Examiner’s Notes
The claims are not directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou (20190080483) in view of Chou (20170347122).
Regarding claim 1, Mammou teaches A method of transmitting point cloud data, the method comprising: encoding point cloud data (par. 291); and transmitting the encoded point cloud data (par. 291, sent to recipient).
wherein the encoding of the point cloud data includes: segmenting a tree structure including the point cloud data into one or more-layer groups (par. 291, octree levels);
Chou teaches signaling information (par. 74, side information) and obtaining a motion vector of each layer group by performing motion estimation in units of layer groups; and compressing the point cloud data by performing inter prediction based on the motion vector of each layer group (par. 73-74, par. 124 teaches different octree levels and pars. 7374 teaches motion estimators and motion vectors for each octree level. Pars. 74-76 teaches compressing using motion vectors and inter prediction of the octree layer group).
It would have been obvious prior to the filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Mammou the ability to use motion estimation and motion compression as taught by Chou. The reason is to allow for motion compression. Further both Mammou and Chou teach octree data.
Regarding claim 2, see par. 266 of Mammou and par. 124-125 of Chou, each teaches octree levels.
Regarding claim 3, see pars. 73-74 and 124-125 which teaches interframe compression for each level.
Regarding claims 6-8 and 11-13 see the rejection of claims 1-3 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 9-10 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims recite wherein the signaling information includes motion vector information of the one or more layer groups, and the motion vector information of a lower layer group of the one or more layer groups includes additional detail information for a motion vector of an upper layer group and wherein the segmenting of the layer group includes segmenting at least one layer group of the one or more layer groups into a plurality of sub-groups, and when the layer group includes a plurality of layers, each sub-group includes a parent-child pair. These features are not found in the prior art.
Conclusion
/HADI AKHAVANNIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676