DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-20 are 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MILLER et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0196656 A1), hereafter referred to as MILLER’656 in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0085645 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim’645.
Referring to claim 12, MILLER’656, as claimed, a method for configuring a plurality of gateway controllers of a vehicle (vehicle 102, see Fig. 1), the method comprising: receiving a reception request (the update server configured to receive requests for available software updates from the vehicle. The update server provides, responsive to the requests, indications of the available software updates (or the software updates themselves) to update the requesting vehicle 102, see para. [0028]; also note: receive a command from a user indicative of a request to check for the software updates, see para. [0030]) from a client interface of a first gateway controller (various controllers communicating with TCU on vehicle bus and network 126, see paras. [0017]-[0019], Figs. 1 and 2) using a server interface of a second gateway controller (update server 128, see Figs. 1 and 2; also note: various controllers communicating with TCU on vehicle bus and network 126, see paras. [0017]-[0019], Figs. 1 and 2); transmitting a transmission offer from the server interface of the second gateway controller to the client interface of the first gateway controller (available software updates instructions received/transmitted, see Fig. 3; also note: performing one or more operations, controls, and functions to complete transfer of the software update file to the vehicle controller or to initiate an installation event, see para. [0022]); receiving a confirmation message from the client interface of the first gateway controller using the server interface of the second gateway controller, wherein the confirmation message comprises a confirmation or a rejection of the transmitted transmission offer by the first gateway controller (indicate compatibility of software updates with specifications of the vehicle, see para. [0021]; facilitate the downloading of the software updates; the configured to transfer and install the downloaded software updates on the vehicle controllers according to transfer and installation techniques supported by the respective vehicle controllers; transfer/install software updates responsive to operating state compatible with transfer/installation technique, see paras. [0032]-[0035]); and configuring a routing table of the second gateway controller depending on the received confirmation message using the second gateway controller (send the update server the interrogator log that includes information identifying the specific vehicle and information related to a current software various of the controllers of the vehicle. The update server receives these communications from the vehicles and maintain a data store of the hardware configurations and software (e.g. firmware, etc.) versions linked to identifiers of the vehicles. The update server maintains a data store of the current software version associated with the controllers of the vehicle and transfer and installation technique identifiers, see paras. [0038]).
However, MILLER’656 does not appear to teach the request from the first gateway controller using a server interface of a second gateway controller of the vehicle, wherein the second gateway controller includes a routing table information on where to forward a signal or message of at least a first vehicle controller.
Kim’645 discloses the request from the first gateway controller using a server interface of a second gateway controller of the vehicle (Chassis Gateway, PT Gateway, Body Gateway, and Multi Gateway communicate through other routes when one route is denied/error, see Figs. 3A-B and paras. [0051]-[0066]), wherein the second gateway controller includes a routing table information on where to forward a signal or message of at least a first vehicle controller (see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MILLER’656’s invention to comprise the request from the first gateway controller using a server interface of a second gateway controller of the vehicle, wherein the second gateway controller includes a routing table information on where to forward a signal or message of at least a first vehicle controller, as taught by Kim’645, in order to provide a reliable, large-capacity/high-speed communication system supporting various kinds of integrated control modules in a vehicle (see paras. [0007]-[0009]).
As to claim 13, Kim’645 also discloses the second gateway controller is connected to the first vehicle controller via a first bus system (Chassis Gateway, PT Gateway, Body Gateway, and Multi Gateway communicate through other routes when one route is denied/error, see Figs. 3A-B and paras. [0051]-[0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MILLER’656’s invention to comprise the second gateway controller is connected to the first vehicle controller via a first bus system, as taught by Kim’645, in order to provide a reliable, large-capacity/high-speed communication system supporting various kinds of integrated control modules in a vehicle (see paras. [0007]-[0009]).
As to claim 14, MILLER’656 does not appear to teach each of the plurality of gateway controllers is connected to one or more of the plurality of gateway controllers via a second bus system, the method further comprising: setting up a communication connection between the client interface of the first gateway controller and the server interface of the second gateway controller via the second bus system, wherein the communication takes place dynamically using a service discovery communication protocol of the second bus system.
Kim’645 discloses each of the plurality of gateway controllers is connected to one or more of the plurality of gateway controllers via a second bus system; setting up a communication connection between the client interface of the first gateway controller and the server interface of the second gateway controller via the second bus system, wherein the communication takes place dynamically using a service discovery communication protocol of the second bus system (Chassis Gateway, PT Gateway, Body Gateway, and Multi Gateway communicate through other routes when one route is denied/error, see Figs. 3A-B, 4 and paras. [0051]-[0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MILLER’656’s invention to comprise each of the plurality of gateway controllers is connected to one or more of the plurality of gateway controllers via a second bus system, setting up a communication connection between the client interface of the first gateway controller and the server interface of the second gateway controller via the second bus system, wherein the communication takes place dynamically using a service discovery communication protocol of the second bus system, as taught by Kim’645, in order to provide a reliable, large-capacity/high-speed communication system supporting various kinds of integrated control modules in a vehicle (see paras. [0007]-[0009]).
As to claim 15, MILLER’656 also discloses adapting the reception request depending on the confirmation message using of the first gateway controller (the update server configured to receive requests for available software updates from the vehicle. The update server provides, responsive to the requests, indications of the available software updates (or the software updates themselves) to update the requesting vehicle 102, see para. [0028]; also note: receive a command from a user indicative of a request to check for the software updates, see para. [0030]; also note: transfer/install software updates responsive to operating state compatible with transfer/installation technique, see paras. [0032]-[0035]).
