DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/CN2022/106270 filed on 07/18/2022. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CHINA on 07/19/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on August 26, 2026 amending claims 1 and 7-10, and canceling claims 2-6 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 7-10 are currently pending and presented for examination.
Due to Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the previous objection to claims 1 and 5-10 is hereby withdrawn.
Due to the cancellation of claims 2-6, the previous rejection of claims 2-8 under 35 USC 112(b) is hereby withdrawn.
However, Applicant’s amendments to the claims necessitate new rejections under 35 USC 112 (b) as detailed below.
Due to Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the previous rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(1) is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed August 26, 2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 is distinguishable from Chen at least because claim 1 recites a different compound, different excipients, and different mass ratio of various ingredients. Applicant further argues that Bastin fails to disclose the claimed ratio of 4:1 between arginine to the HDACi.
Applicant further argues that the claimed composition exhibits special technical effects as demonstrated in experimental Example 1 which shows a series of experiments, which unexpectedly discovered that the composition of excipients includes HP-b-CD, arginine, and meglumine provides significantly better solubility and stability than any one of the excipients alone. Specification on pages 31-38.
Applicant argues that experimental example 1 discovered that for the API of purinostat mesylate the best performing formulation has the mass ratio of HP-b-CD: Arg: meglumine: PM is 15:4:1.5:1. (page 38, last paragraph) ("When the mass ratio of cyclodextrin, arginine, meglumine, and inhibitors was 15:4:1.5:1, not only the excellent solubility and stability of the injection could be ensured, but also the injection had a fast dissolution rate and a small amount of excipients, and thus this mass ratio was the most preferable.").
These arguments are found not persuasive since Applicant has not provided any reasoning as to why it would have been considered surprising or unexpected that the combination of HP-b-CD, arginine, and meglumine would provide significantly better solubility and stability as compared to any one of the excipients alone given the express teachings of the cited references to include one or more of cyclodextrin, arginine or meglumine. Chen teaches a pharmaceutically acceptable pharmaceutical composition comprising pharmaceutically acceptable auxiliary ingredients wherein said auxiliary ingredients are cyclodextrin, arginine or meglumine [0106]. Moreover, Bastin teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising an HDAC inhibitor and one or more additional ingredients selected from cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine [0002]. Bastin teaches one aspect of the invention pertains to pharmaceutical compositions comprising: (a) an HDACi and (b) one or more of: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine [0025]. Bastin further teaches that cyclodextrin preferably hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin are solubilizing excipients ([0385]-[0397]). Bastin further teaches that arginine and meglumine are known salt formers and thus enhance solubility [0406]-[0412]). Thus all three agents serve as solubilizers, accordingly, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious); and In re Couvaras, 70 F.4th 1374, 1378-79, 2023 USPQ2d 697 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine).
Furthermore, Bastin specifically teaches and suggests that combining the cyclodextrin and the salt formers lead to synergy and a notable increase in HDACi solubility [0558]. Therefore, it would not have been considered surprising or unexpected that combining 3 agents useful for the same purpose would provide improved results as compared to each component individually.
Moreover, Applicant has not demonstrated criticality for the claimed mass ratios because claiming a preferred mass ratio is not the same as a critical mass ratio. A critical concentration means that concentrations outside the critical range do not provide similar results and even a reduced effect or lack of any effect. A preferred amount does not mean that other amounts will not give suitable or even similar results. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960). Applicant merely states without providing any evidence that when the mass ratio of cyclodextrin, arginine, meglumine, and inhibitors was 15:4:1.5:1, not only the excellent solubility and stability of the injection could be ensured, but also the injection had a fast dissolution rate and a small amount of excipients, and thus this mass ratio was the most preferable. Applicant does not compare effects of the composition outside the claimed concentrations, including above and below the claimed concentrations. Moreover, based on Table 15 on page 38, it is not clear that there is any difference between the formulations containing different ratios of meglumine: PM. Moreover, based on Applicant’s data, it is not clear that any formulation containing all three solubilizers was prepared and compared with different concentrations of the three agents and PM. Thus Applicant’s arguments with respect to surprising and unexpected results are found not persuasive.
