DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 and 21 in the reply filed on November 25, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 and 22-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 2. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 is objected to because it should state “electrode” at the end of line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 112(b)
Second Paragraph
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is rejected because “said electrical stimulation protocol” lacks antecedent basis, as it is not mentioned in claim 1 (from which claim 6 depends), but in claim 5.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites “wherein step D) comprises configuring the stimulation device with said electrical stimulation protocol”. However, claim 1, step D) already recites “configuring the stimulation device with the set of configuration parameters that are derived…”. Even if claim 5 were an intervening claim, the “patient-specific electrical stimulation protocol” is recited as “the configuration parameter”. Therefore, claim 6 would still be “configuring the stimulation device with the set of configuration parameters that are derived…” as recited already in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Bikson et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2012/0245653).
Bikson discloses “methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer programs … for developing transcranial electrical stimulation protocols” (see Abstract). More specifically, Bikson discloses:
extracting patient-specific data including at least one region of interest from at least one pre-existing image previously acquired using a medical imaging technique (see paragraph 86, also see paragraphs 25-35 for in-depth discussion of the use of MRI to acquire brain images, also see paragraph 41);
simulating via computer simulation an electrical field distribution that can be generated using the electrical stimulation device when configured with a specific set of configuration parameters defining a specific transcranial alternating current stimulation (tACS) scheme, taking into consideration the extracted patient specific data (see paragraphs 22-23, in which a series of models are run repeatedly to generate a forward model that can be optimized; additionally, it is noted that Bikson teaches that one option for the stimulation is that “The electrical stimulation applied is an alternating current of 0-10 mA and 0 H-1 kHz” (see paragraph 7 and claim 24 of Bikson));
varying a set of simulation parameters during iterative application of step B) to compute the patient-specific set of configuration parameters, which are thus optimized for the patient (also see paragraphs 22-23, where it is noted that the specific electrode being used is iterated throughout the stimulation, which constitutes a change in location of the stimulation, which is a “set of simulation parameters”); and
configuring the stimulation device with the set of configuration parameters that are derived such that the stimulation device is configured to focus the electrostimulation onto the at least one region of interest (Figures 3-4 illustrate electrodes placed on the surface of the skin via a wearable device, such as skull cap 430 (see paragraphs 36-37); Paragraph 37 additionally discusses how not all electrodes need to be activated, such as when the optimized configuration does not call for all electrodes in each particular location to be utilized to treat a target; additionally, Bikson states in paragraph 10 that “Electrical stimulation systems for patient treatment can be programmed in accordance with electrode configurations and stimulation parameters identified using the optimized stimulation model”).
Regarding claim 3, it is noted that Bikson teaches that “This model is repeated for each electrode position in the plurality of electrodes in the electrode configuration surrounding the target tissue, (e.g., 100 electrode positions=100 simulations)” (see paragraph 22).
Regarding claim 4, it is noted that paragraph 23 states that “predictions can be made as to what electrical fields will develop in the target tissue when any combination of electrodes is activates at any intensity.” Additionally, “At 670, the forward model is optimized, as described above, to predict the electrode configuration and current or voltage intensities required to produce the desired tissue response” (see paragraph 84). Additionally, it is noted that paragraph 7 of Bikson teaches that the parameters which may be optimized include “The parameters altered include changing the voltage, current, activation time, location, sequence or number of electrodes. The desired response is optimized with a minimum number of electrodes.”
Regarding claim 5, Bikson teaches that “Optimization in accordance with aspects of the present invention can also allow determination of the optimal electrode configuration (electrode number, position of each electrode, current at each electrode) based on an outcome specified by the clinician, such as production of a desired electrical field at a desired tissue location” (see paragraph 24, emphasis added). This teaches that the determined protocol would include determining amperage on a per electrode basis (i.e., “current at each electrode”). Also, Bikson teaches in paragraph 7 that “The desired response is optimized with a minimum number of electrodes”, thereby teaching that the protocol comprising “driving a number of N stimulation electrodes”.
