DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/579665 filed on January 16, 2024. Claims 1-15 are subject to examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 6, 10, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2, 6, 10, and 14, the limitation “CORSET” is undefined. For purpose of examination, and per the specification of the disclosure, the limitation is interpreted as “CORESET” (control resource set).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210250882, hereinafter, “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches:
A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (Lin: [0041] FIG. 1A shows communications between a network device and a terminal device in a wireless network per one embodiment of the invention … Figs. 1A, 3, 7A):
identifying a frequency band (Lin: [0073] In this set of embodiments, a rule may be enforced so that the terminal device has a default configuration for a frequency band. For example, the terminal device receives a message indicating that a SS block SCS option of 30 kHz at operating band n3, where the default SS block SCS is 15 kHz (see FIG. 3). The terminal device may be configured with a default SS block pattern case B when the SS block SCS option of 30 kHz is received. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A);
in case that a size of the frequency band is smaller than a size of a preconfigured bandwidth, determining a size of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) to be used on the frequency band (Lin: [0065] A terminal device may receive a SS block SCS option, and the SS block SCS option is definite in some cases. For example, when the terminal device is in a frequency band [preconfigured bandwidth] with the default SCS setting of 30 kHz, and it receives a SS block SCS option of 15 kHz [i.e., in frequency band smaller than frequency band with SCS setting of 30 kHz], the terminal device will use case A discussed above, and the 15 kHz subcarrier spacing is set to find the SS/PBCH block candidate locations ... [0013] FIG. 3 shows synchronization signal block (SSB) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) values for different frequency bands in a frequency range. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A);
generating a synchronization signal block (SSB), based on the determined size of the SCS (Lin: [0084] At reference 702, the terminal device receives, from a network device, a message containing synchronization signal block (SSB) information indicating a synchronization signal (SS) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) option. The SS block SCS option maps to a plurality of SS block pattern candidates. Each of the plurality of SS block pattern candidates may be compatible with the SS Block SCS option … [0013] FIG. 3 shows synchronization signal block (SSB) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) values for different frequency bands in a frequency range. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A); and
transmitting the SSB on the frequency band (Lin: [0084] At reference 702, the terminal device receives, from a network device, a message containing synchronization signal block (SSB) information indicating a synchronization signal (SS) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) option. The SS block SCS option maps to a plurality of SS block pattern candidates ... Figs. 1A, 3, 7A).
Regarding claim 5, Lin teaches:
A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (Lin: [0041] FIG. 1A shows communications between a network device and a terminal device in a wireless network per one embodiment of the invention … Figs. 1A, 3, 7A):
identifying a frequency band (Lin: [0073] In this set of embodiments, a rule may be enforced so that the terminal device has a default configuration for a frequency band. For example, the terminal device receives a message indicating that a SS block SCS option of 30 kHz at operating band n3, where the default SS block SCS is 15 kHz (see FIG. 3). The terminal device may be configured with a default SS block pattern case B when the SS block SCS option of 30 kHz is received. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A);
in case that a size of the frequency band is smaller than a size of a preconfigured bandwidth, determining a size of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) to be used on the frequency band (Lin: [0065] A terminal device may receive a SS block SCS option, and the SS block SCS option is definite in some cases. For example, when the terminal device is in a frequency band [preconfigured bandwidth] with the default SCS setting of 30 kHz, and it receives a SS block SCS option of 15 kHz [i.e., in frequency band smaller than frequency band with SCS setting of 30 kHz], the terminal device will use case A discussed above, and the 15 kHz subcarrier spacing is set to find the SS/PBCH block candidate locations ... [0013] FIG. 3 shows synchronization signal block (SSB) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) values for different frequency bands in a frequency range. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A);
detecting a synchronization signal block (SSB), based on the determined size of the SCS (Lin: [0084] At reference 702, the terminal device receives, from a network device, a message containing synchronization signal block (SSB) information indicating a synchronization signal (SS) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) option. The SS block SCS option maps to a plurality of SS block pattern candidates. Each of the plurality of SS block pattern candidates may be compatible with the SS Block SCS option … [0013] FIG. 3 shows synchronization signal block (SSB) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) values for different frequency bands in a frequency range. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A); and
identifying synchronization, based on the SSB (Lin: [0084] At reference 702, the terminal device receives, from a network device, a message containing synchronization signal block (SSB) information indicating a synchronization signal (SS) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) option. The SS block SCS option maps to a plurality of SS block pattern candidates ... Figs. 1A, 3, 7A).