It is Applicant’s burden to demonstrate unexpected results over the prior art. See MPEP 716.02, also 716.02 (a) - (g). Furthermore, the unexpected results should be demonstrated with evidence that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). Moreover, evidence as to any unexpected benefits must be of a scope reasonably commensurate with the scope of the subject matter claimed, In re Linder, 173 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1972). “Expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness of a claimed invention, just as unexpected results are evidence of unobviousness thereof.” In re Gershon, 372 F.2d 535, 538, 152 USPQ 602, 604 (CCPA 1967) (resultant decrease of dental enamel solubility accomplished by adding an acidic buffering agent to a fluoride containing dentifrice was expected based on the teaching of the prior art); Ex parte Blanc, 13 USPQ2d 1383 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989) (Claims at issue were directed to a process of sterilizing a polyolefinic composition which contains an antioxidant with high-energy radiation. Although evidence was presented in appellant’s specification showing that particular antioxidants are effective, the Board concluded that these beneficial results would have been expected because one of the references taught a claimed antioxidant is very efficient and provides better results compared with other prior art antioxidants.).
With respect to Applicant’s argument that Chen does not disclose the claimed compound having the following structure:
, Chen specifically discloses the claimed compound, Compound CLJ-44 (page 75 [0251], page 143 claim 53). Chen specifically teaches that the claimed compound is a potent HDACi with an IC50 of less than 1 nm and is a preferred compound ([0349]-[0350], [0356]). Chen et al. specifically demonstrates that the claimed compound CLJ-44 has favorable inhibitory effect to the tumor activities of various human subcutaneous transplantation tumor models (including colon cancer, breast cancer, multiple myeloma and B-cell lymphoma) and it has good interdependence between dosage and tumor inhibitory rate in each model and the inhibition capability to tumor activity is obviously better than the reference drugs SAHA and LBH589 [0380]. Thus Chen et al. specifically discloses the same compound as claimed and moreover, provides sufficient motivation to select said compound over all other compounds disclosed therein.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that Bastin fails to disclose the claimed mass ratio of 4:1 between arginine to the HDACi, it is noted that Bastin teaches that if arginine is present, the molar ratio of arginine to HDACi is at least 0.5 up to and including 5, which corresponds to a mass ratio of 0.285 (0.5x0.57) to 2.85 (5x0.57) [0460]-[0465]. Thus Bastin teaches a mass ratio of about 3:1 which is close to the claimed ratio of 4:1.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997) (under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%); In re Waite, 168 F.2d 104, 108 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75 (CCPA 1946) (prior art showed an angle in a groove of up to 90° and an applicant claimed an angle of no less than 120°); In re Swenson, 132 F.2d 1020, 1022 (CCPA 1942); In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332 (CCPA 1941); In re Becket, 88 F.2d 684 (CCPA 1937) ("Where the component elements of alloys are the same, and where they approach so closely the same range of quantities as is here the case, it seems that there ought to be some noticeable difference in the qualities of the respective alloys."); In re Dreyfus, 73 F.2d 931, 934 (CCPA 1934); In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924 (CCPA 1933)(the prior art teaching an alkali cellulose containing minimal amounts of water, found by the Examiner to be in the 5-8% range, the claims sought to be patented were to an alkali cellulose with varying higher ranges of water (e.g., "not substantially less than 13%," "not substantially below 17%," and "between about 13[%] and 20%"); K-Swiss Inc. v. Glide N Lock GmbH, 567 Fed. App'x 906 (Fed. Cir. 2014)(reversing the Board's decision, in an appeal of an inter partes reexamination proceeding, that certain claims were not prima facie obvious due to non-overlapping ranges); Gentiluomo v. Brunswick Bowling and Billiards Corp., 36 Fed. App'x 433 (Fed. Cir. 2002)(non-precedential)(disagreeing with argument that overlapping ranges were required to find a claim prima facie obvious); In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018)(the court found a prima facie case of obviousness had been made in a predictable art wherein the claimed range of "less than 6 pounds per cubic feet" and the prior art range of "between 6 lbs./ft3 and 25 lbs./ft3" were so mathematically close that the difference between the claimed ranges was virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.).
