DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Independent claims 1 and 13 recite “from 2 to 8 wt. % of a toughener”. This limitation is not supported by the specification as originally filed.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "electrically conductive carbon fiber" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of further examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “carbon fiber.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manian et al. (US Pat. No. 7,723,419).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3-4: Manian et al. teaches a composition comprising a thermoplastic polymer in 20-45 wt%, boron nitride (conductive filler) in 30-45 wt%, carbon fibers in 14-26 wt%, and a rubbery impact modifier (toughener) in 1-9 wt% (abstract, 2:30-67, 3:35-50, 4:24-45, and Table 1). Manian et al. does not teach the presence of any glass filler or require any additives.
Regarding Claim 2: Manian et al. teaches an example wherein the carbon fiber is present in 20 wt% and the wt% of all non-thermoplastic polymer components is 45.5 wt% (Table 1, Work Ex. 2). Such amount are equivalent to a ratio of approximately 1:3.28.
Regarding Claims 5-7: The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the volume resistivity, tensile modulus, and flexural modulus would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claims 9-12: Manian et al. teaches the thermoplastic polymer as a polyphenylene sulfide or polyamide (3:45-60).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manian et al. (US Pat. No. 7,723,419).
Regarding Claims 13-14: Manian et al. teaches composition for use in the electronics industry (electronic device, article) wherein the composition comprises a thermoplastic polymer in 20-45 wt%, boron nitride (conductive filler) in 30-45 wt%, carbon fibers in 14-26 wt%, and a rubbery impact modifier (toughener) in 1-9 wt% (abstract, 2:30-67, 3:35-50, 4:24-45, and Table 1). Manian et al. does not teach the presence of any glass filler or require any additives.
Regarding Claim 15: Manian et al. teaches the thermoplastic polymer as a polyphenylene sulfide (poly(aryl sulfide)) or polyamide (3:45-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manian et al. (US Pat. No. 7,723,419).
Manian et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as set forth above. Manian et al. teaches the composition has an in-plane thermal conductivity of greater than 3.0 W/(m . K) (2:15-20).
Manian et al. does not teach the claimed range of at least 7 W/(m . K). However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-22 of copending Application No. 18/579,966 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim substantially similar polymer compositions and articles comprising the same thermoplastic polymer, thermally conductive filler, carbon fiber, toughener, in the same claimed amounts. The claims differ in that the reference application claims a through-plane thermal conductivity, however, the claims still anticipate the instant claims. Furthermore, the reference claims do not recite volume resistivity, tensile modulus, in-plane thermal conductivity, and flexural modulus. However, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 September 3, 2026