Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 with respect Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “Zhao '546 relates to an extrusion die structure and method. Paragraph [0004] of Zhao '546 states that the extrusion apparatus is "especially suitable for manufacturing composite hollow profiles, bars and plates", with no disclosure or suggestion relating to the production of wide profiles. In contrast, amended claim 1 recites "at least one block which includes more than two extrusion containers" which enables the claimed apparatus to produce wide profiles. as explained on page 2 of the application as filed, "... it is difficult for the material in the die to flow to the positions far away from the centre of the die.". With a circular arrangement, the material would either be directed towards a central point of the welding chamber, resulting in an uneven distribution of material across the width of the die, or the cross-sectional dimensions of the circular or cylindrical unit would need to be substantially increased to accommodate a sufficient number of feed holes for producing a wide profile where material can flow to the ends of the die. Accordingly, a circular arrangement of feed holes leading into a welding chamber is not an optimal configuration for the manufacture of wide profiles. The claimed apparatus addresses this problem using a different arrangement of containers that facilitates a more uniform distribution of material and is better suited to the manufacture of wide profiles. Both Zhao '091 and Zhao '546 disclose material containers held in a cylindrical structure (extrusion cylinder and porous disc respectively). There is nothing in either document to suggest that the cylindrical structure may be replaced by a block comprising a row of containers wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane. Accordingly, it would not be obvious for the skilled person to modify Zhao '091 in view of Zhao '546 and arrive at the present invention, wherein the containers are comprised in a block and the axes of the containers are in one plane. Applicant therefore submits that the present invention is non-obvious over Zhao '091 in view of Zhao '546. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claim 1. Krintzline (US20110061434A1) relates to metal cold-forming and has been cited in combination with the two Zhao documents against Claims 4 and 6 only. There is nothing in Krintzline to teach or suggest the extrusion of wide profiles”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wide profiles) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, the Applicant is correct that Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) does not disclose ““wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row”;
However, the Applicant specification page 5 lines 13- 20- discloses “The axes of the containers are parallel and can be in one plane or in different planes depending on whether the extruded product is to be a flat sheet or have another final product shape. If the final product is not to be a flat sheet then it may be that the axes of the containers are in different planes, but the axes would still be parallel to each other. The arrangement of block 3 can be changed according to different cross-section and size of the product. FIG. 1 shows the situation that the axes of the containers are parallel and in one plane, but this could be varied depending on the required characteristics of the product;
So, it appears that “wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row” is not critical and it is a design option that depends on the required characteristics of the product.
Therefore, , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the arrangement of the containers as desired, including wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row, as a matter of routine engineering design choice, in order to meet specific
Or
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange more than two extrusion containers of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) at any configuration including wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row, since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04).
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN112453091B attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Shang (CN102172659B attached NPL, English Machine translation)
Regarding claim 1, Zhao (CN112453091B) discloses an apparatus for extruding a material (paragraphs 0001 and 0049-0057), the apparatus comprising:
at least one block (figs.1-2: (7)) which includes two or more extrusion containers (figs.1-2: (5) and (6)) composed of heat resisting material (paragraph 0047: heating the billet, thus the elements (5) and (6) must be composed of heat resisting material), said containers being arranged to receive billets (figs.1-2: (15) and (16)) of the extruding material;
a die set (figs.1-2: (9) and (12)) arranged downstream of the block including the two or more extrusion containers (figs.1-2); and
one or more rams (figs.1-2: (1) and (2)), wherein the one or more rams are aligned with the axes of the extrusion containers (figs.1-2: (5) and (6)) and are arranged to push the billets of material through the extrusion containers into the die set;
wherein the die set includes an upper die (figs.1-2: (9)) including two or more extrusion channels (figs.1-2: the element (9) having left and right container) for extruding material from each of said extrusion containers, and
a lower die (figs.1-2: (12)) incorporating a welding chamber (figs.1-2: the chamber of the element (12)), wherein two or more extruded billets (figs.1-2: (15) and (16)) from each of said extrusion channels are welded together and passed out through an exit (figs.1-2: see element (13)) of the die set (paragraph 0049).
