Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, and 10-15 is pending for examination.
Claim(s) 3 and 9 have been canceled.
This Action is made NON- FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the previous rejection of claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues,
“Fong, even when combined with Aizawa, fails to teach or suggest the claimed illumination architecture in which an aperture is defined by the light guide at a location corresponding to a tell-tale region, and a second illumination source is selectively activated to provide local backlighting only at that tell-tale region, without increasing luminance elsewhere on the display.
As described in the present disclosure, an aperture is defined by the light guide at a location corresponding to the display region for a tell-tale, and a second illumination source is positioned on an opposing side of the light guide to inject light through the aperture only when the controller determines that the tell-tale should be illuminated. Light added through the aperture is usedspecifically to increase tell-tale luminance without driving additional, unwanted luminance to the remainder of the display, thereby reducing or eliminating the need for global black-state scaling. See, e.g., [0022].
Fong relies on a backlight that is distributed across the display through the light guide, and Aizawa similarly adjusts overall backlight output in response to operating conditions. Neither reference discloses nor contemplates a configuration in which a second illumination source is activated only when a specific tell-tale is to be illuminated and is optically coupled through a discrete aperture defined at the tell-tale region to prevent increased luminance outside that region.”
Examiner disagrees. It is clearly shown in Fig. 3 of Fong that the light tunnels 64 (apertures) cross through the light guide 14 (this can be considered as distributed through under broadest reasonable interpretation and is best illustrated by fig. 7 of Fong) and align with the indicators 36 (tell tales). Fig. 7 shows that the second illumination sources pass light through the light tunnels to illuminate the telltales and is also discussed in para [0023]. Additionally the light tunnels are designed to not let light pass through its wall which can be considered as preventing "increasing luminance of regions of the digital display outside the region of the corresponding tell-tale" as discussed in para [0020]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation in claim 7 “wherein the plurality of apertures are sized and arranged relative to the light guide such that light passing through the apertures is confined by the light guide to increase luminance within a localized tell-tale region of the display, without increasing luminance of regions of the display outside the localized tell-tale region.” Is not supported by the specification. Specifically the specification is devoid of written description “light passing through the apertures is confined by the light guide”. For the purpose of continued examination confined by the light guide will be considered as distributed through the aperture and not into the light guide itself.
Claims 8 and 10-12 do not cure the deficiencies of claim 7 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong et al. ( US 20060126320 A1, hereinafter known as Fong) in view of Tomono et al. (US 20120075831 A1, hereinafter known as Tomono).
Fong was cited in a previous office action
Regarding Claim 13, Fong teaches A vehicle information display assembly comprising: a display including a plurality of tell-tales;
{Para [0001] “The present invention generally relates to display devices and more particularly to a back lit display device with a light guide that permits the mounting of one or more tell tale indicators within an area of a dial face while providing efficient illumination of dial face indicia located along a perimeter of the dial face.”
}
a first illumination source to provide light to the display; a light guide to transmit the light from the first illumination source to the digital display in an even manner, wherein the light guide defines a plurality of apertures each in a region of one of the plurality of tell-tales;
{Para [0021] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 6, the circuit board 18 can include a board member 70 onto which a plurality of first light sources 72 and a plurality of second light sources 74 are mounted. The board member 70 can be coupled to the housing member 16 so as to be positioned in abutment with a side of the housing member 16 that is opposite the light guide 14. The first and second light sources 72 and 74 can be incandescent lamps, light emitting diodes, and/or any other suitable light source. With additional reference to FIG. 7, each of the first light sources 72 can be disposed in the central aperture 62 in the housing member 16 and in-line with the light receiving portion 40 of the light guide 14, while each of the second light sources 74 can be disposed in an associated one of the light tunnels 64 in the housing member 16.”
