DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of the response filed on 6 March 2026, where:
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended;
Claims 1-13 pending in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 10, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0065655 issued to Leys et al (cited in the IDS filed on 1/16/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Leys et al. teach in Figures 1-9 and respective portions of the specification of a frame folding and fixing device (600), comprising:
a first locking device (676) on a front leg (622) of a frame; and
a second locking device (670) on a handle (626) of the frame, when the front leg (622) of the frame is folded relative (see right side of Figure 4) to the handle of the frame, the first locking device (676) and the second locking device (670) are rotated towards each other and locked; and
when the front leg (622) of the frame is unfolded (see left side of Figure 4) relative to the handle (626) of the frame, the first locking device (676) and the second locking device (670) are rotated away from each other and unlocked.
Regarding Claim 2, Leys et al. teach the first locking device (676) includes a base (the planar surface of 676) and a boss (656), and the boss (656) is disposed on the base and at a side of the base.
Regarding Claim 6, Leys et al. teach the first locking device (676) includes a boss (the boss is the pin that extends from the right side of element 656 in Figure 7) and a stopper (the stopper is the pin that extends from the left side of elements 656 in Figure 7), and the boss and the stopper are disposed opposite (see Figure 7) to each other.
Regarding Claim 10, Leys et al. teach a baby carrier (a seat is disclosed in at least paragraph [0014]) comprising a handle (126), a front leg (122), a joint (120) between the handle (126) and the front leg (122), and a frame folding and fixing device (600), the frame folding and fixing device (600) being disposed at the joint (120).
Regarding Claim 11, Leys et al. teach the handle (126) is provided with a handle fastener (a hole is shown near element 626 for receiving a fastener), and the front leg is provided with a front leg fastener (a hole is shown near element 622 for receiving a fastener).
Regarding Claim 13, Leys et al. teach the baby carrier further includes a frame unfolding and locking member (654) and a resilient member (spring-loaded locking member 650) in the joint (see Figure 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-9, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in this case is the inclusion of: in re claim 3 where the second locking device includes an arc rib and a locking projection, and the arc rib is fitted on the base and is configured to slide on the base; in re claim 7 where the second locking device includes an arc groove and a locking projection, the locking projection is disposed in the arc groove and protrudes towards an interior of the arc groove, and the boss and the stopper are fitted in the arc groove; in re claim 12, the includes of the joint including first and second housings, a close cover for covering the first housing and the second housing, the front leg fastener is connected with the first housing, and the first locking device is disposed on the first housing; the handle fastener is connected with the second housing, and the second locking device is disposed on the second housing, in combination with other elements recited, not found in the prior art of record.
Applicant's arguments filed 6 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument’s, page 6 of the response, that Ley does not teach or suggest fittings 676, 670 rotate toward each other when locked and rotate away from each other when unlocked. Applicant’s further arguments that the plate-like structures cannot rotate toward each other or away from each other.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The portion of the first locking device (plate 676) that connects with the front leg (622) is rotated towards the portion of the second locking device (plate 670) that connects with the handle of the frame (626) when locked in the folded configuration (shown in Figure 5 for example) and first and second plates that connect with the rotate away from each other when they are unlocked relative to each other into the stroller configuration (shown in Figure 5) thus meeting the claimed limitation of the of the first locking device and the second locking device being rotated towards and away from each other.
Further the first locking structure (element 42; first mention in paragraph [0041]) and second locking device (44, paragraph [0041]) are shown in Figure 3 to be located on the plate like structures connected to the front leg and handle frame in a similar geometric configuration as Ley.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIAN SWENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3618
/BRIAN L SWENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613