Zhao (CN112453091B) does not disclose more than two extrusion containers; and wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row.
Shang teaches an apparatus for extruding a material (paragraphs 0017-0025), the apparatus comprising:
at least one block (fig.6) which includes more than two extrusion containers , and wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row (fig.3).
Both of the prior arts of Zhao (CN112453091B) and Shang are related to an apparatus for extruding a material;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zhao (CN112453091B) to have more than two extrusion containers; and wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row as taught by Shang, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having at least one a block which includes more than two extrusion containers composed of heat resisting material, said containers being arranged to receive more than two pre-heated billets of the extruding material, where each of the extrusion containers has an axis; wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row; a die set arranged downstream of the at least one block including the more than two extrusion containers; and more than two rams, wherein the more than two rams are aligned with the axes of the extrusion containers and are arranged to push the more than two pre-heated billets of material through the extrusion containers into the die set; wherein the die set includes an upper die including more than two extrusion channels for extruding material from each of said extrusion containers, and a lower die incorporating a welding chamber, wherein more than two extruded billets from each of said extrusion channels are welded together and passed out through the an exit of the die set.
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN112453091B attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Krintzline (US20110061434A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao (CN112453091B) discloses an apparatus for extruding a material (paragraphs 0001 and 0049-0057), the apparatus comprising:
at least one block (figs.1-2: (7)) which includes two or more extrusion containers (figs.1-2: (5) and (6)) composed of heat resisting material (paragraph 0047: heating the billet, thus the elements (5) and (6) must be composed of heat resisting material), said containers being arranged to receive billets (figs.1-2: (15) and (16)) of the extruding material;
a die set (figs.1-2: (9) and (12)) arranged downstream of the block including the two or more extrusion containers (figs.1-2); and
one or more rams (figs.1-2: (1) and (2)), wherein the one or more rams are aligned with the axes of the extrusion containers (figs.1-2: (5) and (6)) and are arranged to push the billets of material through the extrusion containers into the die set;
wherein the die set includes an upper die (figs.1-2: (9)) including two or more extrusion channels (figs.1-2: the element (9) having left and right container) for extruding material from each of said extrusion containers, and
a lower die (figs.1-2: (12)) incorporating a welding chamber (figs.1-2: the chamber of the element (12)), wherein two or more extruded billets (figs.1-2: (15) and (16)) from each of said extrusion channels are welded together and passed out through an exit (figs.1-2: see element (13)) of the die set (paragraph 0049).
Zhao (CN112453091B) does not disclose more than two extrusion containers; and wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row.
Krintzline teaches an apparatus for extruding a material (paragraphs 0017-0025), the apparatus comprising:
at least one block (figs.1-2) which includes more than two extrusion containers , and wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row (fig.3).
Both of the prior arts of Zhao (CN112453091B) and Krintzline are related to an apparatus for extruding a material;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zhao (CN112453091B) to have more than two extrusion containers; and wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row as taught by Krintzline, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having at least one a block which includes more than two extrusion containers composed of heat resisting material, said containers being arranged to receive more than two pre-heated billets of the extruding material, where each of the extrusion containers has an axis; wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row; a die set arranged downstream of the at least one block including the more than two extrusion containers; and more than two rams, wherein the more than two rams are aligned with the axes of the extrusion containers and are arranged to push the more than two pre-heated billets of material through the extrusion containers into the die set; wherein the die set includes an upper die including more than two extrusion channels for extruding material from each of said extrusion containers, and a lower die incorporating a welding chamber, wherein more than two extruded billets from each of said extrusion channels are welded together and passed out through the an exit of the die set.
Regarding claim 4, Krintzline teaches wherein the more than two extrusion containers are held in position by bolsters (fig.3 and paragraph 0017).
Therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Krintzline teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Krintzline teaches in which the at least one block comprises an extruder incorporating the more than two extrusion containers, the extruder extrusion containers being held between bolsters (fig.3 and paragraph 0017).
Therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Krintzline teaches the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Krintzline teaches in which the bolsters are held by use of hydraulic pressure or other means (fig.3 and paragraph 0017).
Therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Krintzline teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 12-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN112453091B attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao (CN112453091B) discloses an apparatus for extruding a material (paragraphs 0001 and 0049-0057), the apparatus comprising:
at least one block (figs.1-2: (7)) which includes two or more extrusion containers (figs.1-2: (5) and (6)) composed of heat resisting material (paragraph 0047: heating the billet, thus the elements (5) and (6) must be composed of heat resisting material), said containers being arranged to receive billets (figs.1-2: (15) and (16)) of the extruding material;
a die set (figs.1-2: (9) and (12)) arranged downstream of the block including the two or more extrusion containers (figs.1-2); and
one or more rams (figs.1-2: (1) and (2)), wherein the one or more rams are aligned with the axes of the extrusion containers (figs.1-2: (5) and (6)) and are arranged to push the billets of material through the extrusion containers into the die set;
wherein the die set includes an upper die (figs.1-2: (9)) including two or more extrusion channels (figs.1-2: the element (9) having left and right container) for extruding material from each of said extrusion containers, and
a lower die (figs.1-2: (12)) incorporating a welding chamber (figs.1-2: the chamber of the element (12)), wherein two or more extruded billets (figs.1-2: (15) and (16)) from each of said extrusion channels are welded together and passed out through an exit (figs.1-2: see element (13)) of the die set (paragraph 0049).
Zhao (CN112453091B) does not disclose more than two extrusion containers;
Zhao (CN107570546B) teaches an apparatus for extruding a material (paragraphs 0001 and 0049-0057), the apparatus comprising:
at least one block (figs.1-2: (7)) which includes more than two extrusion containers (paragraph 0048 and figs.1-2: (3)),
Both of the prior arts of Zhao (CN107570546B) and Zhao (CN112453091B) are related to an apparatus for extruding a material;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one block of the apparatus of Zhao (CN112453091B) to be includes more than two extrusion containers taught by Zhao (CN107570546B), since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having at least one a block which includes more than two extrusion containers composed of heat resisting material, said containers being arranged to receive more than two pre-heated billets of the extruding material, where each of the extrusion containers has an axis; a die set arranged downstream of the at least one block including the more than two extrusion containers; and more than two rams, wherein the more than two rams are aligned with the axes of the extrusion containers and are arranged to push the more than two pre-heated billets of material through the extrusion containers into the die set; wherein the die set includes an upper die including more than two extrusion channels for extruding material from each of said extrusion containers, and a lower die incorporating a welding chamber, wherein more than two extruded billets from each of said extrusion channels are welded together and passed out through the an exit of the die set.
Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) does not disclose “wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row”;
However, the Applicant specification page 5 lines 13- 20- discloses “The axes of the containers are parallel and can be in one plane or in different planes depending on whether the extruded product is to be a flat sheet or have another final product shape. If the final product is not to be a flat sheet then it may be that the axes of the containers are in different planes, but the axes would still be parallel to each other. The arrangement of block 3 can be changed according to different cross-section and size of the product. FIG. 1 shows the situation that the axes of the containers are parallel and in one plane, but this could be varied depending on the required characteristics of the product;
So, it appears that “wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row” is not critical and it is a design option that depends on the required characteristics of the product.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the arrangement of the containers as desired, including wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row, as a matter of routine engineering design choice, in order to meet specific
Or
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange more than two extrusion containers of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) at any configuration including wherein the axes of the containers are in one plane and the containers are arranged in a row, since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao (CN112453091B) discloses in which the extrusion containers are cylindrical (figs.1-2: (5) and (6)).
Therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao (CN112453091B) discloses in which the axes of the extrusion containers are parallel to each other (figs.1-2).
Therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao (CN107570546B) teaches in which the at least one block comprises an extruder incorporating the more than two extrusion containers (figs.1-2), the extrusion containers being held between bolsters.
Therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) teaches the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) does not disclose in which the containers or extruder are made from hot extrusion tool material and the bolsters are made from cast iron or steel.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) to have in which the containers or block extruder are made from hot extrusion tool material and the bolsters are made from cast iron or steel in order to provide the functionality to act as containers and bolsters. (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao (CN112453091B) discloses in which the exit of the die set (figs.1-2: (9) and (12)) is arranged to be at an angle between 0 and 90° to the plane of the container axes.
Therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao (CN112453091B) discloses in which the material to be extruded is selected from metals and alloys, which comprise at least one of aluminium alloys, magnesium alloys, and steels (paragraphs 0002 and 0049).
Therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) teaches the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) does not disclose in which two or more blocks comprising extrusion containers, and more than two rams are arranged to feed into the same die set.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) to add blocks as many as desired, including in which two or more blocks comprising extrusion containers, and more than two rams are arranged to feed into the same die se, in order to enhance production capacity. (MPEP 2144.04 VI, B).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao (CN112453091B) discloses a method of extruding a sheet of material using the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, the method comprising:
pre-heating two or more billets (figs.1-2: (15) and (16)) of material (paragraph 0011);
transferring the pre-heated billets of material to the two or more extrusion containers (figs.1-2: (5) and (6));
pushing the billets through the containers using the rams (figs.1-2: (1) and (2)), such that the material is forced through the extrusion channels in the upper die (figs.1-2: (9));
welding the extruded material in the welding chamber (figs.1-2: the chamber of the element (12)); and
passing the welded material out through the exit (figs.1-2: see element (13)) of the die set.
And since the method of claim using the apparatus as claimed in claim 1; therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) results to have pre-heating more than two billets of material; transferring the more than two pre-heated billets of material to the more than two extrusion containers; pushing the billets through the containers using the more than two rams, such that the more than two pre-heated billets of material are forced through the extrusion channels in the upper die; welding the extruded material in the welding chamber; and passing the welded material out through the exit of the die set.
Regarding claim 19, Zhao (CN107570546B) teaches wherein the more than two extrusion containers are arranged around a common die set and each of the more than two pre-heated billets of material is fed to a corresponding one of said more than two extrusion containers and each of the more than two billets of material are extruded simultaneously to increase productivity.
Therefore, the modification of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) teaches the limitations of claim 19.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN112453091B attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B attached NPL, English Machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krintzline (US20110061434A1).
Regarding claim 9-11, Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) does not disclose rolling stands downstream of the exit of the die set, in order to receive the extruded material and reduce an extruded thickness of the material by hot rolling; one or more quenching baths downstream of the rolling stands; and rolling stands downstream of the quenching bath for further processing of the extruded material by cold rolling.
Andre teaches an apparatus for extruding a material, the apparatus comprising:
rolling stands downstream of the exit of the die set, in order to receive the extruded material and reduce the extruded thickness by hot rolling; one or more quenching baths downstream of the rolling stands; and further rolling stands downstream of the quenching bath for further processing of the extruded material by cold rolling (fig.1, abstract, paragraphs 0009 and 0033)
Both of the prior arts of Zhao and Andre are related to an apparatus for extruding a material;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) to have rolling stands downstream of the exit of the die set, in order to receive the extruded material and reduce the extruded thickness by hot rolling; one or more quenching baths downstream of the rolling stands; and further rolling stands downstream of the quenching bath for further processing of the extruded material by cold rolling as taught by Andre, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Regarding claim 15-19, Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) does not disclose step of passing the extruded material through a set of rollers while hot to further reduce an extruded thickness of the sheet; quenching the rolled material; cold rolling the quenched rolled material; and cold or hot stamping the extruded product.
Andre teaches a method for extruding a material, the apparatus comprising:
a step of passing the extruded material through a set of rollers while hot to further reduce the thickness of the sheet; quenching the rolled material; cold rolling the quenched rolled material; and cold or hot stamping the extruded product (fig.1, abstract, paragraphs 0009 and 0033)
Both of the prior arts of Zhao and Andre are related to an apparatus for extruding a material;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhao (CN112453091B) in view of Zhao (CN107570546B) to have a step of passing the extruded material through a set of rollers while hot to further reduce the thickness of the sheet; quenching the rolled material; cold rolling the quenched rolled material; and cold or hot stamping the extruded product as taught by Andre, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725