasaki further discloses wherein it includes a circulation filtering pipeline (22,23), a water inlet end and a water outlet end of which espectively communicating with the water container (see ends of circulating pipelines in Fig. 11 connecting to water container 12), and a circulation pump (27) being arranged thereon; the filtering device, arranged on the circulation filtering pipeline, provided with a discharge outlet (25) for discharging filtered impurities outward; the recovery device, communicating with the discharge outlet of the filtering device through a discharge pipeline (25), and configured to collect the discharged filtered impurities; and a discharge control valve (V1), arranged on the discharge pipeline, and configured to control on-off of the discharge pipeline (see Figs. 10-11).
Regarding claim 17, Iwasaki further discloses a washing machine (1) including:
a water container (12), a water container water outlet being arranged thereon (see bottom of water container 12 with drains);
a drainage waterway (21,24), a water inlet end of which being connected with the water container water outlet and configured to discharge water to outside of the washing machine;
a filtering device (26), communicating with the water container to receive the water in the water container for filtering, and provided with a discharge outlet (31a-c), for discharging filtered impurities;
a discharge pipeline (25), wherein a water inlet end of which is connected with the discharge outlet, and a water outlet end of which is connected with the drainage waterway; and a discharge control valve (V1), arranged on the discharge pipeline and configured to control on-off of the discharge pipeline (see Figs. 6 and 10-11).
Regarding claim 18, Iwasaki further discloses wherein, when the discharge control valve is opened, the discharge pipeline is unidirectionally opened from the discharge outlet to the drainage waterway (note the control valve of Iwasaki is fully capable of such intended use operation).
Regarding claim 19, Iwasaki further discloses wherein, the discharge pipeline includes a sewage discharge section (bottom of pipeline 25) which vertically extends upward for a certain length (shown in Figs. 10-11), and an upper end of the sewage discharge section is connected with the drainage waterway (shown in Figs. 10-11); the discharge control valve is arranged on the sewage discharge section (see Figs. 10-11).
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102016004326 A1 to Wessel et al. (“Wessel”; cited by Applicant; machine translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Wessel (in Fig. 1, abstract, and associated text) discloses a washing machine (coming from line 1), including:
a water container (implicit in washing machine; also see abstract);
a filtering device (see Fig. 1, membrane B), communicating with the water container and configured to filter water in the water container, wherein the filtering device is provided with a discharge outlet (portion of membrane B discharging towards outlets 12 and 7) for discharging filtered impurities outward; and
a recovery device (6), separately arranged with the filtering device and communicating with the discharge outlet of the filtering device for collecting the discharged filtered impurities.
Regarding claim 2, Wessel further discloses wherein, a discharge pipeline (discharge pipe structure below filter membrane B and towards discharge outlet 12) is included, and one end of the discharge pipeline is connected with the discharge outlet (discharge of membrane B) of the filtering device, and an other end of the discharge pipeline (bottom of membrane B) communicates with the recovery device (at outlet 8; see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Wessel further discloses wherein, the filtering device includes: a filtering cavity (see Fig. 1), the discharge outlet is arranged thereon (bottom membrane B), and a water inlet (from pipeline 1) communicating with the water container is further arranged thereon; and a filtering mechanism (A,B,C), rotatably arranged within the filtering cavity and dividing inside of the filtering cavity into an outer cavity and an inner cavity (outside and inside of membrane B); the water inlet and the discharge outlet both communicate with the outer cavity (see Fig. 1, and the
discharge outlet is arranged at a bottom part of the filtering cavity and is connected with the discharge pipeline (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Wessel further discloses wherein, the recovery device includes:
a housing, provided with a recovery chamber inside (see outside of filter 6 in Fig. 1); and
a filtering assembly (coffee filter 6), arranged within the recovery chamber and dividing the recovery chamber into a first chamber (within the filter) and a second chamber (external the filter towards drain 7); wherein
the discharge outlet (at drain line 7; note both drain 7 and 12 lead to sewage) of the filtering device communicates with the first chamber, and sewage carrying the filtered impurities enters the first chamber, is filtered by the filtering assembly and enters the second chamber, and the filtered impurities are collected in the first chamber (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Wessel further discloses wherein, the filtering assembly
includes a filter screen horizontally arranged at a certain height within the recovery chamber (coffee filter 6 with horizontal bottom reads on the claimed filter screen), and the filter screen divides the recovery chamber into the first chamber and the second chamber distributed up and down (within filter 6 reads on the first chamber and below filter 6 into the drain reads on the second chamber).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki.
Regarding claims 9-11, Iwasaki (see Figs. 10-11) further discloses various three-way structures in the circulation pipeline and switching members (valves), as well as providing such controls for filtering, discharging, and circulating washing fluid (see, e.g., Figs. 4-6). Iwasaki does not expressly disclose the configurations of such features as recited in claims 9-11. However, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to rearrange the three-way configurations, valves, and circulation pump as desired to achieve the desired filtration, draining, and circulating, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 20, Iwasaki further discloses a drainage waterway, as well as a vertical upper drainage pipe and sewage discharge section for drainage control (see above). Iwasaki does not expressly disclose such features in the configured as claimed wherein, the drainage waterway includes an upper drainage pipe extending vertically for a certain length, in which the drainage water flow flows upwards; the upper end of the sewage discharge section is connected with a lower end of the upper drainage pipe. However, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to rearrange the drainage waterway, upper drainage pipe, and sewage discharge section as desired to achieve the desired filtration, draining, and circulating, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 21, Iwasaki further discloses a circulation pump (27) and switching devices (various three-way structures and valves), as well as providing such controls for filtering, discharging, and circulating washing fluid (see, e.g., Figs. 4-6 and 10-11). Iwasaki does not expressly disclose the configurations of such features as recited in claim 21 wherein, a circulation pump is arranged between the water container water outlet and a water outlet end of the discharge pipeline on the drainage waterway, and a switching device is arranged between a water outlet end of the circulation pump and the water outlet end of the discharge pipeline; and the switching device is connected with the filtering device, and controls one of a water inlet of the filtering device and the water outlet end of the drainage waterway to communicate with the water outlet end of the circulation pump. However, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to rearrange the three-way configurations, valves, and circulation pump as desired to achieve the desired filtration, draining, and circulating, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Further regarding claims 22-24, Iwasaki further discloses a circulation pump (27), switching devices (various three-way structures and valves), a water container water return port (16), as well as providing such controls for filtering, discharging, and circulating washing fluid (see, e.g., Figs. 4-6 and 10-11). Iwasaki does not expressly disclose the configurations of such features as recited in claims 22-24. However, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to rearrange the three-way configurations, valves, water container outlets and return ports, and circulation pump as desired to achieve the desired filtration, draining, and circulating, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Conclusion
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711