In the instant case, since Applicant has not demonstrated any showing of unexpected results or criticality, and it is obvious to vary and/or optimize amounts of ingredients in a formulation to obtain optimal results, said newly added limitation for the mass ratio of arginine to HDACi is rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.).
Thus, for these reasons the previous rejection under 35 USC 103 is hereby maintained and a modified rejection in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims is detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the double patenting rejection are found not persuasive for the same reasons as detailed above for the rejection under 35 USC 103. Accordingly, the previous double patenting rejection is hereby maintained and a modified rejection in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims is detailed below.
This action is FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "hydroxypropyl-b-cyclodextrin" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the claim previously recites cyclodextrin. Thus claim 1 and all claims dependent upon claim 1 are rejected.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "The preparation" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 7, from which claim 8 depends does not recite the preparation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-54 of U.S. Patent No. 10,227,347 B2 in view of Bastin et al. U.S. Publication No. 20180072661 A1.
Claims 1 and 7-10 of the instant application claim a pharmaceutical composition comprising a histone deacetylase inhibitor (HDACI) and an excipient wherein the histone deacetylase inhibitor is
, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and wherein the excipient comprises cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine, and the mass ratios of cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine to the inhibitor are 15:1, 4:1, and 1.5:1, respectively.
Claims 1-54 of ‘347 claim the same compound as claimed in the instant claims as well as a pharmaceutical composition comprising pharmaceutically acceptable auxiliary ingredients and the compound according to claim 1 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, which is provided in a form of an oral preparation or an intravenous injection preparation (see claims 53-55). ‘347 defines said auxiliary ingredients as cyclodextrin, arginine or meglumine (column 122 lines 34-35). Thus claim 54 of ‘347 claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising cyclodextrin, arginine or meglumine and the compound according to claim 1 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
‘347 does not specifically claim including cyclodextrin, arginine and meglumine in the composition. ‘347 does not claim the mass ratios of the excipients to the inhibitor and the concentration of the HDAC inhibitor in the composition. ‘347 does not claim a method of preparing the composition as claimed.
However, it is obvious and within the skill of an ordinary skilled artisan to vary and/or optimize the amounts of ingredients in a composition such that optimal properties of the composition and optimal treatment is achieved. Furthermore, it has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
In addition, Bastin et al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising certain inhibitors of HDAC (histone deacetylase) activity and one or more additional ingredients selected from cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine (abstract, [0002], [0025]). Bastin et al. further teaches a method of preparing a composition by combining: (a) a histone deacetylase inhibitor (HDACi) and (b) one or more of the following additional ingredients: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine; and optionally one or more other additional pharmaceutically acceptable ingredients (as described herein) [0031]-[0032].
Bastin teaches in one preferred embodiment, the composition is added to a saline or glucose solution (e.g., into a typical 1 L intravenous saline or glucose bag), and the resulting composition (e.g., formulation) is used for administration by intravenous infusion [0064]. The pharmaceutical compositions comprise, at least, the following components: (a) an HDACi; and (b) one or more of the following additional ingredients: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine [0068]- [0071]. In one embodiment, the pharmaceutical composition further comprises one or more other additional ingredients (e.g., pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, etc.) [0072].
Bastin teaches the cyclodextrin is selected from: α-cyclodextrin; β-cyclodextrin; γ-cyclodextrin; (C1-4alkyl)-α-cyclodextrin; (C1-4alkyl)-β-cyclodextrin; (C1-4alkyl)-γ-cyclodextrin; (hydroxy-C1-4alkyl)-α-cyclodextrin; (hydroxy-C1-4alkyl)-β-cyclodextrin; (hydroxy-C1-4alkyl)-γ-cyclodextrin; (carboxy-C1-4alkyl)-α-cyclodextrin; (carboxy-C1-4alkyl)-β-cyclodextrin; (carboxy-C1-4alkyl)-γ-cyclodextrin; saccharide ethers of α-cyclodextrin; saccharide ethers of β-cyclodextrin; saccharide ethers of γ-cyclodextrin; and sulfobutyl ethers of α-cyclodextrin, β-cyclodextrin, or γ-cyclodextrin [0388]- [0394]. Bastin further teaches an especially preferred cyclodextrin is hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin [0397].
