DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-18, 21-23, 27-29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2021/0297959 A1)(hereinafter “Zhou”) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2023/0292259 A1)(hereinafter “Matsumura”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 15A, [¶0217]: wireless device 1502) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (Fig. 15A, [¶0223]: memory 1524);
and one or more processors (Fig. 15A, [¶0223]: processing system 1518), coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive a configuration for transmitting a report that indicates multiple power- management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) values for a cell of a set of one or more cells indicated in the report (Fig. 36, [¶0373]: FIG. 36 shows an example of P-MPR and/or PHR reporting. The P-MPR and/or PHR reporting may be periodic. A wireless device 3615 may send/transmit periodic uplink beam reports (e.g., for indication of proximity detection and/or uplink coverage loss). A base station 3610 may send (e.g., transmit) to the wireless device 3615 one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters 3620 of uplink beam report. [¶0374]: at step 3625, the wireless device 3615 may measure P-MPR and/or PHR (e.g., based on one or more examples described with respect to FIG. 35). The wireless device 3615 may be equipped/configured with a plurality of panels comprising a first panel and at least a second panel (e.g., based on one or more examples described with respect to FIG. 35). [¶0375]: the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 may comprise at least one of: a first index indicating a first panel, a first P-MPR value associated with the first panel, a first PHR value associated with the first panel, a first RSRP value associated with the first panel, a first P.sub.CMAX determined on the first panel, a second index indicating a second panel, a second P-MPR value associated with the second panel, a second PHR value associated with the second panel, a second RSRP value associated with the second panel, and/or a second P.sub.CMAX determined on the second panel.); and
transmit the [one or more] report[s] that indicates the multiple P-MPR values for the cell ([¶0375]: the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 with a transmission periodicity 3635 indicated in the configuration parameters 3620.).
Although Zhou discloses transmitting the multiple P-MPR values for the cell in “one or more” reports. Zhou does not appear to explicitly disclose transmitting the multiple P-MPR values for the cell in the (i.e., the same) report. However, Matsumura discloses to transmit the report that indicates the multiple P-MPR values for the cell (Fig. 6, [¶0094]: FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating PHR MAC CEs of Option 2-1 and Option 2-2. In the PHR MAC CEs illustrated in FIG. 6, there are multiple entries including the PMPR field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the multiple P-MPR values for the cell, at taught by Zhou, in the same report, as taught by Matsumura. Doing so allows for more efficient resource utilization by transmitting multiple P-MPR values in a single report instead of requiring transmission of multiple reports.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein a quantity of the multiple P-MPR values for the cell is based at least in part on one or more of: a configuration indicated by a base station associated with at least one of the one or more cells indicated in the report (Fig. 36, [¶0373]: a base station 3610 may send (e.g., transmit) to the wireless device 3615 one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters 3620 of uplink beam report.), or a communication protocol associated with the report ([¶0375]:the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 via a PUCCH resource indicated in the configuration parameters 3620.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report indicates, for each of the multiple P-MPR values, one or more resource indexes ([¶0178]: the beam measurement report may indicate one or more beam pair quality parameters comprising at least one of: one or more beam identifications (e.g., a beam index, a reference signal index, or the like), an RSRP, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or a rank indicator (RI). [¶0343]: the uplink beam report 3435 may comprise at least one of: a first index identifying/indicating a first panel (e.g., Panel 1), a second index identifying/indicating at least a second panel (e.g., Panel 2)….).