Para [0019] “A plurality of first apertures 46 and a plurality of second apertures 48 can be formed through the light transmitting portion 42. The first apertures 46 can be located radially between the light receiving portion 40 and second apertures 48 and can be spaced apart in a manner that matches the spacing and location of the indicators 36 on the face 12. Stated another way, the first apertures 46 can be located in-line with the indicators 36 on the face 12. The second apertures 48 can be positioned such that one of the first apertures 46 is disposed circumferentially between a pair of the second apertures 48 and each of the second apertures 48 can be disposed radially in-line with the aperture 44 in the light receiving portion 40.”
}
a plurality of second illumination sources, each proximate to one of the plurality of apertures in the light guide such that one of the plurality of second illumination sources may be activated when a corresponding one of the plurality of tell-tales is activated.
{ Para [0021] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 6, the circuit board 18 can include a board member 70 onto which a plurality of first light sources 72 and a plurality of second light sources 74 are mounted. The board member 70 can be coupled to the housing member 16 so as to be positioned in abutment with a side of the housing member 16 that is opposite the light guide 14. The first and second light sources 72 and 74 can be incandescent lamps, light emitting diodes, and/or any other suitable light source. With additional reference to FIG. 7, each of the first light sources 72 can be disposed in the central aperture 62 in the housing member 16 and in-line with the light receiving portion 40 of the light guide 14, while each of the second light sources 74 can be disposed in an associated one of the light tunnels 64 in the housing member 16.”
Para [0023] “With reference to FIGS. 1, 3, 4 and 7, illumination of the first light sources 72 (as a group) generates light that is transmitted into the light guide 14 for back illumination of face indicia 34, while illumination of a given one of the second light sources 74 (i.e., individually) directly back illuminates an associated one of the indicators 36.”
}
wherein the plurality of apertures are dimensioned and arranged such that, when a corresponding one of the plurality of second illumination sources is activated to illuminate a corresponding tell-tale, light emitted through the corresponding aperture is distributed through the light guide to increase luminance in the region of the corresponding tell-tale without increasing luminance of regions of the digital display outside the region of the corresponding tell-tale.
{It is clearly shown in Fig. 3 of Fong that the light tunnels 64 (apertures) cross through the light guide 14 (this can be considered as distributed through under broadest reasonable interpretation and is best illustrated by fig. 7 of Fong) and align with the indicators 36 (tell tales). Fig. 7 shows that the second illumination sources pass light through the light tunnels to illuminate the telltales and is also discussed in para [0023]. Additionally the light tunnels are designed to not let light pass through its wall which can be considered as preventing "increasing luminance of regions of the digital display outside the region of the corresponding tell-tale" as discussed in para [0020]
}
Fong does not teach a light tube configured to funnel light from the first illumination source;
However, Tomono teaches a light tube configured to funnel light from the first illumination source;
{abstract “Disclosed is a meter illumination device which makes it possible to sufficiently illuminate the indicating sections of the indicating needle and the display panel. A meter housing (8) is equipped with a light guide tube (81) that guides light rays from a light source (7) to the base (42) end of an indicating needle (4); a light guide opening (82) that is provided between the bottom end of the light guide tube (81) and a circuit board (1); an upright reflective circumferential wall section (83) that surrounds the periphery of the light guide opening (82) and is provided at a prescribed distance from the light source (7); a first reflective wall section (85) that is provided in order to perform transmission illumination of the indicating section (5) regions of a display panel (6), and that is contiguous with the upper end of the upright reflective circumferential wall section (83); and a second reflective wall section (86) having a substantially inverted conical shape provided at a point on the outer periphery of the light guide tube (81) for reflectively directing light onto the first reflective wall section (85).”
Para [0038] “In the indicating meter for the speedometer configured in this manner, when the luminous source 7 emits light, part of the illuminating light is guided to the proximal portion 42 of the indicating needle 4 through the through hole 60 of the display panel 6 while being guided toward the inner wall portion of the light guide tubular portion 81 via the light guide opening 82 of the meter housing 8. Subsequently, by being guided from the proximal portion 42 to the indicating portion, the indicating portion 41 of the indicating needle 4 is lit up. Simultaneously, part of the radiated light beam from the luminous sources 7 is reflected and guided via the inner wall surface of the rising reflecting peripheral wall portion 83, is guided toward the inner wall portion of the light guide tubular portion 81 via the light guide opening 82, and is reflected and guided toward the proximal portion 42 of the indicating needle 4, so that the light amount can be compensated, and hence a sufficient amount of illumination brightness of the indicating needle 4 can be maintained.”