Regarding claim 9, Lin teaches:
A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising (Lin: [0041] FIG. 1A shows communications between a network device and a terminal device in a wireless network per one embodiment of the invention … Figs. 1A, 3, 7A):
a transceiver (Lin: [0116] In some embodiments, processing circuitry 1070 may include one or more of radio frequency (RF) transceiver circuitry 1072 ... Fig. 10); and
a controller (Lin: [0115] Processing circuitry 1070 may comprise a combination of one or more of a microprocessor, controller, microcontroller, central processing unit ... Fig. 10),
wherein the controller is configured to perform control to:
identify a frequency band (Lin: [0073] In this set of embodiments, a rule may be enforced so that the terminal device has a default configuration for a frequency band. For example, the terminal device receives a message indicating that a SS block SCS option of 30 kHz at operating band n3, where the default SS block SCS is 15 kHz (see FIG. 3). The terminal device may be configured with a default SS block pattern case B when the SS block SCS option of 30 kHz is received. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A),
in case that a size of the frequency band is smaller than a size of a preconfigured bandwidth, determine a size of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) to be used on the frequency band (Lin: [0065] A terminal device may receive a SS block SCS option, and the SS block SCS option is definite in some cases. For example, when the terminal device is in a frequency band [preconfigured bandwidth] with the default SCS setting of 30 kHz, and it receives a SS block SCS option of 15 kHz [i.e., in frequency band smaller than frequency band with SCS setting of 30 kHz], the terminal device will use case A discussed above, and the 15 kHz subcarrier spacing is set to find the SS/PBCH block candidate locations ... [0013] FIG. 3 shows synchronization signal block (SSB) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) values for different frequency bands in a frequency range. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A),
generate a synchronization signal block (SSB), based on the determined size of the SCS (Lin: [0084] At reference 702, the terminal device receives, from a network device, a message containing synchronization signal block (SSB) information indicating a synchronization signal (SS) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) option. The SS block SCS option maps to a plurality of SS block pattern candidates. Each of the plurality of SS block pattern candidates may be compatible with the SS Block SCS option … [0013] FIG. 3 shows synchronization signal block (SSB) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) values for different frequency bands in a frequency range. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A), and
transmit the SSB on the frequency band (Lin: [0084] At reference 702, the terminal device receives, from a network device, a message containing synchronization signal block (SSB) information indicating a synchronization signal (SS) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) option. The SS block SCS option maps to a plurality of SS block pattern candidates ... Figs. 1A, 3, 7A).