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 3 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the one or more resource indexes are selected from a set of candidate resource indexes associated with a resource pool ([¶0272]: FIG. 24 shows an example message comprising configuration parameters for a search space. The message may comprise an RRC message. A search space information element (e.g., SearchSpace IE) may define/indicate how and/or where to search for PDCCH candidates. [¶0274]: a wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates. A set of PDCCH candidates may be defined in terms of PDCCH search space sets. A search space set may comprise a CSS set and/or a USS set. [¶0475]: the configuration parameters may indicate one or more first RSs for beam failure detection and/or one or more second RSs for candidate beam detection.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 3 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein a quantity of the one or more resource indexes is based at least in part on one or more of a configuration indicated by a base station associated with at least one of the one or more cells indicated in the report (([¶0272]: FIG. 24 shows an example message comprising configuration parameters for a search space. The message may comprise an RRC message. A search space information element (e.g., SearchSpace IE) may define/indicate how and/or where to search for PDCCH candidates. [¶0274]: a wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates. A set of PDCCH candidates may be defined in terms of PDCCH search space sets. A search space set may comprise a CSS set and/or a USS set. [¶0475]: the configuration parameters may indicate one or more first RSs for beam failure detection and/or one or more second RSs for candidate beam detection), or a communication protocol associated with the report (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report indicates, for each of the multiple P-MPR values or for each resource index associated with each of the multiple P-MPR values, a power headroom value ([¶0375]: the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more periodic uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 based on continuous measurements 3625 (e.g., L1-RSRP, L3-RSRP, P-MPR, and/or PHR) on the plurality of panels. The one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 may comprise at least one of: a first index indicating a first panel, a first P-MPR value associated with the first panel, a first PHR value associated with the first panel, a first RSRP value associated with the first panel, a first P.sub.CMAX determined on the first panel, a second index indicating a second panel, a second P-MPR value associated with the second panel, a second PHR value associated with the second panel, a second RSRP value associated with the second panel, and/or a second P.sub.CMAX determined on the second panel.).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report indicates, for each of the multiple P-MPR values or for each resource index associated with each of the multiple P-MPR values, a reference signal received power value ([¶0376]: the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) one or more periodic uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 indicating P-MPR/RSRP/PHR values for active panels.).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Zhou does not disclose wherein the report includes one or more of: an indication of whether the report includes an additional P-MPR value for the cell, an indication of whether the report includes a resource index associated with the additional P-MPR value for the cell, or an indication of whether the report includes a power headroom value associated with the additional P-MPR value for the cell. However, Matsumura discloses wherein the report includes one or more of: an indication of whether the report includes an additional P-MPR value for the cell (Fig. 6 &7, [¶0108]: “P” or “V” illustrated in FIG. 6 or 7 of the second embodiment may indicate whether or not the PMPR field exists. For example, in a case where “P” is set to “1” (or “0”), “P” may indicate that the PMPR field exists. Otherwise (e.g., in a case where “P” is set to “0” (or “1”)), the PMPR field may be omitted. Alternatively, in a case where “V” is set to “1” (or “0”), “V” may indicate that the PMPR field exists. Otherwise (e.g., in a case where “V” is set to “0” (or “1”)), the PMPR field may be omitted.), an indication of whether the report includes a resource index associated with the additional P-MPR value for the cell (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or an indication of whether the report includes a power headroom value associated with the additional P-MPR value for the cell (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the multiple P-MPR values for the cell, at taught by Zhou, including an indication of whether the report includes an additional P-MPR value for the call, as taught by Matsumura. Doing so allows for the base station to distinguish whether the report includes multiple P-MPR values.
