DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsunenishi (US 2018/0142090).
Considering Claims 1, 5, and 7: Tsunenishi teaches a rubber composition for a hose (Abstract) comprising a rubber component comprising a chloroprene rubber and a butadiene rubber (¶0018-19), where the chloroprene rubber is present in an amount of greater than 60 parts (¶0021), with 70 parts being used in the examples (Table 1), and 10 to 40 parts of butadiene rubber (¶0056), 30 parts of the secondary rubber being used in the examples (Table 1); sulfur in an amount of 1 phr (¶0117); an aromatic oil in an amount of 10 phr (Table 1). Tsunenishi does not teach the silane as being present in the examples.
Considering Claims 2 and 3: Tsunenishi teaches that the rubber composition only contains chloroprene rubber and butadiene rubber in an embodiment (¶0018-19).
Considering Claim 4: Tsunenishi teaches the rubber composition as comprising 30 to 80 phr of carbon black (¶0067), with 70 phr being used in the example (Table 3).
Considering Claim 6: Tsunenishi does not teach a flame retardant plasticizer in the examples (Table 1).
Considering Claim 8: Tsunenishi teaches the composition as comprising silica (Table 1).
Considering Claims 9 and 10: Tsunenishi teaches a hose where the rubber composition is the outer surface of the hose (¶0106).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsunenishi (US 2016/0130429) teaches a rubber composition for a hose comprising chloroprene rubber, butadiene rubber, 10 phr of aromatic oil, 1 phr sulfur and 50 phr of carbon black (Table 2). Sato (US 2018/0201750) teaches a rubber composition for a hose comprising 60 phr chloroprene rubber, 40 phr styrene butadiene rubber, 70 phr carbon black, 20 phr aromatic oil, and 0.5 phr of sulfur. Tsunenishi (US 2018/0142091) teaches adding a flame retardant plasticizer to a chloroprene rubber for a hose (Abstract).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767