DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement field 1/17/2024 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No 8,725,001 B2 to Fini et al. (hereinafter “Fini”).
Regarding claim 1, Fini discloses an optical transmission device being connected to an optical cable including a first multicore fiber (220a, etc. in Fig. 7) including a plurality of cores (222 in Fig. 7), the optical transmission device comprising: an optical processor including: a multicore fiber interface (e.g. 240 in Fig. 7) including a second multicore fiber (the details of 240 is shown in Fig. 8. The tapered body 248 is actually described as multicore fiber- see also 182 in Fig. 4, which described the implementation of tapered body in detail. See column 5, line 11) including a plurality of cores being able to be fusion-spliced to an end portion of the first multicore fiber (column 5, line 23); and at least one optical component (e.g. any of 242, 244, 246, 262, 264, 266 can be considered “optical component”) being connected to the multicore fiber interface and being configured to execute predetermined processing on each piece of light being coupled to the plurality of cores of the multicore fiber interface.
Regarding claim 8, Fini discloses wherein the optical component includes a fan-in/ fan-out (FIFO) (e.g. 260 in Fig. 7) and an optical function device being optically coupled to each core of the FIFO (e.g. 264 or 266 as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Fini discloses an optical cable system comprising an optical transmission device being connected to an optical cable including a first multicore fiber (any one of 220a…220n in Fig. 7) including a plurality of cores (222 in Fig. 7), the optical transmission device comprising: an optical processor including: a multicore fiber interface (e.g. 240 in Fig. 7) including a second multicore fiber (the details of 240 is shown in Fig. 8. The tapered body 248 is actually described as multicore fiber- see also 182 in Fig. 4, which described the implementation of tapered body in detail. See column 5, line 11) including a plurality of cores being able to be fusion-spliced to an end portion of the first multicore fiber (column 5, line 23); and at least one optical component (e.g. any of 242, 244, 246, 262, 264, 266 can be considered “optical component”) being connected to the multicore fiber interface and being configured to execute predetermined processing on each piece of light being coupled to the plurality of cores of the multicore fiber interface; and a plurality of termination stations (224 in Fig. 7) being connected to the optical transmission device via the optical cables different from one another (220n in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Fini discloses wherein the optical transmission device includes a function of splitting the optical cable (the “splitting” function is described in reference to Fig. 8; column 7, lines 56-65); the optical cables include a multicore fiber including cores matching in number with cores split by the optical transmission device (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Fini discloses a method of manufacturing an optical transmission device being connectable to a first multicore fiber (220a, etc. in Fig. 7) that is provided to an optical cable and includes a plurality of cores, the method comprising: fusion-splicing an optical processor to the optical cable at one end of the multicore fiber interface (column 5, line 23), the optical processor including: a multicore fiber interface (e.g. 240 in Fig. 7) including a second multicore fiber (the details of 240 is shown in Fig. 8. The tapered body 248 is actually described as multicore fiber- see also 182 in Fig. 4, which described the implementation of tapered body in detail. See column 5, line 11) including a plurality of cores being connectable to an end portion of the first multicore fiber; and at least one optical component (e.g. any of 242, 244, 246, 262, 264, 266 can be considered “optical component”) being connected to another end of the multicore fiber interface and being configured to execute predetermined processing on each piece of light coupled to the plurality of cores of the multicore fiber interface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fini.
Fini discloses an optical transmission device according to claim 1 as already discussed above. Although Fini discloses that the optical processor includes plurality of optical components (i.e. any of 242, 244, 246, 262, 264, 266 can be considered “optical component” as already discussed above), it does not explicitly disclose that they are connected to one another via the multicore fiber interface as claimed in claim 2, or includes a second multicore fiber interface with the optical component being an MxN optical matrix switch as claimed in claim 3. One the other hand, the use of plurality of multicore fiber interfaces or the use of an MxN optical matrix switch is well known and common in the art. Such multiple fiber interfaces or optical matrix switches are advantageously used in the art to route and process large bandwidth of data necessary in robust optical communications systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Fini to have the optical processor connected to one another via the multicore fiber interface as claimed in claim 2, or includes a second multicore fiber interface with the optical component being an MxN optical matrix switch as claimed in claim 3 of the present application.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fini in view of JP H0219609 A (hereinafter “JP’609”).
Fini discloses an optical transmission device according to claim 1 as discussed above. However, it does not explicitly disclose the optical component including a third and a fourth multicore fiber and a rotator that controls the rotation amount of the fourth multicore fiber about the center axis, in the manner claimed in the present application.
On the other hand, such a rotary joint is known in the art. JP’609 discloses a rotary joint comprising multicore optical fibers (1, 2 in Fig. 1) coupled via a rotator (21 in Fig. 2). The rotator in JP’609 controls the rotation amount of the multicore fibers about the central axis (Figs. 3-6; page 2 of the English translation of the JP’609). In addition, by controlling the rotational amount of the fibers, the rotator inherently and necessarily controls the connection relationship and the connection loss of the fibers as claimed in claims 5-6 of the present application. Regarding claim 7, JP’609 discloses the plurality of cores of the third and fourth multicore fiber being arranged at an equal interval on a circle having the center axis (Fig. 1-3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize such a rotary joint arrangement as advantageous and desirable, since it would allow for simple and effective active optical routing and switching of transmitted signals without the need for complex and bulky switching mechanisms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Fini to have the optical component including a third and a fourth multicore fiber and a rotator that controls the rotation amount of the fourth multicore fiber about the center axis, in the manner claimed in the present application.
Conclusion
/SUNG H PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874