DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action responsive to the reply filed on 01/07/2026.
Claims 5, 8, 10 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9 and 12-14 have been canceled.
Claims 5, 8, 10, 11 and 15-17 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
This application does not contain an abstract of the disclosure as required by 37 CFR 1.72(b). An abstract on a separate sheet is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 10, 11, 15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 3 “multiple ribs” should be - - multiple of the ribs - -.
Claim 10, line 16 “without ribs” should be - - without the ribs - -.
Claim 10, line 18 “without ribs” should be - - without the ribs - -.
Claim 11, line 4 “the connecting elements” should be - - the connecting element - -.
Claim 15, line 14 “without ribs” should be - - without the ribs - -.
Claim 15, line 16 “without ribs” should be - - without the ribs - -.
Claim 17, line 3 “without ribs” should be - - without the ribs - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the receiving space" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It is suggested to ament to - - a receiving space - - or define a receiving space earlier in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the opposite arms" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It is suggested to ament to - - opposite arms - - or define opposite arms earlier in the claim.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, 10, 11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sereno (EP 2,108,860 A2), in view of Peterson (US Patent No. 3,562,871).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sereno in view of Peterson discloses, wherein multiple ribs are provided only at end regions of the connection element (see annotated Fig. 7 from Peterson).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sereno in view of Peterson discloses wherein the belt ends each have at least one receiving region (25) for accommodating the connection element, and the receiving region has an elastic surface at least sectionally, with which the rib of the connection element is brought into engagement (see Fig. 2 from Sereno).
Regarding claim 10, Sereno discloses a belt connection for connecting multiple belt ends, the connection comprising:
a plurality of belt ends (see annotated Fig. 3);
a connection element (24) passing through a first belt end of the plurality of belt ends, and thereby connecting, each of the plurality of belt ends to each other (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 3);
the first belt end comprising opposite arms having a receiving space therebetween (see annotated Fig. 3); and
the opposite arms comprising elastic receiving channels (25) (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0002]).
Sereno does not disclose the connection element comprising a plurality of ring shaped ribs on an outer surface thereof, a rib of the plurality of ribs engaging a second belt end of the plurality of belt ends to inhibit separation of the plurality of belt ends from each other; and the rib of the plurality ribs having at least two flanks that converge at an acute angle relative to one another, the ribs located at opposite ends of the connection element, the connection element comprising an area without ribs located axially between the ribs relative to an axial dimension of the connection element, the area without ribs located in the receiving space and the ribs connected to the opposite arms, and the flanks elastically deforming bounding surfaces of the elastic receiving channels such that the bounding surfaces inhibit movement of the connecting element toward the receiving space to inhibit the separation of the plurality of belt ends from each other.
However, Peterson teaches the connection element comprising a plurality of ring shaped ribs on an outer surface thereof; and the rib of the plurality ribs having at least two flanks that converge at an acute angle relative to one another, the ribs located at opposite ends of the connection element, the connection element comprising an area without ribs located axially between the ribs relative to an axial dimension of the connection element (see annotated Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the connection element from Sereno with the connection element from Peterson that has ribs at opposite ends, in order to facilitate the insertion of the connection element into the receiving channel of the belt, and achieve friction grip and bulging inside the receiving channel to strongly secure the connection element into the receiving channel.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sereno in view of Peterson discloses wherein the connection element extends orthogonally to longitudinal dimensions of the plurality of belt ends, the plurality of ribs engaging the plurality of belt ends inhibiting a movement of the connecting elements orthogonally to the longitudinal dimensions (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 3 from Sereno).
Regarding claim 15, Sereno discloses a belt connection for connecting multiple belt ends, the connection comprising:
a plurality of belt ends (see annotated Fig. 3);
a connection element (24) passing through, and thereby connecting, each of the plurality of belt ends to each other (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 3);
the connection element (24) extending orthogonally relative to longitudinal dimensions of the plurality of belt ends (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 3); and
the opposite arms comprising elastic receiving channels (25) having elastically deformable boundary surfaces, the surfaces inhibiting movement of the connecting element toward the receiving space by a form-fitting engagement of the connecting element (24) therewith when the receiving channels (25) are deformed under a force to provide a secure connection of the belt ends (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0002]).
Sereno does not disclose the connection element comprising a plurality of ribs on an outer surface thereof, the plurality of ribs contacting and engaging the plurality of belt ends to inhibit separation of the plurality of belt ends from each other; the plurality of ribs engaging the plurality of belt ends inhibiting a movement of the connection element orthogonally relative to the longitudinal dimensions; and the ribs are located at opposite ends of the connection element, the connection element comprising an area without ribs located axially between the ribs relative to an axial dimension of the connection element, the area without ribs located in the receiving space and the ribs connected to the opposite arms.
However, Peterson teaches the connection element comprising a plurality of ribs on an outer surface thereof; and the ribs are located at opposite ends of the connection element, the connection element comprising an area without ribs located axially between the ribs relative to an axial dimension of the connection element (see annotated Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the connection element from Sereno with the connection element from Peterson that has ribs at opposite ends, in order to facilitate the insertion of the connection element into the receiving channel of the belt, and achieve friction grip and bulging inside the receiving channel to strongly secure the connection element into the receiving channel.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sereno in view of Peterson discloses wherein the connection element (24) extends from a first belt end of the plurality of belts ends through a second belt end of the plurality of belt ends to the first belt end (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 3 from Sereno).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sereno in view of Peterson discloses wherein the ribs are located at opposite ends of the connection element, and further comprising an area without ribs located axially between the ribs relative to an axial dimension of the connection element (see annotated Fig. 7 from Peterson).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 01/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 10 and 15 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in Sereno, in view of Peterson. Sereno discloses a belt with an elastic receiving channel, and Petersen teaches a connector with ribs at opposite ends and with an area without ribs, capable to inhibit orthogonal motion of the connector toward a space between belt arms of a belt, and to inhibit separation of belt ends.
Examiner’s Comment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims submitted in the reply filed on 01/07/2026, the drawing objections indicated in the prior Office action have been withdrawn.
The examiner acknowledges the interview request from the applicant. The examiner encourages the applicant to schedule a telephone interview prior to the Office action reply.
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677