Regarding claim 12, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report includes multiple resource indexes that are associated with one or more of quasi-co-location (QCL) information or a transmission configuration state ([¶0182]: the wireless device may measure a quality of a beam pair link, for example, using one or more reference signals (RSs) comprising one or more SS/PBCH blocks, one or more CSI-RS resources, and/or one or more DM-RSs. A quality of the beam pair link may be based on one or more of a block error rate (BLER), an RSRP value, a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) value, an RSRQ value, and/or a CSI value measured on RS resources. The base station may indicate that an RS resource is QCLed with one or more DM-RSs of a channel (e.g., a control channel, a shared data channel, and/or the like). The RS resource and the one or more DM-RSs of the channel may be QCLed, for example, if the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread, an average delay, delay spread, a spatial Rx parameter, fading, and/or the like) from a transmission via the RS resource to the wireless device are similar or the same as the channel characteristics from a transmission via the channel to the wireless device.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the configuration indicates to transmit the report that indicates the multiple P-MPR values based at least in part on indications of one or more of QCL information or a transmission configuration state identification associated with the multiple P-MPR values ([¶0177]: the base station may determine, based on the reported measurement results, one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states comprising a number of reference signals. The base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the wireless device (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or DCI). The wireless device may receive a downlink transmission with an Rx beam determined based on the one or more TCI states. [¶0554]: the configuration parameters may comprise first parameters of a plurality of transmission configuration information (TCI) states, wherein the plurality of TCI states may be grouped in TCI groups and each TCI group may be associated with a corresponding one of the panels. The indication of the MAC CE may indicate a TCI group corresponding to the panel.).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a request for the configuration for transmitting the report that indicates multiple P-MPR values for the cell ([¶0510]: the wireless device may send/transmit to the base station one or more wireless device capability messages (e.g., UECapabilityInformation IE, RRC message(s)) comprising a threshold. The wireless device may send/transmit the one or more wireless device capability messages based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving from the base station one or more messages for capability enquiry (e.g., UECapabilityEnquiry IE, RRC message(s), etc.).).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 14 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein transmitting the request for the configuration for transmitting the report that indicates multiple P-MPR values for the cell is based at least in part on: an amount of change in one or more P-MPR values, of the multiple P-MPR values, that satisfies a threshold ([¶0510]: the wireless device may send/transmit to the base station one or more wireless device capability messages (e.g., UECapabilityInformation IE, RRC message(s)) comprising a threshold. The wireless device may send/transmit the one or more wireless device capability messages based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving from the base station one or more messages for capability enquiry (e.g., UECapabilityEnquiry IE, RRC message(s), etc.). The threshold may indicate a combined RSRP and P-MPR value for triggering a panel power state report procedure. The wireless device may determine that an uplink coverage loss may occur on the panel (e.g., due to compliance with MPE requirements for proximity detection), for example, if a combined value of measured RSRP value and applicated P-MPR value on a panel is less than a threshold. The wireless device may determine there is a lower probability (e.g., less likely) that an uplink coverage loss may occur on the panel, for example, if a combined value of measured RSRP value and applicated P-MPR value on a panel is greater than threshold.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou discloses a base station for wireless communication (Fig. 15A, [¶0217]: base station 1504), comprising:
a memory (Fig. 15A, [¶0223]: memory 1514); and
one or more processors (Fig. 15A, [¶0223]: processing system 1508), coupled to the memory, configured to:
transmit a configuration for transmitting a report that indicates multiple power- management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) values for a cell of a set of one or more cells indicated in the report (Fig. 36, [¶0373]: FIG. 36 shows an example of P-MPR and/or PHR reporting. The P-MPR and/or PHR reporting may be periodic. A wireless device 3615 may send/transmit periodic uplink beam reports (e.g., for indication of proximity detection and/or uplink coverage loss). A base station 3610 may send (e.g., transmit) to the wireless device 3615 one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters 3620 of uplink beam report. [¶0374]: at step 3625, the wireless device 3615 may measure P-MPR and/or PHR (e.g., based on one or more examples described with respect to FIG. 35). The wireless device 3615 may be equipped/configured with a plurality of panels comprising a first panel and at least a second panel (e.g., based on one or more examples described with respect to FIG. 35). [¶0375]: the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 may comprise at least one of: a first index indicating a first panel, a first P-MPR value associated with the first panel, a first PHR value associated with the first panel, a first RSRP value associated with the first panel, a first P.sub.CMAX determined on the first panel, a second index indicating a second panel, a second P-MPR value associated with the second panel, a second PHR value associated with the second panel, a second RSRP value associated with the second panel, and/or a second P.sub.CMAX determined on the second panel.); and
receive the [one or more] report[s] that indicates the multiple P-MPR values for the cell ([¶0375]: the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 with a transmission periodicity 3635 indicated in the configuration parameters 3620.).
