DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a construction module”, “an object detection module”, “an image recognition module”, and “a classification module” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8-10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunii (US PGPUB 2004/0052413 A1) and further in view of Romley (US PGPUB 2016/0225053 A1).
As per claim 1, Kunii discloses a method for classifying images (Kunii, Figs. 1-22), comprising:
constructing an object vector retrieval library (Kunii, Fig. 1:24, and Fig. 3:4:41, a learning window feature vector memory unit 24), wherein the object vector retrieval library stores object feature vectors and object (names) types of stored objects (Kunii, paragraphs 8, 36 and 41, discloses classifying by the pair of object position and type, and storing as learning windows, feature extraction matrix calculating means 42 for calculating a matrix for feature extraction from the learning windows stored in the learning window database 41);
performing object detection on a to-be-classified image and obtaining an object image of a detected object contained in the to-be-classified image (Kunii, Fig. 3:5, and paragraphs 8 and 41, discloses learning means 4 for preparing models of objects to be recognized, feature vector extracting means 5 for extracting a feature vector by using a matrix for feature extraction calculated in the learning means 4 in each input window divided in the image divider 3, input divided image discriminating means 6 for calculating the similarity measure by comparing the feature vector extracted in the feature vector extracting means 5 and the feature vector of a learning window feature vector database 43);
performing image recognition on the object image of the detected object to obtain an object feature vector of the object image (Kunii, paragraph 41, discloses The judging means 7 includes an input image judging unit 71 for judging the input divided image and class of the highest value of the similarity measure entered from the input divided image discriminating means 6); and
searching the object vector retrieval library for an object (name) type of a first stored object of the stored objects whose object feature vector matches the object feature vector of the object image of the detected object (Kunii, paragraphs 36 and 41, discloses The judging means 7 includes an input image judging unit 71 for judging the input divided image and class of the highest value of the similarity measure entered from the input divided image discriminating means 6, and an object position and type detector 72 for judging the position and type of the object of the class selected by the input image judging unit 71 to be the position and type of the object of the input image), and using the object (name) type of the first stored object as a category of the to-be-classified image (Kunii, paragraphs 36 and 41, discloses Thus, using the learning window of the learning window memory unit 23, the matching processor 25 repeats the procedure of similarity measure calculation and output. The object type estimator 26 estimates, when the similarity measure is maximum, the target object for recognition included in the input image to be located at which position and to belong to which type).
Although Kunii discloses storing object feature vector and object type as being explained above however does not explicitly discloses store and search names of store objects.
Romley discloses store and search names of store objects (Romley, Fig. 2:201, and paragraphs 30, and 35, discloses The object store can also contain a set of feature vectors, each extracted from and associated with an image of a different model of a watch. Additional information relating to each object can be included within the object store 201, for instance a name of the object, purchase information for the object, a web link associated with the object, or any other suitable descriptive information such as a customs classification for the object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kunii teachings by storing objects in the database, as taught by Romley.
The motivation would be to improve the ability of image classifiers to operate on the input image (paragraph 49), as taught by Romley.
As per claim 2, Kunii in view of Romley further discloses the method for classifying images according to claim 1, wherein constructing the object vector retrieval library comprises:
acquiring object images of the stored objects (Kunii, paragraphs 8, and 41);
performing image recognition on the object images of the stored objects to obtain respective object feature vectors of the object images (Kunii, paragraphs 41 and 71); and
obtaining respective object names of the object images of the stored objects (Romley, paragraph 30); and
storing the object names and the object feature vectors of the object images of the stored objects in a one-to-one correspondence manner (Romley, paragraph 30).
As per claim 3, Kunii in view of Romley further discloses the method for classifying images according to claim 1, further comprising updating the object vector retrieval library in response to a new object image (Kunii, paragraph 38, discloses the object in the input image can be recognized even in the case of non-registered object, and the type and position of the object can be estimated);
wherein updating the object vector retrieval library comprises: obtaining the new object image for image recognition (Kunii, paragraph 38), obtaining an object feature vector and an object name of the new object image (Romley, paragraph 30); and
adding the object name and the object feature vector of the new object image to the object vector retrieval library (Romley, paragraph 78).