Regarding claim 6, Bikson states in paragraph 10 that “Electrical stimulation systems for patient treatment can be programmed in accordance with electrode configurations and stimulation parameters identified using the optimized stimulation model”.
Regarding claim 8, it is noted that Bikson teaches that the patient-specific data extracted in step A) can include “3D-distribition of brain tissue”, because in paragraph 46 it is taught that an alternative to diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) could be “a simple designation of a white matter and a grey matter conductivity tensor, as discussed above. These two universal conductivity tensors could then be applied to the nodes of the FEM mesh using co-registration with the anatomical MRI. In this manner, the individual voxels of the MRI data are designated as either white matter or grey matter using post-processing image analysis. Then, each such voxel is assigned a conductivity dependent on whether it was classified as white matter or grey matter, which white matter voxels having a different conductivity value than grey matter voxels”, and then further teaches that in another, second technique “anatomical MRI is sub-divided into different designated brain regions on a voxel-by-voxel basis using post-processing image analysis.” In paragraph 47, Bikson then teaches that “a finite element model (FEM) is created using the conductivity data obtained at 304”, which thereby teaches that “the optimization performed in step B) … takes into account… is based on a geometrical head model derived from the patient-specific data extracted in step A).
Regarding claim 9, Bikson teaches “wherein the stimulation parameters varied in step C) comprise… amperage… of driving currents to be applied to individual ones of the stimulation electrodes of the device, because Bikson teaches that “Optimization in accordance with aspects of the present invention can also allow determination of the optimal electrode configuration (electrode number, position of each electrode, current at each electrode) based on an outcome specified by the clinician, such as production of a desired electrical field at a desired tissue location” (see paragraph 24, emphasis added). This teaches that the determined protocol would include determining amperage on a per electrode basis (i.e., “current at each electrode”).
Regarding claim 10, Bikson teaches that “the computer algorithm can evaluate various VOA's against either or both of the following input criteria: (a) one or more regions in which activation is desired; or (b) one or more regions in which activation should be avoided” (see paragraph 59).
Regarding claim 11, Bikson teaches that additional practical constraints may include minimizing “the number of electrodes” (see paragraph 10), which reads on “maximum number Nmax of available ones of the stimulation electrodes”.
Regarding claim 12, Bikson teaches that “The 3D current distribution can be obtained, for instance, from a segmentation of a 3D image of the tissue such as MRI, CT, DTI, etc.” (see paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 21, Bikson teaches that Processors suitable for the execution of a computer program include, by way of example, both general and special purpose microprocessors, and any one or more processors of any kind of digital computer… a computer can be embedded in another device, e.g., a mobile telephone, a personal digital assistant (PDA)…” (see paragraph 115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Santarnecchi et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0031034).
Bikson is described above with respect to claim 1. While Bikson teaches that “The 3D current distribution can be obtained, for instance, from a segmentation of a 3D image of the tissue such as MRI, CT, DTI, etc.” (see paragraph 77). However, Bikson does not explicitly state that PET is used.
Santarnecchi teaches systems and methods for treating brain disease using targeted neurostimulation (see Title and Abstract). In paragraph 7, Santarnecchi discusses that non-invasive brain stimulation (NIBS) is used to engage a target map, and that this includes transcranial current stimulation (tCS) which also includes tACS. As stated in paragraph 6, “a target map for the subject can be developed from positron emission tomography (PET) data and from magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) data collected from the subject.” “Embodiments of the present invention may include PET with partial volume correction, based on cerebral and cerebellar individual grey/white matter masks, which helps produce more accurate maps and which show protein deposit variations at the sulcal/gyral level” (see paragraph 50). “A protein target map for the human subject was developed by identifying amyloid protein targets based on PET and MRI imaging data” (see paragraph 86). Paragraph 87 then teaches, among other relevant aspects, “Shown in Fig. 2 is the personalized NIBS stimulation parameters, using eight stimulating electrodes, to activate the target map of the human subject.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize PET imaging and targeting of proteins, such as amyloids in the brain to generate a target map, as taught by Santarnecchi, within the system and methods of Bikson in order to provide electrical stimulation therapy to these areas of the brain because Bikson teaches in paragraph 9 that its invention could be used for the “treatment of a neurological or psychiatric disease” without explaining how any specific neurological disease could benefit from the optimization techniques taught therein. However, Santarnecchi fills this gap by providing key insight into how the images would be used at the beginning of the process in order to provide a specific treatment for a specific neurological disease – Alzheimer’s. As such, this increases the utility of Bikson by teaching exactly how to manipulate the image data to get a desired outcome.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Michael et al. (CN 109069828).
