DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/16/2024, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing date of the Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (WO 2021062733 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method in a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station, the distributed base station including the CU and a distributed unit (DU), for managing early data communication with a UE, the method comprising (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A communication system/method of a CU of a base station including a CU and a DC for enabling early early data transmission (EDT) with a UE.):
determining whether the DU supports early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. EDT is determined to be used for a CU and DU.);
determining whether to include a configuration for performing early data communication in a message to the UE based at least in part on whether the DU supports early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A setting/configuration is determined to be included for EDT in a message for UE in accordance with whether A CU and DU using/supporting EDT.); and
transmitting the message to the UE via the DU (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A message is transmitted to a UE through a DU).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses in a first instance, including the configuration in the message in response to determining that the DU supports early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A setting/configuration is included in a message for a first time point in accordance with whether a DU using/supporting EDT, wherein a DU using/supporting EDT.); and
in a second instance, excluding the configuration from the message in response to determining that the DU does not support early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A setting/configuration is included in a message for a first time point in accordance with whether a DU using/supporting EDT, wherein a DU not using/supporting EDT.).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses determining that the DU supports communicating a plurality of data packets with the UE in a single session of the early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A number of data packets/bits are determined to be transmitted via a DU to UE in a transmission session of EDT.); and
including in the configuration, a parameter related to communicating the plurality of data packets in the single session (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A parameter for communicating a number of data packets/bits is included in a setting/configuration.).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the parameter indicates at least one of: a maximum number of data packets that the UE can transmit in the single session, a maximum total data size of the plurality of data packets, or a maximum data size of a data packet of the plurality of data packets (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A parameter, e.g. TBS, is used to indicate at least one of a maximum data size of different packets/bits, a maximum data size of different packets/bits in a transmission).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses determining that the DU supports early data communication further includes determining whether the DU supports communicating a plurality of data packets with the UE during a single session of the early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A number of different packets/bits is determined to be used by a CU and DU in a transmission of EDT.); and
the method further comprising: selecting, based on whether the DU supports communicating the plurality of data packets, a time period of data inactivity after which to terminate the single session (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0182]. A period of data idle/inactive is determined in accordance with a DU using/supporting transmission of data packets, also see Para. [0170].).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses determining that the DU supports a specific function, the specific function including at least one: (i) performing early data communication using a configured grant, (ii) communicating retransmissions of a data packet with the UE during early data communication, (iii) frequency hopping, or (iv) a physical layer acknowledgement for early data communication; and including configuration parameters enabling the specific function in the configuration (Wang; Para. [0187]. A DU and a CU uses/supports a function including at least performing EDT using a grant and physical layer acknowledgement for EDT, also see Para. [0147].).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein determining whether the DU supports early data communication includes: receiving, from the DU, capability information including an indication that the DU supports early data communication, or receiving, from the DU, capability information including an indication that the DU does not support early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A capability indication of a DU or CU using/supporting EDT is received, or A capability indication of a DU or CU using/supporting EDT is received).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the message instructs the UE to transition to an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0182]. A message setting a UE to an inactive/idle state for a protocol for controlling radio resources, also see Para. [0170].).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses a method in a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station, the distributed base station including the DU and a central unit (CU), for managing early data communication with a UE, the method comprising (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A communication system/method of a CU of a base station including a CU and a DC for enabling early early data transmission (EDT) with a UE.):
providing, to a CU, an indication that the DU supports early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. An indication of a DU or CU using EDT is provided.);
receiving, from the CU, a message enabling the UE to perform early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A message is received from a CU for enabling a UE for EDT.);
transmitting the message to the UE (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. A message is transmitted to a UE); and
performing early data communication with the UE when the UE operates in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0182-187]. EDT is performed for a UE being in an inactive/idle state for a protocol for controlling radio resources, also see Para. [0170].).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses providing, to the CU, an indication that the DU supports communicating a plurality of data packets with the UE during a single session of the early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. An indication of a DU or a CU sending different packets with a UE during a EDT is provided), or
providing, to the CU, an indication that the DU does not support communicating a plurality of data packets with the UE during a single session of the early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. An indication of a DU or a CU not sending different packets with a UE during a EDT is provided).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses providing an indication that the DU supports performing data communication using a configured grant (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. An indication of a DU or CU performing EDT using a grant is provided.), or
providing an indication that the DU does not support performing data communication using a configured grant (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. An indication of a DU or CU not performing EDT using a grant is provided.).
Claims 15-20 are directed to a network node central unit (CU) of a distributed base station that includes a distributed unit (DU), the CU including processing hardware and configured to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1-6, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2021062733 A1) in view of Wong (US Pub. 20210037553 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses providing an indication that the DU supports communicating a data packet with the UE during early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. An indication of a DU or CU performing EDT is provided.).
But it does not specifically disclose providing an indication that the DU supports communicating retransmissions of a data packet with the UE during early data communication (), or providing an indication that the DU does not support communicating retransmissions of a data packet with the UE during early data communication.
However, Wong teaches providing an indication that the DU supports communicating retransmissions of a data packet with the UE during early data communication (), or providing an indication that the DU does not support communicating retransmissions of a data packet with the UE during early data communication (Wong; Para. [0079-80]. An indication of a DU communicating retransmission of a data packet with UE or not during EDT is provided.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN system of Wang to adapt an EDT approach, by incorporating Wong’s teaching wherein retransmission of data packet is enabled, for the motivation to support random access procedures during wireless telecommunication (Wong; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses providing an indication that the DU supports communicating a data packet with the UE during early data communication (Wang; Fig. 9, Para. [0183-187]. An indication of a DU or CU performing EDT is provided.).
But it does not specifically disclose providing an indication that the DU supports frequency hopping for early data communication, or providing an indication that the DU does not support frequency hopping for early data communication.
However, Wong teaches providing an indication that the DU supports frequency hopping for early data communication, or providing an indication that the DU does not support frequency hopping for early data communication (Wong; Para. [0079-80]. An indication of a DU enabling frequency hopping or not during EDT is provided.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN system of Wang to adapt an EDT approach, by incorporating Wong’s teaching wherein frequency hopping during EDT is enabled, for the motivation to support random access procedures during wireless telecommunication (Wong; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wang further teaches providing an indication that the DU supports a physical layer acknowledgement for early data communication, or providing an indication that the DU does not support a physical layer acknowledgement for early data communication (Wong; Para. [0024-27]. An indication of a DU using a physical layer acknowledgement for EDT or not is provided, also see Para. [0041-42]. Wang; Para. [0187]. A DU and a CU uses/supports a function including at least performing EDT using a grant and physical layer acknowledgement for EDT, also see Para. [0147].).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
You (US 20240080699 A1) teaches SDT for a RAN system.
Sha (US 20220264617 A1) teaches efficient establishment of uplink and downlink communication in a RAN.
/ALBERT KIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485