DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 20 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14 and 15-16 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, et al (WO2020098544A1) and further in view of Atkins, et al (US20200120993A1) and Kim (KR20190058435A, hereinafter referring to the machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches that a core part for an electronic cigarette is an atomizer (vaporizer) having a porous heating element [0002-0003] and heating oil storage chamber (storage unit) for storing e-liquid and a porous heating element for drawing the e-liquid. [0023]
Zhang teaches the porous body can be combined with a heating element by applying a slurry mixture to the inner/outer surface of the porous body in a desired shape to form a printed layer.[0087] The prior art further teaches that the heating element may be a resistive circuit disposed on the surface of the porous body and include a heating material coating, a resistive paste printed circuit, etc. [0087]
Zhang is silent with respect to the use of a temperature sensing element.
Atkins, directed to the design of vaporizer heaters having temperature sensing element, teaches a heater and temperature sensing assembly located on a support plate.(Abstract) The prior art teaches the heater can be a conductive, a radiative, and/or convective heater [0026] and be made of a non-metallic resistor [0038] material. Atkins teaches in addition to the heating element the support includes a temperature sensing element. The temperature sensing element includes a second electrically conductive pathway that extends along the support plate along the same side of the support plate as the first electrically conductive pathway/heating portion. ([0040], Fig 2, annotated figure 1)
Annotated Figure 1.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang by including a temperature sensor on the porous body/support as taught by Atkins because both Zhang and Atkins are directed to heaters for vaporizers, Atkins teaches ensure appropriate temperatures are reached and maintained and also provides a compact configuration and cost effective manufacturing. [0035], and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Atkins teaches that the temperature sensing element can be made of the same material as the heating element or different materials. [0041] However, Atkins does not explicitly teach that the temperature sensing element could be a printed pattern.
Kim, directed to the design of printed temperature sensors, teaches a temperature sensor that is a printed temperature sensor. (Title, [0001]) Kim teaches the sensor material made of carbon nanotubes that is printed on a cover layer (support) to form a temperature sensing portion. [0146]
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang and Atkins by using a printed temperature sensor as taught by Kim because Zhang, Atkins, and Kim are directed to heaters for vaporizers, Kim teaches that using a printed temperature sensor can minimize the attachment space and the thickness [0012], and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches that the outer surface can be used for oil absorption [0091]
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the heating body/ element can be a porous ceramic material ([0004],[0085])
Regarding claim 4, Atkins teaches the sensing element can be made out of a material that exhibits a positive temperature coefficient of resistance (TCR) [0037]
Regarding claim 5, Atkins teaches and discloses a design where the heating element and the sensing element can both include two terminals or electrodes coupled to the respective pathways (Fig 2, [0042], annotated figure 1)
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the first porous portion is connected to a second porous portion ([0008], [0112]) and includes a first oil guide section (wick). [0016]
Regarding claim 7, Atkins teaches the heating element and the sensing pattern are in proximity to one another. [0040] and discloses a design where the temperature sensing pattern is parallel to the heating pattern along the length of the support portion and a mirror image and parallel to the heating element along the width of the support portion. (Fig. 2, annotated figure 1)
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a first heating portion that is comprised of parallel portions that are separated by a first distance. The heating element further comprises second parallel portions that are separated by a second distance where the first and second portions are located on a central portion of the porous body/wick. ([0074], Fig 3) Additionally, Atkins teaches a similar heating pattern as the heating pattern disclosed by Zhang. (Fig 2, annotated figure 1)
Regarding claim 9, Atkins discloses a heating pattern that includes a plurality of bent portions and a plurality of connecting portions that connect the plurality of bent portions in one direction as well as a sensing pattern that extends in the same direction as the connecting portion. (Fig 2, annotated figure 1)
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches a heating part [0076] and that the heating part can have two atomizing surfaces [0079] 12a and 12b.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches that porous body has at least one through hole that penetrates the first portion (first wick) [0024]
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches an embodiment where the heating element is “wound around the outer surface of the second part” (atomizing part) of the [0076]
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches the porous heating element can be covered with a layer of cellucotton/ non-woven fabric to prevent the heating element from shedding powder. [0114] The use of cellucotton is considered to read on the mesh of the instant claim.
Conclusion
/V.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755