DETAILED ACTION
The pending claims are claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahn et al., US 20220181655.
Regarding claim 1, Ahn et al., teaches a membrane humidifier cartridge (abstract; 0044) comprising:
an inner case (0041-0043) accommodating therein a hollow fiber membrane (0009; 0012-0015) in which a first fluid flows (0014; 0104);
a potting portion fixing a terminal (outer projection; 232b) (0028; 0044) of the hollow fiber membrane (0009-0013); a first mesh hole portion (0104-0105) into which a second fluid is introduced (0105), and formed to protrude (project) from one side of the inner case (0044; 0099); and a second mesh hole portion (0104-0105) formed to protrude (project) from another side of the inner case (0031-0032; 0044), wherein the second fluid introduced through the first mesh hole portion (0104-0105) is discharged after exchanging moisture with the first fluid through the hollow fiber membrane (0010; 0077).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn et al., fuel cell membrane humidifier performing moisture exchange (abstract; 0024) between a first fluid (0101; 0104) and a second fluid (0101; 0104-0105) and comprising:
a mid-case (middle case) (abstract; 0012-0015);
a second fluid inlet introducing the second fluid into the mid-case (abstract; 0012-0015);
a second fluid outlet discharging the second fluid to outside (0012-0013; 0077; 0081); and at least one cartridge disposed in the mid-case (0024-0025) and accommodating a plurality of hollow fiber membranes (0012-0013),
wherein the cartridge comprises:
an inner case (0041-0043) accommodating therein a hollow fiber membrane (0012-0013) in which a first fluid flows (0014);
a potting portion fixing a terminal of the hollow fiber membrane (0012; 0015)
a first mesh hole portion (0104-0105) into which the second fluid is introduced (0024; 0104), and formed to protrude from one side of the inner case (0029-0032; 0044); and
a second mesh hole portion (0104-0105) formed to protrude (project) from another side of the inner case (0044; 0099) , wherein the second fluid introduced through the first mesh hole portion is discharged after exchanging moisture with the first fluid through the hollow fiber membrane (0009-0010; 0013; 0024).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn et al., wherein the first mesh hole portion and the second mesh hole portion are formed to protrude (projection) (0031-0032; 0044) to a preset height from a surface of the inner case by a protrusion support (0099; 0125).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al., US 20220181655.
Regarding claim 2, Ahn et al., teaches wherein the first mesh hole portion and the second mesh hole portion are formed to protrude (projection) (0099; 0124-0126) to a preset height from a surface of the inner case by a protrusion support.
Ahn does not teach a preset height, however, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn et al., does not teach wherein a vertical height of the protrusion support is set by calculating, based on a ratio of slack when the hollow fiber membrane is wet, a maximum movable distance of the hollow fiber membrane due to fluctuation, and when an initial length of the hollow fiber membrane is 100 and an increased length of the hollow fiber membrane is a, a maximum movable distance b is calculated as b = a(a + 200)/2(a + 100).
However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn et al., does not teach wherein when a length of the hollow fiber membrane is 100, a vertical height of the protrusion support is 1 to 20.
However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn et al., does not teach wherein the vertical height of the protrusion support is 1 to 5.
However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8, Ahn et al., does not teach wherein a vertical height of the protrusion support is set by calculating, based on a ratio of slack when the hollow fiber membrane is wet, a maximum movable distance of the hollow fiber membrane due to fluctuation, and when an initial length of the hollow fiber membrane is 100 and an increased length of the hollow fiber membrane is a, a maximum movable distance b is calculated as b = a(a + 200)/2(a + 100).
However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn et al., does not teach wherein when a length of the hollow fiber membrane is 100, a vertical height of the protrusion support is 1 to 20.
However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn et al., does not teach wherein the vertical height of the protrusion support is 1 to 5.
However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ito, US 2024/0181395; Tamio et al., JP 2015226859.
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727