Although Zhou discloses receiving the multiple P-MPR values for the cell in “one or more” reports. Zhou does not appear to explicitly disclose transmitting the multiple P-MPR values for the cell in the (i.e., the same) report. However, Matsumura discloses to receive the report that indicates the multiple P-MPR values for the cell (Fig. 6, [¶0094]: FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating PHR MAC CEs of Option 2-1 and Option 2-2. In the PHR MAC CEs illustrated in FIG. 6, there are multiple entries including the PMPR field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the multiple P-MPR values for the cell, at taught by Zhou, in the same report, as taught by Matsumura. Doing so allows for more efficient resource utilization by transmitting multiple P-MPR values in a single report instead of requiring transmission of multiple reports.
Regarding claim 17, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above..
Zhou also discloses wherein a quantity of the multiple P-MPR values for the cell is based at least in part on one or more of: a configuration indicated by the base station (Fig. 36, [¶0373]: a base station 3610 may send (e.g., transmit) to the wireless device 3615 one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters 3620 of uplink beam report.), or a communication protocol associated with the report ([¶0375]:the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 via a PUCCH resource indicated in the configuration parameters 3620.).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report indicates, for each of the multiple P-MPR values, one or more resource indexes ([¶0178]: the beam measurement report may indicate one or more beam pair quality parameters comprising at least one of: one or more beam identifications (e.g., a beam index, a reference signal index, or the like), an RSRP, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or a rank indicator (RI). [¶0343]: the uplink beam report 3435 may comprise at least one of: a first index identifying/indicating a first panel (e.g., Panel 1), a second index identifying/indicating at least a second panel (e.g., Panel 2)….).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report indicates, for each of the multiple P-MPR values or for each resource index associated with each of the multiple P-MPR values, a power headroom value ([¶0375]: the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more periodic uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 based on continuous measurements 3625 (e.g., L1-RSRP, L3-RSRP, P-MPR, and/or PHR) on the plurality of panels. The one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 may comprise at least one of: a first index indicating a first panel, a first P-MPR value associated with the first panel, a first PHR value associated with the first panel, a first RSRP value associated with the first panel, a first P.sub.CMAX determined on the first panel, a second index indicating a second panel, a second P-MPR value associated with the second panel, a second PHR value associated with the second panel, a second RSRP value associated with the second panel, and/or a second P.sub.CMAX determined on the second panel.).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report indicates, for each of the multiple P-MPR values or for each resource index associated with each of the multiple P-MPR values, a reference signal received power value ([¶0376]: the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) one or more periodic uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 indicating P-MPR/RSRP/PHR values for active panels.).
Regarding claim 23, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Zhou does not disclose wherein the report includes one or more of: an indication of whether the report includes an additional P-MPR value for the cell, an indication of whether the report includes a resource index associated with the additional P-MPR value for the cell, or an indication of whether the report includes a power headroom value associated with the additional P-MPR value for the cell. However, Matsumura discloses wherein the report includes one or more of: an indication of whether the report includes an additional P-MPR value for the cell (Fig. 6 &7, [¶0108]: “P” or “V” illustrated in FIG. 6 or 7 of the second embodiment may indicate whether or not the PMPR field exists. For example, in a case where “P” is set to “1” (or “0”), “P” may indicate that the PMPR field exists. Otherwise (e.g., in a case where “P” is set to “0” (or “1”)), the PMPR field may be omitted. Alternatively, in a case where “V” is set to “1” (or “0”), “V” may indicate that the PMPR field exists. Otherwise (e.g., in a case where “V” is set to “0” (or “1”)), the PMPR field may be omitted.), an indication of whether the report includes a resource index associated with the additional P-MPR value for the cell (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or an indication of whether the report includes a power headroom value associated with the additional P-MPR value for the cell (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the multiple P-MPR values for the cell, at taught by Zhou, including an indication of whether the report includes an additional P-MPR value for the call, as taught by Matsumura. Doing so allows for the base station to distinguish whether the report includes multiple P-MPR values.
