DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. In particular, this Application is the national stage application of an international application that claims foreign priority to an Indian application filed on 6 Aug 2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements. submitted on 29 Jan 2024 and 3 Jun 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 7 is objected to because “700: Serving cells may use a TDM pattern ‘A’ [f]or UL coordination” appears twice and the top instance appears to block out other text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cui (US 20230009163).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Cui teaches a method and an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus (Cui, figure 1 – electronic device 10 may be a user equipment) at least to
detect a power exposure event at the apparatus (Cui, ¶¶49, 51) – device 10 identifies an RF exposure event is occurring);
report the power exposure event to a network element (Cui, ¶51 – device 10 reports an indicator to the base station 8 that an RF exposure event occurred);
receive instructions from the network element to activate a duty cycle pattern at the apparatus (Cui, ¶48 – device 10 transmits UL signals to base station 8 based on a schedule, which implements an initial maximum duty cycle); and
activate the duty cycle pattern by performing uplink transmission based on a new communication pattern. Cui, ¶54 (device 10 receives an updated maximum UL duty cycle, which implements an updated UL schedule generated by base station 8).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Cui also teaches wherein the apparatus is pre-configured with a plurality of uplink communication patterns. Cui, ¶ 61, figures 11 and 12 (terminal is pre-configured with the table 168 or 170, so that it know which duty cycle [communication pattern] corresponds to a series of bits in the feedback signal provided by the base station 8).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Cui also teaches receiving instructions from the network element to switch from a current uplink communication pattern to one of the pre-configured uplink communication patterns. Cui, ¶61 (device 10 receives feedback signal, which indicates a different maximum UL duty cycle to use, from base station 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (US 20230009163).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Cui teaches reporting an exposure event (Cui, figure 3 – step 56) and a power management-maximum power reduction level. Cui, ¶42 (P-MPR is known from prior 3GPP specifications). Cui does not explicitly teach a P-MPR as a part of its indicator in step 56. However, one skill in the art would be include a known exposure metric, in a report of RF exposure event. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include the MPR, taught by Cui, in the RFE exposure indicator, taught by Cui, in order to mitigate RF exposure using both MPR and a dynamic UL duty cycle. Cui, ¶45.
Claims 3, 7-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (US 20230009163) in view of Viering (US 20200267723).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Cui teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus according to claim 13, but does not explicitly teach a user apparatus “identifying which transmission slot is not used by the apparatus for uplink with the network element.” However, Viering teaches mutually exclusive muting patterns for a source cell and a target cell, where “M” indicates a subframe during which the UE cannot transmit. Viering, figure 6 and ¶¶101-102. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to enable the indicator transmitted by base station 8 in Cui, to identify particular time slots that are ineligible for uplink transmission, as taught by Viering, in order to enable the network to implement dual connectivity, even when the UE has only one transmitter chain. Viering, ¶64.
Regarding claim 7, Cui teaches a method, comprising:
receiving configuration of a first communication pattern for uplink coordination for a user equipment (Cui, ¶48 – device 10 transmits UL signals to base station 8 based on a schedule, which implements an initial maximum duty cycle);
configuring the user equipment with the first communication pattern for uplink coordination (Cui, ¶48 – base station 8 grants uplink UL slots to device 10 based on initial maximum UL duty cycle);
receiving a report from the user equipment of a power exposure event at the user equipment during the first communication pattern (Cui, ¶52 – base station 8 receives indicator of device 10’s RF exposure event);
[generating] from a primary or a secondary cell of a new communication pattern (Cui, ¶59 – base station 8 or other devices in network 6 may generate the new updated UL schedule to accommodate the updated UL duty cycle; Cui, ¶36 – network 6 is organized in the multiple cells), . . . and
enforcing an uplink duty cycle pattern at the user equipment in response to the power exposure event. Cui, ¶54 (device 10 receives an updated maximum UL duty cycle, which implements an updated UL schedule generated by base station 8).
Cui does not explicitly teach base station 8 (1) “requesting” a time slot configuration from another cell or (2) “receiving an acknowledgement of the requested communication pattern, or informing a primary or a secondary cell of the new communication pattern.” However, Viering teaches the coordination of uplink patterns using the X2 interface between base stations. Viering, ¶66. In particular, NWN 1 12 and NWN2 13 send instructions to each other over X2 745 before sending their patterns to UE 10. Id. at ¶107 (figure 7B). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to enable base station 8, taught by Cui, to share UL reference patterns with other network nodes, as taught by Lightstone, in order to provide dual connectivity even when the UE only has one transmit chain. Id. at ¶¶53, 64.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cui and Viering also teaches wherein the uplink duty cycle pattern comprises an identification of one or more slots that are not used by the user equipment for uplink communication. Viering, ¶¶106, 107 (pattern indicates at least one particular time slot during which the UE is prevented from transmitting [i.e. blanked]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cui and Viering also teaches wherein the request of the new communication pattern comprises indicating one or more uplink slots that are not used. Viering, figure 5 (each UL-DL configuration or pattern may includes “B” or blank slots and/or “D” or downlink slots – neither of which are used for uplink).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cui and Viering also teaches pre-configuring the user equipment with a plurality of communication patterns with a corresponding power exposure event condition. Cui, ¶108 and figure 11 (each indicator, which is transmitted from base station 8 in response to an exposure event, corresponds to a different UL duty cycle percentage); Viering, figure 4 (each uplink percentage corresponds to one or more subframe [i.e. slot] configurations).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cui and Viering also teaches signaling the user equipment to switch from a current uplink communication pattern to one of the plurality of pre-configured uplink communication patterns. Cui, ¶108 and figure 11 (first indicator, when transmitted from base station 8, triggers the UE to change to a different UL duty cycle percentage); Viering, figure 4 (each uplink percentage corresponds to one or more subframe [i.e. slot] configurations).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cui and Viering also teaches wherein the primary or the secondary cell is informed, or the primary or the secondary cell is requested to provide acknowledgement for the new communication pattern, and wherein when the primary or the secondary cell is informed, or the primary or the secondary cell is requested to provide acknowledgement for the new communication pattern, the primary or the secondary cell is also informed of, or the primary or the secondary cell is requested to provide an indication of uplink slots that are not used. Viering, ¶107 (each network node, NWN1 12 and NWN2 13, exchange their patterns with each other, which means both network nodes are “informed” of each other’s pattern); Viering, figure 5 (each configuration or pattern includes subframes or slots that are not used for uplink, i.e. downlink or blank).
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (US 20230009163) in view of Sun (US 20200145927).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Cui teaches the method of claim 4 and the apparatus according to claim 16, but does not explicitly teach “autonomously switch from a current communication pattern or a current duty cycle to one of the pre-configured uplink communication patterns or a current duty cycle.” However, Sun teaches teaches a UE initiating autonomously a power reduction (Sun, ¶54) by invoking a reduced UL duty cycle. Sun, ¶56. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the user terminal, taught by Cui, to autonomously reduce the UL duty cycle, as taught by Sun, in order to ensure better UL coverage (i.e. distance between UE and base station may be greater in comparison to if maximum UL transmit power is reduced instead). Sun, ¶56.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, includes figure 5 of Ng, paragraph 92 of Cao, and figure 54 of Zhou.
/Benjamin Lamont/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461