As to claim 16, Kim’645 also discloses determining a transmission/reception specification of at least one of a plurality of vehicle controllers by means of the first gateway controller, wherein the at least one of the plurality of vehicle controllers is connected to the first gateway controller via a first bus system (gateway selected from among the chassis gateway, the power train gateway, the body gateway, and the multimedia gateway is connected to communicate with the other three gateways through the Ethernet communication, see paras. [0036]-[0042] and Fig. 2); creating the reception request depending on a reception specification of the determined transmission/reception specification of the at least one of the plurality of vehicle controllers by means of the first gateway controller (Chassis Gateway, PT Gateway, Body Gateway, and Multi Gateway communicate through other routes when one route is denied/error, see Figs. 3A-B, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MILLER’656’s invention to comprise determining a transmission/reception specification of at least one of a plurality of vehicle controllers by means of the first gateway controller, wherein the at least one of the plurality of vehicle controllers is connected to the first gateway controller via a first bus system; creating the reception request depending on a reception specification of the determined transmission/reception specification of the at least one of the plurality of vehicle controllers by means of the first gateway controller, as taught by Kim’645, in order to provide a reliable, large-capacity/high-speed communication system supporting various kinds of integrated control modules in a vehicle (see paras. [0007]-[0009]).
As to claim 17, Kim’645 also discloses determining a transmission/reception specification of at least one of a plurality of vehicle controllers using the second gateway controller, wherein the plurality of vehicle controllers are connected to the second gateway controller via a first bus system (gateway selected from among the chassis gateway, the power train gateway, the body gateway, and the multimedia gateway is connected to communicate with the other three gateways through the Ethernet communication, see paras. [0036]-[0042] and Fig. 2); and creating the transmission offer depending on a transmission specification of the determined transmission/reception specification of the at least one of the plurality of vehicle controllers using the second gateway controller (Chassis Gateway, PT Gateway, Body Gateway, and Multi Gateway communicate through other routes when one route is denied/error, see Figs. 3A-B, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MILLER’656’s invention to comprise determining a transmission/reception specification of at least one of a plurality of vehicle controllers using the second gateway controller, wherein the plurality of vehicle controllers are connected to the second gateway controller via a first bus system; and creating the transmission offer depending on a transmission specification of the determined transmission/reception specification of the at least one of the plurality of vehicle controllers using the second gateway controller, as taught by Kim’645, in order to provide a reliable, large-capacity/high-speed communication system supporting various kinds of integrated control modules in a vehicle (see paras. [0007]-[0009]).
As to claim 18, Kim’645 also discloses receiving a reception request from a client interface of a third gateway controller using a server interface of the first gateway controller (Chassis Gateway, PT Gateway, Body Gateway, and Multi Gateway communicate through other routes when one route is denied/error, see Figs. 3A-B and paras. [0051]-[0066]); communicating the transmission offer from the server interface of the first gateway controller to the client interface of the third gateway controller; receiving a confirmation message from the client interface of the third gateway controller using the server interface of the first gateway controller, wherein the confirmation message comprises a confirmation or a rejection of the transmitted transmission offer by the first gateway controller; and configuring a routing table of the first gateway controller depending on the received confirmation message using the third gateway controller (see Fig. 4 and setting up communication link/routes, see paras. [0051]-[0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MILLER’656’s invention to comprise receiving a reception request from a client interface of a third gateway controller using a server interface of the first gateway controller; communicating the transmission offer from the server interface of the first gateway controller to the client interface of the third gateway controller; receiving a confirmation message from the client interface of the third gateway controller using the server interface of the first gateway controller, wherein the confirmation message comprises a confirmation or a rejection of the transmitted transmission offer by the first gateway controller; and configuring a routing table of the first gateway controller depending on the received confirmation message using the third gateway controller, as taught by Kim’645, in order to provide a reliable, large-capacity/high-speed communication system supporting various kinds of integrated control modules in a vehicle (see paras. [0007]-[0009]).
As to claim 19, Kim’645 also discloses disconnecting the communication connection between the client interface of the first gateway controller and the server interface of the second gateway controller via the second bus system when the client interface of the first controller has transmitted a confirmation message for all reception requests to the server interface of the second gateway controller (setting up new communication link and alternate communication paths, see paras. [0054]-[0066], Figs. 3A-B and 4).
Note claims 20 and 28 recite similar limitations of claim 12. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claim 29 recite similar limitations of claim 13. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claim 30 recite similar limitations of claim 15. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claim 31 recite similar limitations of claim 16. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
As to claim 32, Kim’645 also discloses receiving the reception request further comprises receiving the reception request from the client interface of the first gateway controller over an Ethernet network that operably connects the first gateway controller to the second gateway controller (communication between gateways through the Ethernet backbone network, see paras. [0036]-[0053] and Figs. 2, 3A-B).
As to claim 33, Kim’645 also discloses the first vehicle controller and a set of other vehicle controllers are configured to communicate with the second gateway controller via a bus system network having one or more CAN bus systems, one or more LIN bus systems, or one or more FlexRay bus systems; and wherein a further set of vehicle controllers are configured to communicate with the first gateway controller using one or more other CAN bus systems, one or more other LIN bus systems, or one or other more FlexRay bus systems (communicate with each other by one communication protocol selected from CAN, FlexRay and Most, see paras. [0012], and [0042]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot due to new grounds of rejection.
In summary, MILLER’656 and Kim’645 teach the claimed limitations as set forth.
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Contact Information
/TITUS WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181