Regarding claim 27, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report includes multiple resource indexes that are associated with one or more of quasi-co-location (QCL) information or a transmission configuration state ([¶0182]: the wireless device may measure a quality of a beam pair link, for example, using one or more reference signals (RSs) comprising one or more SS/PBCH blocks, one or more CSI-RS resources, and/or one or more DM-RSs. A quality of the beam pair link may be based on one or more of a block error rate (BLER), an RSRP value, a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) value, an RSRQ value, and/or a CSI value measured on RS resources. The base station may indicate that an RS resource is QCLed with one or more DM-RSs of a channel (e.g., a control channel, a shared data channel, and/or the like). The RS resource and the one or more DM-RSs of the channel may be QCLed, for example, if the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread, an average delay, delay spread, a spatial Rx parameter, fading, and/or the like) from a transmission via the RS resource to the wireless device are similar or the same as the channel characteristics from a transmission via the channel to the wireless device.).
Regarding claim 28, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the configuration indicates to transmit the report that indicates the multiple P-MPR values based at least in part on indications of one or more of QCL information or a transmission configuration state identification associated with the multiple P-MPR values ([¶0177]: the base station may determine, based on the reported measurement results, one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states comprising a number of reference signals. The base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the wireless device (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or DCI). The wireless device may receive a downlink transmission with an Rx beam determined based on the one or more TCI states. [¶0554]: the configuration parameters may comprise first parameters of a plurality of transmission configuration information (TCI) states, wherein the plurality of TCI states may be grouped in TCI groups and each TCI group may be associated with a corresponding one of the panels. The indication of the MAC CE may indicate a TCI group corresponding to the panel.).
Regarding claim 29, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a request for the configuration for transmitting the report that indicates multiple P-MPR values for the cell ([¶0510]: the wireless device may send/transmit to the base station one or more wireless device capability messages (e.g., UECapabilityInformation IE, RRC message(s)) comprising a threshold. The wireless device may send/transmit the one or more wireless device capability messages based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving from the base station one or more messages for capability enquiry (e.g., UECapabilityEnquiry IE, RRC message(s), etc.).).
Regarding claim 31, Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 15A, [¶0217]: wireless device 1502), comprising:
receiving a configuration for transmitting a report that indicates multiple power- management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) values for a cell of a set of one or more cells indicated in the report (Fig. 36, [¶0373]: FIG. 36 shows an example of P-MPR and/or PHR reporting. The P-MPR and/or PHR reporting may be periodic. A wireless device 3615 may send/transmit periodic uplink beam reports (e.g., for indication of proximity detection and/or uplink coverage loss). A base station 3610 may send (e.g., transmit) to the wireless device 3615 one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters 3620 of uplink beam report. [¶0374]: at step 3625, the wireless device 3615 may measure P-MPR and/or PHR (e.g., based on one or more examples described with respect to FIG. 35). The wireless device 3615 may be equipped/configured with a plurality of panels comprising a first panel and at least a second panel (e.g., based on one or more examples described with respect to FIG. 35). [¶0375]: the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 may comprise at least one of: a first index indicating a first panel, a first P-MPR value associated with the first panel, a first PHR value associated with the first panel, a first RSRP value associated with the first panel, a first P.sub.CMAX determined on the first panel, a second index indicating a second panel, a second P-MPR value associated with the second panel, a second PHR value associated with the second panel, a second RSRP value associated with the second panel, and/or a second P.sub.CMAX determined on the second panel.); and
transmitting the [one or more] report[s] that indicates the multiple P-MPR values for the cell ([¶0375]: the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 with a transmission periodicity 3635 indicated in the configuration parameters 3620.).
Although Zhou discloses transmitting the multiple P-MPR values for the cell in “one or more” reports. Zhou does not appear to explicitly disclose transmitting the multiple P-MPR values for the cell in the (i.e., the same) report. However, Matsumura discloses transmitting the report that indicates the multiple P-MPR values for the cell (Fig. 6, [¶0094]: FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating PHR MAC CEs of Option 2-1 and Option 2-2. In the PHR MAC CEs illustrated in FIG. 6, there are multiple entries including the PMPR field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the multiple P-MPR values for the cell, at taught by Zhou, in the same report, as taught by Matsumura. Doing so allows for more efficient resource utilization by transmitting multiple P-MPR values in a single report instead of requiring transmission of multiple reports.
