DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (US 10008800).
As per claim 1: Inoue discloses a terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (as shown in figs. 1,3,9), comprising a mounting base 2 and an outer elastic sheet structure 3, wherein an end of the outer elastic sheet structure 3 is connected to an end of the mounting base 2 (as shown in fig. 9), the mounting base 2 and the outer elastic sheet structure 3 are formed separately (see figs. 2-3), and the outer elastic sheet structure 3 is formed by stamping (see figs. 9A-B, wherein a cutting process by punching is performed on a plate-shaped member made of a metal material for configuring the connecting member 3).
(Note: claim 1 can be rejected by Bianca et al. (US 9917390); Friedhof et al. (US 2014/0017960))
As per claim 4: Inoue discloses the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (see figs. 1,3, 9), wherein the outer elastic sheet structure 3 is barrel-shaped (as shown in figs. 3A-B, 9 C-D), and the outer elastic sheet 3 comprises, in a circumferential direction thereof, a plurality of independent outer elastic strip sheet (as shown in figs. 3A-B; 9A-D);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-7 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 10008800).
As per claim 2: Inoue discloses the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (see figs. 1,3, 9), wherein the outer elastic sheet structure 3 is barrel-shaped; the outer elastic sheet structure 3 comprises, in a circumferential direction thereof, a plurality of outer elastic sheet section (as shown in figs. 3A-B; 9 C-D); and each outer elastic sheet section has an arc-shaped cross-section (see fig. 9 C-D). However, Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein each outer elastic sheet section a thickness of 0.035 mm to 4.712 mm.
On the other hand, Inoue mentioned a plurality of contact portions 331 may be provided with respect to one wide-width portion 330 by providing a plurality of protrusions or thick portions with respect to one wide-width portion 330. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having each outer elastic sheet section a thickness of 0.035 mm to 4.712 mm can only deal with optimum value because such modification still would not change the function of the outer elastic sheet or the terminal after all but to further enhance a stable, reliable and sturdy structure of the elastic sheet once engages/connects to the counterpart terminal for a good contact/connection in between. Since, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure of Inoue by having each outer elastic sheet section a thickness of 0.035 mm to 4.712 mm as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable and sturdy structure of the elastic sheet once engages/connects to the counterpart terminal for a good contact/connection in between.
As per claim 3: Inoue discloses the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (see figs. 1,3, 9), wherein the outer elastic sheet section (as shown in figs. 9A-B) comprises, in an axial direction of the outer elastic sheet structure 3, an outer connecting portion 31 and a plurality of outer elastic sheet strips (611; 612), with an outer gap (not label, see figs. 9A-B) formed between any two adjacent outer elastic sheet strips (611; 612).
As per claim 5: Inoue discloses the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (see figs. 1,3, 9), and the plurality of outer elastic strip sheet (as shown in figs. 3A-B). However, Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of outer elastic strip sheets are connected by an outer annular base strap, the outer elastic strip sheets are stacked with the outer annular base strap, and the outer annular base strap is located at the end of the outer elastic sheet structure.
On the other hand, Inoue showed that the outer elastic strip sheet with the outer connecting portion are in one sheet by cutting process by punching. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the plurality of outer elastic strip sheets are connected by an outer annular base strap, the outer elastic strip sheets are stacked with the outer annular base strap, and the outer annular base strap is located at the end of the outer elastic sheet structure can only deal with manufacture desire, because such modification still would not change the function of the outer elastic strip sheets as well as the terminal after all but to further enhance a stable and reliable strip sheets to the base strap. Further, since applicant has not disclosed the above recited limitation would solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the prior art of record as presented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure of Inoue by having the plurality of outer elastic strip sheets are connected by an outer annular base strap, the outer elastic strip sheets are stacked with the outer annular base strap, and the outer annular base strap is located at the end of the outer elastic sheet structure as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable and sturdy structure of the elastic sheet once engages/connects to the counterpart terminal for a good contact/connection in between.
As per claims 6-7: Inoue discloses the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (see figs. 1,3, 9). However, Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein an inner cavity of the outer elastic sheet structure is taper-shaped, and an inner diameter of the end of the outer elastic sheet structure is larger than that of the other end of the outer elastic sheet structure; and wherein in a direction from the end of the outer elastic sheet structure to the other end thereof, an inner surface of the outer elastic sheet structure is provided with an outer arc-shaped constricted neck section.
On the other hand, Inoue showed the modified example includes a piece-shaped portion 332 which extends from a base portion 36 of the connecting member 3B to the counterpart terminal 5 side (a −Y direction side of FIG. 6(A)), and a wide-width portion 330 provided at a distal end of the piece-shaped portion 332. The piece-shaped portion 332 in the present embodiment has substantially the same width (width along the circumferential direction D (see FIG. 4)) as that of the first connecting piece 32, and has a relatively slightly larger length (length along a Y-axis direction of FIG. 6(B)) than that of the first connecting piece 32. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the structure as recited above can only deal with change in shape because such modification still would not change the function of the terminal after all but to further enhance a stable and reliable grip/connection to the counterpart terminal. Further, applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations as recited above are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing the structure as recited above. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure of Inoue by having an inner cavity of the outer elastic sheet structure is taper-shaped, and an inner diameter of the end of the outer elastic sheet structure is larger than that of the other end of the outer elastic sheet structure; and wherein in a direction from the end of the outer elastic sheet structure to the other end thereof, an inner surface of the outer elastic sheet structure is provided with an outer arc-shaped constricted neck section as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable and reliable grip/connection to the counterpart terminal.
Claim(s) 11-15,18, and 20-21 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 10008800) in view of Hemmer et al. (US 4381135).
