DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 01/06/2024, claims 1-15 and 31-36 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2024 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 01/06/2024 have been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al. (US 2022/0272629 A1) in view of XU et al. (US 2021/0413341 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Zhao teaches a method for channel monitoring, performed by a terminal, comprising:
broadcasting configuration information (See Fig. 2: an energy-saving downlink control channel information transmission (i.e., broadcasting service) method, including: determining states of UEs corresponding to each of N time periods associated with a first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion; wherein the states of UEs includes an awake state and a sleep state. ¶ [0005-0006]), wherein the configuration information (See Figs. 1 and 2; the base station configures an energy-saving PDCCH monitor occasion for each DRX cycle in discontinuous reception (DRX) transmission, ¶ [0162]) is configured to configure one periodicity duration for discontinuously transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (See Figs. 1 and 2; to configure an energy-saving PDCCH to monitor occasion for each DRX cycle. ¶ [0162]);
determining to enter an energy-saving transmission mode for discontinuously transmitting the PDCCH (See Fig. 2 and 3: at step 201, when the network device configures or determines the short DRX cycle for the UEs, it is just to associate one energy-saving downlink control channel information with the subsequent multiple time periods, without distinguishing between the long DRX cycle and the short DRX cycle. ¶ [0176]); and
transmitting first indication information to a terminal in a connected state (See Figs. 3 and 4: the network device can learn sleep and wake-up states of the UEs in each DRX cycle …and thus one energy-saving PDCCH can be used to indicate the sleep and wake-up states (i.e., connected state) of the UEs in multiple DRX cycles. ¶ [0175] and ¶ [0181]), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate wake-up state (See Figs. 2 and 3: ¶ [0181]).
Zhao doesn’t explicitly provide activating first configuration information in the configuration information.
Xu further states the method wherein activating first configuration information in the configuration information (Xu: See Fig. 2A, the UE monitors the activation signal; the UE receives activation signal configuration indication information sent by a base station; and the UE monitors the activation signal according to the activation signal configuration indication information. ¶ [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of activating first configuration information in the configuration information as taught by Xu to have incorporated in the system of Zhao, so that it would not only provide to save the power of a mobile phone but improve resource allocation of the system. Xu: ¶ [0049].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 2; Zhao in view of Xu teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining to activate second configuration information in the at least one configuration information; and transmitting second indication information to the terminal in the connected state, wherein the second indication information is configured to activate the second configuration information (Xu: The UE detects and receives the activation signal through two manners. (1) The first manner is to use a dedicated receiver. The UE uses a dedicated receiver to detect the activation signal, for example, perform related operations during the detection of the activation signal. If the UE determines that there is a subsequent message according to the activation signal, the UE further activates the receiving unit and the modem of the UE for receiving the subsequent message. ¶ [0081]).
Regarding claim 3; Zhao teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each a period for discontinuously transmitting the PDCCH comprises an activation time period for transmitting the PDCCH and a sleep time period for stopping transmitting the PDCCH (See Fig. 3: he network device allocates 4 bits for the UE to transmit an energy-saving PDCCH at a first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion, and the energy-saving PDCCH is used to indicate states of UEs in four short DRX cycles. In case that the 4 bits of the energy-saving PDCCH are 1000, respectively, it indicates that the states of the UE in the 4 short DRX cycles after the first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion are awake, sleep, sleep and sleep, respectively. ¶ [0174]); and the configuration information is further configured to configure a first duration of the activation time period and a second duration of the sleep time period (Zhao: See Figs. 2 and 3: In order to solve problems of waste of power consumption of UEs due to that the UEs still perform PDCCH detection when a base station does not send PDCCH, the base station can use an energy-saving PDCCH to notify UEs whether to perform PDCCH detection in a subsequent time period. ¶ [0161]) and a second duration of the sleep time period (Xu: the UE goes to sleep and waits until the next cycle when the UE wakes up again to monitor the activation signal. ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 7; Zhao teaches a method for channel monitoring, performed by a terminal, comprising:
receiving one configuration information, wherein the configuration information (See Figs. 1 and 2; the base station configures an energy-saving PDCCH monitor occasion for each DRX cycle in discontinuous reception (DRX) transmission (i.e., receiving by the UE terminal), ¶ [0162]) is configured to configure one periodicity duration for discontinuously transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (See Figs. 1 and 2; to configure an energy-saving PDCCH to monitor occasion for each DRX cycle. ¶ [0162]);
receiving first indication information transmitted by the base station (See Figs. 3 and 4: the network device can learn sleep and wake-up states of the UEs in each DRX cycle …and thus one energy-saving PDCCH can be used to indicate the sleep and wake-up states (i.e., connected state) of the UEs in multiple DRX cycles (i.e., receiving at the UE terminal). ¶ [0175] and ¶ [0181]), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate wake-up state (See Figs. 2 and 3: ¶ [0181]).
