DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
Claims 1-35 are cancelled.
Claim 36 is amended.
Claims 47-56 are withdrawn.
Claims 36-56 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HONG (Parameter optimization and experiment verification for a beta radioluminescence nuclear battery).
Regarding claim 36, HONG teaches a photovoltaic system (see the beta radioluminescence nuclear battery) (see Abstract, Figs. 1-6) comprising:
a radiation product source that is radioactive (see the 147Pm source) (see Abstract, Fig. 1);
a conversion material (see the ZnS:Cu phosphor layer) configured to convert one or more types of radiation products emitted by the radiation product source to light (The ZnS:Cu layer converts the beta energy emitted by the 147Pm source to the light) (see Abstract, Fig. 1); and
a plurality of photovoltaic cells (see the two photovoltaic cells) (see Fig. 1);
wherein wavelengths of the light are approximately all within a bandgap wavelength range (Luminescence spectra of ZnS:Cu phosphor layers under 147Pm excitation in Fig. 3 shows the wavelengths of the light ranging from 450 nm to 650 nm (see Fig. 3); The triple junction GaAs photovoltaic cell was used for the photovoltaic cells (see Experiment verification); Since GaAs absorbs light within a bandgap wavelength ≤ 870 nm, the wavelengths of the light ranging from 450 nm to 650 nm are approximately all within the bandgap wavelength ≤ 870 nm); and
wherein the one or more types of radiation products are selected from the group consisting of fission fragments, alpha particles, beta particles, gamma rays, x-rays, electrons, protons, and high energy photons (see the beta particles) (see Abstract, Fig.1, Results and Discussion).
Regarding claim 37, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 36.
HONG teaches the conversion material comprises a configuration selected from the group consisting of fluorescent molecules or atoms embedded in a glass or ceramic matrix, powder, thin film, layer, conversion material surrounding the radiation product source, powder suspended in a liquid, gaseous, or fluid environment, and conversion material embedded in a waveguide (see the ZnS:Cu phosphor layer, which is fluorescent molecules embedded in a layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (Parameter optimization and experiment verification for a beta radioluminescence nuclear battery) as applied to claim 36 above, further in view of XU (CsPbBr3 Quantum Dot Films with High Luminescence Efficiency and Irradiation Stability for radioluminescent Nuclear Battery Application).
Regarding claim 38, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 36.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the photovoltaic cells comprise silicon”, HONG discloses the GaAs photovoltaic cell (see Experiment verification), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “silicon”. However, XU discloses a radioluminescent nuclear battery, wherein visible light was captured using a photovoltaic device, such as gallium arsenide (GaAs) or silicon (Si) solid-state semiconductors (P14193). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the silicon (Si) solid-state semiconductor for the photovoltaic cells in the device of HONG as taught by XU, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 39, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 38.
Modified HONG teaches the bandgap wavelength range is approximately 800 nm to approximately 1050 nm (The bandgap wavelength range for the silicon (Si) solid-state semiconductor is 300 nm – 1100 nm; Given the teachings above, it would have been obvious to have selected wavelength within the disclosed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP § 2144.05, I.).).
Regarding claim 40, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 39.
Modified HONG teaches the bandgap wavelength range is approximately 850 nm to approximately 950 nm (The bandgap wavelength range for the silicon (Si) solid-state semiconductor is 300 nm – 1100 nm; Given the teachings above, it would have been obvious to have selected wavelength within the disclosed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP § 2144.05, I.).).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (Parameter optimization and experiment verification for a beta radioluminescence nuclear battery) as applied to claim 36 above, further in view of XU II (Radioluminescent Nuclear Battery Technology Development for Space Exploration).
Regarding claim 41, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 36.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the photovoltaic cells are not multi-junction cells”, HONG discloses the triple junction GaAs photovoltaic cells (see Experiment verification), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “not multi-junction cells”. However, XU discloses a radioluminescent nuclear battery comprising single-junction GaAs photovoltaic modules (see Figs. 1, 5; The single-junction GaAs photovoltaic modules are not multi-junction cells). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the single-junction GaAs photovoltaic modules for the photovoltaic cells in the device of HONG as taught by XU II, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (Parameter optimization and experiment verification for a beta radioluminescence nuclear battery) as applied to claim 36 above, further in view of HWANG (US 20090188551 A1).
Regarding claim 42, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 36.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the plurality of photovoltaic cells are configured in a series-parallel network”, HWANG discloses when the solar cells are connected in the combination of series and parallel, a desired magnitude of voltage and current can be more easily obtained. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the multiple numbers of photovoltaic cells in combination of series and parallel interconnection in the device of HONG as taught by HWANG, because the multiple numbers of photovoltaic cells in combination of series and parallel interconnection easily provides the desired magnitude of voltage and current.
Claims 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (Parameter optimization and experiment verification for a beta radioluminescence nuclear battery) as applied to claim 36 above, further in view of YABLONOVITCH (US 20170025984 A1).
Regarding claims 43-44, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 36.
Regarding the claimed “a screen configured to block material sublimated or evaporated from the radiation product source from depositing on at least one of the photovoltaic cells” in claim 43 and “wherein the screen is transparent to light within the bandgap wavelength range”, YABLONOVITCH discloses a thermophotovoltaic (TPV) system using nuclear or radioactive heat [0019], wherein the TPV components can optionally include a filter 18 between the photovoltaic device 14 and the emitter 12, and the filter 18 can be configured to transmit wavelengths within the TPV wavelength range and to return wavelengths outside of the TPV wavelength range to the emitter 12 (see [0021] and Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the filter between the ZnS:Cu phosphor layer and the photovoltaic cell in HONG as taught by YABLONOVITCH, because the filter transmits wavelengths within the photovoltaic wavelength range and returns wavelengths outside of the photovoltaic wavelength range to the ZnS:Cu phosphor layer. Therefore, modified KARALIS teaches a screen (see the filter) configured to block material sublimated or evaporated from the radiation product source from depositing on at least one of the reflectors photovoltaic cells (The filter has a capability of this function), wherein the screen is transparent to light within the bandgap wavelength range (The filter transmits wavelengths within the photovoltaic wavelength range).
Claims 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (Parameter optimization and experiment verification for a beta radioluminescence nuclear battery) as applied to claim 36 above, further in view of LENERT (US 20160164451 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 36.
Regarding the claimed “a thermal management system”, HONG does not explicitly disclose the claimed feature. However, LENERT discloses the solar thermal photovoltaic device 10 may also include a thermal management system 26, (a chilled water cooling system), in thermal communication with the PV cell 18 (see [0023], Fig. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that when a solar cell's temperature increases, its efficiency decreases, therefore, the thermal management system (chilled water cooling system) keeps the photovoltaic device with low temperature and keeps the photovoltaic device efficiency high. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the thermal management system (chilled water cooling system) in the device of HONG as taught by LENERT, because the thermal management system (chilled water cooling system) keeps the photovoltaic device with low temperature and keeps the photovoltaic device efficiency high.
Regarding claim 46, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 35.
Modified HONG teaches the thermal management system maintains a temperature of the photovoltaic cells below approximately 10 oC (The chilled water typically ranges from 4.4 oC to 7.2 oC).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/24/2026 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Contact Information
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728