Bastin teaches that the concentration of the HDACi in the formulation is at least 0.01 mg/mL up to and including 500 mg/mL, wherein in one embodiment, the HDACi concentration is 10-500 mg/mL, such as about 50 mg/mL [0442]- [0450].
Bastin further teaches if cyclodextrin is present, the molar ratio of cyclodextrin to HDACi is at least 0.5 up to and including 5, which corresponds to a mass ratio of 1.785 (0.5x3.57) to 17.85 (5x3.57) [0454]-[0459].
Bastin teaches that if arginine is present, the molar ratio of arginine to HDACi is at least 0.5 up to and including 5, which corresponds to a mass ratio of 0.285 (0.5x0.57) to 2.85 (5x0.57) [0460]-[0465].
Bastin teaches that if meglumine is present, the molar ratio of meglumine to HDACi is at least 0.5 up to and including 5, which corresponds to a mass ratio of 0.307 (0.5x0.613) to 3.1 (5x0.613) [0466]-[0471].
Bastin further teaches a method of preparing a composition by combining an HDACi and one or more of the following additional ingredients: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine; and optionally one or more other additional pharmaceutically acceptable ingredients as described therein [0473]. For example an appropriate amount of pure, dry HDACi may be dissolved in a solution of salt former e.g., arginine, meglumine or cyclodextrin in water at a suitable concentration as described therein, wherein solubilization may be achieved over a period of from about 1 minute to about 1 hour by stirring, for example, using a magnetic stirrer, paddle stirrer, or turbine mixer, with or without the application of heat [0474]. The resulting solution is then diluted to the final volume, e.g., with the appropriate grade of water, and stirred for a further period of time until the solution is homogenous [0474]. The solution is passed through a suitable filter (e.g., sterilizing grade 0.2 μm filter) and placed in appropriate containers (e.g., vials, ampoules, etc.) in a suitable pharmaceutical manufacturing environment, and sealed/capped [0476]. Thus Bastin teaches the same method of preparation as claimed in claim 10 of the instant application.
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the claims of ‘347 which claim a pharmaceutical composition comprising a histone deacetylase inhibitor (HDACI) and an excipient wherein the excipient is at least one of cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine, but does not claim how to prepare the formulation including appropriate amounts; with the teaching of Bastin which specifically teaches how to prepare formulations comprising an HDACi; and one or more of the following additional ingredients: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine. Thus Bastin specifically provides guidance of how to formulate HDAC inhibitor formulations which include the excipients as claimed in the instant claims. Thus an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to consult the prior art to provide appropriate guidance to prepare the formulation claimed in ‘347.
Bastin teaches that the concentration of the HDACi in the formulation is at least 0.01 mg/mL up to and including 500 mg/mL, wherein in one embodiment, the HDACi concentration is 10-500 mg/mL, such as about 50 mg/mL, which overlaps with the concentration as claimed in claim 9 of the instant application [0442]- [0450].
Bastin further teaches if cyclodextrin, arginine or meglumine are present, the molar ratio of cyclodextrin, arginine or meglumine to HDACi is at least 0.5 up to and including 5, which corresponds to a mass ratio of 1.785 to 17.85 for cyclodextrin to HDACi, 0.285 to 2.85 for arginine to HDACi, and 0.307 to 3.1 for meglumine to HDACi, which overlap with or close to the ratios as claimed in claim 1 of the instant application. With respect to Applicant’s newly added limitation of the claimed mass ratio of 4:1 between arginine to the HDACi, it is noted that Bastin teaches a mass ratio of about 3:1 which is close to the claimed ratio of 4:1.
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the formulation of ‘347 based on the teachings of Bastin with a reasonable expectation of success since both ‘347 and Bastin deal with formulating HDAC inhibitor compositions with the same excipients.
Thus the amounts as claimed overlap with or are close to the amounts as taught in Bastin and therefore in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range.").
Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997) (under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%); In re Waite, 168 F.2d 104, 108 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75 (CCPA 1946) (prior art showed an angle in a groove of up to 90° and an applicant claimed an angle of no less than 120°); In re Swenson, 132 F.2d 1020, 1022 (CCPA 1942); In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332 (CCPA 1941); In re Becket, 88 F.2d 684 (CCPA 1937) ("Where the component elements of alloys are the same, and where they approach so closely the same range of quantities as is here the case, it seems that there ought to be some noticeable difference in the qualities of the respective alloys."); In re Dreyfus, 73 F.2d 931, 934 (CCPA 1934); In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924 (CCPA 1933)(the prior art teaching an alkali cellulose containing minimal amounts of water, found by the Examiner to be in the 5-8% range, the claims sought to be patented were to an alkali cellulose with varying higher ranges of water (e.g., "not substantially less than 13%," "not substantially below 17%," and "between about 13[%] and 20%"); K-Swiss Inc. v. Glide N Lock GmbH, 567 Fed. App'x 906 (Fed. Cir. 2014)(reversing the Board's decision, in an appeal of an inter partes reexamination proceeding, that certain claims were not prima facie obvious due to non-overlapping ranges); Gentiluomo v. Brunswick Bowling and Billiards Corp., 36 Fed. App'x 433 (Fed. Cir. 2002)(non-precedential)(disagreeing with argument that overlapping ranges were required to find a claim prima facie obvious); In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018)(the court found a prima facie case of obviousness had been made in a predictable art wherein the claimed range of "less than 6 pounds per cubic feet" and the prior art range of "between 6 lbs./ft3 and 25 lbs./ft3" were so mathematically close that the difference between the claimed ranges was virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.).
With respect to the newly added limitation wherein the excipient comprises cyclodextrin, arginine and meglumine, Bastin teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising an HDAC inhibitor and one or more additional ingredients selected from cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine [0002]. Bastin teaches one aspect of the invention pertains to pharmaceutical compositions comprising: (a) an HDACi and (b) one or more of: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine [0025]. Bastin further teaches that cyclodextrin preferably hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin are solubilizing excipients ([0385]-[0397]). Bastin further teaches that arginine and meglumine are known salt formers and thus enhance solubility [0406]-[0412]). Thus all three agents serve as solubilizers, accordingly, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious); and In re Couvaras, 70 F.4th 1374, 1378-79, 2023 USPQ2d 697 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine).
Furthermore, Bastin specifically teaches and suggests that combining the cyclodextrin and the salt formers lead to synergy and a notable increase in HDACi solubility [0558]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine all 3 auxiliary agents useful for the same purpose with a reasonable expectation of improved results as compared to each component individually.
Thus the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious in view of the claims of ‘347.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. U.S. Publication No. 2018/0134709 A1 in view of Bastin et al. U.S. Publication No. 20180072661 A1.
Claims 1 and 7-10 of the instant application claim a pharmaceutical composition comprising a histone deacetylase inhibitor (HDACI) and an excipient wherein the histone deacetylase inhibitor is
, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and wherein the excipient comprises cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine, and the mass ratios of cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine to the inhibitor are 15:1, 4:1, and 1.5:1, respectively.
Chen et al. teaches purinyl-N-hydroxyl pyrimidine formamide derivatives having PI3K and HDAC difunctional targets, said purinyl-N-hydroxyl pyrimidine formamide derivatives of Formula I have the following structure:
[0008]-[0012]. Chen specifically discloses the claimed compound which is Compound CLJ-44, as claimed in the instant claims (page 75 [0251], page 143 claim 53). Chen specifically teaches that the claimed compound is a potent HDACi with an IC50 of less than 1 nm and is a preferred compound ([0349]-[0350], [0356]). Chen et al. specifically demonstrates that the claimed compound CLJ-44 has favorable inhibitory effect to the tumor activities of various human subcutaneous transplantation tumor models (including colon cancer, breast cancer, multiple myeloma and B-cell lymphoma) and it has good interdependence between dosage and tumor inhibitory rate in each model and the inhibition capability to tumor activity is obviously better than the reference drugs SAHA and LBH589 [0380]. Thus Chen et al. specifically discloses the same compound as claimed and moreover, provides sufficient motivation to select said compound over all other compounds disclosed therein.