determining, based on the first indication information, that the base station enters an energy-saving transmission mode (See Fig. 2: Step 202: generating, by the network device, energy-saving downlink control channel information used to indicate the states of UEs. Step 203: issuing, by the network device, the energy-saving downlink control channel information at the first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion. ¶ [0167-0168]); and
discontinuously monitoring, based on the first configuration information, the PDCCH (See Fig. 2 and 3: at step 201, when the network device configures or determines the short DRX cycle for the UEs, it is just to associate one energy-saving downlink control channel information with the subsequent multiple time periods, without distinguishing between the long DRX cycle and the short DRX cycle. ¶ [0176]); and
Xu further states the method wherein activating first configuration information in the configuration information (Xu: See Fig. 2A, the UE monitors the activation signal; the UE receives activation signal configuration indication information sent by a base station; and the UE monitors the activation signal according to the activation signal configuration indication information. ¶ [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of activating first configuration information in the configuration information as taught by Xu to have incorporated in the system of Zhao, so that it would not only provide to save the power of a mobile phone but improve resource allocation of the system. Xu: ¶ [0049].
Regarding claim 8; Zhao in view of Xu teaches the method, further comprising:
receiving second indication information transmitted by the bases station, wherein the second indication information is configured to activate the second configuration information (Xu: The UE detects and receives the activation signal through two manners. (1) The first manner is to use a dedicated receiver. The UE uses a dedicated receiver to detect the activation signal, for example, perform related operations during the detection of the activation signal. If the UE determines that there is a subsequent message according to the activation signal, the UE further activates the receiving unit and the modem of the UE for receiving the subsequent message. ¶ [0081]); and
discontinuously monitoring, based on the second configuration information, the PDCCH (See Fig. 2: the base station to configure an energy-saving PDCCH monitor occasion for each DRX cycle, it will lead to an increase in time-frequency resource overhead and an increase in blind detection frequency. Further, the UEs need to constantly wake up to perform energy-saving PDCCH detection, and cannot enter a deep sleep state. ¶ [0162]).
Regarding claim 9; Zhao teaches the method wherein each a period for discontinuously transmitting the PDCCH comprises an activation time period for transmitting the PDCCH and a sleep time period for stopping transmitting the PDCCH (See Fig. 3: he network device allocates 4 bits for the UE to transmit an energy-saving PDCCH at a first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion, and the energy-saving PDCCH is used to indicate states of UEs in four short DRX cycles. In case that the 4 bits of the energy-saving PDCCH are 1000, respectively, it indicates that the states of the UE in the 4 short DRX cycles after the first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion are awake, sleep, sleep and sleep, respectively. ¶ [0174]); and the configuration information is further configured to configure a first duration of the activation time period and a second duration of the sleep time period (Zhao: See Figs. 2 and 3: In order to solve problems of waste of power consumption of UEs due to that the UEs still perform PDCCH detection when a base station does not send PDCCH, the base station can use an energy-saving PDCCH to notify UEs whether to perform PDCCH detection in a subsequent time period. ¶ [0161]) and a second duration of the sleep time period (Xu: the UE goes to sleep and waits until the next cycle when the UE wakes up again to monitor the activation signal. ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 31; Zhao teaches a communication device comprising:
a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to
broadcast configuration information (See Fig. 2: an energy-saving downlink control channel information transmission (i.e., broadcasting service) method, including: determining states of UEs corresponding to each of N time periods associated with a first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion; wherein the states of UEs includes an awake state and a sleep state. ¶ [0005-0006]), wherein the configuration information (See Figs. 1 and 2; the base station configures an energy-saving PDCCH monitor occasion for each DRX cycle in discontinuous reception (DRX) transmission, ¶ [0162]) is configured to configure one periodicity duration for discontinuously transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (See Figs. 1 and 2; to configure an energy-saving PDCCH to monitor occasion for each DRX cycle. ¶ [0162]);
determine to enter an energy-saving transmission mode for discontinuously transmitting the PDCCH (See Fig. 2 and 3: at step 201, when the network device configures or determines the short DRX cycle for the UEs, it is just to associate one energy-saving downlink control channel information with the subsequent multiple time periods, without distinguishing between the long DRX cycle and the short DRX cycle. ¶ [0176]); and
transmit first indication information to a terminal in a connected state (See Figs. 3 and 4: the network device can learn sleep and wake-up states of the UEs in each DRX cycle …and thus one energy-saving PDCCH can be used to indicate the sleep and wake-up states (i.e., connected state) of the UEs in multiple DRX cycles. ¶ [0175] and ¶ [0181]), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate wake-up state (See Figs. 2 and 3: ¶ [0181]).
