DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-11, 14-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vyas (US 20170332318 A1) in view of Shukair (US 20150201454 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vyas discloses:
“A method for maintaining a link, which is applied to a terminal device, the method comprising, determining an end time at which a first service ends, after the first service is initiated to a network side;” ([para 0035]: “The application layer of STA 120A generates a frame at t305 with destination as AP 110, and the keep-alive module records the time of transmission (also assumed to be t305) of the frame.”)
“determining a time at which a … release message is received, in response to a reception of the RRC release message corresponding to the first service sent by the network side;” ([para 0036]: “The de-authentication frame is shown as being received at t307 by STA 120A… In the example of FIG. 3, it is assumed that the de-authentication frame of t307 is in response to the frame transmitted at t306.”)
“estimating a timing duration of an inactivity timer set at the network side, according to the end time and the time at which the … release message is received; and” ([para 0037]: “Upon receipt of the de-authentication frame, STA 120A computes the time difference between the time of receipt of the de-authentication frame and t305 (the time at which the last frame was sent to AP 110 from STA 120A), and sets the final value of the expected inactivity time as the time difference between the time of receipt of the de-authentication frame and the time (t305) at which the last frame was sent to AP 110.”)
“sending, after a second service is initiated to the network side, a virtual data packet to the network side before a first timed duration reaches the timing duration, to maintain an ... connection between the terminal device and the network side, wherein the first timed duration starts from an end time at which the second service ends.” ([para 0037]: “In such instances, the final value of the expected inactivity time thus computed would be a fairly accurate estimate of the inactivity time used by AP 110, and STA 120A uses the final value as a basis to send keep-alive messages in the future.”)
Vyas does not disclose that the de-authentication frame is a “Radio Resource Control (RRC)” release message.
However, Shukair discloses the missing feature that the de-authentication frame is a “Radio Resource Control (RRC)” release message ([para 0007]: “The "keep alive" mechanism may be configured to insert some padding traffic (e.g., dummy packets) to maintain the RRC connection, for example, by restarting the network RRC connection release timer to prevent its expiration and release of the RRC connection during call setup.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Vyas and Shukair, to modify the technique as disclosed by Vyas, to be applied with RRC release as disclosed by Shukair. The motivation for doing so is that the benefit of Vyas (optimized keep alive transmissions) is equally beneficial in the context of Shukair. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vyas with Shukair to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2, Vyas in view of Shukair discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Vyas further discloses “wherein, sending the virtual data packet to the network side before the first timed duration reaches the timing duration, comprises, sending the virtual data packet to the network side before the first timed duration reaches a collision avoidance duration corresponding to the timing duration; wherein the collision avoidance duration is less than the timing duration.” ([para 0045]: “One example of convergence is when the difference between the ‘higher value’ and the ‘lower value’ is less than some predetermined threshold, for example, one minute. When such convergence is reached, STA 120A uses the lower value as the final value of the expected inactivity time.”)
Regarding claim 5, Vyas in view of Shukair discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Vyas further discloses “determining a last acknowledgement (ACK) corresponding to the first service; wherein the last ACK is the last ACK sent by the terminal device to the network side or the last ACK received by the terminal device from the network side; and determining the time at which the last ACK is sent or received as the end time at which the first service ends.” ([para 0029]: “The keep-alive interval represents a maximum time interval between successive transmissions (data frames/control frames or keep-alive messages) from STA 120A to (or via) AP 110, to ensure that AP 110 does not disassociate STA 120A.” Wherein ACKs are a control frame well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art.)
Regarding claim 6, 11, and 14 Vyas in view of Shukair discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Vyas further discloses “wherein the first service is the first service initiated after the terminal device is turned on and successfully registered in network.” ([para 0034]: “It is assumed in FIG. 3 that STA 120A has completed operations required for association and authentication (i.e., has associated and authenticated) with AP 110 at or a short duration prior to time instant t300.”)
Claims 8-10, 15, and 18-19 are substantially similar to claims 1-2 and 5 with the differences amounting to claims 1-2 and 5 are directed towards a method while: claim 8 is directed towards a system; claims 9, 15, and 18 are directed towards an apparatus; claims 10 and 19 are directed towards a non-transitory computer readable medium. These differences are taught by Vyas in paragraphs 79-82. Thus, claims 8-10, 15, and 18-19 are rejected for similar reasons to claims 1-2 and 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 12-13, 16-17, and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, of the closest prior arts Vyas (US 20170332318 A1) in view of Shukair (US 20150201454 A1) discloses all the features of the parent claim. However, Vyas in view of Shukair does not disclose “wherein, sending the virtual data packet to the network side before the first timed duration reaches the collision avoidance duration corresponding to the timing duration, comprises, sending the virtual data packet to the network side, in response to a failure in reception of the RRC release message corresponding to the second service before the first timed duration reaches the collision avoidance duration corresponding to the timing duration.” The cited references fail to anticipate or render the above limitations in combination with all the recited limitations of claims 3 obvious, over any of the prior art of record, alone or in combination. Claims 16 and 20 are similar to claim 3 and contain allowable subject matter for similar reasons. Claim 12 depends on claim 3 and contains allowable subject matter based on its dependence.
Regarding claim 4, of the closest prior arts Vyas (US 20170332318 A1) in view of Shukair (US 20150201454 A1) discloses all the features of the parent claim. However, Vyas in view of Shukair does not disclose “wherein, sending the virtual data packet to the network side before the first timed duration reaches the collision avoidance duration corresponding to the timing duration, comprises, updating the timing duration of the inactivity timer, in response to a reception of the RRC release message corresponding to the second service before the first timed duration reaches the collision avoidance duration corresponding to the timing duration, to obtain an updated timing duration; wherein the updated timing duration is a temporal difference between the end time at which the second service ends and the time at which the RRC release message corresponding to the second service is received; and after a third service is initiated to the network side, sending the virtual data packet to the network side in response to a failure in reception of the RRC release message corresponding to the third service before a second timed duration reaches the collision avoidance duration corresponding to the updated timing duration, wherein, the second timed duration starts from the end time at which the third service ends.” The cited references fail to anticipate or render the above limitations in combination with all the recited limitations of claims 4 obvious, over any of the prior art of record, alone or in combination. Claims 17 and 21 are similar to claim 4 and contain allowable subject matter for similar reasons. Claim 13 depends on claim 4 and contains allowable subject matter based on its dependence.
Conclusion
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412