DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following problems.
A plugging cavity of the terminal body 1 is not identified in the drawings with an assigned reference number and a line pointing at the plugging cavity.
At least two grooves extending in an axial direction of the contact section 13 are also not identified in the drawings with an assigned reference number and a pointing line.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
A sealing-ring mounting groove provided on the transition section 12.
A sealing ring sleeved in the sealing-ring mounting groove.
A temperature sensor externally provided with a shielding layer.
A plating layer on the contact elastic piece, having a bottom layer and a surface layer.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
“132” shown in Figure 2 and “3”, “4” and “121” shown in Figure 5.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12, line 1, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “wherein:” to -- wherein --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 12-13, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cameron (US 4,497,527).
Cameron discloses a terminal having a memory ring, comprising (claim 1) a terminal body (10) and a memory ring (14), wherein: the terminal body (10) comprises a contact section (18), and a plugging cavity with a variable radial size is provided in the contact section (18); and the memory ring (14) is sleeved on an outer side of the contact section (18) and is in contact with the contact section (18), and the memory ring (14) is made of a memory alloy (see column 4, lines 42-47); (claim 2) wherein: the memory ring (14) has a transformation temperature; when a temperature of the terminal having the memory ring is lower than the transformation temperature, both the memory ring (14) and the plugging cavity are in an expanded state; and when the temperature of the terminal having the memory ring is higher than the transformation temperature, both the memory ring (14) and the plugging cavity are in a contracted state (see column 2, lines 59-68 to column 3, lines 1-10); (claim 3) wherein the transformation 20 temperature of the memory ring (14) is 40 °C to 70 °C (see column 3, lines 20-37); (claim 4) wherein the contact section (18) is provided with at least two grooves (not labeled, see Fig. 1) extending in an axial direction, and the grooves divide the contact section (18) into at least two contact elastic pieces; (claim 6) wherein an outer surface of the contact section (18) is provided with at least one mounting annular groove (20), and the at least one of the memory rings (14) is respectively matchably sleeved on the at least one mounting annular groove (20); (claim 12) wherein the terminal body (1) further comprises a cable connection section (24) and a transition section (12); and the cable connection section (24), the transition section (12) and the contact section (18) are disposed in sequence; (claim 13) wherein the cable connection section (24) is secured to a conductor of a cable by one or more connections selected from the group consisting of crimping, soldering or other appropriate methods as desired (see column 5, lines 48-52); (claim 20) wherein an included angle between a plugging direction of the contact section (18) and a wiring direction of the cable connection section (24) is greater than 0° and less than or equal to 180°; (claim 21) wherein the memory alloy is a nickel-titanium alloy (see column 4, lines 48-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cameron (US 4,497,527).
Regarding claim 7, Cameron discloses the memory ring (14) being an opening ring structure.
However, Cameron does not disclose a length of an opening (not labeled) of the memory ring (14) being greater than or equal to 1 mm and being less than half of a circumference of the memory ring (14).
On the other hand, with today’s technology, it is common knowledge that a ring with an opening ring structure can be made many different sizes depending on the ring’s purpose and function.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memory ring taught by Cameron such that it would have the size as taught by the instant invention because it only deals with changing size. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8, Cameron does not disclose two ends of the memory ring (14) forming a spiral overlapping area, and a length of the spiral overlapping area being less than half of a circumference of the memory ring (14).
Again, making the memory ring (14) of Cameron to have the shape of claim 8 only deals with the changing the size of the memory ring (14), which is making the memory ring (14) longer in length to have spiral overlapping area. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cameron (US 4,497,527) in view of Eliassen (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0156126 A1).
Claim 14 recites that the transition section (12) of the terminal is externally provided with a sealing-ring mounting groove in which a sealing ring is sleeved.
However, Cameron does not disclose the terminal having a sealing ring in a sealing-ring mounting groove as recited in claim 14.
On the other hand, Eliassen discloses a terminal 26, 28 having an externally provided sealing-ring mounting groove 48, 49 in which a sealing ring 50, 52.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal taught by Cameron such that it would have a sealing ring in a sealing-ring mounting groove as taught by Eliassen because the sealing ring combination with the sealing-ring mounting groove is commonly used to seal the terminal from external environment.
Claim(s) 22, 25-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cameron (US 4,497,527) Hwang (US 8,808,038 B2).
Regarding claims 22 and 25-26, Cameron does not disclose the contact elastic piece of
the terminal having a plating layer thereon; wherein the plating layer comprises a bottom layer and a surface layer.
On the other hand, Hwang discloses a terminal 500 comprising an upper contact 510-1 and a lower contact 510, each of the upper and lower contact made of a copper alloy and is formed by plating nickel and by plating gold on the contact, thereby maximizing the electric conductivity of the contact pin. Although Hwang does not explicitly state the plating layer comprises a bottom layer and a surface layer, each of the upper and lower contact has a contact surface 511 at one free end and a flat side surface. Therefore, the contact surface 511 can be considered as the bottom layer and the side surface as the surface layer.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the terminal such that it would have a plating layer with a bottom layer and a surface layer as taught by Hwang to maximize the electric conductivity of the terminal.
Regarding claims 27 and 29, Hwang does not disclose the exact thicknesses of the bottom layer and the surface layer, but it is common knowledge that the desired thickness of the plating layer can be achieve by applying different number of plating layers. Therefore, having a specific thickness of the plating layer only deals with the changing size of the thickness of the plating layer. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/hmh/
/Hae Moon Hyeon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831