DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that the PUSCH is low priority PUSCH (LP PUSCH). Dependent claim 9 recites the PUSCH on which HP HARQ-ACK is multiplexed. It is not clear whether “the PUSCH” is a low priority PUSCH (LP PUSCH).
Moreover, claim 9 recites the limitation "the PUSCH" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 20230199761, hereinafter referred to as Li).
Re claim 1, Li teaches a user equipment (UE) (terminal, Fig. 7), comprising:
(i) a processor (Processor, 710) (Fig. 7, Par 0154); and
(ii) transmitting circuitry (Radio frequency unit 701) (Fig. 7, Par 0157) configured to:
(iii) if a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for high priority (HP) scheduling request (SR) (HP SR PUCCH, Fig. 3-4, Par 0097, Par 0111) overlaps with a low priority (LP) PUSCH (LP PUSCH, Fig. 3-4, Par 0097, Par 0111), and if HP SR multiplexing on LP PUSCH is enabled (handling uplink channel overlapping according to a preset rule, Par 0046-0054, Abstract), use different SR multiplexing methods (multiplexing HP SR onto LP PUSCH using different manners as disclosed in Par 0099, Par 0102, Par 0105, Par 0108) based on whether HARQ-ACK is multiplexing (HARQ-ACK is multiplexed onto LP PUSCH) and a HARQ-ACK priority (High Priority (HP) HARQ-ACK, Low priority HARQ-ACK) (Fig. 3-4, Par 0097, Par 0101-0103, Par 0105, Par 0108, Par 0111-0114).
Re claim 3, Li teaches that if there is HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, report the HP SR jointly with a HARQ-ACK (HARQ-ACK and HP SR are multiplexed onto the LP PUSCH) (Fig. 3-4, Par 0102, Par 0105, Par 0108, Par 0113).
Re claim 9, Li teaches that if there is HP HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the PUSCH, report the HP SR jointly with an HP HARQ-ACK following HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing procedures (Fig. 3-4, Par 0102, Par 0105, Par 0108, Par 0113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of 3GPP (R1-2104310, On UL intra-UE multiplexing and prioritization enhancements, hereinafter referred to as 3GPP).
Re claim 2, Li does not explicitly disclose that if there is no HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, report the HP SR following HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing procedures using reserved REs for HP HARQ-ACK.
3GPP teaches that if there is no HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, report the HP SR following HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing procedures using reserved REs for HP HARQ-ACK (HP SR is reported using reserved REs for HARQ-ACK) (Sec 3.2.2- Low-priority PUSCH vs. high-priority SR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li by including the step that if there is no HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, report the HP SR following HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing procedures using reserved REs for HP HARQ-ACK, as taught by 3GPP for the purpose of avoiding unnecessary retransmission, as taught by 3GPP (Sec. 3.2.2, Line 1-4).
Re claim 4, Li does not explicitly disclose that if there is no HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, and if a positive HP SR is reported, report the positive HP SR on reserved RE resources for up to 2 bits of HP HARQ-ACK.
3GPP teaches that if there is no HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, and if a positive HP SR is reported, report the positive HP SR on reserved RE resources for up to 2 bits of HP HARQ-ACK (positive HP SR is reported using reserved REs for HARQ-ACK) (Sec 3.2.2- Low-priority PUSCH vs. high-priority SR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li by including the step that if there is no HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, and if a positive HP SR is reported, report the positive HP SR on reserved RE resources for up to 2 bits of HP HARQ-ACK, as taught by 3GPP for the purpose of avoiding unnecessary retransmission, as taught by 3GPP (Sec. 3.2.2, Line 1-4).
8. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Li et al (US 20210329658, hereinafter referred to as Li ‘658).
Re claim 5, Li does not explicitly disclose that if there is no HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, and if a positive HP SR is not reported, do not report a negative SR.
Li ‘658 teaches that if there is no HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, and if a positive HP SR is not reported, do not report a negative SR (negative SR is dropped, Fig. 2B(a)) (Par 0062).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li by including the step that if there is no HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH, and if a positive HP SR is not reported, do not report a negative SR, as taught by Li ‘658 for the purpose of allowing “the network node to adjust processing of the received information based on the priority mismatch indication”, as taught by Li ‘658 (Par 0045).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473