Where the light from light source 7 is guided via the light tube to light the needle but also used by the light guide (in this case a reflective chamber 85 shown in fig. 4)
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong to incorporate the teachings of Tomono to use a light tube because it allows for light amount to be compensated as discussed in para [0038] “simultaneously, part of the radiated light beam from the luminous sources 7 is reflected and guided via the inner wall surface of the rising reflecting peripheral wall portion 83, is guided toward the inner wall portion of the light guide tubular portion 81 via the light guide opening 82, and is reflected and guided toward the proximal portion 42 of the indicating needle 4, so that the light amount can be compensated, and hence a sufficient amount of illumination brightness of the indicating needle 4 can be maintained.”
Claim(s) 1-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong et al. ( US 20060126320 A1, hereinafter known as Fong) in view of Aizawa et al. (US 10071631 B1, hereinafter known as Aizawa) and Tomono et al. (US 20120075831 A1, hereinafter known as Tomono).
Regarding Claim 1, Fong teaches A vehicle information display assembly comprising: a
{Para [0001] “The present invention generally relates to display devices and more particularly to a back lit display device with a light guide that permits the mounting of one or more tell tale indicators within an area of a dial face while providing efficient illumination of dial face indicia located along a perimeter of the dial face.”
}
a first illumination source to provide light to the display; a light guide to transmit the light from the first illumination source to the digital display in an even manner, wherein the light guide defines a plurality of apertures each in a region of one of the plurality of tell-tales;
{Para [0021] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 6, the circuit board 18 can include a board member 70 onto which a plurality of first light sources 72 and a plurality of second light sources 74 are mounted. The board member 70 can be coupled to the housing member 16 so as to be positioned in abutment with a side of the housing member 16 that is opposite the light guide 14. The first and second light sources 72 and 74 can be incandescent lamps, light emitting diodes, and/or any other suitable light source. With additional reference to FIG. 7, each of the first light sources 72 can be disposed in the central aperture 62 in the housing member 16 and in-line with the light receiving portion 40 of the light guide 14, while each of the second light sources 74 can be disposed in an associated one of the light tunnels 64 in the housing member 16.”
Para [0019] “A plurality of first apertures 46 and a plurality of second apertures 48 can be formed through the light transmitting portion 42. The first apertures 46 can be located radially between the light receiving portion 40 and second apertures 48 and can be spaced apart in a manner that matches the spacing and location of the indicators 36 on the face 12. Stated another way, the first apertures 46 can be located in-line with the indicators 36 on the face 12. The second apertures 48 can be positioned such that one of the first apertures 46 is disposed circumferentially between a pair of the second apertures 48 and each of the second apertures 48 can be disposed radially in-line with the aperture 44 in the light receiving portion 40.”
}
a plurality of second illumination sources, each proximate to one of the plurality of apertures in the light guide such that one of the plurality of second illumination sources may be activated when a corresponding one of the plurality of tell-tales is activated.
{Para [0021] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 6, the circuit board 18 can include a board member 70 onto which a plurality of first light sources 72 and a plurality of second light sources 74 are mounted. The board member 70 can be coupled to the housing member 16 so as to be positioned in abutment with a side of the housing member 16 that is opposite the light guide 14. The first and second light sources 72 and 74 can be incandescent lamps, light emitting diodes, and/or any other suitable light source. With additional reference to FIG. 7, each of the first light sources 72 can be disposed in the central aperture 62 in the housing member 16 and in-line with the light receiving portion 40 of the light guide 14, while each of the second light sources 74 can be disposed in an associated one of the light tunnels 64 in the housing member 16.”
