DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed January 16, 2024 and June 27, 2024 have been considered.
________________________________________
Specification
The specification is objected to under 37 CFR 1.71(a) because paragraph [0012] describes the secondary reel as both fully unwound and fully wound at the same endpoint. The disclosed second endpoint is the fully unwound condition of the main reel, as also shown by the winding cycle in paragraphs [0031]-[0036] and Figures 3-8. See MPEP 608.01. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In paragraph [0012], replace "when the secondary reel is fully unwound" with "when the main reel is fully unwound".
________________________________________
Claim Interpretation
In accordance with paragraphs [0010] and [0028] of the specification, spiral winding places successive turns radially above one another, whereas cylindrical winding distributes successive turns axially along the reel. The terms describe different winding geometries, rather than merely different shapes of the line cross-section.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - US 3,807,648 A.
Reference 2 - US 6,372,988 B1.
Reference 3 - US 2010/0051888 A1.
Reference 4 - DE 2 900 187 A1.
Reference 5 - US 2013/0020426 A1.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) A reel arrangement, comprising: (L2) a main reel mounted on a reel axle and defined by a winding diameter; (L3) a secondary reel mounted on the reel axle and defined by a winding diameter which is smaller than the winding diameter of the main reel; (L4) a line running from a stationary first line end via a line loop to the secondary reel in order to be wound up and unwound there, the line being then routed to the main reel and secured to at least one of the main reel and the secondary reel, (L5) wherein the secondary reel is winding spirally and the main reel is winding cylindrically, (L6) wherein the line loop is under the influence of a tensioning force which is directed in opposition to a winding direction of the secondary reel and pulls on the line loop such as to spirally wind the line at all times; and (L7) a weight body connected to the line loop for displacement in a longitudinal direction of the line in order to generate the tensioning force.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 teaches a reel arrangement for dispensing cable to light fitting 1 (Figs. 1-2; col. 2). (L2) Its large diameter drum section 4 rotates on the common drum axis and stores the dispensing cable in axially distributed helical turns (Figs. 1, 1A and 2; col. 2). (L3) Its small diameter section 5 is fixed to section 4 on that axis and has the smaller winding diameter (Fig. 2; col. 2). (L4) Reference 1 routes cable from the fixed power connection through loop 8 onto small section 5, through the inside of the drum and onto large section 4 (Figs. 1-2; col. 2). Reference 1 does not expressly identify a positive cable fastener to the reel. Reference 2 supplies that detail: cable portion 58 passes through aperture 96 and cable bracket 98 fastens it to spool side wall 54 (Fig. 3; col. 6). (L5) Reference 1 describes either two helical sections 4, 5 or two flat drums 9, 10, and does not expressly disclose the claimed mixed winding pair. Reference 2 teaches round cable portion 58 distributed across spool 50 and flat cable portion 74 wound in a planar spiral about smaller hub portion 72 on the same axle 12 (Figs. 3 and 5A-5D; cols. 5-6). Applying its flat spiral winding to small section 5 while retaining the cylindrical winding on large section 4 provides the claimed pair. (L6) Reference 1 does not expressly provide an added tensioning device that keeps this modified secondary winding taut throughout its cycle. Reference 3 teaches cable 320 in variable festoon arrangement 350 passing around large diameter pulley 352, with weight 360 pulling the loop downward to keep the cable taut and prevent tangling while cable feeds in and out (Fig. 1a; [0039]). On Reference 1's loop 8, that pull opposes take-up onto small section 5 and maintains tension on the flat spiral winding supplied by Reference 2. The orderly spiral throughout the cycle is the predictable result of this combination, not an express disclosure of a spiral reel in Reference 3. (L7) Reference 3 attaches weight 360 below rotatable pulley 352 at the bottom of cable loop 350; cable 320 feeds around the pulley while the weighted pulley changes position (Fig. 1a; [0039]). Thus the weight is connected through the pulley and moves longitudinally relative to successive portions of cable, rather than being clamped to one material point.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adopt Reference 2's flat spiral winding on Reference 1's smaller drum, retain Reference 1's cylindrical dispensing winding and free fixed-side loop, and fasten the cable to the reel with Reference 2's bracket arrangement, because Reference 2 uses the flat portion to accommodate compact spiral storage while the round portion winds conveniently on the dispensing spool and the fastening transfers reel motion to the cable (Fig. 3; cols. 1-2 and 5-6). It would also have been obvious to place Reference 3's weighted traveling pulley in that loop because [0039] teaches this arrangement specifically to keep a changing electrical cable loop taut and prevent tangling as cable feeds in and out. With the flat portion aligned to the spiral reel, gravity supplies opposing take-up tension and keeps the turns ordered while the pulley rolls along the line. The large pulley of Reference 3 can preserve the minimum cable bend radius emphasized in Reference 1 (col. 1); selecting its diameter, mass and travel for the cable and stroke follows Reference 3's express sizing instructions. The result is predictable continuous electrical connection with mixed winding geometry and positive loop tension, without requiring a rotary electrical contact or changing the coupled rotation of the reels.