Zhao doesn’t explicitly provide activating first configuration information in the configuration information.
Xu further states the method wherein activating first configuration information in the configuration information (Xu: See Fig. 2A, the UE monitors the activation signal; the UE receives activation signal configuration indication information sent by a base station; and the UE monitors the activation signal according to the activation signal configuration indication information. ¶ [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of activating first configuration information in the configuration information as taught by Xu to have incorporated in the system of Zhao, so that it would not only provide to save the power of a mobile phone but improve resource allocation of the system. Xu: ¶ [0049].
Regarding claim 32; Zhao teaches a communication device comprising:
a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to:
receive one configuration information, wherein the configuration information (See Figs. 1 and 2; the base station configures an energy-saving PDCCH monitor occasion for each DRX cycle in discontinuous reception (DRX) transmission (i.e., receiving by the UE terminal), ¶ [0162]) is configured to configure one periodicity duration for discontinuously transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (See Figs. 1 and 2; to configure an energy-saving PDCCH to monitor occasion for each DRX cycle. ¶ [0162]);
receive first indication information transmitted by the base station (See Figs. 3 and 4: the network device can learn sleep and wake-up states of the UEs in each DRX cycle …and thus one energy-saving PDCCH can be used to indicate the sleep and wake-up states (i.e., connected state) of the UEs in multiple DRX cycles (i.e., receiving at the UE terminal). ¶ [0175] and ¶ [0181]), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate wake-up state (See Figs. 2 and 3: ¶ [0181]).
Zhao doesn’t explicitly provide activating first configuration information in the configuration information.
determine, based on the first indication information, that the base station enters an energy-saving transmission mode (See Fig. 2: Step 202: generating, by the network device, energy-saving downlink control channel information used to indicate the states of UEs. Step 203: issuing, by the network device, the energy-saving downlink control channel information at the first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion. ¶ [0167-0168]); and
discontinuously monitor, based on the first configuration information, the PDCCH (See Fig. 2 and 3: at step 201, when the network device configures or determines the short DRX cycle for the UEs, it is just to associate one energy-saving downlink control channel information with the subsequent multiple time periods, without distinguishing between the long DRX cycle and the short DRX cycle. ¶ [0176]); and
Xu further states the method wherein activating first configuration information in the configuration information (Xu: See Fig. 2A, the UE monitors the activation signal; the UE receives activation signal configuration indication information sent by a base station; and the UE monitors the activation signal according to the activation signal configuration indication information. ¶ [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of activating first configuration information in the configuration information as taught by Xu to have incorporated in the system of Zhao, so that it would not only provide to save the power of a mobile phone but improve resource allocation of the system. Xu: ¶ [0049].
Regarding claim 33; Zhao in view of Xu teaches the communication device wherein the processor is configured to: determine to activate second configuration information in the at least one configuration information; and transmitting second indication information to the terminal in the connected state, wherein the second indication information is configured to activate the second configuration information (Xu: The UE detects and receives the activation signal through two manners. (1) The first manner is to use a dedicated receiver. The UE uses a dedicated receiver to detect the activation signal, for example, perform related operations during the detection of the activation signal. If the UE determines that there is a subsequent message according to the activation signal, the UE further activates the receiving unit and the modem of the UE for receiving the subsequent message. ¶ [0081]).
Regarding claim 34; Zhao teaches the communication device wherein each a period for discontinuously transmitting the PDCCH comprises an activation time period for transmitting the PDCCH and a sleep time period for stopping transmitting the PDCCH (See Fig. 3: he network device allocates 4 bits for the UE to transmit an energy-saving PDCCH at a first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion, and the energy-saving PDCCH is used to indicate states of UEs in four short DRX cycles. In case that the 4 bits of the energy-saving PDCCH are 1000, respectively, it indicates that the states of the UE in the 4 short DRX cycles after the first energy-saving downlink control channel monitor occasion are awake, sleep, sleep and sleep, respectively. ¶ [0174]); and the configuration information is further configured to configure a first duration of the activation time period and a second duration of the sleep time period (Zhao: See Figs. 2 and 3: In order to solve problems of waste of power consumption of UEs due to that the UEs still perform PDCCH detection when a base station does not send PDCCH, the base station can use an energy-saving PDCCH to notify UEs whether to perform PDCCH detection in a subsequent time period. ¶ [0161]) and a second duration of the sleep time period (Xu: the UE goes to sleep and waits until the next cycle when the UE wakes up again to monitor the activation signal. ¶ [0086]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 10-14, 35-36 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claims but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhao et al. (US 2022/0286966 A1 to discuss Energy-Saving Indication Method And Apparatus Thereof).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416