DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Applicant Arguments/Remarks”, filed 05/01/2026, with respect to the interpretations under U.S.C. 112(f), the Objections to the Claims, and the rejections under U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretations under U.S.C. 112(f), the Objections to the Claims, and the rejections under U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments regarding the rejections under U.S.C. 102 are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections under U.S.C. 102 have been withdrawn. However, Applicant's arguments regrading the previous 103 rejections, the subject matter of which has been rolled into Claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s first argument, that Min does not teach allowing a user to select the wavelength between the intervals of 630-660 nm and 810-850 nm, is unpersuasive. The claim language as written does not require that LED must be capable of both wavelengths, just that the user can select a wavelength between the two ranges, and Min explicitly teaches selecting 660 nm in Para. 0062, as well as disclosing selecting a red wavelength overall in Para. 0063.
Applicant’s next argument, that Min’s proximity sensor does not detect a distance between the emitters and the target’s skin is unpersuasive. Min’s Para. 0024 explicitly discloses that they equate proximity to the same definition of distance as Applicant.
Applicant’s argument regarding Min not teaching the limitation regarding “movement of the support with respect to a sliding plane along at least one predetermined direction” is previously acknowledged, as this limitation was covered under the 103 addition of Ebbesson, which Applicant does not provide arguments against. Therefore, the rejection has been rolled up to Claim 1 and is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 20140316492 awarded to Min et al, hereinafter Min, in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20200306555 awarded to Ebbesson, hereinafter Ebbesson.
Regarding Claim 1 and 10, Min teaches a photobiomodulation device for cell regeneration (Para. 0062) in a subject and method of use, the photobiomodulation device comprising: a support (Fig. 1, support part 1), including a plurality of emitters configured to emit a light beam (Fig. 3, LED 324) having a wavelength between 630 nm and 850 nm (Para. 0065, “660 nm”) and defining an emission dose given by a product between a luminous intensity of said light beam and an emission time of said light beam (the Examiner notes any light dose will have these parameters, as the definition of an emission dose is emission dose=intensity x time), a controller operatively connected to said emitter, the controller being configured to allow a user at least to set said emission time and a predetermined dose (Para. 0012, the control device controlling the intensity and time determines the dose applied) to modulate said luminous intensity of said light beam in relation to said emission time set in such a way that said emission dose corresponds to said predetermined dose (Para. 0012, “and a control circuit part adapted for supplying electric power to the light emitting member and controlling light intensity and irradiation time”), and acquisition sensor operatively connected to said control unit and configured to determine a respective distance between said emitter and said subject hit by said light beam, wherein said controller is configured to modulate said light intensity of said light beam in relation to said acquired distance so that said emission dose corresponds to said predetermined dose (Para. 0024, “The control circuit part includes a proximity sensor formed on the inner face of the rotation part, the proximity sensor sensing a distance from the user's target skin which is put on the base member and enabling the user to control light intensity and light emitting time of the LED according to the sensed distance”) and to allow the user to select said wavelengths between intervals respectively between 630-660 nm and 810-850 nm (Para. 0062-0065 discloses changing wavelengths, one of the wavelengths being 660 nm in Para. 0065). Min does not explicitly teach using a plurality of light emitters, wherein at least one support end comprising a movement system configured to allow movement of the support with respect to a sliding plane along at least one predetermined direction, but does teach the need for even radiation of a subject (Para. 0070), and motivation to selectively treat a part of a person’s body (Para. 0070).
However, in the art of light therapy (Para. 0011), Ebbesson teaches the usage of multiple LED bulbs (Para. 0021) for the purposes of even application (Para. 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by Ebbesson, i.e. by using multiple bulbs in the system of Min as in Ebbesson, for the predictable purpose of providing an even treatment as in Ebbesson above.
Further, Ebbesson teaches the usage of wheels on the ends of an arched light therapy device (wheels 13, Fig. 1) to achieve treatment at different portions of a person’s body (Para. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by Ebbesson, i.e. by using wheels on the ends of Min’s arched treatment device as in Ebbesson, for the predictable purpose of increasing the available treatment sites of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 2, Min modified by Ebbesson makes obvious the device according to claim 1. Min further teaches wherein said acquisition sensor acquires said distance in time during at least said emission time and said control unit is configured to modulate said light intensity in a variable manner in time in relation to variations of said distance acquired over time in such a way that said emission dose corresponds to said predetermined dose (Para. 0024, “The control circuit part includes a proximity sensor formed on the inner face of the rotation part, the proximity sensor sensing a distance from the user's target skin which is put on the base member and enabling the user to control light intensity and light emitting time of the LED according to the sensed distance”).
Regarding Claim 3, Min modified by Ebbesson makes obvious the device according to Claim 1. Min further teaches wherein said emitters are one of an LED (Para. 0062, “LED 324”).
Regarding Claim 6, Min modified by Ebbesson makes obvious the device according to Claim 1. Min further teaches wherein said support comprises at least one emission wall (light emitting member 3, Fig. 2, Para. 0014 “The rotation part is formed by combination of an inner cover and an outer cover which are formed in an arc shape, the outer cover has hinge portions which are respectively formed at both end portions of the outer cover and are joined with the side plate portions of the support part, and the light emitting member is joined between the inner cover and the outer cover of the rotation part”) including one or more of said emitters and configured to face said subject (Para. 0039).
Regarding Claim 7, Min modified by Ebbesson makes obvious the device according to Claim 1. Min further teaches wherein the at least one support end comprises at least two support ends, a frame to arch connecting said at least two support ends, the at least two support ends and the frame defining a housing configured to house said subject and partly delimited by said frame and part of said support ends, and said at least one emission wall facing towards said housing (Para. 0014, “The rotation part is formed by combination of an inner cover and an outer cover which are formed in an arc shape, the outer cover has hinge portions which are respectively formed at both end portions of the outer cover and are joined with the side plate portions of the support part, and the light emitting member is joined between the inner cover and the outer cover of the rotation part”).
Regarding Claim 8, Min teaches the device according to Claim 1, wherein each of said at least two support end comprises a foot (hinge portions) configured to rest said support stably on a support surface for said subject (Para. 0014, “The rotation part is formed by combination of an inner cover and an outer cover which are formed in an arc shape, the outer cover has hinge portions which are respectively formed at both end portions of the outer cover and are joined with the side plate portions of the support part, and the light emitting member is joined between the inner cover and the outer cover of the rotation part”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JLM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796