DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
i. Regarding Claims 1-10, the claims are missing “A” or “The” at the start of the claim, i.e. “A photobiomodulation device…” and “The device…”
ii. Regarding Claim 2, “wherein said acquisition means acquire said distance in time during at least said emission time…” is grammatically incorrect, and should read “wherein said acquisition means acquires said distance in a time during at least said emission time…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, the limitation “acquisition means… configured to” is interpreted under U.S.C. 112(f) as there is not sufficient structure provided to determine what performs the claimed function, as the only structure provided is that the acquisition means is operatively connected to the control unit. Applicant lists on Pg. 12, Lines 2-3 “acquisition means 5 may thus be simple proximity sensors or other sensors capable of determining the distance of the subject with respect to the emitter 3” and Line 5 “the acquisition means 5 may comprises a time-to-flight type sensor” as descriptions of potential acquisition means. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be interpreting and applying art to meet either of these two definitions.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 4, the limitation “control means… configured to” is interpreted under U.S.C. 112(f) as there is not sufficient structure provided to determine what performs the claimed function, as the limitation is only defined in functional language. Pg. 11, Lines 4-10 state the control means is electric board with or without an interface, so for the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be interpreting and applying art to meet this definition.
Regarding Claim 9, the limitation “movement means” is interpreted under U.S.C. 112(f) as there is not sufficient structure provided to determine what performs the claimed function, as the limitation is only defined in functional language. Pg. 9, Line 23-Pg. 10, Line 2 indicates that the movement is provided by wheels, so for the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be interpreting and applying art to meet this definition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the product” in Line 4, “the luminous intensity” in Line 5, and “the emission time” in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purpose of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as “a product”, “a luminous intensity”, and “an emission time”.
Claim 6 is rendered indefinite as the limitation “one emission wall including one or more of said emitters and configured to appear on said subject” would not be readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. It is unclear how a physical, tangible object can “appear” on a subject. Pgs. 8 and 10 of Applicant’s Specification state that the emission wall is configured to “face” the subject so emissions from the wall strike the individual, so the Examiner will be interpreting the claim in this way for the purposes of applying prior art.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “said emission wall” in in Line 5 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as “an emission wall”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the support ends" in Line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as “a support ends”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the support ends” in Line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as “a support ends”.
Further regarding Claims 7-9, the claims are indefinite as well as antecedent for the limitation “said support end”, as it is unclear the limitations that follow only apply to one of the two listed ends, or if they should apply to both and it is a typographical error. Even if it is not a typographical error, and only one end is intended to be referenced, the limitations have insufficient antecedent basis as “a support end” is never defined, only “two support ends”. For the purpose of examination, in light of Fig. 2, these limitations will be interpreted as the two support ends, as “the two support ends”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the luminous intensity" in Line 4 of the claim, “the emission time” in Line 5 of the claim, and “said acquired distance” in Line 10 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purpose of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as “a luminous intensity”, “an emission time”, and “an acquired distance”.
Claims 2-5 are rejected based on their dependency to the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication 20140316492 awarded to Min et al, hereinafter Min.
Regarding Claim 1, Min teaches a photobiomodulation device for cell regeneration (Para. 0062) in a subject comprising: a support (Fig. 1, support part 1), including at least one emitter configured to emit a light beam (Fig. 3, LED 324) having a wavelength between 630 nm and 850 nm (Para. 0065, “660 nm”) and defining an emission dose given by the product between the luminous intensity of said light beam and the emission time of said light beam (the Examiner notes any light dose will have these parameters, as the definition of an emission dose is emission dose=intensity x time), a control unit operatively connected to said emitter, configured to allow a user at least to set said emission time and a predetermined dose (Para. 0012, the control device controlling the intensity and time determines the dose applied) and configured to modulate said luminous intensity of said light beam in relation to said emission time set in such a way that said emission dose corresponds to said predetermined dose (Para. 0012, “and a control circuit part adapted for supplying electric power to the light emitting member and controlling light intensity and irradiation time”), and further comprising acquisition means operatively connected to said control unit and configured to determine a distance between said emitter and said subject hit by said light beam, said control unit being further configured to modulate said light intensity of said light beam in relation to said acquired distance so that said emission dose corresponds to said predetermined dose (Para. 0024, “The control circuit part includes a proximity sensor formed on the inner face of the rotation part, the proximity sensor sensing a distance from the user's target skin which is put on the base member and enabling the user to control light intensity and light emitting time of the LED according to the sensed distance”).