Para [0023] “With reference to FIGS. 1, 3, 4 and 7, illumination of the first light sources 72 (as a group) generates light that is transmitted into the light guide 14 for back illumination of face indicia 34, while illumination of a given one of the second light sources 74 (i.e., individually) directly back illuminates an associated one of the indicators 36.”
}
wherein the plurality of apertures are dimensioned and arranged such that, when a corresponding one of the plurality of second illumination sources is activated to illuminate a corresponding tell-tale, light emitted through the corresponding aperture is distributed through the light guide to increase luminance in the region of the corresponding tell-tale without increasing luminance of regions of the digital display outside the region of the corresponding tell-tale.
{It is clearly shown in Fig. 3 of Fong that the light tunnels 64 (apertures) cross through the light guide 14 (this can be considered as distributed through under broadest reasonable interpretation and is best illustrated by fig. 7 of Fong) and align with the indicators 36 (tell tales). Fig. 7 shows that the second illumination sources pass light through the light tunnels to illuminate the telltales and is also discussed in para [0023]. Additionally the light tunnels are designed to not let light pass through its wall which can be considered as preventing "increasing luminance of regions of the digital display outside the region of the corresponding tell-tale" as discussed in para [0020]
}
Fong does not teach a digital display.
However, Aizawa teaches a digital display
{Column 4 “The liquid crystal display 8 is such that an image is displayed in the display region 10 by light emitted from the backlight 9 permeating the display region 10. As shown in FIGS. 2 to 4, the display region 10 has a first display region 10a, in which vehicle information is displayed, and a second display region 10b, in which vehicle warning information 13 is displayed. The speedometer 11, a direction indicator 12, and the like, are displayed in the first display region 10a, and the warning information 13, such as a check engine warning, battery voltage warning, water temperature warning, and engine oil warning, is displayed in the second display region 10b.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong to incorporate the teachings of Aizawa to use a digital display rather than a fully analog display because as is known within the art a digital display is configurable allowing for more customizability and different visual effects potentially increasing desirability to users.
Fong in view of Aizawa does not teach a light tube configured to funnel light from the first illumination source;
However, Tomono teaches a light tube configured to funnel light from the first illumination source;
{abstract “Disclosed is a meter illumination device which makes it possible to sufficiently illuminate the indicating sections of the indicating needle and the display panel. A meter housing (8) is equipped with a light guide tube (81) that guides light rays from a light source (7) to the base (42) end of an indicating needle (4); a light guide opening (82) that is provided between the bottom end of the light guide tube (81) and a circuit board (1); an upright reflective circumferential wall section (83) that surrounds the periphery of the light guide opening (82) and is provided at a prescribed distance from the light source (7); a first reflective wall section (85) that is provided in order to perform transmission illumination of the indicating section (5) regions of a display panel (6), and that is contiguous with the upper end of the upright reflective circumferential wall section (83); and a second reflective wall section (86) having a substantially inverted conical shape provided at a point on the outer periphery of the light guide tube (81) for reflectively directing light onto the first reflective wall section (85).”
Para [0038] “In the indicating meter for the speedometer configured in this manner, when the luminous source 7 emits light, part of the illuminating light is guided to the proximal portion 42 of the indicating needle 4 through the through hole 60 of the display panel 6 while being guided toward the inner wall portion of the light guide tubular portion 81 via the light guide opening 82 of the meter housing 8. Subsequently, by being guided from the proximal portion 42 to the indicating portion, the indicating portion 41 of the indicating needle 4 is lit up. Simultaneously, part of the radiated light beam from the luminous sources 7 is reflected and guided via the inner wall surface of the rising reflecting peripheral wall portion 83, is guided toward the inner wall portion of the light guide tubular portion 81 via the light guide opening 82, and is reflected and guided toward the proximal portion 42 of the indicating needle 4, so that the light amount can be compensated, and hence a sufficient amount of illumination brightness of the indicating needle 4 can be maintained.”