As per claim 4, Kunii in view of Romley further discloses the method for classifying images according to claim 1, wherein performing object detection on the to-be-classified image and obtaining the object image of the detected object contained in the to-be-classified image comprises:
performing object detection on the to-be-classified image based on an object detection model to obtain an object position of the detected object contained in the to-be-classified image (Kunii, paragraphs 33, and 41); and
obtaining the object image of the object by cropping the to-be-classified image based on the object position (Kunii, paragraph 41).
As per claim 6, Kunii in view of Romley further discloses the method for classifying images according to claim 1, wherein searching the object vector retrieval library for the object name of the first stored object whose object feature vector matches the object feature vector of the object image of the detected object comprises:
calculating a similarity between the object feature vector of the object image of the detected object and each of the object feature vectors of the stored objects in the object vector retrieval library (Kunii, paragraphs 36 and 41, discloses The similarity measure between the input window feature vector and the learning vector is calculated, and issued to the object type estimator 26 ), wherein among the object feature vectors of the stored objects, the first stored object has the greatest similarity and is determined to match the object feature vector of the object image of the detected object (Kunii, paragraph 36, discloses The object type estimator 26 estimates, when the similarity measure is maximum, the target object for recognition included in the input image to be located at which position and to belong to which type); and
obtaining the object name of the first stored object from the object vector retrieval library (Romley, paragraph 30).
As per claim 8, Kunii discloses a system for classifying images (Kunii, Fig. 1-21), comprising:
a construction module (Kunii, Fig. 3:4:41:43), an object detection module (Kunii, Fig. 3:4, and paragraph 41, discloses learning means 4 for preparing models of objects to be recognized), an image recognition module (Kunii, Fig. 3:5:6, and paragraph 37), and a classification module (Kunii, Fig. 1:28, and Fig. 3:7, and paragraphs 8 and 33, discloses The classifier classifies the window by the pair of object type and position, and multiple classified windows are stored as a set of learning);
For rest of claim limitations please see the analysis of claim 1.
As per claim 9, Kunii discloses a non-transitory storage medium having a computer program stored thereon (Kunii, Fig. 4:219:205, and paragraph 43), wherein the program, when executed by a processor (Kunii, Fig. 4:206, and paragraph 43), implements the method for classifying images according to claim 1 (please see the analysis of claim 1).
As per claim 10, Kunii discloses a terminal for classifying images (Kunii, Fig. 4:219), comprising:
a processor (Kunii, Fig. 4:206) and a memory (Kunii, Fig. 4:205);
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (Kunii, Fig. 4:205, and paragraph 43);
wherein the processor is for executing a computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal for classifying images to perform the method for classifying images (Kunii, Fig. 4:219, and paragraph 43) according to claim 1 (please see the analysis of claim 1).
Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunii (US PGPUB 2004/0052413 A1) and further in view of Romley (US PGPUB 2016/0225053 A1) and further in view of Yang (CN 202210127102 A, English translation of the CN is attached and used for citations).
As per claim 5, Kunii in view of Romley further discloses the method for classifying images according to claim 1, wherein performing image recognition on the object image of the detected object to obtain the object feature vector of the object image comprises: Kunii in view of Romley does not explicitly disclose performing image recognition on the object image of the detected object based on a PP-LCNet image recognition model; and outputting the object feature vector of the object image by the PP-LCNet image recognition model.
Yang discloses performing image recognition on the object image of the detected object based on a PP-LCNet image recognition model (Yang, page 4, discloses the feature extraction module uses PPLCNet ); and
outputting the object feature vector of the object image by the PP-LCNet image recognition model (Yang, page 4, discloses the feature extraction using PPLCNet and outputting the extracted feature vectors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kunii in view of Romley teachings by implementing machine learning model to the system, as taught by Yang.
The motivation would be to provide a system with improved tracking algorithm (page 3), as taught by Yang.
Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunii (US PGPUB 2004/0052413 A1) and further in view of Romley (US PGPUB 2016/0225053 A1) and further in view of Zou (US PGPUB 2020/0065563 A1)
As per claim 7, Kunii in view of Romley further discloses the method for classifying images according to claim 6, wherein the Kunii in view of Romley does not explicitly disclose similarity is a cosine similarity.
Zou discloses similarity is a cosine similarity (Zou, paragraph 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kunii in view of Romley teachings by implementing vector matching technique to the system, as taught by Zou.
The motivation would be to provide an improved and accurate object recognition technique with reduced search space (paragraph 11), as taught by Zou.
Conclusion
/SYED HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633