DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 01/16/2024, claims 7-11 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2024 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 01/16/2024 have been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muruganathan et al. (US 2023/0300835 A1).
Regarding claim 7; Muruganathan teaches a terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating activation (See Fig. 5: receiving a single MAC CE to activate TCI states. See Abstract and ¶ [0025]) of one transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to a plurality of types of channels (See Fig. 5: mapping activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of the DCI formats. See Abstract) and downlink control information (DCI) including a TCI field corresponding to a TCI state activated by using the MAC CE (See Fig. 5: receiving separate MAC CEs to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of each of the plurality of DCI format. See Abstract and ¶ [0025]); and
a processor that determines, based on a first field value and a second field value included in the MAC CE (See Fig. 15 and Table 6.2 1-1: TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1. It has a variable size consisting of following fields: Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies. The length of the field is 5 bits; BWP ID: This field indicates a DL BWP for which the MAC CE applies as the codepoint of the DCI bandwidth part indicator field as specified in TS 38.212 [9]. The length of the BWP ID field is 2 bits; See ¶ [0172]-[¶ [0175]), a number of downlink (DL) TCI states and a number of uplink (UL) TCI states mapped to a codepoint of the TCI field. (See Table 6.21-1: The TCI codepoint to which the TCI States are mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI codepoints with sets of TCI state IDi,j fields. For DCI format 1_1, the sth (0≤s≤7) TCI codepoint with TCI state IDs,1 and TCI state IDs,2 shall be mapped to the codepoint value s of the DCI Transmission configuration indication field. ¶ [0176]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 9: Muruganathan teaches a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising:
receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating activation (See Fig. 5: receiving a single MAC CE to activate TCI states. See Abstract and ¶ [0025]) of at least one of a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states applicable to a plurality of types of channels (See Fig. 5: mapping activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of the DCI formats. See Abstract) and downlink control information (DCI) including a TCI field corresponding to a part of at least one TCI state activated by using the MAC CE (See Fig. 5: receiving separate MAC CEs to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of each of the plurality of DCI format. See Abstract and ¶ [0025]); and
determining, based on a first field value and a second field value included in the MAC CE (See Fig. 15 and Table 6.2 1-1: TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1. It has a variable size consisting of following fields: Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies. The length of the field is 5 bits; BWP ID: This field indicates a DL BWP for which the MAC CE applies as the codepoint of the DCI bandwidth part indicator field as specified in TS 38.212 [9]. The length of the BWP ID field is 2 bits; See ¶ [0172]-[¶ [0175]), a number of downlink (DL) TCI states and a number of uplink (UL) TCI states mapped to a codepoint of the TCI field. (See Table 6.21-1: The TCI codepoint to which the TCI States are mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI codepoints with sets of TCI state IDi,j fields. For DCI format 1_1, the sth (0≤s≤7) TCI codepoint with TCI state IDs,1 and TCI state IDs,2 shall be mapped to the codepoint value s of the DCI Transmission configuration indication field. ¶ [0176]).
Regarding claim 10; Muruganathan teaches a base station comprising:
a transmitter that transmits a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating activation (See Fig. 5: receiving a single MAC CE to activate TCI states. See Abstract and ¶ [0025]) of at least one of a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states applicable to a plurality of types of channels (See Fig. 5: mapping activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of the DCI formats. See Abstract) and downlink control information (DCI) including a TCI field corresponding to a part of at least one TCI state activated by using the MAC CE (See Fig. 5: receiving separate MAC CEs to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of each of the plurality of DCI format. See Abstract and ¶ [0025]); and
a processor that determines, based on a first field value and a second field value included in the MAC CE (See Fig. 15 and Table 6.2 1-1: TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1. It has a variable size consisting of following fields: Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies. The length of the field is 5 bits; BWP ID: This field indicates a DL BWP for which the MAC CE applies as the codepoint of the DCI bandwidth part indicator field as specified in TS 38.212 [9]. The length of the BWP ID field is 2 bits; See ¶ [0172]-[¶ [0175]), a number of downlink (DL) TCI states and a number of uplink (UL) TCI states mapped to a codepoint of the TCI field. (See Table 6.21-1: The TCI codepoint to which the TCI States are mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI codepoints with sets of TCI state IDi,j fields. For DCI format 1_1, the sth (0≤s≤7) TCI codepoint with TCI state IDs,1 and TCI state IDs,2 shall be mapped to the codepoint value s of the DCI Transmission configuration indication field. ¶ [0176]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 11; Muruganathan teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises:
a receiver that receives a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating activation (See Fig. 5: receiving a single MAC CE to activate TCI states. See Abstract and ¶ [0025]) of one transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to a plurality of types of channels (See Fig. 5: mapping activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of the DCI formats. See Abstract) and downlink control information (DCI) including a TCI field corresponding to a part of at least one TCI state activated by using the MAC CE (See Fig. 5: receiving separate MAC CEs to activate TCI states and map activated TCI states to the TCI field codepoints of each of the plurality of DCI format. See Abstract and ¶ [0025]); and
a processor that determines, based on a first field value and a second field value included in the MAC CE (See Fig. 15 and Table 6.2 1-1: TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1. It has a variable size consisting of following fields: Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies. The length of the field is 5 bits; BWP ID: This field indicates a DL BWP for which the MAC CE applies as the codepoint of the DCI bandwidth part indicator field as specified in TS 38.212 [9]. The length of the BWP ID field is 2 bits; See ¶ [0172]-[¶ [0175]), a number of downlink (DL) TCI states and a number of uplink (UL) TCI states mapped to a codepoint of the TCI field. (See Table 6.21-1: The TCI codepoint to which the TCI States are mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI codepoints with sets of TCI state IDi,j fields. For DCI format 1_1, the sth (0≤s≤7) TCI codepoint with TCI state IDs,1 and TCI state IDs,2 shall be mapped to the codepoint value s of the DCI Transmission configuration indication field. ¶ [0176]).
a base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits a medium access control control element (MAC CE) and the DCI (Muruganathan: Abstract).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (US 2023/0300835 A1) in view of ZHOU et al. (US 2024/0015717 A1).
Regarding claim 8; Muruganathan teaches the terminal wherein a maximum number of DL TCI states (See Fig. 15: The maximum number of activated TCI codepoint is S if UE is configured only with DCI format 1_2, 8 if UE is configured only with DCI format 1_1, and 8+S if UE is configured with both DCI formats 1_1 and 1_2, where S is the number of codepoints configured for DCI format 1_2. The maximum number of TCI states mapped to a TCI codepoint is 2. ¶ [0176]) and mapping the number of activated TCI states to the codepoints (See Abstract).
Muruganathan doesn’t explicitly teach a maximum number of UL TCI states mapped to the codepoint are equal to or greater than 2.
However, Zhou discloses a maximum number of UL TCI states mapped to the codepoint are equal to or greater than 2 (Zhou: the maximum number of TCI states mapped to a TCI codepoint may greater than 2. See Fig. 4 and ¶ [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that a maximum number of UL TCI states mapped to the codepoint are equal to or greater than 2 as taught by Zhou to have incorporated in the system of Muruganathan, so that it would provide that a unified TCI framework for DL and UL beam indication, or enhancement on signaling mechanisms to improve latency and efficiency with more usage of dynamic control signaling. Zhou: ¶ [0059].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHOU et al. (US 2023/0300604 A1 to discuss a UE capability for TCI state configuration or activation).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416