Bikson is described above with respect to claim 1. It is noted that Figure 6 illustrate a flowchart in which the end product is “manufacture selected electrode” (see paragraph 64, “At 510, at least one electrode is manufactured using the selected at least one electrode morphology”). Paragraph 41 discusses a method of determining the volume of interest. Additionally, “Optimization in accordance with aspects of the present invention can also allow determination of the optimal electrode configuration” (see paragraph 24, which paragraph then states that the optimal electrode configuration may include the number and/or position of the electrodes. However, Bikson does not explicitly teach a pre-defined set of different ones of the stimulation devices.
Michael teaches “a system and method of non-invasive management of headache” in which the “a system and method of non-invasive management of headache” (see Abstract), which includes TENS and transcranial stimulation. Michael teaches that “each treatment plan may include a predefined set of one or more treatment devices with their corresponding configuration and treatment parameters and treatment delivery schedule (e.g., time and order). the second controller 721 can configure the user interface 722 to present on the display the stored treatment plan and via the input device receives user selection or modification of one or more treatment plans” (see page 14, paragraph beginning with “input device of the user interface 722…”, see near end of that paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize a set of predefined treatment devices, as taught by Michael, that relate to specific treatment plans within the system and methods of Bikson, in order to allow a user to choose a treatment as necessary and have the necessary equipment to deliver the treatment without a clinician present, thereby allowing for personal, home use.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gliner et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2004/0158298).
Bikson is described above with respect to claim 1. However, Bikson fails to teach a sensing/recording aspect, as claim in claim 14.
Gliner teaches systems and methods for automatically optimizing the stimulus parameters and/or the configuration of electrodes to provide neural stimulation to a patient (see Abstract). “The pulse system 140 can generate and send energy pulses to the electrode array, and the converter 150 can receive signals from the sensing device 180” (see paragraph 24). “The pulse system 140 generates and sends a single pulse or pulse train to the active therapy electrodes in accordance with the command signals, and the sensing device 180 senses the neural responses, motor responses, or other types of responses to the stimulus” (see paragraph 27; also see paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a sensing device, as taught by Gliner, into the transcranial stimulation system of Bikson because this allows for automatic and instantaneous feedback that allows the clinician “to optimize the therapy for the particular patient” (see paragraph 27 of Gliner).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (WO 2021/203719).
Bikson is described above with respect to claim 1. However, Bikson fails to teach generating multiple sets of treatment options over multiple sessions, as claim in claim 15.
Zhao teaches a “method and apparatus, a tracking, objective evaluation and prediction method for the effects of neuromodulation therapy over multiple courses or multiple sessions can be formed, and according to the expected therapeutic effects, a subsequent method for therapeutic schedule implementation and scheme parameter selection is qualitatively and quantitatively modulated and optimized, and a neurological function state can be objectively evaluated and predicted (see Abstract). More specifically, Zhao teaches “According to the expected treatment effect and the actual treatment effect, objectively predict the number of subsequent treatments or the number of treatment courses, and even generate multiple combinations and options of the parameters of the electrical stimulation treatment plan and the number of treatment courses according to the patient’s acceptance of the electrical stimulation treatment. Patients can choose freely according to their feelings and life rules” (see paragraph beginning “Obviously, the parameters…”, middle of page 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide for a system that generates multiple optimized options for electrical stimulation, as taught by Zhao, and to include this feature into the system and methods of Bikson in order to allow for “the patient’s acceptance of the electrical stimulation treatment. Patients can choose freely according to their feelings and life rules” (see quote above from Zhao), which would provide the patient with added comfort with regard to their care/treatment.
Conclusion
/JAMES KISH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792