Where the light from light source 7 is guided via the light tube to light the needle but also used by the light guide (in this case a reflective chamber 85 shown in fig. 4)
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Aizawa to incorporate the teachings of Tomono to use a light tube because it allows for light amount to be compensated as discussed in para [0038] “simultaneously, part of the radiated light beam from the luminous sources 7 is reflected and guided via the inner wall surface of the rising reflecting peripheral wall portion 83, is guided toward the inner wall portion of the light guide tubular portion 81 via the light guide opening 82, and is reflected and guided toward the proximal portion 42 of the indicating needle 4, so that the light amount can be compensated, and hence a sufficient amount of illumination brightness of the indicating needle 4 can be maintained.”
Regarding Claim 2, Fong in view of Aizawa and Tomono teaches The vehicle information display as recited in claim 1. Fong further teaches wherein the second plurality of illumination sources are each an LED.
{Para [0021] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 6, the circuit board 18 can include a board member 70 onto which a plurality of first light sources 72 and a plurality of second light sources 74 are mounted. The board member 70 can be coupled to the housing member 16 so as to be positioned in abutment with a side of the housing member 16 that is opposite the light guide 14. The first and second light sources 72 and 74 can be incandescent lamps, light emitting diodes, and/or any other suitable light source. With additional reference to FIG. 7, each of the first light sources 72 can be disposed in the central aperture 62 in the housing member 16 and in-line with the light receiving portion 40 of the light guide 14, while each of the second light sources 74 can be disposed in an associated one of the light tunnels 64 in the housing member 16.”
}
Regarding Claim 3, Fong in view of Aizawa teaches The vehicle information display as recited in claim 1. Fong further teaches wherein the plurality of apertures cannot be detected by an observer from an opposing side of the digital display.
{As discussed in the 112b rejection what can be considered detectable is subjective.
From Fig. 2 and 3 of Fong the apertures do not appear detectable.
}
Regarding Claim 4, Fong in view of Aizawa and Tomono teaches The vehicle information display as recited in claim 1. Aizawa further teaches wherein the amount of black light provided by the first illumination source is increased when one of the plurality of tell-tales is actuated.
{Column 6 “While warning information is being displayed by the warning information display unit in the second display region 10b, the CPU 1 uses the backlight luminosity adjustment unit to gradually increase the backlight luminosity in a third setting period that is shorter than the first setting period, and after a maximum value is reached, maintains the backlight luminosity at the maximum value for a fourth setting period that is the difference between the first setting period and third setting period. For the succeeding second setting period, the CPU 1 instantaneously adjusts the backlight luminosity to a luminosity based on the external light brightness (normal mode backlight luminosity).”
Column 4 “The liquid crystal display 8 is such that an image is displayed in the display region 10 by light emitted from the backlight 9 permeating the display region 10. As shown in FIGS. 2 to 4, the display region 10 has a first display region 10a, in which vehicle information is displayed, and a second display region 10b, in which vehicle warning information 13 is displayed. The speedometer 11, a direction indicator 12, and the like, are displayed in the first display region 10a, and the warning information 13, such as a check engine warning, battery voltage warning, water temperature warning, and engine oil warning, is displayed in the second display region 10b.”
Where the backlight can be considered the illumination source as it is used to illuminate the entire display and thus aligns with the first light sources of Fong. The warning information can be considered as tell-tales
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong to incorporate the teachings of Aizawa to use increase backlight brightness because it improves driver attention column 7 “the backlight luminosity is adjusted to the maximum value, because of which the advantage of the driver noticing the display of the warning information 13 is further enhanced.”
Regarding Claim 5, Fong in view of Aizawa and Tomono teaches The vehicle information display as recited in claim 1. Aizawa further teaches wherein the increase in light by the first illumination source when the second light source is illuminated is less than when the second light source is not illuminated.
Column 6 “While warning information is being displayed by the warning information display unit in the second display region 10b, the CPU 1 uses the backlight luminosity adjustment unit to gradually increase the backlight luminosity in a third setting period that is shorter than the first setting period, and after a maximum value is reached, maintains the backlight luminosity at the maximum value for a fourth setting period that is the difference between the first setting period and third setting period. For the succeeding second setting period, the CPU 1 instantaneously adjusts the backlight luminosity to a luminosity based on the external light brightness (normal mode backlight luminosity).”