Chen et al. further teaches a pharmaceutically acceptable pharmaceutical composition of said purinyl-N-hydroxyl pyrimidine formamide derivative; such pharmaceutical composition is prepared by the purinyl-N-hydroxyl pyrimidine formamide derivatives as disclosed therein and its salt or hydrate with pharmaceutically acceptable auxiliary ingredients [0106]. Chen et al. teaches that said auxiliary ingredients are cyclodextrin, arginine or meglumine [0106]. Chen et al. teaches that said cyclodextrin is selected from α-cyclodextrins, β-cyclodextrins, γ-cyclodextrins, (C1-4 alkyl)-α-cyclodextrins, (C1-4 alkyl)-β-cyclodextrins, (C1-4 alkyl)-γ-cyclodextrins, (hydroxyl-C1-4 alkyl)-α-cyclodextrins, (hydroxyl-C1-4 alkyl)-β-cyclodextrins, (hydroxyl-C1-4 alkyl)-γ-cyclodextrins, (carboxyl-C1-4 alkyl)-α-cyclodextrins, (carboxyl-C1-4 alkyl)-β-cyclodextrins, (carboxyl-C1-4 alkyl)-γ-cyclodextrins, carbohydrate ether of α-cyclodextrins, carbohydrate ether of β-cyclodextrins, carbohydrate ether of γ-cyclodextrins, sulfobutyl ether of α-cyclodextrins, sulfobutyl ether of β-cyclodextrins and sulfobutyl ether of γ-cyclodextrins [0106]. Chen et al. further teaches said auxiliary ingredients also comprise pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, adjuvant or agent [0106]. Chen et al. teaches said pharmaceutical composition can be in liquid form wherein, said liquid form can be the form of aqueous solution; wherein the pharmaceutical composition also comprises water for injection, saline solution, glucose aqueous solution, saline for injection/infusion, glucose for injection/infusion, Ringer's solution or Ringer's solution containing lactate [0107].
Chen et al. specifically claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising pharmaceutically acceptable auxiliary ingredients and the purinyl-N-hydroxyl pyrimidine formamide derivative according to claim 1 or a salt or a hydrate thereof (see claim 56). Claim 61 of Chen et al. specifically claims that the pharmaceutical composition is an HDAC inhibitor.
Thus, Chen et al. specifically discloses and claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising a histone deacetylase inhibitor (HDACI) and an excipient wherein the histone deacetylase inhibitor is a compound as claimed in the instant claims having the following structure:
; and the excipient is at least one of cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine, and also comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, selected from water for injection, saline solution, glucose aqueous solution, saline for injection/infusion, glucose for injection/infusion, Ringer's solution or Ringer's solution containing lactate.
Chen et al. does not specifically teach including cyclodextrin, arginine and meglumine. Chen et al. does not teach the mass ratios of the excipients to the inhibitor and the concentration of the HDAC inhibitor in the composition. Chen et al. does not teach a method of preparing the composition as claimed.
However, it is obvious and within the skill of an ordinary skilled artisan to vary and/or optimize the amounts of ingredients in a composition such that optimal properties of the composition and optimal treatment is achieved. Furthermore, it has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
In addition, Bastin et al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising certain inhibitors of HDAC (histone deacetylase) activity and one or more additional ingredients selected from cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine (abstract, [0002], [0025]). Bastin et al. further teaches a method of preparing a composition by combining: (a) a histone deacetylase inhibitor (HDACi) and (b) one or more of the following additional ingredients: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine; and optionally one or more other additional pharmaceutically acceptable ingredients (as described herein) [0031]-[0032].