________________________________________
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3, and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The reel arrangement of claim 14, (L2) wherein the secondary reel includes a line portion which has a winding length which is smaller than a winding length of a line portion on the main reel, so that as the main reel is unwound in a first direction of rotation, the winding direction on the secondary reel reverses.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 14 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1's initial drum embodiment does not expressly reverse the secondary winding during continued main payout. Reference 4 supplies the shorter secondary winding and reversal: smaller drum body 26 stores flat cable 40, its turns unwind to enlarge loop 42 while round cable 24 pays out from larger drum body 18, and at mid-travel cable 40 begins rewinding in the opposite sense while the same payout rotation continues (Figs. 1-2; description pp. 7-8; claim 8). Its small-diameter, shorter flat-cable winding thereby manages the longer main-cable stroke. Reference 2 also depicts flat cable 74 unwinding and reverse-winding during continued payout of round cable 58 (Figs. 5A-5D; col. 6).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the smaller spiral reel of the claim 14 combination with Reference 4's shorter secondary winding and midpoint reversal, because Reference 4 explains that reverse take-up recaptures the released flat cable and reduces the maximum loop size (description p. 8). The main reel can continue paying out while the secondary reel passes through its unwound position and begins opposite-sense winding, as also shown by Reference 2's Figs. 5A-5D. Reference 3's weighted pulley continues to remove slack from the changing loop, producing the predictable smaller loop excursion without interrupting the main payout.
________________________________________
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3, and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The reel arrangement of claim 15, (L2) wherein the winding diameter of the main reel and the winding diameter of the secondary reel are selected in such a way that when the main reel is completely wound up and when the main reel is completely unwound, the line portion of the secondary reel is completely wound up in each case.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 15 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 does not expressly state that the secondary portion is fully wound at both main endpoints. Reference 4 teaches flat cable 40 fully wound in the initial position, fully unwound at the middle position, and wound back onto drum body 26 in the reverse direction during the remaining travel, reducing the maximum size of loop 42 (description p. 8; claim 8). The claimed final fully wound condition is inferential: selecting the main winding stroke as twice the secondary unwind stroke gives equal rotation intervals before and after reversal, so the same secondary portion is completely rewound at the final main endpoint. The larger cylindrical main diameter and smaller spiral secondary diameter are selected with the cable lengths to provide those matched strokes. This applies Reference 4's midpoint-reversal teaching to the mixed winding pair, rather than asserting that Reference 4 expressly uses a cylindrical main reel.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to match the main and secondary winding diameters and available cable lengths so that Reference 4's secondary reversal occurs halfway through the main reel's full payout rotation, because this divides loop release and recapture into equal intervals and limits the maximum loop excursion as Reference 4 intends (description p. 8). Equal unwind and reverse-rewind turn counts restore the same fully wound secondary condition at the second endpoint, with opposite winding sense. This is a predictable selection of the disclosed stroke relationship for the coupled reels, while retaining enough free loop length for Reference 3's pulley throughout travel.
________________________________________
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The reel arrangement of claim 14, (L2) further comprising a drive connected to at least one of the main reel and the secondary reel and designed to rotate the main reel and the secondary reel.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 14 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 teaches electric motor 7 driving the joined drum sections 4 and 5, thereby rotating both reels through their connection (Figs. 1-2; col. 2). The mixed winding and weighted-loop modifications retain that common drive.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's motor 7 and coupled rotation when adding the mixed winding and weighted pulley explained for claim 14, because the motor winds both sections together and controls the rise and fall of the connected fitting (col. 2). Neither cable-profile selection nor loop tension requires separate reel drives; their functions remain compatible with the disclosed common drive.
________________________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The reel arrangement of claim 14, (L2) wherein the secondary reel and the main reel are arranged directly next to one another.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 14 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 places drum sections 4 and 5 directly adjacent on the common axis (Fig. 2; col. 2). Reference 2 likewise places spool 50 next to smaller hub portion 72 on axle 12, with side wall 54 between the winding regions (Fig. 3; col. 5).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain the directly adjacent mounting of Reference 1's sections 4 and 5 in the claim 14 combination, because adjacent coaxial mounting lets the continuous cable pass internally between the two winding regions and rotate with the joined drum (Fig. 2; col. 2). Reference 2's adjacent spool 50 and hub 72 demonstrate that the mixed winding construction fits the same compact arrangement (Fig. 3). The loop-mounted tensioner does not require separating the reels.