Column 6-7 “compared to the daytime, the backlight luminosity is set to a low value at night, because of which there is a possibility of the driver being dazzled when the backlight luminosity instantaneously reaches the maximum value. Because of this, when the backlight luminosity is adjusted to the maximum value in the third setting period, the backlight luminosity is increased gradually in order that the driver is not dazzled. Meanwhile, when the backlight luminosity is adjusted from the maximum value to a luminosity based on the external light brightness for the second setting period, the backlight luminosity is instantaneously reduced because the driver is not dazzled. When the background color gradation of the second display region 10b is white, the backlight luminosity is adjusted to the maximum value, because of which the advantage of the driver noticing the display of the warning information 13 is further enhanced.”
Applicant has not specified what time period “when” encompasses in either the claims or the specification. Thus “when the second light source is illuminated” can be interpreted as when the second light source initially illuminated (In Aizawa the period before maximum brightness is reached). Thus “when the second light source is not illuminated” can be interpreted as any point when the tale is not illuminated. Thus “the increase in light by the first illumination source” “when the second light source is not illuminated” under broadest reasonable interpretation can be considered as the maximum increase that would occur during the day. Column 5 “Meanwhile, in the daytime normal mode, it is often the case that the backlight luminosity is set to be high, and may even be at a maximum value.”
Fong already teaches the second light source being used to illuminate the tell tales
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong to incorporate the teachings of Aizawa to use increase backlight but not to a maximum value initially because it prevents the driver from being dazzled. Column 6-7 “compared to the daytime, the backlight luminosity is set to a low value at night, because of which there is a possibility of the driver being dazzled when the backlight luminosity instantaneously reaches the maximum value. Because of this, when the backlight luminosity is adjusted to the maximum value in the third setting period, the backlight luminosity is increased gradually in order that the driver is not dazzled. Meanwhile, when the backlight luminosity is adjusted from the maximum value to a luminosity based on the external light brightness for the second setting period, the backlight luminosity is instantaneously reduced because the driver is not dazzled. When the background color gradation of the second display region 10b is white, the backlight luminosity is adjusted to the maximum value, because of which the advantage of the driver noticing the display of the warning information 13 is further enhanced.”
Regarding Claim 6, Fong in view of Aizawa and Tomono teaches The vehicle information display as recited in claim 1. Aizawa further teaches wherein the amount of black light provided by the first illumination source is not increased when one of the plurality of tell-tales is actuated.
{Column 5 “Meanwhile, in the daytime normal mode, it is often the case that the backlight luminosity is set to be high, and may even be at a maximum value. In this kind of case, there is a possibility of the driver not noticing even though the background color first gradation of the second display region 10b is set to a maximum (white) in the warning display mode. Because of this, the advantage of the driver's attention being directed to the second display region 10b is obtained by causing the background color of the second display region 10b in the warning display mode to change between the first gradation and second gradation.”
The first illumination source is not being increased because it is already at a maximum value
}
Fong teaches in para [0023] “With reference to FIGS. 1, 3, 4 and 7, illumination of the first light sources 72 (as a group) generates light that is transmitted into the light guide 14 for back illumination of face indicia 34, while illumination of a given one of the second light sources 74 (i.e., individually) directly back illuminates an associated one of the indicators 36.” Thus it is implied in Fong that illumination of the backlight from the first light sources is independent of the illumination of the tell tales
Regarding Claim 14, Fong in view of Tomono teaches The vehicle information display as recited in claim 13
Fong in view of Tomono does not teach a digital display.
However, Aizawa teaches a digital display
{Column 4 “The liquid crystal display 8 is such that an image is displayed in the display region 10 by light emitted from the backlight 9 permeating the display region 10. As shown in FIGS. 2 to 4, the display region 10 has a first display region 10a, in which vehicle information is displayed, and a second display region 10b, in which vehicle warning information 13 is displayed. The speedometer 11, a direction indicator 12, and the like, are displayed in the first display region 10a, and the warning information 13, such as a check engine warning, battery voltage warning, water temperature warning, and engine oil warning, is displayed in the second display region 10b.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Tomono to incorporate the teachings of Aizawa to use a digital display rather than a fully analog display because as is known within the art a digital display is configurable allowing for more customizability and different visual effects potentially increasing desirability to users.