Bastin teaches in one preferred embodiment, the composition is added to a saline or glucose solution (e.g., into a typical 1 L intravenous saline or glucose bag), and the resulting composition (e.g., formulation) is used for administration by intravenous infusion [0064]. The pharmaceutical compositions comprise, at least, the following components: (a) an HDACi; and (b) one or more of the following additional ingredients: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine [0068]- [0071]. In one embodiment, the pharmaceutical composition further comprises one or more other additional ingredients (e.g., pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, etc.) [0072].
Bastin teaches the cyclodextrin is selected from: α-cyclodextrin; β-cyclodextrin; γ-cyclodextrin; (C1-4alkyl)-α-cyclodextrin; (C1-4alkyl)-β-cyclodextrin; (C1-4alkyl)-γ-cyclodextrin; (hydroxy-C1-4alkyl)-α-cyclodextrin; (hydroxy-C1-4alkyl)-β-cyclodextrin; (hydroxy-C1-4alkyl)-γ-cyclodextrin; (carboxy-C1-4alkyl)-α-cyclodextrin; (carboxy-C1-4alkyl)-β-cyclodextrin; (carboxy-C1-4alkyl)-γ-cyclodextrin; saccharide ethers of α-cyclodextrin; saccharide ethers of β-cyclodextrin; saccharide ethers of γ-cyclodextrin; and sulfobutyl ethers of α-cyclodextrin, β-cyclodextrin, or γ-cyclodextrin [0388]- [0394]. Bastin further teaches an especially preferred cyclodextrin is hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin. [0397]
Bastin teaches that the concentration of the HDACi in the formulation is at least 0.01 mg/mL up to and including 500 mg/mL, wherein in one embodiment, the HDACi concentration is 10-500 mg/mL, such as about 50 mg/mL [0442]- [0450].
Bastin further teaches if cyclodextrin is present, the molar ratio of cyclodextrin to HDACi is at least 0.5 up to and including 5, which corresponds to a mass ratio of 1.785 (0.5x3.57) to 17.85 (5x3.57) [0454]-[0459].
Bastin teaches that if arginine is present, the molar ratio of arginine to HDACi is at least 0.5 up to and including 5, which corresponds to a mass ratio of 0.285 (0.5x0.57) to 2.85 (5x0.57) [0460]-[0465].
Bastin teaches that if meglumine is present, the molar ratio of meglumine to HDACi is at least 0.5 up to and including 5, which corresponds to a mass ratio of 0.307 (0.5x0.613) to 3.1 (5x0.613) [0466]-[0471].
Bastin further teaches a method of preparing a composition by combining an HDACi and one or more of the following additional ingredients: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine; and optionally one or more other additional pharmaceutically acceptable ingredients as described therein [0473]. For example an appropriate amount of pure, dry HDACi may be dissolved in a solution of salt former e.g., arginine, meglumine or cyclodextrin in water at a suitable concentration as described therein, wherein solubilization may be achieved over a period of from about 1 minute to about 1 hour by stirring, for example, using a magnetic stirrer, paddle stirrer, or turbine mixer, with or without the application of heat [0474]. The resulting solution is then diluted to the final volume, e.g., with the appropriate grade of water, and stirred for a further period of time until the solution is homogenous [0474]. The solution is passed through a suitable filter (e.g., sterilizing grade 0.2 μm filter) and placed in appropriate containers (e.g., vials, ampoules, etc.) in a suitable pharmaceutical manufacturing environment, and sealed/capped [0476]. Thus Bastin teaches the same method of preparation as claimed in claim 10 of the instant application.
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen et al. which teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a histone deacetylase inhibitor (HDACI) and an excipient wherein the excipient is at least one of cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine, and also comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, selected from water for injection, saline solution, glucose aqueous solution, saline for injection/infusion, glucose for injection/infusion, Ringer's solution or Ringer's solution containing lactate, but does not specifically provide guidance as to how to prepare the formulation including appropriate amounts; with the teaching of Bastin which specifically teaches how to prepare formulations comprising an HDACi; and one or more of the following additional ingredients: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine. Thus Bastin specifically provides guidance of how to formulate HDAC inhibitor formulations which include the excipients as claimed in the instant claims. Thus an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to consult the prior art to provide appropriate guidance to prepare the formulation of Chen et al.
