DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manian et al. (US Pat. No. 7,723,419).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 5-6: Manian et al. teaches a composition comprising a thermoplastic polymer in 20-45 wt%, boron nitride (conductive filler) in 30-45 wt%, carbon fibers in 14-26 wt%, and a rubbery impact modifier (toughener) in 1-9 wt% (abstract, 2:30-67, 3:35-50, 4:24-45, and Table 1). Manian et al. teaches the thermoplastic polymer as a polyphenylene sulfide or polyamide (3:45-60). Manian et al. does not teach the presence of any glass filler or require any additives. Manian et al. teaches the composition has a through-plane thermal conductivity of greater than 3.0 W/(m . K) (2:15-20).
Regarding Claims 4 and 22: The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the through-plane thermal conductivity of the polymer composition is at least 20% greater than an analogous polymer composition not comprising the toughener and wherein the through-plane thermal conductivity of the polymer composition is increased compared to an analogous polymer composition in which the carbon fiber is replaced by glass fiber, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claims 11-13 and 20: Manian et al. teaches the toughener as a terpolymers of ethylene, acrylic esters, and glycidyl methacrylate (4:35-45).
Regarding Claim 21: The ratio of the combined weight of carbon fiber and impact modifier to other inorganic ingredients in Manian et al. (see for example Table 1, Ex. 2 if optional impact modifier is added, 20 wt% + 1-9 wt%)/(35% +10.5 wt%) reads on the claimed ratio.
Claim(s) 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manian et al. (US Pat. No. 7,723,419).
Regarding Claims 14-16: Manian et al. teaches composition for use in the electronics industry (electronic device, article) wherein the composition comprises a thermoplastic polymer in 20-45 wt%, boron nitride (conductive filler) in 30-45 wt%, carbon fibers in 14-26 wt%, and a rubbery impact modifier (toughener) in 1-9 wt% (abstract, 2:30-67, 3:35-50, 4:24-45, and Table 1). Manian et al. teaches the thermoplastic polymer as a polyphenylene sulfide (poly(aryl sulfide)) or polyamide (3:45-60). Manian et al. does not teach the presence of any glass filler or require any additives. Manian et al. teaches the composition has a through-plane thermal conductivity of greater than 3.0 W/(m . K) (2:15-20).
Regarding Claims 18-19: Manian et al. teaches the toughener as a terpolymers of ethylene, acrylic esters, and glycidyl methacrylate (4:35-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manian et al. (US Pat. No. 7,723,419) in view of Shin et al. (US Pat. No. 9,080,039).
Manian et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as set forth above.
Manian et al. does not teach the molecular weight of the thermoplastic polymer. However, Shin et al. teaches thermoplastic polymers having a weight average molecular weight of 3,000-50,000 with an example at 32,000 (6:45-60 and 10:15-25). Manian et al. and Shin et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely thermally conductive thermoplastic compositions. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the molecular weight of Shin et al. in the composition of Manian et al. and would have been motivated to do so because Shin et al. teaches that the molecular weight allows for a lower viscosity allows for higher filling of the thermally conductive fillers and provides excellent thermal stability (6:50-60).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 requires a specific grouping of thermoplastic polymers and the combination of elements surprisingly demonstrate significantly improved thermal conductivity. However, evidence of secondary considerations, such as unexpected results or commercial success, is irrelevant to 35 USC 102 rejections and thus cannot overcome a rejection so based. In re Wiggins, 488 F.2d 538, 543, 179 USPQ 421, 425 (CCPA 1973).
Applicant argues that Manian et al. does not require a toughener. However, a reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component (MPEP 2123).
Applicant argues that Manian et al. emphasizes the importance of graphite flakes and only exemplifies polycarbonate. However, a reference must be considered for all that it discloses and must not be limited to preferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123).
Applicant argues that a composition comprising PPS, carbon filler, and boron nitride does not necessarily yield a composition with the claimed properties. However, Manian et al. is not limited to such compositions and further teaches embodiments comprising an impact modifier (toughener).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 October 20, 2026