Claim(s) 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong et al. ( US 20060126320 A1, hereinafter known as Fong) in view of Aizawa et al. (US 10071631 B1, hereinafter known as Aizawa).
Regarding claim 7, Fong teaches A method of communicating information relating to a vehicle operating parameter comprising:
{Para [0001] “The present invention generally relates to display devices and more particularly to a back lit display device with a light guide that permits the mounting of one or more tell tale indicators within an area of a dial face while providing efficient illumination of dial face indicia located along a perimeter of the dial face.”
}
lighting a
{Para [0021] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 6, the circuit board 18 can include a board member 70 onto which a plurality of first light sources 72 and a plurality of second light sources 74 are mounted. The board member 70 can be coupled to the housing member 16 so as to be positioned in abutment with a side of the housing member 16 that is opposite the light guide 14. The first and second light sources 72 and 74 can be incandescent lamps, light emitting diodes, and/or any other suitable light source. With additional reference to FIG. 7, each of the first light sources 72 can be disposed in the central aperture 62 in the housing member 16 and in-line with the light receiving portion 40 of the light guide 14, while each of the second light sources 74 can be disposed in an associated one of the light tunnels 64 in the housing member 16.”
Para [0023] “With reference to FIGS. 1, 3, 4 and 7, illumination of the first light sources 72 (as a group) generates light that is transmitted into the light guide 14 for back illumination of face indicia 34, while illumination of a given one of the second light sources 74 (i.e., individually) directly back illuminates an associated one of the indicators 36.”
}
and illuminating one of a plurality of tell-tales by actuating one of a plurality of second illumination sources associated with the one of the plurality of tell-tales.
{ Para [0021] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 6, the circuit board 18 can include a board member 70 onto which a plurality of first light sources 72 and a plurality of second light sources 74 are mounted. The board member 70 can be coupled to the housing member 16 so as to be positioned in abutment with a side of the housing member 16 that is opposite the light guide 14. The first and second light sources 72 and 74 can be incandescent lamps, light emitting diodes, and/or any other suitable light source. With additional reference to FIG. 7, each of the first light sources 72 can be disposed in the central aperture 62 in the housing member 16 and in-line with the light receiving portion 40 of the light guide 14, while each of the second light sources 74 can be disposed in an associated one of the light tunnels 64 in the housing member 16.”
Para [0023] “With reference to FIGS. 1, 3, 4 and 7, illumination of the first light sources 72 (as a group) generates light that is transmitted into the light guide 14 for back illumination of face indicia 34, while illumination of a given one of the second light sources 74 (i.e., individually) directly back illuminates an associated one of the indicators 36.”
}
wherein the plurality of apertures are sized and arranged relative to the light guide such that light passing through the apertures is confined by the light guide to increase luminance within a localized tell-tale region of the display, without increasing luminance of regions of the display outside the localized tell-tale region.
{It is clearly shown in Fig. 3 of Fong that the light tunnels 64 (apertures) cross through the light guide 14 (this can be considered as distributed through under broadest reasonable interpretation and is best illustrated by fig. 7 of Fong) and align with the indicators 36 (tell tales). Fig. 7 shows that the second illumination sources pass light through the light tunnels to illuminate the telltales and is also discussed in para [0023]. Additionally the light tunnels are designed to not let light pass through its wall which can be considered as preventing "increasing luminance of regions of the digital display outside the region of the corresponding tell-tale" as discussed in para [0020]
}
Fong does not teach a digital display.
