DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2024, 01/31/2025 and 04/28/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Notification regarding 35 USC § 112f
Claim limitation “a microwave heating mechanism for radiating microwaves to the heating chamber” in claim 1 has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “a microwave heating mechanism” coupled with functional language “for radiating microwaves to the heating chamber” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112f limitation: “…Microwave heating unit 21 includes magnetron 15, inverter 16, and cooling fan 17…” is described in Par.0052.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 20160330801 A1) in view of Daikin (JPS 5250572).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses
A cooker (heating cooker 30, figs.1-2) comprising:
a main body (body 1, figs.1-2);
a heating chamber (heating chamber 2, fig.2) provided inside the main body (body 1) to accommodate a heating target (intended use);
a microwave heating mechanism (microwave, Par.0002) for radiating microwaves to the heating chamber (heating chamber 2) [Par.0002 cited: “…heating cookers for heating an object to be heated by a microwave …”];
a machine chamber (machine chamber 31, figs.1-2) disposed inside the main body (body 1) and below the heating chamber (heating chamber 2); and
a ventilation panel (front grill 31, figs.1-2) disposed to a front surface of the machine chamber (machine chamber 31).
However, Hayashi does not disclose a ventilation panel detachably disposed to a front surface of the machine chamber, the ventilation panel is tilted with respect to the front surface of machine chamber when the ventilation panel is being attached to and removed from the front surface.
Daikin discloses a ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2, fig.1) detachably disposed to a front surface of a machine chamber (inside casing 11, fig.1), the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2) is tilted with respect to the front surface of machine chamber (inside casing 11) when the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2) is being attached to and removed from the front surface [blowoff port 1 can be removed, See fig.1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the ventilation panel of Hayashi, with detachably disposed to a front surface of the machine chamber, the ventilation panel is tilted with respect to the front surface of machine chamber when the ventilation panel is being attached to and removed from the front surface, as taught by Daikin, in order to give a comfortable feeling to a dweller by performing not only an air conditioning operation for keeping a room temperature constant but also cleaning of indoor air at the time of cooling and heating in an air conditioner for housing (specification, Daikin).
Regarding claim 2, Daikin discloses
a ventilation panel housing part (filter pressing frame 3, fig.1) disposed in a front side of the machine chamber (inside casing 11, fig.1), wherein the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2, fig.1) is attached to the ventilation panel housing part (filter pressing frame 3) from obliquely above the front surface of the machine chamber (inside casing 11), and when the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2) is rotated toward a rear side, the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2) is housed in the ventilation panel housing part (filter pressing frame 3).
Regarding claim 3, Daikin discloses
when the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2, fig.1) is rotated and tilted toward the front side from the front surface of the machine chamber (inside casing 11, fig.1), the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2) is removable obliquely upward from the ventilation panel housing part (filter pressing frame 3, fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, Daikin discloses
the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2, fig.1) includes a filter (blowoff port 1) that is detachable and made of metal [blowoff port 1, is well known as metal mesh] and in a state in which the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2) is rotated and tilted toward the front side from the front surface of the machine chamber (inside casing 11, fig.1), the filter (blowoff port 1) is removable from the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2), and attachable to the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2).
Regarding claim 6, Daikin discloses
one of the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2, fig.1) and the ventilation panel housing part (filter pressing frame 3, fig.1) includes a bearing (latch 4, hinge latch tools 7, fig.1), and an other of the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2) and the ventilation panel housing part (filter pressing frame 3) includes a shaft (hinge 6, fig.1), and wherein by fitting the shaft into the bearing, the ventilation panel (blowoff port 1, suction grill 2) is rotatable in a front-rear direction around the bearing (latch 4, hinge latch tools 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the ventilation panel of Hayashi, by including the ventilation panel housing part, the filter that is detachable and made of metal, the bearing, and the shaft, as taught by Daikin, in order to give a comfortable feeling to a dweller by performing not only an air conditioning operation for keeping a room temperature constant but also cleaning of indoor air at the time of cooling and heating in an air conditioner for housing (specification, Daikin).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 20160330801 A1) in view of Daikin (JP 5250572) and further in view of Atsushi (JP2010107138 A).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, but does not disclose the ventilation panel includes a filter that is detachable and made of metal, the ventilation panel housing part includes a magnet, and when the ventilation panel is housed in the ventilation panel housing part, the ventilation panel is fixed by magnetic force of the magnet.
Atsushi discloses a ventilation panel (metal mesh 27, fig.1) includes a filter (metal mesh 27, fig.1) that is detachable and made of metal (metal mesh 27, is made of metal), the ventilation panel housing part (filter 26, fig.1) includes a magnet (permanent magnets 35, fig.2), and when the ventilation panel (metal mesh 27) is housed in the ventilation panel housing part (filter 26), the ventilation panel (metal mesh 27) is fixed by magnetic force of the magnet (permanent magnets 35).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the ventilation panel of Hayashi, including a filter that is detachable and made of metal, the ventilation panel housing part includes a magnet, and when the ventilation panel is housed in the ventilation panel housing part, the ventilation panel is fixed by magnetic force of the magnet, as taught by Atsushi, in order to provide a magnetically connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gard et al. (US 20120034350 A1) is considered as relevant prior art in field of a microwave oven, as shown in fig.1, with a main body, a heating chamber, and a microwave heating mechanism… but does not disclose a ventilation panel detachably disposed to a front surface of the machine chamber…
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
06/29/2026