________________________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The reel arrangement of claim 14, (L2) wherein the line is designed to transmit electrical energy to a mobile consumer.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 14 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1's continuous electrical cable connects the fixed power supply to movable light fitting 1, which is raised and lowered by pendant 2 (Figs. 1-2; col. 2). The cable therefore transmits electrical energy to the mobile consumer.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the claim 14 combination with Reference 1's electrical cable supplying movable fitting 1, because Reference 1 already maintains power to that moving consumer without sliding electrical contacts (cols. 1-2). The flat/round electrical cable of Reference 2 and weighted electrical cable loop of Reference 3 preserve that supply function while improving storage and loop control.
________________________________________
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The reel arrangement of claim 14, (L2) further comprising a suspension designed to suspend the reel arrangement above a mobile consumer so as to enable a line end of the line to be lowered from above to the consumer.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 14 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 installs its reel and pendant 2 above light fitting 1, with pendant 2 secured to ceiling 3 and motor 7 mounted on a wall; payout lowers the cable end and the light fitting from above (Figs. 1-2; col. 2). This is the claimed overhead suspension and delivery arrangement.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's overhead suspension for the claim 14 combination, because it allows the powered fitting and line end to descend from ceiling level while excess cable remains stored above the consumer (Figs. 1-2). Reference 3's overhead weighted festoon likewise takes up changing cable length by vertical pulley travel ([0039]); providing sufficient clearance for that travel preserves the predictable overhead payout function.
________________________________________
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The reel arrangement of claim 14, (L2) wherein the line is designed for conduction of energy and/or a signal and/or a fluid, with the fluid being selected from the group consisting of gas, liquid, flowable solid and any combination thereof.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 14 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1's cable supplies electrical power from the fixed connection to light fitting 1 (Figs. 1-2; col. 2). This meets the expressly recited energy alternative. The claim's inclusive alternatives do not require that an energy-only line also carry a signal or any of the listed fluids.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain an electrically conductive line in the claim 14 combination, because References 1 and 2 use continuous conductors to supply the movable load while avoiding sliding contacts, and Reference 3 applies its tensioner to an electrical cable ([0039]). Selecting that expressly permitted energy-transmission alternative preserves the disclosed function; the rejection does not depend on substituting an unmentioned fluid.
________________________________________
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3, and further in view of Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The reel arrangement of claim 14, (L2) wherein the line is a hybrid line with several line portions for different line purposes.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 14 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 does not expressly disclose a hybrid line having portions serving different purposes. Reference 5 supplies this feature: conduit 10 connects stationary apparatus 18 to mobile apparatus 19 and includes electrical lines for image or control signals, a light-conductor cable for illumination and a lumen or hose for flushing liquid (Fig. 1; [0068]). Paragraph [0016] expressly describes hybrid lines transmitting signals, power and fluids. These distinct service portions meet the different-purpose limitation, beyond merely several power conductors.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 5's hybrid line construction in the claim 14 reel combination for a consumer needing more than one service, because Reference 5 [0016] expressly teaches carrying signals, power and fluids through a continuous hybrid line without rotary joints. Its [0068]-[0069] explains taking up the multi-service conduit between fixed and movable equipment to keep excess line off the floor and avoid damage and trip hazards. Providing the distinct service channels in the round and flat cable portions, with their specified bending paths preserved, predictably stores those services together on the existing reels while the weighted loop maintains tension; no independent rotary connection for each service is required.
________________________________________
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The reel arrangement of claim 14, (L2) for use in an electric line for charging an electric vehicle.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 14 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 describes a movable light fitting rather than vehicle charging. Reference 2 expressly identifies electric vehicle charging among applications of its continuous flat-round cable reel, including service in wet environments (Summary of the Invention, cols. 3-4). Its conductive cable portions 58 and 74 and reel therefore provide the claimed charging suitability when used in the combined arrangement.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the claim 14 arrangement with a cable suitable for charging an electric vehicle as expressly taught in Reference 2, because its continuous cable construction permits power delivery in the wet or outdoor conditions identified for that application without a spliced conductor junction (Summary of the Invention, cols. 3-4). Reference 1 supplies variable cable reach and Reference 3 controls slack, so applying the known charging cable use preserves the predictable electrical supply and storage functions.
________________________________________
Conclusion
Claims 1-13 are canceled. Claims 14-23 are pending. Claims 14-23 are rejected.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
WO 1996/016891 A1 describes unequal coupled drums and reversal of the smaller-drum winding, but contains the return cable within stationary hood 40. It does not supply the weight body movable longitudinally along the free line loop of claim 14 and does not provide a better primary disclosure of that loop arrangement.
US 5,921,497 A describes flat cable transfer between stator 24 and rotor 32 using arm 42 and pulley 54. Counterweight 56 balances the arm, while torque module 44 controls transfer. The counterweight is not the weight body connected for longitudinal displacement along the tensioned line loop required by claim 14.
JP 2015-182838 A describes cable guide 5 moving between spiral groove 61G of a rotating guide plate and spiral groove 62G of a fixed guide plate. That constrained guide arrangement does not provide the claimed free line loop acted on by a longitudinally traveling weight, and does not improve the primary mapping of claim 14.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615