Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitaizumi et al (US 2011/0100980) cited by applicant. Kitaizumi discloses induction heating cooker comprising a glass upper plate (1) configured to have a heating region to heat a cooking container (par. 0111); a working coil (2, 3) configured to generate a first magnetic field to heat the cooking container; an inverter (5) comprising a switching element driven to allow a current to flow through the working coil (2, 3, par.0115), claim 14); and a shield circuit (17) configured to generate a second magnetic field to negate effects of the first magnetic field (par. 0114, Figure 5A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitaizumi et al (US 2011/0100980) cited by applicant. Regarding claim 2, Kitaizumi discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention includes the shield circuit (17) but silent the shield circuit comprises a shield coil and a shield capacitor. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to have the shield circuit comprises a shield coil and a shield capacitor in order to block the leakage magnetic field by generates a magnetic field reverse to the magnetic field generated by the heating coil.
Claim(s) 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitaizumi et al (US 2011/0100980), in view of KR 1020200075551 both cited by applicant. Regarding claims 3-7, Kitaizumi discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention including an inductor comprising a switching element (par. 0115) is used to reduce electromagnetic waves by generating a magnetic field reverse to the magnetic field generated by the heating coil (par. 0114 and figure 5A), but does not discloses an inner coil and an outer coil wound in a circular shape are formed by separate closed circuits; and when strong heat is required, both the two coils are operated, and when weak heat is required, only the inner coils is operated. KR 1020200075551 discloses an inner coil and an outer coil wound in a circular shape are formed by separate closed circuits; and when strong heat is required, both the two coils are operated, and when weak heat is required, only the inner coils is operated (claims 1 and 4, figures 4 and 5). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to utilize in Kitaizumi an inner coil and an outer coil wound in a circular shape are formed by separate closed circuits; and when strong heat is required, both the two coils are operated, and when weak heat is required, only the inner coils is operated as taught by KR 1020200075551 in order to have power suitable for heating the object. Regarding claim 8, KR 1020200075551 discloses controlling the operations of an inner coil (120) and an outer coil (130) through a control unit (190) according to the size of a cooking container (B, par. 0031, and figures 4-5).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitaizumi et al (US 2011/0100980), in view of KR 1020200075551 and further in view of JP 2000-182762A all cited by applicant. Regarding claim 9, Kitaizumi/ KR 1020200075551 discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except an output unit configured to output a notification when the size of the cooking container is smaller than or equal to the reference size and the cooking container is not aligned to the heating region. JP 2000-182762A discloses detecting a positional deviation of a heating container with respect to an induction heating device and displaying or warning same (claim 6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to utilize in Kitaizumi/ KR 1020200075551 detecting a positional deviation of a heating container with respect to an induction heating device and displaying or warning same as taught by JP 2000-182762A in order to detect and compare the position and the size of the cooking container with the reference size.
Claim(s) 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitaizumi et al (US 2011/0100980) cited by applicant. Regarding claims 10-11, Kitaizumi discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention includes the shield circuit (17, Figure 1B) but silent the shield device comprising: a case disposed on an upper portion of the cooktop; and a shield coil disposed inside of the case. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to have the shield device comprising: a case disposed on an upper portion of the cooktop; and a shield coil disposed inside of the case in order to prevent the leakage magnetic field to outside of the case. Regarding claims 12-14, additional features could be readily derived from the magnetic field shield member (17) disclosed by Kitaizumi, which has a greater size than the heating region of the heating coil (par. 0114, Figure 5A). Regarding claims 15 and 20, additional features could be derived through simple design change to the magnetic field shield member (17) for generating a magnetic field reverse to the magnetic field generated by the heating coil (par. 0114, figures 5A). Regarding claim 16, Kitaizumi discloses a ferrite core (27) disposed below the working coil (2, 3), wherein the ferrite core (27) negates the effects of a portion of the first magnetic field near the ferrite core (Figure 2B). Regarding claim 17, Kitaizumi discloses an aluminum plate (13, par. 0125) disposed below the ferrite core (27). Regarding claim 18, Kitaizumi discloses the shield circuit (17) further comprises an aluminum plate (par. 0114). Regarding claim 19, Kitaizumi discloses the working coil (2, 3) is disposed on an upper portion of the aluminum plate (13, Figure 5B).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: OK et al (US 2024/0060653) discloses cooktop.
/QUANG T VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 August 22, 2026