As per claim 11: Inoue discloses the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (see figs. 1,3, 9), and the plurality of outer elastic strip sheet (as shown in figs. 3A-B). However, Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein further comprising an inner elastic sheet structure, which is stacked with the outer elastic sheet structure, and an end of the inner elastic sheet structure is connected to the mounting base.
On the other hand, Inoue showed that the outer elastic strip sheet with the outer connecting portion are in one sheet by cutting process by punching. Hemmer et al. teaches an inner elastic sheet structure 10, which is stacked with the outer elastic sheet structure 30, and an end of the inner elastic sheet structure 10 is connected to the mounting base 20 to further enhance durability, liability, stability and secure structure of the terminal for a prolong connection to the counterpart terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure of Inoue by having an inner elastic sheet structure, which is stacked with the outer elastic sheet structure, and an end of the inner elastic sheet structure is connected to the mounting base as taught by Hemmer et al. to further enhance durability, liability, stability and secure structure of the terminal for a prolong connection to the counterpart terminal.
As per claim 12: Inoue discloses the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (see figs. 1,3, 9). However, Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein the mounting base, the outer elastic sheet structure, and the inner elastic sheet structure are formed separately.
On the other hand, Inoue showed the mounting base, the outer elastic sheet structure, and the inner elastic sheet structure are formed are formed in one piece integrally. Hemmer et al. teaches wherein the mounting base 20, the outer elastic sheet structure 30, and the inner elastic sheet structure 10 are formed separately, and the inner elastic sheet structure 10 is formed by stamping (see abstract, wherein an inner sleeve (10) stamped and formed from a single sheet of beryllium copper metal) to further enhance durability, liability, stability and secure structure of the terminal for a prolong connection to the counterpart terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure of Inoue by having the mounting base, the outer elastic sheet structure, and the inner elastic sheet structure are formed separately as taught by Hemmer et al. to further enhance durability, liability, stability and secure structure of the terminal for a prolong connection to the counterpart terminal.
As per claims 13-15, 18: Inoue discloses the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (see figs. 1,3, 9). However, Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein both the outer elastic sheet structure and the inner elastic sheet structure are barrel-shaped, the inner elastic sheet structure is sleeved inside the outer elastic sheet structure, and a length of the outer elastic sheet structure is greater than that of the inner elastic sheet structure; and an inner cavity of the outer elastic sheet structure and an inner cavity of the inner elastic sheet structure are both taper-shaped; and wherein a taper of the inner cavity of the outer elastic sheet structure is smaller than that of the inner cavity of the inner elastic sheet structure.
Hemmer et al. discloses the inner elastic sheet structure 10 is sleeved inside the outer elastic sheet structure 30; and a length of the outer elastic sheet structure 30 is greater than that of the inner elastic sheet structure 10 (as shown in figs. 2-3); and wherein an axis of the outer elastic sheet structure 30 coincides with an axis of the inner elastic sheet structure 10; and the inner elastic sheet structure 10 comprises, in a circumferential direction thereof, a plurality of independent inner elastic sheet strips (as shown in fig.1). However, neither Inoue nor Hemmer et al. disclose wherein both the outer elastic sheet structure and the inn an inner cavity of the outer elastic sheet structure and an inner cavity of the inner elastic sheet structure are both taper-shaped er elastic sheet structure are barrel-shaped; and wherein a taper of the inner cavity of the outer elastic sheet structure is smaller than that of the inner cavity of the inner elastic sheet structure. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having all the recited above can only deal with change in shape because such modification still would not change the function of the terminal after all but to further enhance a stable and reliable grip/connection to the counterpart terminal. Further, applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations as recited above are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing the structure as recited above. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure of Inoue and Hemmer et al. by having both the outer elastic sheet structure and the inner elastic sheet structure are barrel-shaped, the inner elastic sheet structure is sleeved inside the outer elastic sheet structure, and a length of the outer elastic sheet structure is greater than that of the inner elastic sheet structure; and an inner cavity of the outer elastic sheet structure and an inner cavity of the inner elastic sheet structure are both taper-shaped; and wherein a taper of the inner cavity of the outer elastic sheet structure is smaller than that of the inner cavity of the inner elastic sheet structure as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable and reliable grip/connection to the counterpart terminal.
As per claims 20-21: Inoue discloses the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure (see figs. 1,3, 9). However, Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein the inner elastic sheet structure is barrel-shaped, an inner cavity of the inner elastic sheet structure is taper-shaped, and an inner diameter of the end of the inner elastic sheet structure is larger than that of the other end of the inner elastic sheet structure; and an inner surface of the inner elastic sheet structure is provided with an inner arc-shaped constricted neck section.
Hemmer et al. discloses the inner elastic sheet structure 10, an inner cavity of the inner elastic sheet structure is taper-shaped (as shown in fig. 1), and an inner diameter of the end of the inner elastic sheet structure 10 is larger than that of the other end of the inner elastic sheet structure (as shown in fig. 1). However, neither Inoue nor Hemmer et al. explicitly disclose wherein the inner elastic sheet structure is barrel-shaped; and an inner surface of the inner elastic sheet structure is provided with an inner arc-shaped constricted neck section. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the structure as recited above can only deal with change in shape because such modification still would not change the function of the terminal after all but to further enhance a stable and reliable grip/connection to the counterpart terminal. Further, applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations as recited above are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing the structure as recited above. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the terminal having a stamping elastic sheet structure of Inoue and Hemmer et al. by having the inner elastic sheet structure is barrel-shaped; and an inner surface of the inner elastic sheet structure is provided with an inner arc-shaped constricted neck section as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable and reliable grip/connection to the counterpart terminal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17,19, and 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831