Regarding claim 13, Lin teaches:
A terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising (Lin: [0041] FIG. 1A shows communications between a network device and a terminal device in a wireless network per one embodiment of the invention … Figs. 1A, 3, 7A):
a transceiver Lin: [0130] As illustrated, processing circuitry 1020 includes one or more of RF transceiver circuitry 1022 ... Fig. 10); and
a controller (Lin: [0129] Processing circuitry 1020 may comprise a combination of one or more of a microprocessor, controller, microcontroller, central processing unit ... Fig. 10),
wherein the controller is configured to perform control to:
identify a frequency band (Lin: [0073] In this set of embodiments, a rule may be enforced so that the terminal device has a default configuration for a frequency band. For example, the terminal device receives a message indicating that a SS block SCS option of 30 kHz at operating band n3, where the default SS block SCS is 15 kHz (see FIG. 3). The terminal device may be configured with a default SS block pattern case B when the SS block SCS option of 30 kHz is received. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A),
in case that a size of the frequency band is smaller than a size of a preconfigured bandwidth, determine a size of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) to be used on the frequency band (Lin: [0065] A terminal device may receive a SS block SCS option, and the SS block SCS option is definite in some cases. For example, when the terminal device is in a frequency band [preconfigured bandwidth] with the default SCS setting of 30 kHz, and it receives a SS block SCS option of 15 kHz [i.e., in frequency band smaller than frequency band with SCS setting of 30 kHz], the terminal device will use case A discussed above, and the 15 kHz subcarrier spacing is set to find the SS/PBCH block candidate locations ... [0013] FIG. 3 shows synchronization signal block (SSB) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) values for different frequency bands in a frequency range. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A),
detect a synchronization signal block (SSB), based on the determined size of the SCS (Lin: [0084] At reference 702, the terminal device receives, from a network device, a message containing synchronization signal block (SSB) information indicating a synchronization signal (SS) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) option. The SS block SCS option maps to a plurality of SS block pattern candidates. Each of the plurality of SS block pattern candidates may be compatible with the SS Block SCS option … [0013] FIG. 3 shows synchronization signal block (SSB) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) values for different frequency bands in a frequency range. Figs. 1A, 3, 7A), and
identify synchronization, based on the SSB (Lin: [0084] At reference 702, the terminal device receives, from a network device, a message containing synchronization signal block (SSB) information indicating a synchronization signal (SS) block subcarrier spacing (SCS) option. The SS block SCS option maps to a plurality of SS block pattern candidates ... Figs. 1A, 3, 7A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chen et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230224921, hereinafter, “Chen”).
Regarding claims 2, 6, 10, and 14, Lin discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 5, 9, and 13 as outlined above.
Lin does not explicitly teach:
wherein a master information block (MIB) of the SSB includes SCS information related to CORSET for system information block (SIB) 1.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches:
wherein a master information block (MIB) of the SSB includes SCS information related to CORSET for system information block (SIB) 1 (Chen: [0159] An initial access process of a terminal device roughly includes the following steps: (1) performing blind detection on a PSS/SSS, synchronizing cell timing, and obtaining a cell identifier; (2) demodulating a master information block (Master Information Block, MIB) carried on a physical broadcast channel (Physical broadcast Channel, PBCH), where an MIB message includes … a subcarrier spacing, and SIB1-PDCCH configuration information (a control resource set indication …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to include the features as taught by Chen above in order to improve reliability of the SIB1-PDCCH. (Chen, ¶ [0013]).
Claims 3, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Wang (US Patent Application Publication, 20230139778, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claims 3, 7, and 11, Lin discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 5, and 9 as outlined above.
Lin does not explicitly teach:
wherein a resource through which the SSB is transmitted does not conflict with a resource through which a cell specific reference signal (CRS) of a long term evolution (LTE) base station is transmitted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
wherein a resource through which the SSB is transmitted does not conflict with a resource through which a cell specific reference signal (CRS) of a long term evolution (LTE) base station is transmitted (Wang: [0126] FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of distribution of uplink time-frequency resources and downlink time-frequency resources of an LTE cell and an NR cell, where a frequency domain resource shared by the NR cell and the LTE cell and a dedicated frequency domain resource of the NR cell are shown … [0131] In this way, when the BBU allocates the frequency domain resource of the SSB of the NR cell on the dedicated frequency domain resource of the NR cell, the SSB can be prevented from being interfered with by a CRS sent by the LTE cell, and interference caused by the SSB sent by the NR cell to a legacy terminal device in the LTE cell can also be avoided …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to include the features as taught by Wang above in order to avoid interference caused by the SSB sent by the NR cell to a legacy terminal device in the LTE cell. (Wang, ¶ [0126]).