Bastin teaches that the concentration of the HDACi in the formulation is at least 0.01 mg/mL up to and including 500 mg/mL, wherein in one embodiment, the HDACi concentration is 10-500 mg/mL, such as about 50 mg/mL, which overlaps with the concentration as claimed in claim 9 of the instant application [0442]-[0450].
Bastin further teaches if cyclodextrin, arginine or meglumine are present, the molar ratio of cyclodextrin, arginine or meglumine to HDACi is at least 0.5 up to and including 5, which corresponds to a mass ratio of 1.785 to 17.85 for cyclodextrin to HDACi, 0.285 to 2.85 for arginine to HDACi, and 0.307 to 3.1 for meglumine to HDACi, which overlap with or are close to the ratios as claimed in claim 1 of the instant application. With respect to Applicant’s newly added limitation of the claimed mass ratio of 4:1 between arginine to the HDACi, it is noted that Bastin teaches a mass ratio of about 3:1 which is close to the claimed ratio of 4:1.
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the formulation of Chen et al. based on the teachings of Bastin with a reasonable expectation of success since both Chen et al. and Bastin deal with formulating HDAC inhibitor compositions with the same excipients.
Thus the amounts as claimed overlap with or are close to the amounts as taught in Bastin and therefore in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range.").
Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997) (under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%); In re Waite, 168 F.2d 104, 108 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75 (CCPA 1946) (prior art showed an angle in a groove of up to 90° and an applicant claimed an angle of no less than 120°); In re Swenson, 132 F.2d 1020, 1022 (CCPA 1942); In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332 (CCPA 1941); In re Becket, 88 F.2d 684 (CCPA 1937) ("Where the component elements of alloys are the same, and where they approach so closely the same range of quantities as is here the case, it seems that there ought to be some noticeable difference in the qualities of the respective alloys."); In re Dreyfus, 73 F.2d 931, 934 (CCPA 1934); In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924 (CCPA 1933)(the prior art teaching an alkali cellulose containing minimal amounts of water, found by the Examiner to be in the 5-8% range, the claims sought to be patented were to an alkali cellulose with varying higher ranges of water (e.g., "not substantially less than 13%," "not substantially below 17%," and "between about 13[%] and 20%"); K-Swiss Inc. v. Glide N Lock GmbH, 567 Fed. App'x 906 (Fed. Cir. 2014)(reversing the Board's decision, in an appeal of an inter partes reexamination proceeding, that certain claims were not prima facie obvious due to non-overlapping ranges); Gentiluomo v. Brunswick Bowling and Billiards Corp., 36 Fed. App'x 433 (Fed. Cir. 2002)(non-precedential)(disagreeing with argument that overlapping ranges were required to find a claim prima facie obvious); In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018)(the court found a prima facie case of obviousness had been made in a predictable art wherein the claimed range of "less than 6 pounds per cubic feet" and the prior art range of "between 6 lbs./ft3 and 25 lbs./ft3" were so mathematically close that the difference between the claimed ranges was virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.).
With respect to the newly added limitation wherein the excipient comprises cyclodextrin, arginine and meglumine, Bastin teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising an HDAC inhibitor and one or more additional ingredients selected from cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine [0002]. Bastin teaches one aspect of the invention pertains to pharmaceutical compositions comprising: (a) an HDACi and (b) one or more of: cyclodextrin, arginine, and meglumine [0025]. Bastin further teaches that cyclodextrin preferably hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin are solubilizing excipients ([0385]-[0397]). Bastin further teaches that arginine and meglumine are known salt formers and thus enhance solubility [0406]-[0412]). Thus all three agents serve as solubilizers, accordingly, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious); and In re Couvaras, 70 F.4th 1374, 1378-79, 2023 USPQ2d 697 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine).
Furthermore, Bastin specifically teaches and suggests that combining the cyclodextrin and the salt formers lead to synergy and a notable increase in HDACi solubility [0558]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine all 3 auxiliary agents useful for the same purpose with a reasonable expectation of improved results as compared to each component individually.
Thus the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected. Claims 2-6 are canceled. No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARA R. MCMILLIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
KRM