Regarding claim 32, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 31 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report indicates, for each of the multiple P-MPR values, one or more resource indexes ([¶0178]: the beam measurement report may indicate one or more beam pair quality parameters comprising at least one of: one or more beam identifications (e.g., a beam index, a reference signal index, or the like), an RSRP, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or a rank indicator (RI). [¶0343]: the uplink beam report 3435 may comprise at least one of: a first index identifying/indicating a first panel (e.g., Panel 1), a second index identifying/indicating at least a second panel (e.g., Panel 2)….).
Regarding claim 33, Zhou discloses a base station for wireless communication (Fig. 15A, [¶0217]: base station 1504), comprising:
transmitting a configuration for transmitting a report that indicates multiple power- management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) values for a cell of a set of one or more cells indicated in the report (Fig. 36, [¶0373]: FIG. 36 shows an example of P-MPR and/or PHR reporting. The P-MPR and/or PHR reporting may be periodic. A wireless device 3615 may send/transmit periodic uplink beam reports (e.g., for indication of proximity detection and/or uplink coverage loss). A base station 3610 may send (e.g., transmit) to the wireless device 3615 one or more messages (e.g., RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters 3620 of uplink beam report. [¶0374]: at step 3625, the wireless device 3615 may measure P-MPR and/or PHR (e.g., based on one or more examples described with respect to FIG. 35). The wireless device 3615 may be equipped/configured with a plurality of panels comprising a first panel and at least a second panel (e.g., based on one or more examples described with respect to FIG. 35). [¶0375]: the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 may comprise at least one of: a first index indicating a first panel, a first P-MPR value associated with the first panel, a first PHR value associated with the first panel, a first RSRP value associated with the first panel, a first P.sub.CMAX determined on the first panel, a second index indicating a second panel, a second P-MPR value associated with the second panel, a second PHR value associated with the second panel, a second RSRP value associated with the second panel, and/or a second P.sub.CMAX determined on the second panel.); and
receiving the [one or more] report[s] that indicates the multiple P-MPR values for the cell ([¶0375]: the wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 with a transmission periodicity 3635 indicated in the configuration parameters 3620.).
Although Zhou discloses receiving the multiple P-MPR values for the cell in “one or more” reports. Zhou does not appear to explicitly disclose transmitting the multiple P-MPR values for the cell in the (i.e., the same) report. However, Matsumura discloses receiving the report that indicates the multiple P-MPR values for the cell (Fig. 6, [¶0094]: FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating PHR MAC CEs of Option 2-1 and Option 2-2. In the PHR MAC CEs illustrated in FIG. 6, there are multiple entries including the PMPR field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the multiple P-MPR values for the cell, at taught by Zhou, in the same report, as taught by Matsumura. Doing so allows for more efficient resource utilization by transmitting multiple P-MPR values in a single report instead of requiring transmission of multiple reports.
Regarding claim 34, Zhou in view of Matsumura discloses all features of claim 33 as outlined above.
Zhou also discloses wherein the report indicates, for each of the multiple P-MPR values, one or more resource indexes ([¶0178]: the beam measurement report may indicate one or more beam pair quality parameters comprising at least one of: one or more beam identifications (e.g., a beam index, a reference signal index, or the like), an RSRP, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or a rank indicator (RI). [¶0343]: the uplink beam report 3435 may comprise at least one of: a first index identifying/indicating a first panel (e.g., Panel 1), a second index identifying/indicating at least a second panel (e.g., Panel 2)….).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2021/0329570 A1) – Method and Apparatus For Reporting Power Reduction Information, Terminal Device and Network Device.
Yang (US 2024/0172140 A1) – P-MPR Reporting Method and Terminal.
Rahman et al. (US 2023/0111064 A1) – Method and Apparatus For Beam Measurement and Reporting.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463