Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “unit” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
processor that performs: by a communication function reconfiguration unit
processor performs, by an energy saving information notification unit
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites “computer-readable medium”; which covers transitory and non-transitory medium. A transitory medium is non-statutory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Wang et al. US 2022/0407664 A1.
Claims 1, 12 and 13:
Wang discloses a radio access network control apparatus that controls O-RAN including O-RU as radio unit, comprising at least one processor that performs: by a communication function reconfiguration unit, reconfiguring at least one of hardware and software of at least one of transmitter circuit and receiver circuit in the O-RU (See paras 99, 120 and 123, O-RU configuring RU/cell).
With regards to claim 13, a computer-readable medium storing a radio access network control program (See para 52, program on computer-readable memory)
Claim 2:
Wang discloses that the communication function reconfiguration unit reconfigures at least one of hardware and software of at least one of the transmitter circuit and the receiver circuit in accordance with change in antenna configuration of the O-RU (See paras 99, 120 and 123, O-RU configuring RU/cell).
Claim 4:
Wang discloses at least a portion of the communication function reconfiguration unit is provided in at least one of the SMO and the Non-RT RIC, and generates policy or necessary information for reconfiguration of the O-RU based on information collected concerning the O-RU (See para 99 and 120, cell can be activated/deactivated through O-RU based on the cell load).
Claim 5:
Wang discloses at least a portion of the communication function reconfiguration unit is provided in the Near-RT RIC (Near-Real Time RAN Intelligent Controller) (See fig. 8, Energy saving rApp 803), and reconfigures the O-RU through the E2 interface (See paras 99 and 132, cell activation/deactivation at the E2 node through O-RU. Also see para 64, “The E2 Node 104 is a logical node terminating the E2 interface” and para 85, “Reporting of cell activation and deactivation status from E2 node(s) to near-RT RIC, through E2 interfaces”).
Claim 6:
Wang discloses that the reconfiguration by the communication function reconfiguration unit includes deactivating at least a portion of at least one of the transmitter circuit and the receiver circuit in the O-RU (See para 99 and 120, cell can be activated/deactivated through O-RU based on the cell load).
Claim 7:
Wang discloses that the at least one processor performs, by an energy saving information notification unit, causing the O-RU to notify energy saving information concerning energy saving mode that the O-RU can support (See paras 99 and 120, for energy saving activating and deactivating RU/Cells through O-RU), and
the communication function reconfiguration unit reconfigures at least one of hardware and software of at least one of the transmitter circuit and the receiver circuit in the O-RU in accordance with the energy saving mode (See paras 99 and 120, for energy saving activating and deactivating RU/Cells through O-RU).
Claim 9:
Wang discloses that the energy saving information includes whether the communication function of the O-RU during the energy saving mode can be deactivated (See paras 99 and 120, for energy saving activating and deactivating RU/Cells through O-RU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. in view of Ying et al. US 2024/0214272 A1.
Claim 3:
Wang doesn’t disclose at least a portion of the communication function reconfiguration unit is provided in at least one of the SMO (Service Management and Orchestration) and the Non-RT RIC (Non-Real Time RAN Intelligent Controller), and reconfigures the O-RU through at least one of the Open Fronthaul and the O1 interface.
Ying discloses at least a portion of the communication function reconfiguration unit is provided in at least one of the SMO (Service Management and Orchestration) and the Non-RT RIC (Non-Real Time RAN Intelligent Controller), and reconfigures the O-RU through at least one of the Open Fronthaul and the O1 interface (See para 162, “The Open Fronthaul M-plane interface between the SMO 2602 and the O-RAN Radio Unit (O-RU) 2616 supports the O-RU 2616 management in the O-RAN hybrid model. The Open Fronthaul M-plane 20) interface is an optional interface to the SMO 2602 that is included for backward compatibility purposes, and is intended for management of the O-RU 2616 in hybrid mode only. The management architecture of flat mode and its relation to the O1 interface for the O-RU 2616 is for future study. The O-RU 2616 termination of the O1 interface towards the SMO 2602”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang with the teachings of Ying to improve the method disclosed by Wang by including the feature of reconfiguration unit in SMO and reconfigures through Fronthaul and O1 interface. The motivation to combine would have been to make it backward compatible.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475