However, Aizawa teaches a digital display
{Column 4 “The liquid crystal display 8 is such that an image is displayed in the display region 10 by light emitted from the backlight 9 permeating the display region 10. As shown in FIGS. 2 to 4, the display region 10 has a first display region 10a, in which vehicle information is displayed, and a second display region 10b, in which vehicle warning information 13 is displayed. The speedometer 11, a direction indicator 12, and the like, are displayed in the first display region 10a, and the warning information 13, such as a check engine warning, battery voltage warning, water temperature warning, and engine oil warning, is displayed in the second display region 10b.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong to incorporate the teachings of Aizawa to use a digital display rather than a fully analog display because as is known within the art a digital display is configurable allowing for more customizability and different visual effects potentially increasing desirability to users.
Regarding Claim 8, Fong in view of Aizawa teaches The method as recited in claim 7. Fong further teaches further comprising locating each of the plurality of tell-tales proximate to each of a plurality of apertures defined in the light guide, wherein each of the plurality of apertures are located proximate to each of the plurality of tell-tales.
{Para [0021] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 6, the circuit board 18 can include a board member 70 onto which a plurality of first light sources 72 and a plurality of second light sources 74 are mounted. The board member 70 can be coupled to the housing member 16 so as to be positioned in abutment with a side of the housing member 16 that is opposite the light guide 14. The first and second light sources 72 and 74 can be incandescent lamps, light emitting diodes, and/or any other suitable light source. With additional reference to FIG. 7, each of the first light sources 72 can be disposed in the central aperture 62 in the housing member 16 and in-line with the light receiving portion 40 of the light guide 14, while each of the second light sources 74 can be disposed in an associated one of the light tunnels 64 in the housing member 16.”
Para [0023] “With reference to FIGS. 1, 3, 4 and 7, illumination of the first light sources 72 (as a group) generates light that is transmitted into the light guide 14 for back illumination of face indicia 34, while illumination of a given one of the second light sources 74 (i.e., individually) directly back illuminates an associated one of the indicators 36.”
}
Regarding claim 9, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 10, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 11, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 12, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong et al. ( US 20060126320 A1, hereinafter known as Fong) in view of Tomono et al. (US 20120075831 A1, hereinafter known as Tomono) and Kraus et al. (US 20050078485 A1, hereinafter known as Kraus).
Regarding Claim 15, Fong in view of Tomono teaches The vehicle information display as recited in claim 13
Fong in view of Tomono does not teach wherein the first illumination source is an edge backlight illumination source.
However, Kraus teaches wherein the first illumination source is an edge backlight illumination source.
{para [0008] “In satisfying the above need, as well as overcoming the enumerated drawbacks and other limitations of the related art, the present invention provides a display, instrument or gage that is edge lit from the center of the display for more evenly distributed light. The display includes a plate having an outer perimeter edge and an inner perimeter edge, the latter being defined by an aperture or depression in the plate. A light source is located generally centrally within the inner perimeter edge, thereby transmitting light into the plate. The outer perimeter edge of the plate may be beveled and polished so as to reflect, back into the plate, a portion or all of the light transmitted from the inner perimeter edge. Cut, etched or molded indicia are formed in one or more of the faces of the plate. The slightly "rough" surfaces of the indicia accordingly pick up the light being transmitted edgewise within the plate and cause the indicia to glow. By forming the indicia directly into the plate, the cost of a separate graphics appliqu is eliminated. Additionally, locating the light source as provided herein eliminates the need for a light pipe or reflector and the costs associated therewith.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Tomono to incorporate the teachings of Kraus to use a edge backlight illumination because it allows for more evenly distributed light and can eliminate the need for a light pipe or reflector as discussed in para [0008] of Kraus
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Krier (US 20130027953 A1) teaches “A lighting apparatus includes a light-transmitting member, a first light source, a second light source, and at least one laser-formed light-reducing baffle. The light-transmitting member is for transmitting light within the light-transmitting member. The first light source is for emitting a first light into the light-transmitting member. The second light source is for emitting a second light into the light-transmitting member. The at least one laser-formed light-reducing baffle is disposed in the light-transmitting member for reducing transmission of the first and second lights within the light-transmitting member.”
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/ABDHESH K JHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668