Regarding Claim 2, Min teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein said acquisition means acquire said distance in time during at least said emission time and said control unit is configured to modulate said light intensity in a variable manner in time in relation to variations of said distance acquired over time in such a way that said emission dose corresponds to said predetermined dose (Para. 0024, “The control circuit part includes a proximity sensor formed on the inner face of the rotation part, the proximity sensor sensing a distance from the user's target skin which is put on the base member and enabling the user to control light intensity and light emitting time of the LED according to the sensed distance”).
Regarding Claim 3, Min teaches the device according to Claim 1, wherein said emitter is of type choice between LED (LED 324).
Regarding Claim 4, Min teaches the device according to Claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to allow a user to select said wavelength between intervals respectively between 630-660 nm (Para. 0065, “660 nm”).
Regarding Claim 6, Min teaches the device according to Claim 1, wherein said support comprises at least one emission wall (light emitting member 3, Fig. 2, Para. 0014 “The rotation part is formed by combination of an inner cover and an outer cover which are formed in an arc shape, the outer cover has hinge portions which are respectively formed at both end portions of the outer cover and are joined with the side plate portions of the support part, and the light emitting member is joined between the inner cover and the outer cover of the rotation part”) including one or more of said emitters and configured to appear on said subject (Para. 0039).
Regarding Claim 7, Min teaches the device according to Claim 1, wherein said support comprises at least two support ends and a frame to arch connecting said support end defining a housing adapted to house said subject and partly delimited by said frame and part of said support ends and comprising said emission wall facing towards said housing (Para. 0014, “The rotation part is formed by combination of an inner cover and an outer cover which are formed in an arc shape, the outer cover has hinge portions which are respectively formed at both end portions of the outer cover and are joined with the side plate portions of the support part, and the light emitting member is joined between the inner cover and the outer cover of the rotation part”).
Regarding Claim 8, Min teaches the device according to Claim 1, wherein said support end comprises a foot (hinge portions) configured for resting said support stably on a support surface for said subject (Para. 0014, “The rotation part is formed by combination of an inner cover and an outer cover which are formed in an arc shape, the outer cover has hinge portions which are respectively formed at both end portions of the outer cover and are joined with the side plate portions of the support part, and the light emitting member is joined between the inner cover and the outer cover of the rotation part”).
Regarding Claim 10, Min teaches a procedure for setting a photobiomodulation for cell regeneration of a subject (Para. 0062) comprising: setting an emission time of a light beam (Para. 0012, “and a control circuit part adapted for supplying electric power to the light emitting member and controlling light intensity and irradiation time”) having a wavelength between 630 nm and 850 nm (Para. 0065, “660 nm”) and defining an emission dose given by the product between the luminous intensity of said light beam and the emission time of said light beam (the Examiner notes any light dose will have these parameters, as the definition of an emission dose is emission dose=intensity x time), and a predetermined dose (Para. 0012, “and a control circuit part adapted for supplying electric power to the light emitting member and controlling light intensity and irradiation time”), determining a distance between said emitter and said subject hit by said light beam, and modulating said light intensity of said light beam in relation to said acquired distance such that said emission dose corresponds to said predetermined dose (Para. 0024, “The control circuit part includes a proximity sensor formed on the inner face of the rotation part, the proximity sensor sensing a distance from the user's target skin which is put on the base member and enabling the user to control light intensity and light emitting time of the LED according to the sensed distance”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 20140316492 awarded to Min et al, hereinafter Min, in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20200306555 awarded to Ebbesson, hereinafter Ebbesson.
Regarding Claim 5, Min teaches the device according to Claim 1. Min does not explicitly teach using a plurality of light emitters, but does teach the need for even radiation of a subject (Para. 0070).
However, in the art of light therapy (Para. 0011), Ebbesson teaches the usage of multiple LED bulbs (Para. 0021) for the purposes of even application (Para. 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by Ebbesson, i.e. by using multiple bulbs in the system of Min as in Ebbesson, for the predictable purpose of providing an even treatment as in Ebbesson above.
Regarding Claim 9, Min teaches the device according to Claim 1. Min does not teach wherein said support end comprises movement means configured to allow the movement of said support with respect to a sliding plane along at least one predetermined direction. Min does teach motivation to selectively treat a part of a person’s body (Para. 0070).
Further, Ebbesson teaches the usage of wheels on the ends of an arched light therapy device (wheels 13, Fig. 1) to achieve treatment at different portions of a person’s body (Para. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by Ebbesson, i.e. by using wheels on the ends of Min’s arched treatment device as in Ebbesson, for the predictable purpose of increasing the available treatment sites of the apparatus.
Conclusion
/JLM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792