DETAILED ACTION
2. This is in response to the applicant response filed on 04/23/2026. In the applicant’s response, claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, 17-19 were amended. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending and being examined. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent form.
3. The rejections of the claims under 35 USC 101 and 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jain et al (“Face Video Based Touchless Blood Pressure and Heart Rate Estimation”, 2016, hereinafter “Jain”).
Regarding claim 1, Jain discloses an information processing system (the system and the method for estimating blood pressure (BP) and heart rate (HR) based on facial videos; see Title) comprising: at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor (these hardware related features are inherent in the system of Jain.) configured to execute the instructions to:
receive a first video image related to a person from an encoder (see the “input video” in fig.2), the encoder configured to change image qualities of video images comprising the first video image (the system receives an input face video from a subject and extracts a good quality face video for HR estimation from the subject; see fig.1 and Sec. II);
specify an encoding parameter related to an image quality of a second video image related to the person (the system determines a time window (i.e., 5s’<tw<10s’) for extracting the good quality face video for HR estimation; see Sec. II-C) and a time period during which a change in the image quality of the second video image is set to be equal to or smaller than a threshold based on information about the first video image (wherein the length of the time window must <=5 seconds, ibid), the encoding parameter including at least one of a bit rate, a frame rate, a quantization parameter (QP) value and a QP map of the second video image (wherein the time window, i.e., 5s’<tw<10s’, is a quantization parameter and a QP map of the good quality face video, ibid); and
control the encoder to distribute the second video image based on the encoding parameter and the specified time period (the system further processes the good quality face frames which locate within the time window for HR estimation; see fig.1. and Sec, II-D).
Regarding claim 2, 9, 16, Jain discloses, wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a length of the time in accordance with an image quality of the first video image (see fig.1 and Sec. II).
Regarding claim 3, 10, 17, Jain discloses, wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify the length of the time in accordance with an item used to estimate a state of the person (ibid.).
Regarding claim 4, 11, 18, Jain discloses, wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a coding parameter set to be constant at the time from among a plurality of coding parameters of the second video image in accordance with an item used to estimate a state of the person (wherein the time window 5s’<tw<10s’ are parameters for consistent HR estimation, see fig.1 and Sec. II).
Regarding claim 5, 12, 19, Jain discloses, wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify, at the time, the coding parameter for an area of a specific part of a subject included in the first video used for an analysis to be constant (ibid.).
Regarding claim 6, 13, 20, Jain discloses, wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify at least one of the length of the time and a starting point of the time based on at least one of a measured value and a predicted value of a bandwidth available in a network through which the second video image is distributed (ibid.).
Regarding claim 7, Jain discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the image quality of the second video image includes an image quality based on at least one of a bit rate of coding, a frame rate of the coding, a quantization parameter of the coding, and an area of each layer in hierarchical coding (wherein the time window, i.e., 5s’<tw<10s’, is a quantization parameter and a QP map of the good quality face video, see fig.1 and Sec. II).
Regarding claims 8, 15, each of which is an inherent variation of claim 1, thus it is interpreted and rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments, regarding claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the reference in Jain discloses or suggests each and every element recited by claim 1. The examiner therefore maintains rejections.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIPING LI/Primary Examiner, Ph.D., Art Unit 2676