Claims 4, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Tiirola et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210112552, hereinafter, “Tiirola”).
Regarding claims 4, 8, and 12, Lin discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 5, and 9 as outlined above.
Lin does not explicitly teach:
wherein the size of the preconfigured bandwidth is 4 MHz or smaller, and the determined size of the SCS is smaller than 15 kHz.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tiirola teaches:
wherein the size of the preconfigured bandwidth is 4 MHz or smaller, and the determined size of the SCS is smaller than 15 kHz (Tiirola: [0077] According to an example embodiment, design of new NR numerologies is complemented by common channel design supporting 3.75 kHz and/or 7.5 kHz SCS for SSB (synchronization signal block) and physical random access channel (PRACH). This will minimize the need for guard band on the NR carrier using 3.75 or 7.5 kHz numerology. It also enables reducing the minimum UE bandwidth compared to NR Rel-15 ... When using 3.75 kHz subcarrier spacing, the SSB with 20 PRBs occupies only 900 MHz, and CORESET #0 with 24 PRBs only 1.08 MHz. This indicates that SSB design with 3.75 kHz subcarrier spacing allows to reduce the minimum UE bandwidth compared to NR Rel-15 by a factor of four …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to include the features as taught by Tiirola above in order to reduce the minimum UE bandwidth. (Tiirola, ¶ [0077]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Wang (US Patent Application Publication, 20230139778, hereinafter, “Wang”), further in view of Tiirola et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210112552, hereinafter, “Tiirola”).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses on the features with respect to claim 13 as outlined above.
Lin does not explicitly teach:
wherein a resource through which the SSB is transmitted does not conflict with a resource through which a cell specific reference signal (CRS) of a long term evolution (LTE) base station is transmitted, and
wherein the size of the preconfigured bandwidth is 4 MHz or smaller, and the determined size of the SCS is smaller than 15 kHz.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
wherein a resource through which the SSB is transmitted does not conflict with a resource through which a cell specific reference signal (CRS) of a long term evolution (LTE) base station is transmitted (Wang: [0126] FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of distribution of uplink time-frequency resources and downlink time-frequency resources of an LTE cell and an NR cell, where a frequency domain resource shared by the NR cell and the LTE cell and a dedicated frequency domain resource of the NR cell are shown … [0131] In this way, when the BBU allocates the frequency domain resource of the SSB of the NR cell on the dedicated frequency domain resource of the NR cell, the SSB can be prevented from being interfered with by a CRS sent by the LTE cell, and interference caused by the SSB sent by the NR cell to a legacy terminal device in the LTE cell can also be avoided …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to include the features as taught by Wang above in order to avoid interference caused by the SSB sent by the NR cell to a legacy terminal device in the LTE cell. (Wang, ¶ [0126]).
Lin-Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the size of the preconfigured bandwidth is 4 MHz or smaller, and the determined size of the SCS is smaller than 15 kHz.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tiirola teaches:
wherein the size of the preconfigured bandwidth is 4 MHz or smaller, and the determined size of the SCS is smaller than 15 kHz (Tiirola: [0077] According to an example embodiment, design of new NR numerologies is complemented by common channel design supporting 3.75 kHz and/or 7.5 kHz SCS for SSB (synchronization signal block) and physical random access channel (PRACH). This will minimize the need for guard band on the NR carrier using 3.75 or 7.5 kHz numerology. It also enables reducing the minimum UE bandwidth compared to NR Rel-15 ... When using 3.75 kHz subcarrier spacing, the SSB with 20 PRBs occupies only 900 MHz, and CORESET #0 with 24 PRBs only 1.08 MHz. This indicates that SSB design with 3.75 kHz subcarrier spacing allows to reduce the minimum UE bandwidth compared to NR Rel-15 by a factor of four …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin-Wang to include the features as taught by Tiirola above in order to reduce the minimum UE bandwidth. (Tiirola, ¶ [0077]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416